Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 384 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some staff very helpful others less so. Rooms in very poor state of repair and I was glad I did not pay full price for the stay.

Reviewed by
Laura M. Gilpin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value close to the city
I wanted a 20 min walk to the ICC with a modest budget and really enjoyed my stay in a well lit spacious room which was clean ad comfortable and I enjoyed the beautiful garden. At the weekend ask for a room away from the noise as there are weddings ut they seem to finish early. Breakfast was OK and you can ask for food to be cooked for you and at £6 its good value. I cannot assess the evening food as I tried the local restaurants 10 ins way towards town.

Reviewed by
j ocallaghan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reception room was very nice. The bedrooms and corridors had a lingering smell which seemed like it had been around for a very long time.

Reviewed by
R Patel

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospital stay.
The hotel stay was necessary as my partner was having an operation in QE Hosp and the hotel was handy for visiting.The spa was great and the girls working there were very friendly. The hotel however was one of the tattiest,grubbiest hotels I have ever stayed in. Reception staff were welcoming.
The towels and bed sheets were stained. The maid washed the room cups while I was in the room and wiped them with a grubby towel. I had to sterilise them after she left and continued to do so daily. The bar was open 24 hours and one morning at 4.30 I had to phone reception to ask that the drunks sitting outside underneath my room be told to be quiet.
The pool area was in a very poor state. The floors were unhygienic and lethal when wet, support pillars were rusting and just one visit was enough.
At breakfast the staff were disinterested and instead of clearing tables and floors were chatting. Cups, plates and food needed replenishing but until another guest asked no one seemed to notice. Food was on the floor causing a potential hazzard but time after time the staff failed to notice. I was so relieved when my stay came to an end and will not be returning.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we appreciate all guest feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for your recent stay at the Cobden Hotel Birmingham, I was sorry to hear that we didn't match your expectations. I have spoken to all the head of departments in regards to your comments, who will in turn re train there staff and ensure the standard you experienced, will not be repeated again. I do hope in the future we can welcome you back, and your stay be a memorable one for all the correct reasons. Yours Sincerely, Joanne Padfield

Reviewed by
Jan F

From Bridgend, Wales
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel, nice aminities. Would benifit form some improvement.
We had a nice stay, the staff very friendly, the hotel is convenient for the QE Hospital where my husband (who is terminally ill) is receiving treatment. But I was inconvenienced by the bar staff not letting us have any ice from the bar 'Managers Rules no ice in bedrooms!' My husband is registered disabled and needs his medication kept on ice. I had to go out to the nearest supermarket to buy a bag of ice. I shall be more prepared next time.

Reviewed by
Suzanne Silcock

From Beaumaris, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
Good value, hotel was half a mile from the venue. Able to leave car in hotel car park and walk. Room was clean. Breakfast was ok, lots of it, England does not know how to do a continental breakfast.
Over all value for money

Reviewed by
Lee C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were helpfull and friendly and we had a pleasent stay

Reviewed by
A MORETON

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower in Room and Breakfast
I found the shower a little small and claustrophobic.
I had the cooked breakfast, which was fine. Only problem was a shortage of proper dining tables and chairs. I sat on a low chair with a coffee table as no other seats were available.

Reviewed by
B Tucker

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed and accomodating
We had a comfortable stay at the Cobden Hotel. It's location was convenient; the staff were friendly and efficient. The room was fairly basic but adequate. Although generally clean, the level of cleanliness was not of the highest standard in some aspects. The breakfast was basic and rather limited in choice.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
This place wont win awards but staff are friendly and at the end of the day all you need is a place to sleep. The room was clean but basic with tv and tea making facilities. The grounds at the rear looked well kept.

Reviewed by
robert s

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next