No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Glenridding Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ullswater, Penrith, CA11 0PB
Hotel completely non smoking. Ullswater is a charming part of the Lake District not to be missed, and perfectly placed to explore the rest of the Lakes. The hotel is surrounded by fabulous walks and beautiful views. Guests can obtain all the help and advice they need from us, and borrow maps and flasks. There is a super outdoor shop in the village so you can make sure that you are properly equipped. The range of walking and outdoor activity is unsurpassed in England and it is fine for inexperienced or novice walkers. Take advantage of two restaurants, traditional pub, and coffee shop between them catering to all your needs. For your leisure there is an indoor swimming pool, sauna, table tennis and snooker table. If you must work we have two dedicated conference suites.
Picture of Best Western Glenridding Hotel, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were lovely, very polite and friendly. Room was great. Breakfast was excellent and as a vegetarian plenty of choice. Will definitely go again very soon.

Reviewed by
G Horner

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Superb location on the banks of Ullswater and in the quite village of Glenridding. The staff are very polite and friendly. The room I stayed in was spacious and very clean and had a lovely view over the lake. I ate in the Ratchers Bar both nights of my stay and the food is very good. Breakfast is in the Garden Room, which again has a view over the lake. I cannot fault the hotel, staff or the location and would certainly recommend it to my family and friends.

Reviewed by
Dawn W

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet January
We chose this hotel as it was midrange in our budget. Upon arrival all staff were friendly and attentive, the room was immaculate and so was the rest of the hotel. Only 5 mins from ullswater and the scenery was beautiful.
The ratchers bar was comforting with good food (pizza) and a roaring open fire and good cask ales. Again, the bartender was amiable and informative.
We were informed that we were one of few guests staying in an unusually quiet January but having the hotel to ourselves (almost) was great! However this was not fault of the hotel, even a local shopkeeper said it was the quietest Jan in 30 odd years!
Definately consider this, be your trip to yomp up helvellyn or just to get away!

Reviewed by
T Ward

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at this hotel five years ago for one night and loved the location so came back. The views over the Lake are lovely and we were lucky enough with the weather to make use of the beer garden. This isn't the most modern of hotels but we absolutely loved it for it's comfort and relaxed atmosphere. Food was great both in the bar and the restaurant but what really made it was the lovely friendly staff. Will definitiely stay again.

Reviewed by
Andrew McDonald

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break did the job
was desperate for a hotel for the night the hotel was available and was adequate, the hotel wanted £25 for an early checkin which I thought was very expensive

Reviewed by
alison g

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very unhappy at being told that even during the extreme temperatures trousers had to be worn in the dining room. Fortunately the 4 star hotel next door were much more accomodating in this matter which might explain why they were busy and the Glenridding dining room had only a handful of customers for dinner. I would have thought long smart shorts would be acceptable.
The next evening I was extremely angry to see someone in the dining room in long shorts.
I would like some explanation as to why this was acceptable on a Wednesday and not a Tuesday.
I will not return to a Best Western hotel until I receive a satisfactory explanation.

Reviewed by
David Cotton

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Stayed here on a few occasions now, very friendly hotel in a great location. Bar food was great and jsut what need after a day walking in the hills and the swimming pool is great place to relax muscles.

Reviewed by
S Lord

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very very good hotel

Reviewed by
p clayton

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms
I found the room exceptionally basic, with aged decor, maybe ok if I was in my 80s! The rest of the hotel was very nice, but the room really let it down for me.

Reviewed by
catherine marsden

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and service
Fabulous greeting at reception. Room was clean if a little bit dated. This didn't matter to us but some people might want something a little more modern. Staff continued to be very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Food was great with breakfast being very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next