No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Parsonage

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Main Street, Farrington Gurney, Farrington Gurney, BS39 6UB
Welcome to our beautiful 17th Century Grade 11* Listed house, situated off the A37 between Bath, Bristol and Wells on the edge of the Mendip Hills, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Old Parsonage is very conveniently placed for both the business traveller and tourist visiting the West Country. We can easily be reached by public transport and there is ample private off street parking.

The Old Parsonage was built in the 1680’s and was owned by The Duchy of Cornwall for over 200 years. It retains many of its beautiful period features including wooden panelling, shutters, period open fireplaces and a wonderful original 17th Century staircase. Rooms have an interesting collection of antique furniture and beautiful chandeliers combined with modern facilities to make your stay very comfortable and relaxing.
Picture of The Old Parsonage, Farrington Gurney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for our stay
absolutely lovely location. No complaints what so ever. Hosts very frieldly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, especially the home-made breads. Rooms delightful. Bathroom spotless. Very interesting house. Would certainly recommend, and will definitely return. Barbara and john maddern

Reviewed by
Barbara Maddern

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room fit for a King
Warm and friendly hosts in Brian and Charlotte and love what they have done with the place. Beautifully decorated with a real feel for the history of the Old Parsonage. The room was well appointed and had a grand aura. The breakfast was excellent, cooked to perfection with wonderful home made breads.

Reviewed by
LAURENCE S

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most beautiful place I have ever stayed!
This B&B is full of character and charm, it really feels like a magical place! I almost didn't want to leave and ended up extending my stay. The room was huge with a high ceiling, lovely decor and the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. There is a very pretty garden outside, which is very well kept with lots of flowers and nice to go and sit and relax in especially when the sun is out. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful, they even gave me a lift into a local town when they were heading that way, and gave me lots of advice on finding my way around. I really can't say any negatives, it is a total bargain considering that you also get a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning with the price, with nice touches , like fresh locally sourced bread. I stayed here a total of 4 days before heading off to Glastonbury festival for the weekend. I am defiantly going to come back and treat myself to another stay there soon. I would recommend this place for a relaxing and healing place to stay, it would also make a nice get-away for couples. It is a blissful and special place.

Reviewed by
R Tripney

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow, this was just the most wondeful experience
A four poster bed, idealyic surroundings, excellent welcome and a wonderful time - thank you so much.

Reviewed by
Nicola Phillips

From Sunbury on Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful anniversary.
The weekend just gone was our first wedding anniversary and booked a 3 night stay at The Old Parsonage. It most certainly didn't disappoint! Our hosts were extremely welcoming and very friendly. The accommodation was so beautiful and the village was so peaceful. Having never been to Bath or the surrounding villages before, we went on a recommendation. It was an amazing weekend.

Reviewed by
E Mudie

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Historic Parsonage
If you would enjoy stepping back in time but keeping all modern conveniences, then this is the place for you. We stayed in a beautiful large bedroom with a four poster bed and large ensuite bathroom. The owners have tastefully restored The Old Parsonage and are welcoming and helpful, giving us ideas for our outings and answering all our questions. We would thoroughly recommend this holiday and hope to return again soon.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quaint and Quirky accommodation in beautiful old building
My stay was like dipping into history, beautiful house steeped in character. Lovely owners who made me feel very welcome. Highlight of stay was waking up to the smell of baking bread!
The choice of bread was fabulous , only difficulty was cutting it because it was so warm and fresh ... straight from oven!

Reviewed by
Rhona Buchanan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a lovely place!
My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in April and we couldn't have asked for anything else. The room was huge and the style was beautiful. We also had a kitchenette and a very large bathroom with a lovely bath and powerful shower.The owners were lovely and very informative about local activities and the full english breakfast was delicious. Overall its a beautiful hotel with a very friendly atmosphere and I would recommend it to everyone.

Reviewed by
C Goodwin

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What`s Not to like ?
Excellent choice for a place to stay.
Lovely old house, charming hostess and host - plus - a jolly good breakfast !

Reviewed by
margaret lawrence

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great birthday!
I can fully recommend the Old Parsonage. This old Georgian house really has the 'wow' factor. It's beautifully, traditionally decorated and the lady of the house is really helpful and accommodating..The breakfast is amazing, with the vast choice of freshly cooked to order hot food to the miriad of cereals and then there is the warm fresh bread.....You don't need any lunch!The location is perfect if you like visiting historical places like Bath, Wells and Cheddar Gorge. We had a fantastic time and hope to go back as 3 days was just not long enough but it was a great birthday.

Reviewed by
J Bell

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next