No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Fleece

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Golden Fleece, Perry Street, South Chard, Chard, TA20 4QH
The Golden Fleece offers luxury accommodation the rooms have contemporary furnishings and spacious bathrooms. Finishing touches include tea tray, TV, hairdryer, Car parking Set In a quiet but convenient location behind the Pub/Restaurant ensures for a peaceful night’s sleep. We take pride in everything we do, in every pint we pull, in every dish that leaves our kitchen and in the way we present every room to our guests. We have been at the Golden Fleece for nearly 10 years. Serving traditional home cooked food. We are constantly trying to improve the setting, we have recently improved beer garden/patio area. it is an ideal base from which we can offer a perfect location on the Somerset, Dorset and Devon borders to escape and explore the West Country. Not far from the coast and ideal for visits to River Cottage, Located on the road from Cricket St Thomas and on the Route
Picture of The Golden Fleece, Chard at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High Standard
Paul & Carol are very good hosts, accommodation was to a very high standard and the pub/restaurant served a variety of good quality food. Enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Dave H

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no complaints here!
The Golden Fleece is excellent value for money. The rooms were beautifully clean and well presented, The breakfast was great and plenty of it! The hosts very welcoming. Would not hesitate to recommend for short or long stay.

Reviewed by
A Brunsdon

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accomodation shame no option to early breakfast.
The hotel is situated in a nice country location, with good parking. The room was spacious and well furnished, and the owners wey very friendly. I stopped off here as I was attending an evening event in Chard and then off to a show in Cardiff the next morning so had to be off fairly early in the morning. Breakfast starts at 8.30 but I had to gone by 8.15 so I had for forsake it. I was not offered any form of buffet or take out option. This is a nice a place if you do have to make an early start in the morning you will not get the full package you are paying for.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry for the misunderstanding regarding early breakfast. We do offer this when we take people to there room we always say breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am unless you require it earlier. In the room it also says on the on the information cards. a.. Breakfast is served in the bar area between 8.30am and 9.30am We are willing to serve breakfast from 7.30am for you early risers upon request the night before. If you are leaving early we can provide you with a choice of cereals, fruit and juice which can be delivered the night before and you can post your key through the front door letterbox. Please ensure you have settled your account the night before departure. Checkout time is 11 am. We do apologise for the misunderstanding.

Reviewed by
m ough

From exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would book again and recommend to a friend. Lovely food and great accommodation.

Reviewed by
m roberts

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay.
Absolutely Top Notch!
A refurbished barn building to a high spec. !!!!

Reviewed by
Graham Hudson

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean and well equipped . Hotel is situated in a quiet location in beautiful countryside. The welcome was friendly and breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
R Batten

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, tidy and well presented room. Friendly and plesant staff. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
kevin smith

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I loved it here, the staff were really welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The room was very spacious and clean. I was on a business trip so travelling solo but I'm looking forward to returning for a short stay with my partner. Breakfast was great.

Reviewed by
Jo B

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
Excellent accomodation, food and service.
Very friendly staff who seem to be very happy at work.
Dog friendly.
Excellent value for money and returning soon

Reviewed by
Alison Fisher

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The room was brilliant, so clean and modern, could not ask for more. It was really nice to be able to sit in the courtyard with a drink by your room.

Reviewed by
SHELLEY O

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next