No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tewitfield Marina

5Visit England Assessed Self Catering Ratings explained
Chapel Lane Tewitfield, Carnforth, LA6 1GP
Tewitfield Marina is a purpose built hamlet with its own luxury holiday accommodation complex. Situated on the Lancashire and Cumbria border alongside Tewitfield Locks on the Lancaster Canal we provide our guests with the perfect place to stay with easy access to some of Britain’s best loved countryside, with both the Lake District and the
Yorkshire Dales being less than half an hours drive away. Also close by is the historic city of Lancaster with its castles, museums and parks to visit, and the seaside town of Morecambe, famous for its breathtaking sunsets across the bay and over the Lakeland Fells, as well as the beautiful villages of Arnside and Silverdale within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Tewitfield’s location makes it ideal for those who wish to take a more active holiday with nearby facilities offering a host of sporting pursuits including bird watching at the nearby Leighton Moss RSPB Nature Reserve, fishing or a peaceful round of golf to a more exhilarating quad bike ride! Within the immediate vicinity there is a welcoming country pub, the
Longlands Hotel, serving real ale with a varied food menu. Just across the road is Greenlands Farm Village with its own farm shop selling crafts and local produce alongside a café where you can relax and sample fresh homemade food.
Picture of Tewitfield Marina, Carnforth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking furniture!
Great location, I noticed a lot of comments about road noise and whilst it was noticable it wasn't awful. The biggest issue we had was the furnishings clearly needed some urgent attention. The sofa was all but collapsed and was tattered and torn and the armchair in the lounge the same.
The television sound needed continual changes as it popped in and out of stereo and bass randomly.
The wifi was great and despite being warned on arrival when we asked for the code (it wasn't provided) that it may be intermittent, we experienced no issues.
It's a shame that a relatively small investment in the basics (including black out blinds) could make this property a hundred times better value for money.

Reviewed by
Karyn F

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for a weekend break
The apartment that we booked was spacious, clean and comfortable. Although the Marina is incredibly close to the M6, once the balcony doors were shut, it could not be heard. The kitchen are was well furnished with more than enough utensils and crockery. An apartment like this was perfect for our weekend away. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Clare W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great apartments in a great location, our 5th...... Can't wait to return!

Reviewed by
Jayne C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation, great value for money.
Very clean and spacious accommodation that met all expectations and beyond. Ideal base for purpose of visit but equally would be an ideal base for a walking holiday or just for a mini break.

Reviewed by
Mark Nortcliffe

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Break
We enjoyed an excellent short break here. The accommodation is fantastic, clean and very well equipped. I have no idea how Tewitfield would cope with complaints because we didn't have any !
If you want excellent accommodation in a place where you are completely undisturbed, this is the place for you.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superior home from home holiday!!!!!
I have been coming down to tewitfield Marian for a few years now and my elderly parents who have health issues feel safe and secure here. Many thanks!!!

Reviewed by
jmd weir

From lesmahagow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice place close to the lakes
Really nice please to stay when visiting the Lake District. Around 40 mins drive to Windermere and the Lakes. The house is pretty new and the beds are very comfortable. The size of the property was perfect and all the facilities were more than decent. We will come back again in the future!

Reviewed by
Carlos T

From London, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tewitfield Marins
We loved our stay at the marina. The accommodation is to a very high standard. This is our third stay and we find it so relaxing and comfortable. Whilst we were there just for the one evening we had a meal at the Longlands Hotel. This was convenient and enjoyable. We would not hesitate to book again in future.

Reviewed by
j braniff

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good night thanks

Reviewed by
Clive Walton

From Chatham, England
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Accommodation - poor information
Arrived Thursday late afternoon - was impressed by a call the day before we arrived from the booking office, Sadly when we arrived shown to our accommodation which we liked (which was next to the reception office) the young lady seemed to want to depart in haste, showed us the key safe code to get into the apartment and went, No other information given.
Temperature below freezing and could not get the apartment warm - the heating switched off at 10pm and it was cold.
No central heating boiler evident - so assumed there must be some over rider on the heating system to keep usage down. Next morning went to office to complain - lady pleasant but no apology - stated we should have rang her - but we had no telephone number. She then showed us the central heating boiler which was outside on the verandah? Not a place one would normally think of looking.
Anyway the apartment became really lovely and warm and remained the same for the remaining 3 days of our stay. Would recommend the Tewitfield Marina but just feel that a little more information from the reception would be beneficial to everyone. When we left we put the key back in the key safe and saw no one - again it would have been nice to see a face and asked personally if we had enjoyed our stay.
Wonderful location, fantastic pub only 50 yds away - accommodation very good, just needs a more personal touch.
Would recommend this to anyone and hope that the reception just takes this small but important point on board.
Enjoyed our visit and would wish to go again.

Reviewed by
Deborah W

From Stone, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next