Reviews - Crown and Anchor


545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 58.50 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (117)

35% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Stephen G

  • November 2014

Cheap and cheerless

If you like architecture and history this building is for you.

Beautiful bilding from yesteryear and no doubt full of memories. Unfortunately doesn't look like it has been updated or invested in since yesteryear. Rooms basic. Shower room miniscule. Cleanliness - no comment. Went down for breakfast in the morning and nobody had turned up to make breakfast so the night porter (who was very nice) had to turn us all away. A useful hotel for a stopover point but nothing more. Evening dinner cooked by a new cook - that was delicious and excellent value for money.

  • J Hopkinson

  • November 2014

Disgusting "Hell Hole", dirty, rundown & everything you could ever dream up as a hotel nightmare.

Do not pay any money in advance or contemplate stopping here. Laterooms you should be ashamed to advertise this place!!

  • rose wallace

  • November 2014

great welcoming hotel

  • Alan M

  • November 2014

Pretty Terrible

The room and particularly bathroom was dirty the beds were like camp beds.

This was a cheap room at £38 but even then the level was not acceptable.

  • s cooper

  • November 2014

alton towers stay

the hotel was welcoming and convenient for alton towers theme park.

exceptionally reasonably priced, but our room was a little grubby. the bedding was fresh and clean however.for one night it was fine, maybe not for a longer stay.we would book again if in the area, hopefully the carpets would be cleaner on our next trip. overall fine

  • Terry E

  • October 2014

The hotel was dirty and grubby, will definitely not stop again!!!!!

  • D Simpson

  • October 2014

not recommened if you want a decent sleep

you can feel the springs in the mattress, beware there is also longton train station right outside this hotel, so wouldnt use this hotel again- the toilet flush well the 1st time but the systern needs at least 30minutes to refill - some staff were helpful and very pleasant, it was easy to find

  • M Roberts

  • October 2014

Hotel from hell

This was the worst hotel I have ever stopped in.

The room was filthy and I didn't even bother to use the shower as it was discussing. You could tell that previous people had been smoking in the room and other guests were smoking in there rooms as you could smell it in the corridors. We had been for a great day out in Alton towers then came to this hotel because we didn't want to drive back home that night. We should of kept on driving.

  • C Cole

  • October 2014

Absolutely disgusting

  • E Roberts

  • October 2014

1960's Timepiece

The Crown Hotel in Longton is a very old building constructed during the reign of Queen Victoria and not including the ground floor (reception/bar area) is in desperate need of renovation.

I paid £32 a night and I would expect a reasonable quality room for the money. Initially allocated a room in the extreme rear of the building which was very small (hardly enough room for the bed) and on inspection the shower in the bathroom didn't have a stand on the wall for it, complained and was given a sizeable family room in the front of the building. Apart from the flat screen television with only basic channels available (no remote control) the room was exactly like it had stood still for at least 40 to 50 years. The carpet was absolutely filthy, the bed very uncomfortable (mattresses with broken springs and sagging in places), the bathroom had no mirror above the sink and the shower hardly worked at all. The taps both ran tepid water -not hot and cold (faulty plumbing) , the dial on the radiator didn't as it was broken so you couldn't adjust the heat, but on the plus side the sheets were clean. Tall woman in reception was always miserable-looking and no wonder - rooms are in such a poor state it seems rather unreasonable to charge £30 to £32 a night to stay there!