Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

3

166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Price From 89.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (352)

54% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Peter C

  • February 2015

Tired hotel which doesn't live up to its label 'Quality Hotel'

Tired hotel in need of redecoration inside and out.

Poor soft furnishings in rooms. No remote for TV obtained from reception 11.45pm; no plugs for bath and sink - night porter provided these from the next room, after 11pm. Door card had to be reset each evening on returning to the hotel by the reception. Dining room had door open to outside for ventilation when it was 3-4 degrees outside. Coffee at breakfast was not hot. No care taken with laying breakfast tables; felt more like a canteen.

  • Kerry C

  • February 2015

Very basic very dates hotel needs a complete refurbishment

The hotel was very basic in terms of the bottom grade for your price.

The floor in the bathroom was cracked by the toilet and siliconed one crack in by the bathroom door. The front door to our room the wallpaper was damp but you could see where someone had painted it over. What disappointed me the most was the leisure facilities it's not what it describes online the swimming pool is small, the jacuzzi was a health and safety hazard with a pipe sticking out into the jacuzzi itself and there was rust all along the pipe work in the swimming pool

  • E Rhodes

  • February 2015

Misleading Photos imply a fifty fifty chance of good room

We were overawed at how lacklustre the quality of the rooms were compared to the photographs given.

I can see why they have to change the quality tag. One of our rooms was fantastic and vibrant and comfortable, but the other two were a little shabby. Who keeps a kettle in a drawer anyway?

  • A Wright

  • February 2015

Staying over night

Room was quiet in spite of being on the Hagley Road.

Beds comfortable but need new mattresses. Breakfast O.K. but would have' liked some fresh fruit. Would definitely use this hotel again as it's very central and convenient. Didn't get time to try out your leisure centre, but definitely would next time. It's a very good idea to have somewhere to exercise. Margaret Wright (Mrs)

  • R Melrose

  • February 2015

Not great

Room didn't have a very nice smell, noise all through the night and just felt very unclean in there.

Needs to be refurbished ASAP

  • D O'Riordan

  • February 2015

Don't expect the room to look like the picture

Room was dirty, dingy & in desperate need of revamping; decor was old & tied.

In the picture the room I booked featured 2 double beds, however the room only had 1. Had to share with my mate which was fine but not ideal.

  • Anthony B

  • February 2015

ok

Bar area very nice, breakfast was OK but the room was very shabby (clean enough) Sorry to say that the bed was terrible.

The mattress springs were digging in my back making it almost unbearable and I can sleep pretty much anywhere after a few beers.

  • Joyce C

  • February 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

The room was good value for money but it was not cleaned during our stay and we were told that there were no fresh towels until they had been washed and dried - they had run out.

This was rectified by being given some new towels but the room did not get cleaned.

  • A Small

  • February 2015

quality or quantity hotel

My stay at the Cobden.

The room I stayed in 58 I found some of the features quite dated and in need of replacement. The cleanliness was very good. My only disappointment was the lighting which I felt could of been a little better for applying makeup and also the plug socket not enough in the room.

  • Alexei A

  • January 2015

Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel

Very good customer care and reception staff.