No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD
Situated in Longton the Crown and Anchor offers a no frills budget accomodation and is an ideal place to stay for business travellers with easy access to the M6, M1, A500 and A50 but with Alton Towers, Trentham Estates, The Potteries and Fenton Manor all close by is also a good location for leisure guests.

All of the bedrooms in this victorian building, which still boasts many of its original features, are located on the first and second floor and all come with ensuite bathrooms, TV with freeview and tea/coffee making facilities.

For football fans the hotel is situated just a 5 minutes drive from the Brittania stadium, home of Stoke City Football Club.

The hotel offers great value food served daily in its Sizzlers Steakhouse restaurant and bar. Breakfast is served daily with both cooked and lighter option available. Restaurant are 6pm-8:30pm, Monday to Saturday.
Breakfast is served Monday to Friday 7-9am and Saturday and Sunday 8-10am.


Picture of Crown and Anchor, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 188 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in I would not keep pigs in it and strongly advise you to drop this hotel from your list

Reviewed by
paul roberts

From hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

okish
Hotel was not doing evening meals so was looking forward to cooked breakfast that was advertised. 5 of us stayed and in the morning we got told they only had 3 sausages no bacon or anything but we could have an egg! Lol. Also no milk for cereal. Ended up going without breakfast. Rooms need updating. No cold water. Both taps ran hot!! No lemonade at bar and people swearing etc in bar. Manager was nice though

Reviewed by
derek p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Filthy! And very bad customer service
I stayed here as it was close to alton towers and fairly cheap! I stayed here 2 years ago and i wouldn't of moaned but the hotel has gone seriously downhill! And I know you get what you pay for but it isn't even worth that!!
Firstly, the carpet in our room looked like it hasn't been hoovered in a good month.
Secondly the bathroom, the toilet wouldn't flush..the shower head didn't even fit the pipe properly. And the shower leaked..down to the other room!? Also the cold water tap came out hot. It was terrible..
Thirdly, the light switches were filthy. The walls had all dirt marks on them..
And finally the customer service. Everyone in the hotel came across very rude, we stood there for at least 5 minuets a day waiting at reception to hand our key in! Clearly they were too busy on their fag break. Then when someone finally came they just took the key, didn't say sorry or anything. And when we checked out it wasn't a "hope you had a lovely stay" "hope to see you soon" nothing like that! Just a simple "see ya' later".
I'm usually not someone to moan, but I wouldn't recmmond staying here! I know it's only a 2 star but I would stay it worst than that!!

Reviewed by
Ryan N

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic
It's a basic room. Smells slightly bad, like..old. Bed was comfy enough and tv with freeview worked fine. Would only use again for same purpose which was a quick nights rest after travelling for Alton towers.

Reviewed by
maureen m

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After reading other reviews I wasn't expecting much but our room was fine yeah it's not luxury but neither is the price you pay staff were very friendly our shower worked the bedding was clean overall pleasantly surprised after seeing other reviews :-)

Reviewed by
Leanne f

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Bad
We stayed for a hen weekend and it was close enough for alton towers. The staff were extremely friendly! Went out their way to help us. The hotel could do with getting refurbishment. Our room was on the top floor with two rooms and a bathroom to share which didnt bother us, although we could have done with a lock on the main door not just the bedroom doors. The beds were very uncomfortable with springs digging in your back, bathroom was ok not to bad. We read some reviews and thought crikey but to us it done us fine. Its what you make it. We saw another room which was really nice but like i say we got the very top room.

Reviewed by
Louise N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel not brilliant but you cant expect 5* for the price
Receptionists not very helpful at arrival and check in. The room was okay, TV remots did not work and side buttons on side of TV were dodgy. We stayed in warm weather so it was okay but the beds did nothave a duvet on it-just a sheet. We were charged extra because we booked on Late Rooms and the fax had not been sengt through (extra £10 on double room). Location is not very good as it is situated right by a railway line and busy road so was loud at night. But like I said, you cant really expect amazibg rooms for such a low price. Would not recommend staying for more than one night though.

Reviewed by
Colin P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were lovely, effiecent and answered all our questions when we checked in. However the rooms smelt damp and were extremly basic. Beds were tiny and uncomfortable. There was also a lot of flies, and spiders in the room and bathroom.

Reviewed by
L Murray

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't recommend
When we arrived at the hotel and entered our room it didn't smell too pleasant and it was boiling! We opened the windows which aren't child proof as they open very wide and the 'child lock' can easily be broken. We went downstairs to ask for a fan with the reply that they didn't have any yet 10 minutes later we saw another couple walk upstairs holding a fan from reception! Hardly any toilet roll supplied, some rooms had none. Room was not the cleanest and bed sunk in the middle. After a not so great night we thought that we could at least enjoy a nice breakfast... We had been given the menu the night before so knew what we were having. Woke up early and walked down ready to have it to be told that the chefs hadn't turned up for work so we couldn't have anything! Ended up having to go 15 miles up the road as no where in the area served it!

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth it not matter how cheap
Appalling hotel, arrived late at night to be told they had no record of our booking. Luckily there were two free rooms, was assured that the issue would be passed on and sorted in the morning. Could not re book one of the rooms as it had already been booked out for the next night. On entering the room it appeared clean however the bathroom smelt very strongly of faeces which was not at all pleasant. Arrived down in the morning to be told there was no food as the chef had not turned up. Asked to discuss the issue of there being no record of the booking despite me having all confirmations etc. Member of staff noted that nothing had been passed on but that we would just have the same rooms again and they would move the other people. Went out for the day arrived back at 11pm to be told the room had been given away and we would have to go else where. Eventually after putting foot down hotel agreed to put us up in "sister hotel" miles away, at a charge of course. Eventually arrived at other hotel 12pm very tired, second hotel alot nicer, attempted to negotiate refund with first hotel in the morning, however very unwilling, no care for the stress we had been put through as a result of the hotels complete in competence. Yes its a budget hotel and I do not expect 5* treatment, however I do expect the hotel to have an admin system which ensures that the actually log their bookings and staff who are competent enough to actually deal with issues and not just pass their customers from pillar to post until they leave. Would not stay here again if I was paid to.

Reviewed by
L Montrose

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next