No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown and Anchor

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
545 king street Longton, Stoke on Trent, ST3 1HD
Situated in Longton the Crown and Anchor offers a no frills budget accomodation and is an ideal place to stay for business travellers with easy access to the M6, M1, A500 and A50 but with Alton Towers, Trentham Estates, The Potteries and Fenton Manor all close by is also a good location for leisure guests.

All of the bedrooms in this victorian building, which still boasts many of its original features, are located on the first and second floor and all come with ensuite bathrooms, TV with freeview and tea/coffee making facilities.

For football fans the hotel is situated just a 5 minutes drive from the Brittania stadium, home of Stoke City Football Club.

The hotel offers great value food served daily in its Sizzlers Steakhouse restaurant and bar. Breakfast is served daily with both cooked and lighter option available. Restaurant are 6pm-8:30pm, Monday to Saturday.
Breakfast is served Monday to Friday 7-9am and Saturday and Sunday 8-10am.


Picture of Crown and Anchor, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 189 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 49% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No

Reviewed by
M Connor

From Ballina Mayo, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could've been better, could've been worse.
Turned up at roughly 8:15pm to check into our rooms before going out to get something to eat/drink. Everything seemed to be going well until we were shown to our rooms - the lock was stuck on one of the doors. The description of the room on the website was really quite deceiving as it was not a 5-person suite, but the top floor of the hotel with a twin and one room with a double bed and a single (presumably, as we didn't manage to get in there in the end). The "ensuite" bathroom was a small bathroom in which the flush for the toilet was broken and there was no hot water. By about 10pm (2 hours later!!) we were finally sent to another room, a private flat on the top floor. This seemed more like the description I booked for, but we still had no hot water. The rooms weren't very clean and the entire hotel seemed as if it were falling apart - the radiator falling off the wall, paintwork loosening, doorknobs loose etc. and the glasses at the bar were disgusting and appeared not to have been cleaned at all. Although we were waiting a long time for a solution, the customer service wasn't awful. In fairness, the man at reception was dealing with various other issues other customers had (which probably says something in itself about the standard of accommodation there) but often re-assured us he was working on a solution and the flat we were put up in wasn't bad at all. Wouldn't stay here again as there was more bad than good, but that's not to say it was 100% awful. In summary, you definitely get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
S Ridyard

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

***************

Reviewed by
VINOTH N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not use this hotel again, lost my custom. Service poor, food poor bedroom could have done with a good lick of paint and the bed needs replacing along with the rest of the bedroom furnisher

Reviewed by
S Ewins

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mice???
We were not best pleased with our stay.. First of all there were some sort of infestation possibly mice or rats. We found toothpaste spattered all over the duvet covers and red/brown marks on the sheets.. The hotel is located right next to a busy road and the window didn't shut properly. There were bugs on the carpet and stains in the teacups. The staff were lovely however and were keen to help out if any problems occurred (eg locking ourselves out the room!) there is a McDonald's about 2 minute walk down the road which for me was brilliant!! Room tip: do not stay in room 301/302.. However I have stayed before in 119/120 and the rooms were brilliant!

Reviewed by
Hannah A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, good staff, good room!
Would stay again

Reviewed by
D Welch

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok considering price
Booked a family room l, it was clean enough but very run down and tired. Taps in bathroom made hurrendous noise when heating up and shower head was held over bqth by a coat hool which promptly fell down as soon as water passed through it. Toilet seat broken which could have been very dangerous had someone sat on it unknowingly. No restaurant downstairs due to no chef so shouldnt be advertised as somewhere that serves food. Fire alarm whent off just an hour after getting our little boy to sllep which meant sitting outside with him in the car park woken up. This i know is health and safety but turned out not to be a false alarm but a fault with the system. I wasnt expecting the ritz for £45 a night but would only advise this for a one night stay as any longer wouldnt be comefortable.

Reviewed by
Matthew T

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown and anchor
The room (which was the flat at the top building which included a kitchen bathroom two rooms and a lounge) was good for it's intended perpous just somewhere to sleep after our day at alton towers the beds were fairly comfy however the room could have been cleaner the couches in the living room had marks and some staining and the cooker had no knobs to be turned on with we were provided with no kettle in the room cutlery plates glasses or mugs, the food provided was very basic a simple and quite small fry up, a few beans one egg one sausage and one bacon rash with a pot of tea which for 4 people came to £20 very over priced in my opinion however it was a good price and I wasn't expecting the ritz while I wouldn't stay here again but the room was good for what it was used for certainly and was the best price around and only 20 minutes from alton towers.

Reviewed by
c adams

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
As a cheap room with no frills this was what I expected. No messing around with pleasantries, given room key straight away. Room had clean bed linen and comfortable bed. Room was far too hot and due to main road outside window too noisy to keep window open overnight. Bathtub was dirty but otherwise acceptable level of cleanliness. All in all good value for money and worth considering if all you are looking for is a place to stay.

Reviewed by
R Patel

From Bristol , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor communication
We booked this as we were going Alton Towers the next day and as we live 2.5 hours away thought it would be next to stay nearby. Got to the hotel to find they didn't have my booking. Turned out it wasn't a buy now pay later as originally advertised and they'd tried to take payment which declined and the hotel failed to notify me of this. They informed me there were no double rooms available! There was an other guest in reception who was refusing to stay in their room as it smelled of stale smoke so told the guy at reception if we could handle the smell, couldn't we have their room. Took us to the room and there was a smell, but it wasn't smoke, it was dirt. You could smell the filth, old and musty, the room was barely bigger than my daughters box room with a double bed in the middle of it but the assistant manager offered it to us complimentary and after driving more than 2 hours I just wanted to settle down and get something to eat. There were dinner menus and meal times in the lobby so I asked if I could take one of the menus to my room to have a look, I was told there would be no point as they weren't serving dinner at that present time!!! I asked where there was to eat and was told there was an Indian restaurant at the top of the road but that was it. In the end we had to drive to find somewhere to eat.
The next morning we ordered the small breakfast, egg, sausage, barely warmed beans and bacon that had been precooked and heated up! Just ate what we could and checked out so we could enjoy our day. Whilst at the theme park I received a call from the hotel about the mix up and was told it would be looked into.
The following day whilst at work I receive a call from a different person at the hotel regarding my stay and they fact they'd been unable to take payment. She then asked me for a card so they could take payment for my stay!!!!! I informed her it was given complimentary and the assistant manager said to speak to him if there were any problems. She appeared to be unable to understand what I was saying so then said "you stayed in our hotel 19th July and you haven't paid for the room" I informed her I was aware when I had stayed and that I hadn't paid but I had cash to pay for it but it was given to me complimentary. She then said "but you need to pay"! At that point I told her to speak to her assistant manager before calling me up.
The communication from and between this hotel is poor, it stinks, it's old but it's cheap (ish) so good for budget! I, next time, will be paying a little extra and going elsewhere!

Reviewed by
Siobhan R

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next