No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lauriston Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
6-12 Knightstone Road , Weston-super-Mare, BS23 2AN

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Bed & Breakfast & Business 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Lauriston Hotel offers quality AA 3 star accommodation and is situated in the flat coastal town of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel is located on the seafront, overlooking Weston Bay with its Victorian Promenade and easily accessible long sandy beach.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome assistance dogs and good natured pet dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your North Somerset adventure with your dog*. Some rooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

Weston-super-mare boasts a large number of well known retail outlets and small boutiques within 5 minutes walking distance. The Hotel is well placed to enjoy Somerset and the nearby surrounding areas, including Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, the towns of Wells, and Glastonbury and the Roman city of Bath. Nearby is the city of Bristol with its famous Zoo and Brunel's SS Great Britain. Locally, Weston has a Sea Life Centre, the world's largest dedicated Helicopter Museum, the newly installed 40-metre high Wheel of Weston and the Marine Lake which is suitable for safe swimming.

The wide sweep of Weston Bay has miles of clean sandy beach, and a level promenade boasting superb views over the Channel. Weston beach has designated areas for wind and water sports, and there are boat trips around Weston Bay and further afield.

*Only assistance dogs are allowed in public areas of the Hotel.

free WiFi
Picture of Lauriston Hotel, Weston-super-Mare at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lauriston Hotel
Very friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. Comfortable bed and spacious room.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth K

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An exceptionally enjoyable break.
What a wonderful break we had here at this dog friendly hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful.100% certain that we will return.

Reviewed by
michael r

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were all helpful and very friendly we would defiantly stay here again..
Absolutely brilliant the staff were more than welcome to help and were very kind in making it a lovely break...

Reviewed by
Ian Taylor

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

October 2014
Pros ..
Warm and friendly greeting on arrival.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Cons..Decor in room and some public areas (especially reception) a little tired and dated
Bottles were emptied into a large bin at night outside the room causing noise nuisance. (both nights). Room overlooked the bin store area.

Reviewed by
stephen h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable hotel with excellent meals and helpful staff
Not a luxurious hotel such as we are used to but the town was busy that week, but comfortable and convenient for sea front and shops. The food was good, also the choice of menu. Ideal for wheelchair users and/or people accompanied by guide dogs ( which we were not). A bit shabby in places and dead spiders remained in one bathroom floor all the time we were there. Service was excellent.

Reviewed by
Marion B

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have stayed at the Lauriston before and have always found it good value for money.

Reviewed by
M Priest

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was tidy no phone, had troubl with tv remote gave us another which didn't work either.beds clean . Slept well.

Reviewed by
Joyce E

From Trowbridge, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room fine. Reception weak. Breakfast a disaster.
Waited 5 minutes at Reception, for a passing manager to check me in. Bed comfortable. Room ok and nicely quiet.
Breakfast busy. Tables either occupied or littered with uncleared breakfast remnants. Ignored by the only two Waiters for 3 - 4 minutes, before one clear place on table whose other 3 places were uncleared was pointed at and the waiter said, "you can sit there." 15 minutes later I left without anyone having come even close, to take an order.
Checking out I was asked about my stay and gave this report. The pleasant Receptionist apologized for my breakfast experience - as she took payment for my bed AND breakfast!
My reduced rate of £69 was a bargain, even without breakfast, but services included/offered really should be delivered...even by not-for-profit businesses.
My fault, for giving another seaside hotel a chance to show that they be good for a business traveller...invariably breakfast seems only to cater for holidaymakers who have lots of time to breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian Smith

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Good enough but room and decor a little tired

Reviewed by
R Williams

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced!
We stayed for 1 night on a wednesday. Upon arrival hotel didnt look like the photos. Reception staff were friendly and polite. Our room was on the 2nd floor. It was clean and tidy but nothing special for £89 per night. Despite having double glazing you could hear quite abit of noise from outside. We went for breakfast and most of the tables were reserved. The staff were busy and didnt have the time to show you to a table. They didnt seem happy in their work. When we got our breakfast, we were told to mind the hot plates sadly the food was only luke warm. Seemed to have good facilities for blind people but we wouldnt stay again.

Reviewed by
A Robertson

From LEEK, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next