Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 372 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location was great
No concerns, very good for the price. Thanks.

Reviewed by
Sheryl H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent staff nice clean and tidy rooms ideal spot for nite out in birmingham

Reviewed by
r johnson

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cadbury World Weekend
We booked the weekend after Xmas to stay at the hotel and visit Cadbury World. Location was perfect but had specifically booked hotel because of pool and on site food as we were a family group with 4 young children. On arrival we were informed pool was closed and they were not serving any food. We therefore had to leave the hotel to find breakfast. I can only assume this was because of the Xmas period but it would have been nice to have been informed beforehand.
Hotel was nice, it was clean and a perfect location.

Reviewed by
Jan H

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed
I do not recommend this hotel. The room was not cleaned properly by room service on all 3 days of our stay. On one night we were given free WiFi passes and then were told by the new staff member that we would have to pay £10 to get WiFi. The shower was falling off the wall in 2 different rooms.

Reviewed by
Paul J

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Embarrassing experience.
I went to this hotel about three years ago on several occasions and had a great experience however each time I went the hotel it started to look very run down so I changed to the Hilton. I noticed that they had been taken over and on the website it looked like it had a refurbishment ! so I thought I would take a chance as there was a family function taking place on Friday night and thought it would be sensible to stay within the hotel. Wish I had not!!!. The function was a success, I was unable to fault this and we all had had a very nice evening. I never left the hotel once. The night was a success and the reception team/staff were great. However they had a shift change from 10pm onwards this is where is all changed. I had missed placed the key to the door (plastic swipe) which I accepted and paid £20 for the security guard to open my door. In the morning when checking out the receptionist would not listen to the fact that we had given the security guard £20 the night before to let us into our room. She threatened to call the police and embarrassed me in front of all the other guests that were checking out. He mannerisms, attitude and lack of respect to other guest were completely unacceptable and this person should not be in customer focused front of desk position. Eventually she checked the computer system and there was a note to say we gave them £20. I have stopped in a variety of hotels across the UK and abroad and have never felt so embarrassed and ashamed. Even when she has released her mistake there was no apologise just her threatening behaviour. I will be taking my concerning to the customer complaints department and will be giving them a full account of the events that took place. I would highly recommend that you stay in any other hotel in Birmingham apart from this one.

Reviewed by
Stephanie B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but needs updating!
Hotel itself was very nice. When we arrived we were a bit early so went to the bar for a drink but it took someone 20 minutes to come serve us. Once we had checked in we went to room which was a nice size and had everything we wanted but could do with a decorate and update. Very old fashioned looking! Also we were planning on using the pool the next morning and we asked what time the pool opened and we got told 10 and bearing in mind checkout is 11 we thought that was a bit late so would be better if the pool opened earlier.

Reviewed by
D Marshall

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Found cheese on the windowsill
The room was generally clean however there was 1/2 a block of cheese on the windowsill behind the curtain.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little shabby in places
The room we had was a little bit tired, needed a bit of TLC. The tap in the bathroom was wobbly, the furniture was scruffy. We had to ask for a remote for the TV. finishing touches were lacking.

Reviewed by
c connor

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Personal Comment
Not in the hotel much, but warm and comfortable. Would return.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Nice hotel stay their a lot

Reviewed by
G Martin

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next