Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > University of Birmingham Hotels > Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham Formally known as the Quality Hotel a is ideally located for business or leisure travellers. Set in peaceful grounds, the
hotel is less the five minutes drive from Birmingham City Centre, only 3.6 miles from Birmingham's Famous Chocolate factory Cadbury world. With easy routes from the M5 and M6 motorways.

We offer our guests free parking and free use of our leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, cardio gym, steam room and sauna.
Picture of Cobden Hotel Birmingham formally The Quality Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 365 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
This was exceedingly good value for a budget hotel with free parking and extensive large garden with outdoor seating yet only 30 mins walk to city centre. All rooms en suite and we requested room with a bath and shower which was agreed

Reviewed by
mike randerson

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for night out in Birmingham
Good lively hotel , rooms good standard. It's not the ritz but it's fine for a night.

Reviewed by
emma s

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was ok for the money we spent
I go hotel a lot, there was two things that bothered me, the first time was the reception, it was really really busy and it took more then half an hour to check it, the second this was the shower, the water was either way to cold or way to hot, maybe they could have fixed it if we reported it to the reception BUT as it was super busy I didn't even bother doing that

Reviewed by
Parham C

From Birmingham , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not going back
very very basic, wallpaper hanging off walls door furniture broken, kettle lead not long enough to plug in, hotel in desperate need of a revamp, swimming pool have to go outside building to get t and not large enough for a swim in, best part of stay was breakfast

Reviewed by
M Samuels

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very dated. the room did not have double glazing so the noise from the very busy main road kept me awake most of the night.

Reviewed by
J Chapman

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff polite and friendly
Room was tired and in poor condition.
house keeping came in to my room every 20 minutes until we checked out to see if we had left, meaning I didnt get the lie in i wanted.

Reviewed by
Jeremy S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy Lift and Standard finish in room
Good Points - Bedding clean, good hospitality selection with enough milk for more than 1 drink. Not too warm and no draughts, good water pressure in the shower
Negative points - Bath panel broken, missing bulbs in lights, Lift stopped me from getting to sleep easily and woke me up many times during the night. strange marks on the bedding (bedding was clean however) . soaked my work clothes with the bathroom tap due to the fact that the taps stick and tap is not right for the sink. Paint peeling off. Very little sound proofing so as maids walked throughout the corridors at 0745 i heard everything.
Overall I did get the rest i needed but left felling cheated.

Reviewed by
M Denison

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For a budget-stay this was very good value for money
A very spacious room; in fact, the TV was too far from the bed to be watched in comfort. The TV should perhaps be mounted upon the wall. The mattress sagged a little along one edge. A detached lavatory seat was fixed the same day. Breakfast was a moveable feast; perhaps to enrich the eating experience, the guests were expected to guess which room it was being served in each day. A few signs wouldn't go amiss! But the food was well worth the trouble of tracking down, and good value if booked at the beginning of the stay. The staff were all pleasant and helpful, and there were two who went out of their way to be particularly attentive.

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Pinner, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a quality hotel at all...
This was surprisingly antiquated and cheap feeling. The staff were very very slow and not trained well behind the bar. Even if this was reduced to £20 per night I wouldn't stay again I'm afraid

Reviewed by
A Lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Improvement needed but good value for money!
Our stay here was ok tbf. I have read a lot of bad reviews for this place, but there are a lot of good points. It was great value for money at £55 for 1 night on a saturday. This included use of pool, gym, sauna, jacuzzi etc. You could use these facilities AFTER check out all day. Not many places give you that. Buffet breakfast was ok too. We went down half hour before close and got it at a reduced rate. Shower was really good - hot and powerful. Everything you need to invigorate. Hotel was fairly clean. Some points yo improve on are the appearance though. Our room was quite old and a bit tired. Light was shining through the door while at night and although not by much, this was unsettling. Pool needs a bjt of a clean and garden needs a spruce. Was pretty good to be fair. Im not sure I'd visit again as I'd want something a bit more modern that was of the highest cleanliness (my preference) but overall value for money was great. Really early check I , and use of the leisure club for free was a real highlight. Was a great way for me and my girlfriend to start the day.

Reviewed by
B Jones

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next