The Red Lion Hotel

3

2 CASTLE STREET, LUTON, LU1 3AA

Price From 108.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (60)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Martin Musgrave

  • May 2015

Nice little hotel great value for money

Room was smallish but clean and modern and a bargain for £55.

Apparently it can be quite noisy due to the bar downstairs but we came back late so that didn't effect us. Staff were very friendly and helpful. From what I could tell once the bar is closed you can't access the hotel, so bear that in mind if you want to come in very late!

  • lewis s

  • April 2015

un-enjoyable stay

I found the hotel to be run down and in need of a refurbishment.

The most important thing for me when staying away for business is a comfortable bed and a good shower. The mattress was very thin and you could feel every spring. The bed cover was clearly very old and flat and so where the pillows. The bathroom was adequate although it had a few loose or missing tiles and could do with some attention. The curtains where half hanging off of the curtain rail and i had to try and reattach the end so it atleast covered the window. Windows were generally dluncheon with dust and dirt. I was woken up 4 times throughout the night by shouting and knocking on doors along the corridor but I was not suprized as it is clearly full of contractors who had a few too many and had no awareness of others. Also cars leaving the car park which my window backed onto at 4am was not ideal. I was woken up at 8am the following morning to a loud knock at the door from house keeping. I said hello and then was asked how long will I be in the room for?. I was told the room is mine until 11 am so I said around 9 30 to 10 I will be leaving. At 9 am I had another knock at the door from house keeping and i had the same conversation through the door. I felt that I was being told to get up and leave so they could 'clean' the room. So I didn't sleep much at all and I am a very heavy sleeper and I felt rushed out if the door. So overall not a very pleasant experience. I won't be going back for sure.

  • D Rubbery

  • April 2015

overnight stay

Easy to find central to town centre parking, at rear safe.excellent front of house reception.

Very friendly helpful staff ,food very good and not expensive and a very good atmosphere in the hotel .would recommend this hotel

  • g law

  • April 2015

great staff very helpful excellent food and on site parking was a bonus

  • Chris Beckford

  • April 2015

RED LION HOTEL

VERY GOOD HOTEL THE STAFF WERE SO SO HOPEFULL

SIX MARKS

  • R Heasman

  • March 2015

Happy with everything except got told car park locked at 11 pm turned up at 10.50 pm an all locked had to pay for parking elsewhere !.

  • Alan B

  • March 2015

The Maze That is Luton

1.

Took nearly an hour to find the place. 2. Car park not only Full (so what) but if there had been a place could not get in or out as it was blocked either by guest or employee. 3. Generally room clean and tidy but would have appreciated a cover on the duvet. 4. Plenty of eating places nearby - ask staff

  • Ian H

  • March 2015

Good location, tired decor, polite staff, idiot DJ.

The service was quick and polite as always.

The room, although certainly clean, could do with some updating but you have to balance that with the low cost - £45 a night is the cheapest I could find in Luton Town center. But the DJ. Thursday night and granted I was expecting some noise from the pub, that was inevitable. But there was no need for the music to be that loud. There was no one in the pub and the level of the music meant people left i.e myself and my mates. The dj swaggered around turning all the speaker levels up and I can only assume that management didn`t complain as he was a big guy. He was obviously catering for the Polish populous - and I say this because I had to move out of Luton because of their preference for insanely loud music. My sleep was not as it should have been at all.

  • Paul Sheridan

  • January 2015

Horrible!

Cold, duvet too small for a single bed, dingy hole.

  • J Gummer

  • December 2014

Tired Red Lion

We stayed at the Red Lion as we needed to book overnight accommodation at short notice.

We did select the cheapest and most convenient option. Although well situated adjacent to the main shopping area and the bar area being quite lively, the bedroom that we stayed in was a disappointment. We stayed in Redbourn room where one of the wardrobe doors had become detached from the wardrobe and was just leaning against the wardrobe. The bathroom tiles were dirty and stained. The bedding was inadequate - the duvet barely covering the bed. The tea/coffee making facilities were very poor and after making a cup of tea from the tea bags and UHT milk, we were left wondering how long they had been there. Overall not a very satisfying experience.