Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Swansea > Pen-clawdd Hotels > Gower Coast Guest Accommodation & Apartments (formerly known as Gower Coast Hotel and Apartments)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gower Coast Guest Accommodation & Apartments (formerly known as Gower Coast Hotel and Apartments)

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Station Road Penclawdd, Gower, SA4 3XN
Easily reached from junction 47 of the M4 motorway, the Gower Coast (Guest Accommodation & Apartments) is ideally located for a stress free break to explore the spectacular scenery of the Gower Peninsula. Britain's first designated area of 'Outstanding Natural Beauty'. Not forgetting an excellent location for business travellers visiting Swansea, Llanelli or the Carmarthen area.

This stylish, privately owned 10 bedroom guest accommodation is situated in the North Gower village of Penclawdd. An area most famous for cockles, gathered from the beds in the low tide saltings. Being located alongside the Penclawdd estuary, the area is abundant with marine and bird life - whatever the season. Swansea City is just 15 minute drive away whilst many of Gower's
most beautiful beaches are just a short drive.

Accommodation

All our rooms at Gower Coast are extremely large and contemporary. Having a relaxing stress free feel about them - with white crisp bed linen and white soft towels. All rooms are en-suite and contain tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers - not forgetting TV's with freeview, dvd machines and super-king size beds. Our rates - based on room only, are all per room, per night (inclusive of VAT).

The accommodation is not manned 24 hours a day, so check in is strictly between 2pm and 8.30pm.

Picture of Gower Coast Guest Accommodation & Apartments (formerly known as Gower Coast Hotel and Apartments), Gower at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strange set up.......Having to go to a supermarket to book in and out - waiting at the check out. There was a terrible smell of old chip fat all through the apartments, carpets on the stairs etc., were stained, no shampoo etc., tea bags just left in a bowl no cover - very unhygienic! Lift not working.
Large room with TV was Ok but the curtains were hanging off 2 windows and there were many stains on the carpet. very poor for the price we paid.
Breakfast was at the supermarket - which you have to pay extra for. Horrible cheap sausages, greasy egg, tinned toms., watery mushrooms. very odd place attached to the supermarket - nowhere near any other facilities unless you want the barber!

Reviewed by
Rosalind P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I wanted my room back!
Just wonderful... Beautiful room & every one of the staff couldn't do enough gor you.
My only complaint is that I checked out, then tried to call & rebook to go back & nobody answered the phone. I dialled 17 times!!!

Reviewed by
Heidi P

From Porthcawl, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strange 'checking in' in a supermarket

Reviewed by
Nick M

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent facilities
Very good accomodation - wonderful stay thank you

Reviewed by
D Bodenham

From Knighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best
Excellent value for money. Very very clean.

Reviewed by
Paul P

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stay of two halves
First, the positive. It was a good room; clean and spacious as described. However the customer care aspect of this operation needs some attention.
1. There is no 'reception'. One has to go to the adjacent supermarket to 'check-in' (i.e. be handed a key). In our case we had specifically said that it was important that we had two beds not one but when we arrived the two beds were made up as one double. The supermarket staff were very nice, and made us a cup of tea while we waited, but we really could have done without the hassle. I had tried on several occasions to phone in advance but never got a reply - only a message saying that nobody could take my call and that I couldn't leave a message.
2. The following day we left our towels (as instructed by the helpful sign) in the bath, so that they would be replaced. When we returned, tired and soaked to the skin we discovered that our room had not been serviced. I went to the supermarket to see whether I could be given clean towels and had a lecture "you've only been there one night, why on earth do you need clean towels?". Eventually a bath and hand towel were produced - only one of each, despite the fact that we were two people. I pointed out that it isn't unusual for rooms to be serviced every day, and whilst appreciating it wasn't their fault, perhaps they could pass the message on to the relevant person. Upon my return to the room I realized that the tea and coffee etc. had not been replenished so I had to return to the supermarket !
3. They were very sketchy on instructions on how to get to a decent place to eat and the opening hours of the supermarket. Open 0730 - 0800. Now which is it? Half an hour makes a difference especially in the morning when we had to rush off for business.
4. We passed the cafe at 07.45 and the person in the cafe was clearly cooking but would not consider serving until 0800 - as that was the official opening time (despite the lack of clarity the night before). We went elsewhere.
5. The following days were quite different. The message must have been passed on to management. Our room was fully serviced with clean towels on both occasions, despite us not leaving them in the the bath for fear of finding them as we left them. On the last two night they left us welsh cakes and bara birth and more tea and coffee than we could drink.
This accommodation has great potential. The options to be ticked below don't truly reflect my opinion. If they sort out their customer service this accommodation would be excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, but how will we know? So it's scored as 'no' for now, but actually it should be 'yes' - if they improve their customer service,
I hope this is helpful for the owners.

Reviewed by
E Young

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic accomodation but comfortable
Having to go into the supermarket to register and get keys was weird. Then having to go into the supermarket again to pay was even weirder. Breakfast in the cafeteria was excellent value. Overall though a good experience.

Reviewed by
Tim W

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location for Exploring the Gower
The hotel/apartments are ideally located near the estuary and with a very good café downstairs where the breakfasts are superb. Spotlessly clean and spacious.

Reviewed by
Keith F

From New Haw, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One to avoid
Upon arrival no record of our booking, asked for a rear room given a front room, cant get the basics right not a great experience, will not be returning here.

Reviewed by
Ken S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Huge apartment
This was a lovely large apartment, my only comments would be that we had no shampoo in the room as stated, as reception was empty I had no choice but buy it from the local shop, then I could not get back into the apartments as my key wouldn't work.

Reviewed by
Susan Freeman

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next