No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tusker Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
533 Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 1 HQ
Tusker Lodge is a small family run 11 bedroom guest house, offering guests a friendly and informal atmosphere.

The guest house is in a superb location, with a south east facing sun-terrace, overlooking Torwood Gardens which is known as a quiet area with very colourful spring flowering trees and plentiful palms Tusker Lodge is located 400 meters from the harbour, the strand, shops and The Princess Theatre, and close to the beach and seafront. Within walking distance is the coastal path, which leads to Beacon Cove, Meadfoot, Hope Cove, Ansteys Cove, Babbacombe Beach and Oddicombe Beach. The Natural History Museum is almost adjacent to the hotel and Torbay’s famous Model Village is at the other end of Babbacombe Road, just a short bus ride away.
Picture of Tusker Lodge Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exellent
brilliant location five min walk to town ,spotless rooms ,vary good breakfast,very good parking.
Thanks Carol.

Reviewed by
steven b

From belper, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday stopover at Torquay
We found the hotel really nice and friendly service was very good our breakfast was lovely and always a friendly time

Reviewed by
Paul Lloyd

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre break
My wife and I stayed two nights here as a base to visit Torquay and take in a show. The hotel is very clean and we only marked the room quality as 5 is that the owner is renovating the entire hoteland actively welcomes constructive criticisms eg the mirror in our room was too far from the socket so she will provide extension leads if required. The room itself was very clean with a very comfortable bed. The guest house is ideally situated for walking into the town and harbour area, five minutes. the owner is very friendly and helpful and makes an excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian Bowring

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and Cheap and Cheerfull
Only stayed one night but have stayed before. Breakfast service was very slow this time around. Everything else was as expected. Hotel is very close to everything that is going on in Torquay, bars and resturants and staff are very friendly! Worth every penny in my opinion

Reviewed by
J Stubbs

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a last minute night away
The hotel is situated within just a few minutes of the town and the staff are incredibly friendly. Perfect for a last minute night away. Our only problem was the radiator was on quite a high temperature and seemed to be on all night so made the room quite warm but it wasn't a massive problem for us. Would certainly stay here again!

Reviewed by
Sarah Fay

From Glastonbury, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
Very nice owners and staff everything good

Reviewed by
Keith James

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
The hotel is very close to the seafront where most restaurants are. Excellent cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
C Cheung

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation/room
Although small it was big enough as a base for going out from and sleeping. The room was clean and well presented and made up everyday to a good standard

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay!
The owners were lovely and couldn't do enough for you! We had a puncture on the way to the B&B, the owners let us check in late evening, no problem at all. Even though the B&B is being updated at present the redecoration going on did not interfere with our stay at all. I recommend the cooked breakfast too!

Reviewed by
J Handcock

From Coleford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget B & B in very convenient location
As far as budget accommodation goes this is value for money. Welcoming, friendly staff, clean basic accommodation and tasty english breakfast. In an ideal position for the town and coast. Will use again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Eddy

From Penzance, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next