No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 CASTLE STREET , LUTON, LU1 3AA
Brookes Hotel is situated in the heart of Luton, just 10 minutes drive from Luton Airport and 30 minutes rail journey to London, it has an ideal location whether you are looking for a comfortable night’s accommodation in our newly re-furbished rooms, planning a corporate event or just meeting up with friends in the popular nightspot that is Brookes Bar.
Here at Brookes we pride ourselves in combining great value accommodation with good food and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We have 25-ensuite rooms, the majority of which have recently under gone a stylish refurbishment and now have a very contemporary feel, still, with all the comforts of home. Ideal for both business travellers looking for convenience and leisure travellers looking to explore local attractions such as Woburn Abbey & Whipsnade Zoo.

Over the Christmas period we will have limited parking spaces, for more information please talk directly to the hotel for more information and alternative parking arrangements"
And also

"This hotel does not operate a 24 hour reception but a night porter is available at all times who can be contacted on the number on various signs on the windows and doors around the hotel
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel , LUTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
great value for a budget room, pretty quiet, nice bed.
however room for improvement in terms of decor and cleanliness
some staff super friendly and helpful, some not so great
pretty reasonable pub underneath, good value food and felt comfortable and safe as a woman alone

Reviewed by
L Salter

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay and noise
This is a pub with other pubs around - so noise levels are high. good room. friendly service and staff, i did buy breakfast in the morning - very good - not included in price of room.

Reviewed by
Michelle D

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean @ cheap
Decent location, cheap rooms however very uncomfortable beds.

Reviewed by
FRASER M

From Taynuilt, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After flight stay for one night
I stayed for one night only arriving at 1am and checked out at 9am.
The pub was closed at 1am, but there was a note to call the night porter on his mobile to be let into the room, which I did and he answered first time.
The room was small, the bed was single and the bedding was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable.
The bathroom was small, basic and had clean towels, hand wash and shower gel and a shower cubicle.
There was an iron, tv and kettle with basic drink supplies.
The walls and parts of the decor were in bad form, ie punched hole / dent in the wall, scratches, and colour fading. The carpet was clean.
I slept well and it was not noisy, which was good.
I checked out the next morning at the pub without any problems.
Overall, for £35 a night it met my needs.

Reviewed by
RUPA K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central to town - poor parking area
The rooms are on the ground floor in an adjacent building.
Very warm - no air-con and being on ground floor no window air.
The car park is very tight for space - do not park next to a contractor van!
The food was limited due to the grill being broken.
What was available was small portion - next time pop into town to McDonalds.
Breakfast NOT included - again small portions considering price.

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as Expected.

Reviewed by
Hamza G

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night in Luton
The staff were very friendly and booked me in quickly. I was shown to my single occupancy room. It was clean and modern. However, unfortunately there was a problem with the window. I reported this to the staff immediately. They dealt with the problem quickly and moved me to another double room straight away. All the staff were helpful and friendly.The next room was again, very clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. However, the pillows were very soft and I had to bolster the two pillows with both the bed cushions in order to give me some support. The position of the hotel was very central and convenient. It has customer parking, which was important to me. However, it is very close to the train station. I was confused whether breakfast was included in the room rate. It was not, however there was a good selection on the menu, which as reasonably priced. It is a pub and does provide food which is very convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel as very clean and convenient and well priced.

Reviewed by
p dunleavy

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception late on Friday night in the Disco,very helpful if a little slow. Room comfortable for cost
Long wait at reception - disco bar - once in room it was absolutely fine for the cost. Helpful staff.

Reviewed by
mike d

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice
It was a nice few days to stay at this hotel,staff were friendly,the room could be more modern,but it was ok for few days.Close to this hotel(5 minutes by walk)there is a swimming pool and a spa,so it was a very nice relaxing time for me.

Reviewed by
J Don

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What you'd expect for £45.
The hotel contacted me on the morning and informed me that the lights were hanging off the wall in the twin room I'd booked and asked if I needed a twin or a double. I needed a twin so they gave us two double rooms at no extra cost which was good service. It's right in the centre but to be honest the centre wasn't very welcoming. The breakfast was available from 7am and we needed it at 7am as had an appt at airport at 8 am so we went down at 7am and was told it'd be ready at 0730 as it was being warmed up so we had to use McDonald's. There's nothing really wrong with it as you get what you pay for! It was warm and clean enough for £45.

Reviewed by
Darren H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next