No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - County Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Lancaster Road , Carnforth, LA5 9LD
This family run Hotel, just off the M6 in Carnforth, has free Wifi, a good local reputation for food and ideal for exploring the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.

The lovely Lodge offers all en-suite rooms that are so comfortable and welcoming. There are 5 doubles, 3 twins, 2 small family rooms and 1 large family suite. Each has beverage making facilities, T.V. and all the comfort you long for when on holiday or enjoying a short break. Guest rooms are located in a separate building to the restaurant and bar.

The Gateway Restaurant menu is varied and inspired, offering tantalising lite bites, weekly specials and a sampling of flavors from traditional to exotic. Breakfast is also available and prices vary All food is of course home-cooked and locally sourced where possible. A welcoming lounge/bar is available where you can socialize and enjoy a drink before or after your meal.

The Hotel is well placed for exploring the many sights and attractions of the area which is noted for historic sites, charming villages, beautiful coastline and of course, the wonders of the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. The pleasant little county town of Carnforth is a delight itself.
Situated in the North West of England, the Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty covers 312sq miles of rural Lancashire and North Yorkshire and includes the famous landmark Pendle Hill. The Forest offers plenty of opportunity for quiet enjoyment such as walking, cycling, fishing and horse riding, and with newly opened Access Land, can now offer some of the most remote and rugged walking in the North West.

Guests are requested to leave an estimated time of arrival when making their booking, as well as a mobile phone number if at all possible. Guests are especially required to specify their arrival time if it is expected to be later than 21:00 GMT, when the reception closes.

Please Note: check in time on 25/12/12 is 12 - 3pm only.
Picture of County Hotel, Carnforth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Colin W

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smoking
It was very offputting to have the cigarette disposal box next to the front door. Inhaling stale tobacco fumes while struggling with a stiff lock was not a good introduction to the hotel.

Reviewed by
Jean L

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great and relaxing
The room we got was great value for money. Very clean and above all very quiet considering the room was next to a road.
I don't think I have felt as relaxed in any other accommodation I've stayed in.
Wouldn't have to think twice about staying there again.

Reviewed by
simon harris

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable food good friendly staff

Reviewed by
colin fraser

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy visitor
The room was very clean, I felt very comfortable staying there, and I'm very fussy.
The staff were all fabulous, so very friendly.
Carvery on Sunday evening was very good.
Will be my first choice to stay when in the area again.

Reviewed by
L Gratton

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The staff were friendly and polite. The breakfasts good and generous, well cooked and value for money .
The room and bathroom were both a good size and clean..

Reviewed by
n r

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly helpful staff
Dated but clean

Reviewed by
I RILEY

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable with friendly staff
I booked a double room and ended up in a large family suite. I ate late in a quiet restaurant; food was good, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
S Harrow

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

County Hotel, Carnforth
Staff were very efficient and very friendly. Food was excellent and evrything was value for money. The room itself was well laid out and equipped and spotlessly clean. Unfortunately it was situated at the junction of 2 busy roads so noise was always a problem, even when windows were closed. The weather was warm during our stay and the radiator in the ensuite was jammed at full heat. We spent our 2 nights there bathed in sweat. We did ask for something to be done on our first night and a member of staff looked at it but no improvement.

Reviewed by
Harry Kipling

From Bishop Auckland, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next