You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

2

545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 49.41 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (86)

35% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Barbara D

  • January 2015

budget hotel under new management

This is very much a budget hotel and the new management will presumably be updating the bed rooms in the future.

Having said that, the beds are surprisingly comfortable, and the en-suite bathrooms well supplied with hot water. There are also tea and coffee making facilities and digital TV in the rooms. WIFI is available downstairs. The public rooms display many original features e.g. ornate plasterwork, and copper covered bar counter and are nicely decorated. Where this hotel really scores is in it's staff who are both helpful and compassionate. Our car broke down whilst we were there and the staff member on duty not only did what she could to assist us, but seeing our distress and fatigue, offered us a drink and refused payment. On our last night, the hotel was hosting a function so other meals were not being served, but realizing that we were very tired, the member of staff on duty offered to cook for us, producing an excellent serving of lasagne at short notice. For these reasons we would use this hotel again when next we come to Stoke-on-Trent.

  • mark boulton

  • January 2015

Good friendly hotel

This nice, friendly , warm clean hotel was great value for money.

I will definitely use this again and I am happy to recommend it.

  • C Pearce

  • January 2015

You get what you pay for

Television broken (volume stuck on max).

Light above bed not working only 1 light in room. Bed very uncomfortable. No hangers in wardrobe. Very thin blanket and cover on bed. Door wouldn't lock. Only paid a small amount for room and you certainly get what you pay for.

  • Allan Sheen

  • January 2015

Rooms/staff

As the owners have only acquired the hotel for a month I think it would be inappropriate to comment on the rooms as they have not had a lot of time to upgrade/renovate them.

I believe that they will eventually get the standard they want and the hotel will become a hotel that has where people will be glad to return to. The staff were polite, very professional and knowledgeable, the receptionist could not do enough when asked where a certain place was, she went out of her way to get directions. The housemaids were very helpful and when asked for items for the room they went out of their way to assist,

  • K Robinson

  • January 2015

No better than a hostel

This place was the most run down and horrible place I've ever stayed.

But the worst part was that I couldn't even get a good nights sleep as the mattress was completely shot and it felt like I was sleeping on bare springs to the extent that I was scraping myself on them any time I turned over!

  • ravi b

  • December 2014

Good value for money

If this is just a stop off then it is well worth the stay.

Yes the whole place could do with a refresh but for what your paying you can't go wrong. It has a clean room with a squeaky bed and the shower did not work properly but overall would stay again if this was just a stop off

  • Stephen G

  • November 2014

Cheap and cheerless

If you like architecture and history this building is for you.

Beautiful bilding from yesteryear and no doubt full of memories. Unfortunately doesn't look like it has been updated or invested in since yesteryear. Rooms basic. Shower room miniscule. Cleanliness - no comment. Went down for breakfast in the morning and nobody had turned up to make breakfast so the night porter (who was very nice) had to turn us all away. A useful hotel for a stopover point but nothing more. Evening dinner cooked by a new cook - that was delicious and excellent value for money.

  • J Hopkinson

  • November 2014

Disgusting "Hell Hole", dirty, rundown & everything you could ever dream up as a hotel nightmare.

Do not pay any money in advance or contemplate stopping here. Laterooms you should be ashamed to advertise this place!!

  • rose wallace

  • November 2014

great welcoming hotel

  • Alan M

  • November 2014

Pretty Terrible

The room and particularly bathroom was dirty the beds were like camp beds.

This was a cheap room at £38 but even then the level was not acceptable.