No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tewitfield Marina

5Visit England Assessed Self Catering Ratings explained
Chapel Lane Tewitfield, Carnforth, LA6 1GP
Tewitfield Marina is a purpose built hamlet with its own luxury holiday accommodation complex. Situated on the Lancashire and Cumbria border alongside Tewitfield Locks on the Lancaster Canal we provide our guests with the perfect place to stay with easy access to some of Britain’s best loved countryside, with both the Lake District and the
Yorkshire Dales being less than half an hours drive away. Also close by is the historic city of Lancaster with its castles, museums and parks to visit, and the seaside town of Morecambe, famous for its breathtaking sunsets across the bay and over the Lakeland Fells, as well as the beautiful villages of Arnside and Silverdale within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Tewitfield’s location makes it ideal for those who wish to take a more active holiday with nearby facilities offering a host of sporting pursuits including bird watching at the nearby Leighton Moss RSPB Nature Reserve, fishing or a peaceful round of golf to a more exhilarating quad bike ride! Within the immediate vicinity there is a welcoming country pub, the
Longlands Hotel, serving real ale with a varied food menu. Just across the road is Greenlands Farm Village with its own farm shop selling crafts and local produce alongside a café where you can relax and sample fresh homemade food.
Picture of Tewitfield Marina, Carnforth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place
Sadly we only stayed one night. The accommodation was very good and clean and seemed to provide everything you would need when away including some tea, coffee and sugar. We eat at a pub in the next village which was much quieter than the one next to the marina. There was plenty of information provided about the marina and places to visit nearby. What would have been useful was where to buy basic foods as I forgot the milk and only 6 small pots were left.. We had trouble accessing the door key but were helped by some other guests. It was lovely, in the morning to be able to look at the barges right outside our lounge window. The only other thing was trying to find it in the dark - the marina is accessed through the pub car park, not black gates on the road.
I'd like to come back in the summer for longer and hopefully better weather.

Reviewed by
j campbell

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

To good to share!
We have stayed here on a number of occasions and it is always fabulous. Great location overlooking the marina and close to lancaster, the lake district and bits of yorkshire that are pretty!

Reviewed by
N Bishop

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breath taking
A lovely local pub on the grounds our apartment was absolutely amazing very warm and nice would recommend these apartments to anybody looking for an amazing place to stay 11/10 great stay.

Reviewed by
M Lowndes

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
The booking and access was very easy. We were greeted to a fantastically and comfortably furnished apartment come mini house. The facilities were excellent and after a previously poor hotel, we both enjoyed a hot and proper shower. My partner was especially comfortable in the thick oversized towels.
We cannot fault a single part of this place and already look forward to our next stay as we are regular visitors to the area. We just hope this accidentally stumbled upon place doesn't get too discovered for our own selfish reasons....

Reviewed by
P Stocks

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to stay, very well kept and spotlessly clean. Will be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jason D

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service

Reviewed by
D Harper

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely little getaway if a bit isolated.
Arrived by train into carnforth as we dont drive. Good initial first impression although not much in carnforth itself. Struggled to get a taxi and after an hour and ringing every taxi number we could find on google a local man very kindly offerred to drive us. Arrived at the apartment and we were impressed. Very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Only downside was the bed was quite small and very firm. Ordered a takeaway the first night as we were worn out from travelling. Next day booked a taxi to carnforth to have a look around. Theres nothing there so wouldnt bother. Went to the local farm was very overpriced and wasn't impressed. Wouldn't bother with the cafe at nearly 20 pounds for two sandwhiches. Also let down by the charity man trying to pressure sell you to sign up todonate and wanted a regular donation not a one off. Overall accommodation was decent and good value but I wouldn't go again unless I was driving. Not enough to do locally.

Reviewed by
natalie mcdermaid

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find!
Good location and accomodation

Reviewed by
Tracy B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a sunset & view
Luxury apartment with balcony, facing West overlooking the marina.
Picked up keys from lock box as text message instructed - perfect.
entered a large well appointment apartment made even better by the late evening sunshine streaming in though the large double glass doors & windows. Sat there with the doors open on the large comfy sofa with a beer listening to music. A great end to a long day

Reviewed by
A Rayner

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking furniture!
Great location, I noticed a lot of comments about road noise and whilst it was noticable it wasn't awful. The biggest issue we had was the furnishings clearly needed some urgent attention. The sofa was all but collapsed and was tattered and torn and the armchair in the lounge the same.
The television sound needed continual changes as it popped in and out of stereo and bass randomly.
The wifi was great and despite being warned on arrival when we asked for the code (it wasn't provided) that it may be intermittent, we experienced no issues.
It's a shame that a relatively small investment in the basics (including black out blinds) could make this property a hundred times better value for money.

Reviewed by
Karyn F

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next