Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel


166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Price From 103.69 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (297)

54% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mohammed I

  • October 2014

This was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

The bedsheets were stained, the toilet didn't flush and the room had a bad smell. We were refused another room because all 200 rooms were full. Put in a formal complaint n the response (which arrived after nearly 10 days) basically said 'tough luck'!. We will make sure not to return here ever again!!


  • October 2014

one night stay

friendly staff made you feel very welcome Room was neat and clean except bathroom floor could have done with being moped paid extra for breakfast fantastic value for money, neat clean restaurant would recommend and will definately stay there again when visit our daughter at uni ifat bargain price again!.

  • Nicholas D

  • October 2014

Cracking value

Cracking value

  • liz D

  • October 2014

It could do with a revamp but the staff were lovely and the spa is great value for money


  • October 2014

IThe corridor leading to the room looks like a wharehouse.

. The carpets are stained,very dirty. The room is cold. The wardrobe has no door to cover it. It looks like an abandoned furniture. I did not put my things in it. No remote for the television. No pressing iron in my room. I was told to come out to the to the reception to iron my dress. The worst hotel i have ever stayed in my life. I will never recommend it to anybody. I did not get the value for my money. It looks like a dog's hostel. wouldnt put my dog in that room.

  • r revell

  • October 2014


  • Brian D

  • October 2014

Nothing Special

Whole hotel needs a lot of TLC and feels/looks scruffy and basic.

The nature of the rest of the hotel upkeep put me off using the pool.

If the cleaner closed the door of the en suite they might notice the accumulated dirt and hole in the back of the door. Why is there nowhere to place one's own toiletries, this en suite had such a tiny shelf (not an issue unique to this hotel). Bedroom in reasonable order and cleanliness. Very noisy in the evening. No ability to control temperature beyond opening the window to let in the noise from customers below. Good selection of TV channels. Free Wi-Fi referred only to public parts of hotel (the ad seemed misleading to me suggesting it was free in rooms).

Food was comparable in quality and price and quickly prepared. Breakfast was ok for one morning but I had 5 so was fed up by Friday of scrambled eggs. Any options available on request were not made clear. On 2 out of 5 mornings breakfast was not ready at 6:30 am as stated. Breakfast is expensive unless you really stuff yourself (some customers were piling plates high) - if you are on a diet or just don't eat a lot it seems unfairly priced. Key card failed on 3 occasions throughout week. An alarm was being triggered on many evenings in nearby room.

  • Christine P

  • September 2014

Brummie Bargain

I chose this hotel as a late booking and found it excellent value for the rate.Although booking a single room I was upgraded to a double which was very clean and had a newly refurbished en-suite.

The furniture was tired but the room was large and spacious with a comfortable bed and a quiet view onto the gardens at the rear of the hotel. Very good breakfast from a hot and cold buffet. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • J Boyce

  • September 2014

Excellent value

We were upgraded to a larger room without asking and whole experience was v congenial.

  • claire c

  • September 2014

Cobden hotel

The hotel and facilities where amazing at this hotel.

Staff very friendly and helpful.