You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3

166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Price From 74.02 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (142)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • c connor

  • February 2015

Good value for money - but breakfast debarcle needs sorting out

We originally booked room only, as we usually do.

On check in the receptionist asked if we would like to have breakfast at £5.95 per person per night. We agreed to this. When she asked for payment, I queried the amount because she did not seem to have added the breakfasts. She said the price was right. I then asked if it was for breakfast on the second day - again she said yes. We even went back again after we had checked in because she had only marked one person on the room card. She changed it to two and said she had put one because I was on my own when I checked in?. The first morning's breakfast was fine, asked for our room number, and no problem. The second morning - we were asked for our room number and was told we hadnt paid for breakfast and was room only. This is very embarassing in front of the other guests. The restaurant staff said they would check at reception and even came back to our table waving our hotel account, saying we had not paid for breakfast. We told him what had happended and he said he would waive the breakfast fee. This area needs sorting. We heard others being questioned about it and as the restaurant is quiet at this time everyone can overhear what is going on. I doubt if we will stay again, a shame as we have stayed four times now.

  • S Hayes

  • February 2015

Disappointed with the quality of accommodation and facilities

The family room was a good size at first look, but the bathroom was very small.

We didn't have any towels, and when we requested some, they only gave us 2, instead of 4. The leisure facilities were more run down than we expected them to be. The changing rooms were small, and the lockers required a padlock. Needless to say we had to leave our valuables insecurely. The pool felt dirty, so we didn't stay long. The double bed was extremely uncomfortable. Judging by the blown springs, it should have been replaced years ago. Next time we'll be booking into another hotel!

  • Peter C

  • February 2015

Tired hotel which doesn't live up to its label 'Quality Hotel'

Tired hotel in need of redecoration inside and out.

Poor soft furnishings in rooms. No remote for TV obtained from reception 11.45pm; no plugs for bath and sink - night porter provided these from the next room, after 11pm. Door card had to be reset each evening on returning to the hotel by the reception. Dining room had door open to outside for ventilation when it was 3-4 degrees outside. Coffee at breakfast was not hot. No care taken with laying breakfast tables; felt more like a canteen.

  • Kerry C

  • February 2015

Very basic very dates hotel needs a complete refurbishment

The hotel was very basic in terms of the bottom grade for your price.

The floor in the bathroom was cracked by the toilet and siliconed one crack in by the bathroom door. The front door to our room the wallpaper was damp but you could see where someone had painted it over. What disappointed me the most was the leisure facilities it's not what it describes online the swimming pool is small, the jacuzzi was a health and safety hazard with a pipe sticking out into the jacuzzi itself and there was rust all along the pipe work in the swimming pool

  • E Rhodes

  • February 2015

Misleading Photos imply a fifty fifty chance of good room

We were overawed at how lacklustre the quality of the rooms were compared to the photographs given.

I can see why they have to change the quality tag. One of our rooms was fantastic and vibrant and comfortable, but the other two were a little shabby. Who keeps a kettle in a drawer anyway?

  • A Wright

  • February 2015

Staying over night

Room was quiet in spite of being on the Hagley Road.

Beds comfortable but need new mattresses. Breakfast O.K. but would have' liked some fresh fruit. Would definitely use this hotel again as it's very central and convenient. Didn't get time to try out your leisure centre, but definitely would next time. It's a very good idea to have somewhere to exercise. Margaret Wright (Mrs)

  • R Melrose

  • February 2015

Not great

Room didn't have a very nice smell, noise all through the night and just felt very unclean in there.

Needs to be refurbished ASAP

  • D O'Riordan

  • February 2015

Don't expect the room to look like the picture

Room was dirty, dingy & in desperate need of revamping; decor was old & tied.

In the picture the room I booked featured 2 double beds, however the room only had 1. Had to share with my mate which was fine but not ideal.

  • Anthony B

  • February 2015

ok

Bar area very nice, breakfast was OK but the room was very shabby (clean enough) Sorry to say that the bed was terrible.

The mattress springs were digging in my back making it almost unbearable and I can sleep pretty much anywhere after a few beers.

  • Joyce C

  • February 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

The room was good value for money but it was not cleaned during our stay and we were told that there were no fresh towels until they had been washed and dried - they had run out.

This was rectified by being given some new towels but the room did not get cleaned.