Crown and Anchor

2

545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (186)

38% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul R

  • September 2014

Cheap for reason

If you find yourself booking this place because it's cheap, realise that you get what you pay for.

The rooms vary but in any case check the bed for creepy crawlies before you get in. Hopefully there won't be any but in our case there were and that's why we wouldn't stay there again. The rest of the room was old and dirty as you would expect in the cheapest hotel in the town.

  • Abigail G

  • September 2014

Somebody forgot the cleaners

Very very basic.

For the cheap price I'd at least expect the last guest's rubbish to have been cleared away and to have had bed sheets. Instead I had to bring in my own duvet and sheets and pillows/pillowcases, and clear away the rubbish. Had no cups as the dirty ones were still there. Was too tired to complain at the time, but definitely not even worth the price for the night. Guy on reception was nice though.

  • Katie Y

  • September 2014

Absolutely disgusted there were previous stayers underpants between our sheets the radiator was on full in august and the bath tap would not turn off

  • David Goodman

  • August 2014

Cheap and clean

This hotel was very cheap at £48 the three people for one night.

The room, but close and towels were all clean. The hotel, beds, bathroom, lounge, everything in fact, were worn out. Perfectly okay for getting your head down, but I wouldn't use it for a romantic weekend away!

  • s bain

  • August 2014

A bygone era

After entering the post apocalyptic area known as Longton I then found myself thrust through the portal that led me to "Hotel 1970's".

I shan't wax lyrical of the décor and a bar that was threadbare of any real choice, or my key tag that was held together by sellotape and I won't even bemoan the poor young lady whose unfortunate endeavour was to have to work in such a place. I will however attempt to describe the horror of entering my room, whose number I have chosen to dislodge from my somewhat disturbed memory. Was it the cigarette burn on the... Errmm.. Well what was it. A duvet. A sheet. An amalgamation of both making it a shuvet, or a deet?. Regardless to say it was as worn as a tramps vest and as if the cigarette burn wasn't enough then the paint on the edges almost had me thinking it was neither a duvet or a sheet but a painters dust sheet, somehow mistaken for an item of bedding. And that's just the bed which I had to sleep in. The extensive scribbling's on the wallpaper that had been put up by Blind Pew himself. All this along with the grubby, bordering on mouldy shower curtain certainly brought on the distant memories of travels that I once enjoyed in underdeveloped South East Asian countries.... Twenty years ago!. I was all but waiting for Philip Glenister to come and fetch me in his Ford Cortina to collar a couple of local scumbags. It's safe to say that not normally indulging in such activities as writing reviews, In this particular instance the memory has not been scratched in the sand only to be washed away by the incoming tide, but permanently etched in the bedrock of my brain. I can only recommend that whoever it was/is that inspects such places and passes them should maybe spend the night there and wearing a stronger pair of spectacles.

  • AGNIESZKA R

  • August 2014

value for money

My family and I stayed there for one night during visit to Alton Towers.

I expected a lot worse after reading previous reviews, but it turned out to be fairly pleasant stay. Great customer service. Rooms need doing up, but it' was not that bad as I thought it would be

  • J Goodyear

  • August 2014

Horrible place

Dirty hotel.

Dirty room. Do not stay there!!

  • James D

  • August 2014

Disgusting

We had a "non smoking" tar stained room that stunk of old settled in smoke that resembled a cheap dingy charity shop with non fitting carpets that just didn't feel clean, we chose not to stay as it was not at all what we expected there is a difference between value for money and cheap poor accomodation, the "hotel" room was more like a homeless hostel.

  • Kasim S

  • August 2014

Surprisingly Fantastic

August 2014 family trip to Alton Towers.

Top floor rooms excellent facilities, standard, 24hr service We will definitely visit again.

  • M Connor

  • August 2014

No