No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 CASTLE STREET , LUTON, LU1 3AA
Brookes Hotel is situated in the heart of Luton, just 10 minutes drive from Luton Airport and 30 minutes rail journey to London, it has an ideal location whether you are looking for a comfortable night’s accommodation in our newly re-furbished rooms, planning a corporate event or just meeting up with friends in the popular nightspot that is Brookes Bar.
Here at Brookes we pride ourselves in combining great value accommodation with good food and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We have 25-ensuite rooms, the majority of which have recently under gone a stylish refurbishment and now have a very contemporary feel, still, with all the comforts of home. Ideal for both business travellers looking for convenience and leisure travellers looking to explore local attractions such as Woburn Abbey & Whipsnade Zoo.

Over the Christmas period we will have limited parking spaces, for more information please talk directly to the hotel for more information and alternative parking arrangements"
And also

"This hotel does not operate a 24 hour reception but a night porter is available at all times who can be contacted on the number on various signs on the windows and doors around the hotel
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel , LUTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception late on Friday night in the Disco,very helpful if a little slow. Room comfortable for cost
Long wait at reception - disco bar - once in room it was absolutely fine for the cost. Helpful staff.

Reviewed by
mike d

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice
It was a nice few days to stay at this hotel,staff were friendly,the room could be more modern,but it was ok for few days.Close to this hotel(5 minutes by walk)there is a swimming pool and a spa,so it was a very nice relaxing time for me.

Reviewed by
J Don

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What you'd expect for £45.
The hotel contacted me on the morning and informed me that the lights were hanging off the wall in the twin room I'd booked and asked if I needed a twin or a double. I needed a twin so they gave us two double rooms at no extra cost which was good service. It's right in the centre but to be honest the centre wasn't very welcoming. The breakfast was available from 7am and we needed it at 7am as had an appt at airport at 8 am so we went down at 7am and was told it'd be ready at 0730 as it was being warmed up so we had to use McDonald's. There's nothing really wrong with it as you get what you pay for! It was warm and clean enough for £45.

Reviewed by
Darren H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed.
As a lutonion, I looked forward to staying in this hotel but it was not a good experience. There were many faults with the rooms equipment, the cleanliness left a lot to be desired and my sister was bitten by something within five minutes of arriving.
To be fair the staff were very friendly and helpful and duty manager immediately did everything possible to address the issues and offered and gave a full refund but I am afraid the red Lion is in serious need of a huge facelift.

Reviewed by
Marie Smith

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Stayed at the red lion for one night, staff couldnt have been more helpful. Excellent room booked a single room but got a free upgrade to a double room. Close to all local facilities including the airport, got a great night sleep could here any outside traffic. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Lauren W

From Tain, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service
When we pulled up we had to wait for gates to be opened after calling a phone number left on the gate. We had to wait almost 10 mins and the member of the staff on the phone was rude and the member of staff who opened the gates didn't even acknowledge us at all. It was also a real effort to check us in and then take us to our room. We were made to feel we were an inconvenience! The room smelt damp and it was dirty in the room and the bathroom.

ManagementResponse

I sincerely apologise that you felt your stay to be unsatisfactory. The gates are locked for the security and peace of mind for all our hotel guests, and to ensure that it is only hotel guests and staff that use the car park. Unfortunately at the time you arrived there were several customers at the bar, but a member of staff was sent out at the earliest opportunity. If you had brought the matter of your room to our attention during your stay, we would have been more than happy to resolve any issues you may have been experiencing. We pride ourselves on our customer service and unfortunately it appears you were not treated in the manner that we expect our employees to treat our guests. This matter has been resolved and I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will take all the feedback on board to make sure future guests do not encounter the same problems. Kind regards, Jay, Duty Manager

Reviewed by
J King

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value roomas above the pub
yes the rooms are just a little tired but don't let that put you off. Very clean, warm and quiet rooms. The food in the pub was very reasonably priced and a good range on the menu. The pub itself was actually great with a warm friendly atmosphere and a couple of guest beers too. Breakfast was very good too I will definitely stay here again Good value for money and a good central location. There is a small car park at the rear of the pub and I had no problem parking there but would guess it may be full in the summer months

Reviewed by
Dominic J

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One to miss..
Rooms are very outdated and poorly maintained. Old beds holes in walls and mould In the showers. Night porter does not carry his phone so if you are out after 11 or want to leave before 7 then it's a nightmare. The cost was low but even for that I would expect a more.

Reviewed by
Adam R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What I would expect for the money
Good sized room and bathroom looking over the back. Tired and faded feel but very clean with immaculately clean bedding and towels. Great central location. Was difficult to find the check in and get seen to as we arrived during a busy Saturday night but the lady we eventually saw was helpful and took us all the way to our room, which was along miles of corridor. We paid £45 for room only for one night and it was fine. Our room looked over the back so may have been noisy during pub hours but as we didn't get in until 4am it was nice and peaceful and the curtains were blackout ones. We were told the cooked breakfasts were £5. We didn't get up in time but seems good value. Would stay again if I ever went to Luton again.

Reviewed by
R Beattie

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Stay
The room was lovely and spacious. No DVD player though which was dissapointing but freeview and a nice t.v. The bath was a bit small would have liked it to be bigger and there was no drinking water or enough toilet paper. Bring toothpaste! They don't supply it.

Reviewed by
E Scott

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next