Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel


166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (294)

54% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • T Oxley

  • December 2014

Great spa, but rooms need updating!

Rooms small and needing redecorating and small repairs.

Beds soft and creaky. Good location near bars and restaurants but noisy road. Great spa to enjoy

Good breakfast

  • Karen B

  • December 2014

Good service made up for shabby room

The hotel was very busy, so perhaps my room was one not often used, smelling musty, but with strong deodorizer over, which did not fade even with the windows open.

There was no kettle on arrival, and the hair drier did not work. however, the reception staff replaced these items very quickly when made aware. Breakfast was good, and good value. Generally the hotel has seen better days, and could do with a refurbishment. the service generally made up for this.

  • Susan M

  • November 2014

A great hotel just a short bus ride from the centre of Birmingham.

Easy to find hotel on one of the major roads into Birmingham.

the room was ordinary no frills we have been in a lot worse abroad that cost a lot more, We paid for breakfast and were suprised at what was available for us and as it was self service you had the choice of what to eat and how much. We both enjoyed our stay here.

  • Peter C

  • November 2014

Reasonable for a night's stay

Easy to find off Hagley Road this hotel is convenient for city breaks.

The staff were reasonably friendly and gave me a map of the local area so I didn't get too lost. I stayed the night in a double room on the top floor. Prices for the night were slightly inflated as a famous pop star was in town. My room was clean although showed signs of wear with some drawers missing or hanging loose on their hinges. There were tea and coffee making facilities and the beds were made and were comfortable for a good night's sleep. I was lucky to get a room away from the main road outside as noise can be a problem. The bathroom was small and dated with an old mixer shower. For my needs it was adequate but I can see families might find it difficult.

  • James W

  • November 2014

Nice enough staff but let down by poor accomodation

The staff were welcoming and friendly, unfortunately this wasn't enough to hide the fact the hotel looks drab and untended to.

The standard maintained seemed to be the bear minimum required to justify charging someone to stay there.

  • D Evans

  • November 2014

Well situated friendly hotel

Pleased with what we got for our money.

Added bonus to have an indoor pool, sauna etc. Breakfast was good value. Great to have a car park on site which was included in the price.

  • L Hill

  • November 2014

Great reception although fish tank needs a clean

very friendly and helpful staff

breakfast a little poor re cooked choices but overall fine

would stay here again

  • neil poynter

  • November 2014

Good central stay

Stayed here for a trip to the nia, good Central stay for what we needed, staff very friendly and helpful, hotel a bit tired in certain ares but for value it was fantastic.

  • L Preece

  • November 2014

The hotel overall was good, however our room was too warm and there was a constant humming noise

  • Raj B

  • November 2014


Great place to stay, comfortable bed, great facilities and situated in a good location in Birmingham, would recommend and look forward to visiting again.

thank you Cobden hotel.