No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - County Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Lancaster Road , Carnforth, LA5 9LD
This family run Hotel, just off the M6 in Carnforth, has free Wifi, a good local reputation for food and ideal for exploring the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.

The lovely Lodge offers all en-suite rooms that are so comfortable and welcoming. There are 5 doubles, 3 twins, 2 small family rooms and 1 large family suite. Each has beverage making facilities, T.V. and all the comfort you long for when on holiday or enjoying a short break. Guest rooms are located in a separate building to the restaurant and bar.

The Gateway Restaurant menu is varied and inspired, offering tantalising lite bites, weekly specials and a sampling of flavors from traditional to exotic. Breakfast is also available and prices vary All food is of course home-cooked and locally sourced where possible. A welcoming lounge/bar is available where you can socialize and enjoy a drink before or after your meal.

The Hotel is well placed for exploring the many sights and attractions of the area which is noted for historic sites, charming villages, beautiful coastline and of course, the wonders of the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. The pleasant little county town of Carnforth is a delight itself.
Situated in the North West of England, the Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty covers 312sq miles of rural Lancashire and North Yorkshire and includes the famous landmark Pendle Hill. The Forest offers plenty of opportunity for quiet enjoyment such as walking, cycling, fishing and horse riding, and with newly opened Access Land, can now offer some of the most remote and rugged walking in the North West.

Guests are requested to leave an estimated time of arrival when making their booking, as well as a mobile phone number if at all possible. Guests are especially required to specify their arrival time if it is expected to be later than 21:00 GMT, when the reception closes.

Please Note: check in time on 25/12/12 is 12 - 3pm only.
Picture of County Hotel, Carnforth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not at all Happy
Was very disappointed with the whole experience,The only night we ate in the 'restaurant' I left more than half of my meal,and told the staff member the pork was undercooked and chewy and the mash was solid,after saying im sorry about that,he promptly asked if we would like the bill,after asking if we wanted dessert menu.Absolutely no point in complaining about the substandard 'pub food' charged at restaurant prices.Also the room was very dark,depressing,dingy and altogether a bit tired looking,no view from the window just overlooking an tatty yard.Also no breakfast included in price but for £8.95 (the cheapest cost) we could have had beans or scrambled eggs on toast,are they having a laugh,also complained about the night before we were leaving (Saturday 16th August) I was woken up at around 11 pm,by the most horrendous bangings and clatterings,sounded as though somewhere was being broken unto,in fact I said to my husband that I didnt feel safe,especially as I tried to ring reception to find out what was going on and there is no night reception.The noise went on for more than half an hour and sounded like people moving furniture and generally like building site noises.When I informed reception next morning was told it was probably other residents going to bed.Well I have never heard anybody making so much noise going to bed, and taking so long about it, and also there was no voices talking,which made it even stranger. We paid in all a total of £240 for a four night stay,which makes £60 per night,when they are offering rooms at £55 per night.so not sure what the other £20 was for.All in all a very disappointing stay and despite complaining about the two aforementioned points,absolutely nothing been done about it.Would never stay there again,would not recommend to anyone and will be also putting a review on Trip Advisor too.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry to read your review. Firstly the room you stayed in is the quietest room in the annexe. The room does not over look a tatty yard, it overlooks the school playing field. We had a large regular group staying in the annexe the same evening whom had dined with us and had a few drinks in our bar. They all vacated the bar approx 11 pm back to their rooms, we can only assume this was the noise you heard as they had the rest of the rooms in the annexe. That night also it was very windy which could have contributed to the strange noises you heard (trees outside room windows). With regards to the meal in the restaurant. We apologise as the waiter is a new member of staff who should of spoken to the manger about the complaint made about your meal. The price was what you booked it at via laterooms. Our rooms do start from £55 but you chose to book via laterooms where there was no availabilty for this room. Breakfast starts at £7.95 which we feel good value as you have the choice from fruit juices, cereals, yogurts, toast/croissants, tea & coffee within this price. Other options also include this in the price. As is states on our hotel information, reception closes at 9 pm. We do not have a night porter as you have a key with access to the annexe to come and go as you please, with emergency mobile numbers in the information folder in the room. All extra information will have been told when checking into the hotel. I must state we are a small family run business and always look to improve from comments made. Thank you. David Cousins - Director

Reviewed by
Anne Cameron

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and helpful staff hotel well situated

Reviewed by
James R

From Peel, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Colin W

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smoking
It was very offputting to have the cigarette disposal box next to the front door. Inhaling stale tobacco fumes while struggling with a stiff lock was not a good introduction to the hotel.

Reviewed by
Jean L

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great and relaxing
The room we got was great value for money. Very clean and above all very quiet considering the room was next to a road.
I don't think I have felt as relaxed in any other accommodation I've stayed in.
Wouldn't have to think twice about staying there again.

Reviewed by
simon harris

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable food good friendly staff

Reviewed by
colin fraser

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy visitor
The room was very clean, I felt very comfortable staying there, and I'm very fussy.
The staff were all fabulous, so very friendly.
Carvery on Sunday evening was very good.
Will be my first choice to stay when in the area again.

Reviewed by
L Gratton

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The staff were friendly and polite. The breakfasts good and generous, well cooked and value for money .
The room and bathroom were both a good size and clean..

Reviewed by
n r

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly helpful staff
Dated but clean

Reviewed by
I RILEY

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next