No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fraoch House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
66 Pilrig St, , , Edinburgh, EH6 5AS
Fraoch House is one of the finest bed and breakfast establishments in Edinburgh. Vibrant, warm and comfortable, it provides luxury 4 star accommodation in the heart of the city. The period features of this lovely Victorian building combine with contemporary design to produce a clean, modern look. Ideally situated 10 minutes walk from Princes Street, it allows visitors to take advantage of the many local attractions in Edinburgh city centre without having to worry about parking. It lies within easy reach of all major travel routes, making it the ideal base to experience the many fascinating towns and cities in central Scotland. Fraoch House has been designed with warmth and comfort in mind. The B&B has seven en-suite rooms and two bedrooms with private bathrooms. All rooms are quiet, comfortable and modern, with an emphasis on calmness and relaxation. Special care has been taken to design each room with style and practicality in mind, to ensure your stay is pleasant and memorable. Broadband Internet is available from a communal PC and if you have your own laptop, wireless Internet is available in every room. Complimentary newspapers are available at breakfast. When making a booking please do let us know your arrival time. It is very helpful as it allows me to plan my day and grants me the freedom to leave the house.
Picture of Fraoch House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably the best B&B in Edinburgh!
Excellent B&B. Staff very customer focussed, friendly, helpful and gave the impression that nothing would be too much trouble for them. Room lovely, food really good.This business deserves to succeed. What more can I say.

Reviewed by
Mike Nelson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at Fraoch House
Not only was the B&B excellent it was on a brilliant bus route, with a stop right out side, Gareth was very helpful and as we had to leave early on our last morning left a superb breakfast ready for us. Would definitely recommend Fraoch House and would stay there again if we visit Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
J THWAITES

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attention to detail and very homely
Excellent B & B! Really great value- good location and very comfortable. Exceptional breakfast!

Reviewed by
J Clements

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcoming stay, fantastic hosts & beautiful guest house
Had a warm and welcoming stay at Fraoch House. Gareth was very helpful in letting us know about places to visit in Edinburgh, he was chatty & a fantastic host.
The room (no. 1) was very tastefully decorated and clean. The facilities were very good & the bed was very comfy, I'm quite a light sleeper & didn't find it difficult to have a good nights sleep here.
In the morning we were greeted by the lovely Kat & were served a lovely breakfast which has a good selection to suit everyone.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend Fraoch House.

Reviewed by
Jessica S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
Regular visitor to Edinburgh but first to Fraoch House. Makes a great change from going to the normal 'chain' hotel. Personal friendly service, very good sized room, very clean and comfortable, nice extra touches like sweets in the room, very good breakfast and very good value for money. Highly recommend.

Reviewed by
James F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay at Fraoch
Just excellent. Quality of accommodation superb. Breakfast exceptionally good. Host welcoming, good humoured and full of useful advice without overdoing it.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fraoch House experience
Gareth and Kat are great hosts and are willing to advise on places to visit etc.
Accommodation very clean and top marks for breakfast.

Reviewed by
T Booth

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing stay at Fraoch House
My partner and I stayed at Fraoch House for 1 night and have to say we had a brilliant time; the room was comfortable and clean, we were lucky to have the only room leading straight out onto the garden and although we didn't make the most of it the view was lovely. The ensuite bathroom was a brilliant size and very clean and the breakfast in the morning was incredible! Just what we needed before a hectic day sightseeing! We've also got to say a massive thank you to Cat who was a brilliant host on both days and gave us some great tips on what to do in our short stay in Edinburgh. We will definitely be staying here again when we return to this beautiful city!!

Reviewed by
Natasha James

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B & B!
One of the best B & Bs i have stayed in on all aspects. Excellent service, room, cleanliness and best of all staff there. To top it off, breakfast was top notch also :)

Reviewed by
T Thevar

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nicely furnished room, welcoming and friendly service, superb food.
I'm usually to lazy to bother with writing reviews, but this place was too good not to. Unreservedly recommended.

Reviewed by
Joel W

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next