Reviews - Crown and Anchor


545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 50.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (127)

38% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Hopkinson

  • November 2014

Disgusting "Hell Hole", dirty, rundown & everything you could ever dream up as a hotel nightmare.

Do not pay any money in advance or contemplate stopping here. Laterooms you should be ashamed to advertise this place!!

  • rose wallace

  • November 2014

great welcoming hotel

  • Alan M

  • November 2014

Pretty Terrible

The room and particularly bathroom was dirty the beds were like camp beds.

This was a cheap room at £38 but even then the level was not acceptable.

  • s cooper

  • November 2014

alton towers stay

the hotel was welcoming and convenient for alton towers theme park.

exceptionally reasonably priced, but our room was a little grubby. the bedding was fresh and clean however.for one night it was fine, maybe not for a longer stay.we would book again if in the area, hopefully the carpets would be cleaner on our next trip. overall fine

  • Terry E

  • October 2014

The hotel was dirty and grubby, will definitely not stop again!!!!!

  • D Simpson

  • October 2014

not recommened if you want a decent sleep

you can feel the springs in the mattress, beware there is also longton train station right outside this hotel, so wouldnt use this hotel again- the toilet flush well the 1st time but the systern needs at least 30minutes to refill - some staff were helpful and very pleasant, it was easy to find

  • M Roberts

  • October 2014

Hotel from hell

This was the worst hotel I have ever stopped in.

The room was filthy and I didn't even bother to use the shower as it was discussing. You could tell that previous people had been smoking in the room and other guests were smoking in there rooms as you could smell it in the corridors. We had been for a great day out in Alton towers then came to this hotel because we didn't want to drive back home that night. We should of kept on driving.

  • C Cole

  • October 2014

Absolutely disgusting

  • E Roberts

  • October 2014

1960's Timepiece

The Crown Hotel in Longton is a very old building constructed during the reign of Queen Victoria and not including the ground floor (reception/bar area) is in desperate need of renovation.

I paid £32 a night and I would expect a reasonable quality room for the money. Initially allocated a room in the extreme rear of the building which was very small (hardly enough room for the bed) and on inspection the shower in the bathroom didn't have a stand on the wall for it, complained and was given a sizeable family room in the front of the building. Apart from the flat screen television with only basic channels available (no remote control) the room was exactly like it had stood still for at least 40 to 50 years. The carpet was absolutely filthy, the bed very uncomfortable (mattresses with broken springs and sagging in places), the bathroom had no mirror above the sink and the shower hardly worked at all. The taps both ran tepid water -not hot and cold (faulty plumbing) , the dial on the radiator didn't as it was broken so you couldn't adjust the heat, but on the plus side the sheets were clean. Tall woman in reception was always miserable-looking and no wonder - rooms are in such a poor state it seems rather unreasonable to charge £30 to £32 a night to stay there!

  • C Smith

  • October 2014

Oh dear!

It looked nice in the picture,and thought it would be a nice enough place to bed down after a day at alton towers.

When we arrived all tired, we were greeted by a lady at the front desk. We gave her the booking name and ref number but guess what. They had no record of it. I pulled the details of the booking confirmation up on my phone and showed them but she seemed to be insinuating that it was some how our fault and became cold with us nd move straight on to other customers.

the saving grace was that the gent who was also working managed to get us the rooms... At a different hotel about 15 mins away called the plough motel and they honored the price of crown and anchor. Yes i had to pay again so when i receive my bank statement, i shall be looking to recover the extra. personally i would not stay here in the future.