You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Tusker Lodge Hotel

3

533 Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 1 HQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (4)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Windust

  • October 2014

Great for a late deal, but the price explains the stay...

We booked the same day as check in for 6 nights; we just needed to get away and had the time off work.

We arrived after 3pm, as stated on the booking. The lady who answered didn't seem to know why we were there, but after about 30 mins of phoning another owner, found our room.

The stay was comfortable and fairly clean. Tea and coffee facilities were replenished daily.

Breakfast was not included in our stay... The welcome booklet stated that our towels and bedding would be changed on the 4th day for stays longer than 3 days. Our towels and bedding was changed the night before we left... Other than no breakfast, and the towel/bedding issue, it was good value for money.

  • r bignell

  • September 2014

very disappointed

For the price the room was extremely small.shower had mould all around,towel rail loose and sink cracked .had reply that room not updated yet so cannot understand price charged

  • Jason M

  • September 2014

Excellent break

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was made to feel very welcome.

I look forward to returning next year. The room was a good size for a single and I was impressed with the additional items on the tea tray each day. A very enjoyable breakfast was something to look forward to and start the day off in the best way possible.

  • G RODGERS

  • September 2014

Rude staff

Arrived after 8 pm had to ring the door bell quite a few times.

Owner came to the door and said check in closes at 7pm. If you want people to come back remember that the customer is always right.

Response from hotel

Our check in closes at 7pm because we (as are most guest houses and bed and breakfasts) are a small, family run guest house/bed and breakfast and as such we do not operate a 24/7 reception. I am extremely flexible with check in whenever possible provided guests request this in advance, I have received guests at 4am in the past because they have arranged it with me in advance.

I called you at 7.30pm on the contact number that you provided at the time of booking and left a message on your voicemail to advise that check in closed at 7pm but that I could still admit you if you arrived before 7.45pm

I was cooking tea for my family when you rang the doorbell at 8pm and this is why I could not instantly answer the door to you and why I informed you that check in had closed at 7pm and I would have to just give you the key to your room. Under normal circumstances when guests arrive during check in hours, I would have seen you to the room, explained where everything was and how it worked and offered tea or coffee. I am then normally around until 8pm in case guests have any questions.

Yes my guests are my customers and are extremely important to me, but I would like to point out to you and any future prospective guests who may read this that this is also my home and I require guests to respect my policies when staying here.