You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Crown and Anchor


545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD

Price From 58.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (52)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John Hattersley

  • April 2015

Cell Block Longton

Someone said hotel for contractors.

Not a contractor on arrival but felt I might have contracted something before leaving. My room (cell) had two small, very high windows only reached by standing on bed. Bed broken so it swayed. Room dirty, with bits on torn carpet, walls by bed covered in ingrained dirt. Well established cobwebs with current 'owner' alive and still working on it. Shower room filthy with broken tiles and broken light exposing electrics. Assume shower installed by Nordic Company seeking swing from cold to hot, and shower head had been replaced and did not stay in place. Sliding shower doors did not slide easily and had not been properly cleaned inside for a long time. Mattress dreadful but helped by folding quilted bedspread under bottom sheet. Bed linen and towels clean but mattress and the one pillow soiled with no mattress cover or under pillow case. Light shade above bed burned and melted (fire hazard?). Back stairs (Fire Escape Route) badly worn and torn carpet (Trip Hazard?) and Fire Door on first floor jammed open by piece of wood long after staff had left area (Fire hazard) (I removed it and door closed correctly). Car parking easy and monitored by CCTV. Back door to car park labelled as a Fire Door with request to keep closed but left open all the time with no automatic closure mechanism. As with 'The Plague' I heartily recommend avoidance.

  • kirsty lowe

  • April 2015

Crown and Anchor

Very satisfied with our stay here and will certainly consider staying again upon visiting alton towers, very clean hotel and very polite staff, all in all was perfect thank you.

  • Samantha i

  • April 2015

don't book this hotel

Rooms are very dirty, stains to the sides of the beds did not dare look at the mattress.

Bathrooms had not been cleaned and still had black dirt stains around the plug hole. Unwashed cups left out with tea and coffee, the kettle had grime and stains all over it. Kept socks on whilst walking around the carpets as not hoovered what looked like a long time.

  • M Hewitt

  • March 2015

Excellent customer service, nice old Victorian building with some well kept features.

New management had only been there a few months, they work hard to keep customers happy, building is undergoing refurbishment in places, but price reflects that.

And is still very accommodating, bedding and bath/toilets kept clean, we will be returning to see the benefits of the refurbishment and catch up with the friendly staff. An enjoyable and very pleasurable time, a lot more exciting. With a good breakfast and a very tasty meal. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • M Hewitt

  • March 2015

Clean Towels are the only positive

this was a last minute booking & if I could have stayed somewhere else on the night we would have, its a very old building in need of a make over.

The carpets look like they have been there since it was built, our dbl room was just about big enough for the bed & table & the piece of net curtain at the window was black with dirt. The only thing that was clean was the towels. It was either sleep in the car or as we did, fully clothed on top of the bed

  • Mike k

  • March 2015

Crown and Anchor

Nice place and a clean and tidy great value for money rooms

  • Parminder Ryatt

  • February 2015

Good for what it is!

The room I had was a little cramped, the carpet was knackered and there was some mould on the walls.

The bed wasn't particularly comfortable, and there was a faint smell of vomit coming from near the sink area in the bathroom. Having said all that, I paid £22 for this room and it could've been a lot worse. The location is good as it's less than 15 miles from Alton Towers, and opposite a train station. It's great for somewhere to crash for the night, not ideal if you're staying for a few nights though, I would advise spending a little more money, but at the end of the day, for the price you pay for the room, you can't go wrong. Staff seem friendly, I didn't stay for dinner or breakfast so cannot comment on the food. I would be happy to stay again for a night in the future if I had to

  • Pauline S

  • February 2015

Comfortable and clean

Although recently under new management, the accommodation was value for money and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

The new management clearly have a lot of work to do to bring the lovely old building up to spec but this did not detract from the good night's sleep which was much needed.

  • David S

  • February 2015

Great value

If you're expecting The Ritz, head to London.

When I pulled into the car park, I realised that I had stayed at this hotel before a couple of years ago. The staff were friendly, jovial and attentive. Although the hotel has a 'lived in' feel, everything was extremely clean, the room spacious and warm and the bed was comfortable and the breakfast couldn't be faulted. What more could one want for a budget B&B ?. David S. Kent

  • Barbara D

  • January 2015

budget hotel under new management

This is very much a budget hotel and the new management will presumably be updating the bed rooms in the future.

Having said that, the beds are surprisingly comfortable, and the en-suite bathrooms well supplied with hot water. There are also tea and coffee making facilities and digital TV in the rooms. WIFI is available downstairs. The public rooms display many original features e.g. ornate plasterwork, and copper covered bar counter and are nicely decorated. Where this hotel really scores is in it's staff who are both helpful and compassionate. Our car broke down whilst we were there and the staff member on duty not only did what she could to assist us, but seeing our distress and fatigue, offered us a drink and refused payment. On our last night, the hotel was hosting a function so other meals were not being served, but realizing that we were very tired, the member of staff on duty offered to cook for us, producing an excellent serving of lasagne at short notice. For these reasons we would use this hotel again when next we come to Stoke-on-Trent.