Reviews - Cobden Hotel Birmingham formerly the Quality Hotel


166 Hagley Road Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ

Price From 108.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (278)

54% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Vivian U

  • October 2014

Quality hotel - not really

  • A Smith

  • October 2014

Good location not good quality


  • October 2014

Great price - ideal location for NIA - suited our needs

Mostly positives - price/location/breakfast/parking/room size

Main negative - corridor and stair carpets were well overdue a hoover and a clean.

  • n chauhan

  • October 2014


  • A Lewis

  • October 2014

Toilet seat not attached properly and slipped!

  • Helen I

  • October 2014

Not a place for sleep

Reception staff were mediocre.

Room was poorly decorated with evidence of flood damage. Had to move rooms at 4am due to rattling pipes. Security was non existent, hotel full of drunks

  • Heath C

  • October 2014

A nights stay at the Cobden Hotel

We booked this hotel through late rooms as we were only in Birmingham for 1 night and we were really only looking for somewhere to sleep - however whilst the price seemed to be reasonable the accommodation was not good.

Firstly had trouble finding the room, reception told us it was sign posted but when we got to the first floor whilst the room number was there our number had no arrow next to it so we had to ask the cleaner where it was - she replied by telling us it was in a corner and dont worry cos no one would find us there. The first time one of us sat on the toilet we nearly fell on the floor as the seat was loose, the vanity light above the sink did not work, we went to turn on the TV - which the remote control did do -however when we tried to turn over channels the remote would not work - luckily the TV had controls on the side which meant we could turn over and control the volume that way - the bed was like sleeping on a bag of springs and sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable, the decor in both the room and the hotel lobby's was awful - marks along the walls, the hotel obviously has a very bad problem with a leaking roof and/or damp as there were water stains literally everywhere with wallpapers hanging off the wall. When you pulled the chain the room sounded like it was going to explode - I presume down to some plumbing issue - and be prepared to be woken up in the early hours by the Hen/Stag parties returning from their night out screaming shouting and banging on doors - however do not try and pick up the phone to reception as that had no dialling tone. Breakfast was OK which was something as when we tried to make a cup of tea in our room in the morning there was no spoon to stir our drinks and the kettle did not switch off on its own so be prepared for a sauna when you pop out of the bathroom if you leave the kettle on while you have a wash.

  • Kevin F

  • October 2014

Accommodation a little tired.

Would benefit from free wifi.

  • Josephine B

  • October 2014

no doors on wardrobes no drawers remote for tv didnt work room clean but corridor/stairs unkempt

  • Mohammed I

  • October 2014

This was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

The bedsheets were stained, the toilet didn't flush and the room had a bad smell. We were refused another room because all 200 rooms were full. Put in a formal complaint n the response (which arrived after nearly 10 days) basically said 'tough luck'!. We will make sure not to return here ever again!!