You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Golden Fleece


Perry Street, ,, South Chard, TA20 4QH

Price From 128.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (26)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • R Allen

  • October 2016

The Golden Fleece

The accommodation was excellent for the money.the kettle was a bad pourer and the milk in the room was a bit sparse.

The shower samples were also not enough.People were lovely .

  • David P

  • September 2016

The Golden Fleece

Excellent stay very friendly lovely place to stay will definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Paul C

  • September 2016

  • I Chapman

  • July 2016

Not a country pub

Overall a nice place, a little far out from main places, but okay if happy to drive for around 25 minutes.

The Golden Fleece is not your usual pub experience, it is fine for food which was of a good standard, but there was nowhere to sit inside if you just fancied a beer or two, the gardens were nice, alhough a little close to some rooms. The overall customer service was not good, arrived around 4 to find everywhere shut up, the pub only opens from 6 to 11pm. The worst bit of customer service was the total lack of concern when my wife reported to the lady who owned the Golden Fleece that she had just had a really bad fall in the shower cubicle, she slipped on the shower tray and was so lucky not to have serious injuries as she fell nearly hitting the toilet with her head. She is covered in some serious bruises and has a very stiff neck. The shower tray is lethal so please be aware, there is a slip mat which we found afterwards, located in a cupboard. At no time in the next two days did the owners enquire about how my wife was or offer us the non existent accident book to record this in. Their customer care was probably the worst I have ever witnessed, even on check out no-one asked how she was or asked in general was everything okay with your stay. Will not be returning to this place, and if the owners read this then shame on you for your lack of concern.

Response from hotel


We would like to post a management response to a review – Ref number


Thank your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the food. We sincerely

apologise that you did not feel that our customer service was up to standard. We

were of course concerned when you wife mentioned that she had a fall,

unfortunately it was mentioned as we were opening up on a Friday night and we

could not give her our full attention at the time. We did keep an eye out

throughout the weekend and as you seemed, to us, to be happy and relaxed we

didn’t feel it was appropriate to bring up the incident again. Obviously this

was an incorrect assumption on our part and for that we can only apologise.

Following your report of the incident we have reviewed the system in the rooms.

Rather than just mentioning the location of the slip mats in the customer

information book we have now instructed all cleaners to place them out with the

bath mats so they are easier to find. It has also brought to light that our

system for recording and following up any accidents isn’t as good as it should

be, as we haven’t had any accidents in the rooms to deal with before, and as

such we are updating it so that it is in the future.

Many Thanks


  • J Hobson

  • July 2016

Good value

Excellent Room losing a point as both bedside lamps didn't work and the hot tap was loose.Breakfast was skimpy.

  • Valerie Hall

  • July 2016

The Golden Fleece

Very good clean accommodation and good food in the restaurant, friendly staff.

Mine hosts were very welcoming on arrival.

  • Sandra M

  • July 2016

Everything you need

This is the second time we have stayed in this lovely accommodation on the way back from Cornwall and it is certainly well worth going a few miles out of the way for a lovely overnight stop.

Rooms are in a separate block and of a really nice standard. The pub serves really good and reasonable meals with very friendly staff. Breakfast is freshly cooed and extreamly good - we will certainly visit again.

  • Hildegard G

  • July 2016

Highly recommend

Really good accommodation.

Room nicely furnished and with everything you need. Very comfortable King size bed with good quality bedding. Nice spacious bathroom with good shower and fluffy towels. Breakfast was excellent even providing a great veggie option. Ate there in the evening - pub was quiet as was midweek. Lady serving at bar and young waitress were both friendly and chatty. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. If returning to the area would certainly stay there again.

  • Chris S

  • June 2016

The Golden Fleece

Lovely, clean, modern and comfortable room.

Pretty decent cooked breakfast included in cost of room. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • J Harrison

  • June 2016

Weekend Adventures...

I booked The Golden Fleece for a nice little 3 night stay.

It's a little gem of a place, within easy traveling distance of the coast. The food is great pub grub with great portions. We'll be using this place again for our south coast adventures.