Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3

166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Price From 87.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (363)

54% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • micheal g

  • March 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

Nice tidy room, good value.

  • Lisa B

  • March 2015

Needs a bit of TLC

Needs updating especially the mattress we could feel the springs.

Bathroom was leaking so proposed a health and safety issue and some one had kindly left their snot near the toilet so housekeeping needs to be a bit more thorough.

For what we paid for we would stay again

  • v bevan

  • March 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

staff were very helpful especially the member of night staff we came back from watching a show we were hungry.

we asked for a sandwich the man on reception was busy seemed to be running around doing everything but made us sandwiches and brought them to our room very gratefull,. nothing was to much trouble for him he went out of his way to please very polite,the only thing that let this hotel down is the room we stayed in could do with decorating and new floor in bathroom and the swimming pool a bit dated and cold.

  • Keith B

  • March 2015

Cheap and surprisingly excellent.

I book several rooms for a Stag Do event and was a tiny bit concerned with many Cobden online reviews.

We were only staying for one night so I crossed my fingers and made the booking. Well the Cobden was a delight. Decent amounts of parking, brilliant reception staff (Jaz was awesome), quick and prompt check in, a lovely room that was spotless. Yes some of the tiniest details of the room were a little bit tired, but the bedding was immaculate, the towels were clean and smelt lovely and the bathroom looking fresh and clean. The best 'cheap' hotel stay I've ever had. AND the rest of the Stag party agreed 100%. Everybody agreed that the Cobden was very good indeed. In fact I shall stay again when I next need a Birmingham stop over.

  • J Shaw

  • March 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

Decent room although the decor was dated.

  • L Hunt

  • March 2015

Lovely staff and brilliant stay

The lights did not work in our room, so the staff moved us straight away to a different room with working lights.

The staff were also extremely friendly and chatty. Brilliant stay overall.

  • KEITH C

  • March 2015

excelent value for money

I was a little worried after reading previous reviews, but need not have .

The hotel was great, Room (s54) just back from recieption was excellent. the bed was clean and comfy, the shower was roomy and powerfull, the room was also large, tea making facilities, and complimentary toiletries. completed the package. Breakfast was buffet and had something for everyone, a great start for the day. Outside your spoilt for choice, surrounded by resturants, TFI and BeefEater,

Free ample car parking, and busses every few minutes. and its under an hours walk into Birmingham.

I'll be back, its such a well placed hotel, with reasonable price to match,

  • m downes

  • March 2015

Not the best

I was in room 555 on 5th floor,the toilet set was very loose,a split on the inside of the door which didnt look good.The ceiling had a hole which had been filled and next to it was a black stain which looked like damp.

  • c connor

  • February 2015

Good value for money - but breakfast debarcle needs sorting out

We originally booked room only, as we usually do.

On check in the receptionist asked if we would like to have breakfast at £5.95 per person per night. We agreed to this. When she asked for payment, I queried the amount because she did not seem to have added the breakfasts. She said the price was right. I then asked if it was for breakfast on the second day - again she said yes. We even went back again after we had checked in because she had only marked one person on the room card. She changed it to two and said she had put one because I was on my own when I checked in?. The first morning's breakfast was fine, asked for our room number, and no problem. The second morning - we were asked for our room number and was told we hadnt paid for breakfast and was room only. This is very embarassing in front of the other guests. The restaurant staff said they would check at reception and even came back to our table waving our hotel account, saying we had not paid for breakfast. We told him what had happended and he said he would waive the breakfast fee. This area needs sorting. We heard others being questioned about it and as the restaurant is quiet at this time everyone can overhear what is going on. I doubt if we will stay again, a shame as we have stayed four times now.

  • S Hayes

  • February 2015

Disappointed with the quality of accommodation and facilities

The family room was a good size at first look, but the bathroom was very small.

We didn't have any towels, and when we requested some, they only gave us 2, instead of 4. The leisure facilities were more run down than we expected them to be. The changing rooms were small, and the lockers required a padlock. Needless to say we had to leave our valuables insecurely. The pool felt dirty, so we didn't stay long. The double bed was extremely uncomfortable. Judging by the blown springs, it should have been replaced years ago. Next time we'll be booking into another hotel!