Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel


166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (292)

53% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • N Smith

  • October 2015

Rude staff

As we booked a night to celebrate our anniversary, we had taken a bottle of champagne to drink in our room.

We rang reception to ask for ice bucket and glasses, they put us through to bar staff, who told us they wouldn't supply bucket or ice as we're drinking our own alcohol. Just to get 2 glasses for our room took about an hour, staff were really unhelpful and really were'nt bothered

We also wasn't made aware it's £5 each to use pool when booked and thought leisure facilities were free.

  • alexander main

  • September 2015

good quality

I stayed here for 5 days and I have since booked another 5 days.

The hotel is very friendly and the rooms are very spacious and clean. Nice to conme to when you have had a long day working.

  • Jacob A

  • August 2015

Very poor room ventilation. No functional air conditioning unit

The receptionist who checked us in was rather abrupt and rude.

When I noticed the room was rather stale and the air conditioning unit was not functional I went to the receptionist to ask about the possibility of an alternate room. She advised that we open our windows to let in some fresh air overnight. We were on the ground floor with 2 little children so I was horrified of her lack of concern. We had to endure a horrible night and checked out of the hotel first thing in the morning.

  • Keith W

  • August 2015

Hotel not what it seems

Clean and spacious room in a good location for Cadbuy world (deal on tickets was a bonus).

We booked the hotel due to it having a pool, only to find there are additional charges for its use (per person and changing were also out of order at the time).

Service at breakfast was terrible, with staff more interested in hotel cleaning than service (which was non-existent). Parking also confusing as shared with leisure facility, we were also harassed by the local homeless person upon our arrival.

  • J Knapp

  • August 2015

Extremely poor

The hallways dark and dingy and often didn't smell great either.

The rooms themselves had been decorated poorly, and the gym and swimming pool was terrible value for money at £5 a time. The swimming pool was unclean as well, overall poor value for money. The only good thing was the beds, which were actually quite comfortable ... but everything else let the whole stay down.

  • roger dakin

  • July 2015

Not good

The welcome I received was awful - telling me 3 things I could not do before they said ' hello'.

Customer service was to say the least poor. Staff were dressed poorly and had no idea of customer relations. Hotel looked tired and poor to go with the staff.

  • Kirsty S

  • July 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

Basic accommodation slightly smelly but room clean.

Hotel staff lovely attentive kind. Just rooms need a refurb but cheap and good location!

  • e alford

  • June 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

Ok for the money I paid however the first room I was given had no electricity and when moved to another room we were put by two hen parties.

  • G lewis

  • June 2015

An experience

Bar can be a bit noisy at times but the food is good and well priced, if you want a quite drink with your meal its best having it in your room.

  • Mike H

  • June 2015

Good value

Easy access to the city and some excellent eating places.

The outside decking and tables are

filthy and need a sweep and a good scrub. Apart from that it was good for the price.