No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD
Situated in Longton the Crown and Anchor offers a no frills budget accomodation and is an ideal place to stay for business travellers with easy access to the M6, M1, A500 and A50 but with Alton Towers, Trentham Estates, The Potteries and Fenton Manor all close by is also a good location for leisure guests.

All of the bedrooms in this victorian building, which still boasts many of its original features, are located on the first and second floor and all come with ensuite bathrooms, TV with freeview and tea/coffee making facilities.

For football fans the hotel is situated just a 5 minutes drive from the Brittania stadium, home of Stoke City Football Club.

The hotel offers great value food served daily in its Sizzlers Steakhouse restaurant and bar. Breakfast is served daily with both cooked and lighter option available. Restaurant are 6pm-8:30pm, Monday to Saturday.
Breakfast is served Monday to Friday 7-9am and Saturday and Sunday 8-10am.


Picture of Crown and Anchor, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 196 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good staff, crap beds!
Hotel was fine and staff were good, bed was crap, really uncomfortable and as it was hot had to sleep with windows open only to be kept awake by noisy traffic and boy racers. Very tired for work the next day.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget hotel
The hotel is dated and needs refurbishing, but the atmosphere in the hotel is good. The staff are nice and friendly. Didn't have the food but it did have a 5 rating from food standards agency. The bar is clean and drinks reasonably priced. The room needed a new bed the mattress was very thin and could feel every spring in it, also needed new curtains and carpet as they were both damaged and could do with painting but apart from that the room was clean. All in all it is a budget hotel and not surprised at the standard of the room. I have stayed in better but also a lot worse.

Reviewed by
Ann S

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel, the rooms was clean and tidy, we only stayed for one night but would of stayed longer and would stay there again, it's worth the money that I paid to stay here, would recommend to other people.

Reviewed by
v harris

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
It looked more like a hostel then a hotel, Very tired and dirty. The room had stains on the wall which wiped off, mattress had a hole in it, which I found when the spring caught my leg, unknown stains all over the mattress, no protector. The bathroom was a hive of stains and bacteria. The shower curtain was stained, no mirror in the bathroom, The soap scum left from the last occupants was clearly visible. The shower had a knob to pull up to activate it, but unfortunately the knob was missing and I had to use my nails to get underneath the mechanism to operate the shower. The cold water was hotter than the hot water, and that was boiling hot. I ended up buying bottles of water and even cleaning my teeth with the bought water. The bed was made by room service, but they didn't empty the bin or replace the dirty cup. Doors had to be slammed to close them. The 'wardrobe', was a shelf in a corner with a pole above it. Carpet stained and threadbare in places. Tea and coffee facilities were splattered in tea and coffee stains! Windows and nets were filthy, Train line right next to the window, Bed was rock hard, felt more like laying on a piece of wood then a mattress. We went to the bar, when ordering a drink, the glasses were filthy and staff left us sitting in the dark and kept asking us for exact money as they had no change and couldn't leave the building, although it appeared he was more interested in his friends which were hanging around the front desk. The first night we were told the restaurant was closed but we could get a kebab down the road! The second night we were to scared to eat there as by then we had seen the food smudged tables and menus. I wanted to wipe my shoes as I left the building. I stay regularly in hotels due to work and The Crown looked clean and friendly on the web site, further proof that pictures can make a pigs ear look like a sows purse!

Reviewed by
V Thomas

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price we did not expect 5* hilton however we did expect it to be clean! The cleanliness of this hotel was shocking, blood stains on sheets, mouldy walls and windows, broken glass on the floor at the bedside and dead flies, I would not advise anyone to stay here. Shocking experience.

Reviewed by
Sarah Boyes

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service non existant. Absolutely disgusting.

Reviewed by
Leigh S

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel falling apart
A relatively cheap hotel that is beyond the point when it should be letting rooms. although the room seemed clean the remote for the TV/Decoder was missing the towel rail was broken the temperature controls for the shower were broken off the toilet seat was broken to the point I nearly fell of the toilet on to the floor the kettle just kept boiling after I switched it on and by the sounds of it I had one of the better rooms.

Reviewed by
andrew b

From Cranleigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dingy but functional
This place is well past its sell by date. However it is cheap...

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good customer service
I enjoyed the staying at this hotel because of the excellent customer service I received. However, as it was hot in the room i left the window open and outside was noise, people like fighting and swearing. I had to close the window to avoid my daughter hear that. Furthermore, when we were walking to the parking somebody from the hotel split outside and unfortunately fell on my jumper. It was disgusting, i thought to complain but i also thought that might was an incident and not in purpose. The room was clean and it was nice staying apart from these two incidents.

Reviewed by
Maireny Q

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Really worth the price of the room. Lovely staff and very helpful

Reviewed by
e gill

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next