You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3

166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Price From 74.33 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (135)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Chris C

  • July 2016

Cheap break

Needed a couple of nights close to the city, so hotel satisfied that need.

Stag party, continuing loud discussion roused us early hours. Food and room fine.

  • Nicola B

  • June 2016

a bed for the night

Ripped lino in bathroom, could trip over it, dirty radiators.woken up by housekeeping talking at 7.45 am Sunday morning.

  • Kimberley P

  • June 2016

Didn't get a good welcome, when asking them questions they didn't give much help .

Someone's car was broken into and they didn't seem to be that bothered they say it's at your own risk... Beds was comfy but service was terrible...

  • muhammed u

  • June 2016

Very good

First time at this hotel, i didn't expect much, but it was a pleasure staying here, room was a good size, free view on suit carnt go wrong,

  • D Webb

  • June 2016

Cobden Hotel (Former Quality Hotel) - seems appropriate name....lol

Booked through Late Rooms, presumably cheaper than standard.

Stay was Saturday night and Sunday night. Room was boiling hot on arrival and as not air-con, stayed hot throughout first night. Cheap looking drawers had some damage showing clearly made of chipboard. Carpet under radiator was soaking wet as it was rusty and leaking. Stains on ceiling from water leakage too. Unexplained pool of water on bathroom floor. room next to lift so very noisy all night. TV was Freeview but hadn't been reprogrammed since Freeview started so most channels missing. Controller was worn out and only some buttons worked. In morning woken by short blast of fire alarm, presumably a false alarm. People stirred but didn't evacuate. Heard dripping noise from bathroom and found water fast dripping from light fitting. dressed and went to Reception to report it as dangerous, she initially said would get me bwetter room and could I pack and leave my bag with them. accepted that, and said can I pay for breakfast as not on booking, said no, have it free after what had happened. Good service in this instance. came back from breakfast which was OK self service though staff wanted to clear up if you left the table to get another cup of tea. After breakfast, the maintenance guy was there and listened to my story. Reception said two rooms available and offered me choice. I let them choose as it really didn't matter. Got a very large twin room that appeared nice and was cool temperature as had air-con. Went out for the day as planned. returning in evening and went to bathroom. washbasin tap was very loose, and plug wouldn't stay down so couldn't use as a plug so ouldn't use basin as intended. Had to have a shower (I don't like showers) as was hot and sweaty. This worked fine but I noticed as I got out that tiles on floor were missing quite a bit of grouting so if any water spilled it would go into the ceiling below. Shoddy workmanship. Went out for evening and on return found TV worked as it should, reprogrammed up to date with all channels. Had a good nights sleep, went and asked to pay for breakast again, this time charged £5.95 which is very cheap considering what SHOULD have been available. Actually half the cooked ingredients had run out and severe shortage of crockery as they'd just had a rush of people. Didn't get full value really as was in a hurry. They were replenishing as soon as they could so if I'd have waited 15 minutes could have had more. Checked out and was told 'hope to see you again soon'. I thought NOT!

  • C Otieno

  • May 2016

Customer service

The hotel is good room are ok.

Only disappointment is the customer service I received from one of the receptionist at the hotel

  • Tracy H

  • May 2016

Intimidating

The lunge bar was full of men watching football and drinking beer; I was treated like an alien by them and one of the receptionists; needless to say I ate in my room.

  • S Johnson

  • April 2016

Room for improvement

Very run down need a map to find your room and could do with a handy man for odd jobs.

Being used by builders so very loud 2kw heater just was not enough no extra sheets reception just bothered about cash.

  • Stephen w

  • April 2016

ideal short stay hotel

we have stayed at the cobden a few times now as our daughter is at uni in Birmingham.

It is very handy for the city being on a main bus route and there is plenty of parking. We didn't have the best room that we have experienced this time, the mattress seeming a bit tired and the room was very cold on first entering meaning that we had to have the heater on all the time, which was fine. the window didn't seem to shut out much noise either. Part of the reason we have come to this hotel is for the use of the leisure facilities. No-one said at reception that this was now chargeable so you have to buy a voucher to use the facilities - this is fairly cheap but is a further cost to add which may influence our choice of hotel with similar facilities in the future. Overall, an adequate stay.

  • Ian D'arcy

  • April 2016

Worst nights sleep ever!!

This hotel made a good effort.

Unfortunately it was massively let down buy the most important thing...the mattress. it was the worst thing I have ever ever sleep on. I hand to wrap myself up in the duvet to stop the springs sticking in my back!. I managed just three hours sleep. The hallway up to my room had torn carpets and the room door had a closing device that slammed the door when you go in or out- good luck sleeping everybody!!!