No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Fleece

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Golden Fleece, Perry Street, South Chard, Chard, TA20 4QH
The Golden Fleece offers luxury accommodation the rooms have contemporary furnishings and spacious bathrooms. Finishing touches include tea tray, TV, hairdryer, Car parking Set In a quiet but convenient location behind the Pub/Restaurant ensures for a peaceful night’s sleep. We take pride in everything we do, in every pint we pull, in every dish that leaves our kitchen and in the way we present every room to our guests. We have been at the Golden Fleece for nearly 10 years. Serving traditional home cooked food. We are constantly trying to improve the setting, we have recently improved beer garden/patio area. it is an ideal base from which we can offer a perfect location on the Somerset, Dorset and Devon borders to escape and explore the West Country. Not far from the coast and ideal for visits to River Cottage, Located on the road from Cricket St Thomas and on the Route
Picture of The Golden Fleece, Chard at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Modern comfortable clean room. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Bernadette C

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great

Reviewed by
D Clark

From Bletchley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok

Reviewed by
q astley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room & outstanding breakfast
My friend and I stayed here for one night while visiting a friend and we were given one of the rooms in the extension outside, it's like a converted barn. The room was lovely, modern and clean and the bathroom was the same. It was the attention to detail that we particularly enjoyed - fluffy thick white towels, toiletries in the bathroom and extra pillows if needed. We had breakfast after our night out which went down a treat and we were served by a very polite and attentive gentleman. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Sarah K

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent touring base. Superb breakfast and and evening meals. Welcoming and helpful owners. Queit peaceful location.

Reviewed by
John W

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Have stayed here before, the rooms are very clean and well appointed, with parking right outside the door. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Good food in the pub , although on this occasion I arrived late and left early, so did not have time to sample on this occasion. The only reason I did not give it top marks is for the lack of WIFI in the rooms. As a business traveler it's essential for me and also worth noting that I could not get a Vodafone signal there! This may not be a problem if your stay is for leisure.

Reviewed by
Chris L

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outstanding
A lovely place to stay with great service and food

Reviewed by
janet h

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, very quiet and ideal for couples wanting to escape.
Very friendly warm welcome. Only thing I would say is a better sign is needed as we must the accommodation turn on a couple of occasions.

Reviewed by
Victoria I

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rooms, friendly service and very good food. Nice views and walks good base to explore area.
as above

Reviewed by
neil duke

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
What a great find this place was. We only stayed for one night as we were moving on but would come back in the future. Rooms are very clean and have all the little touches that make it special. We had a meal in the evening which was excellent and the breakfast was superb! Management and staff all very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
JO-ANNE A

From Alcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next