You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2

ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH, Exeter, EX4 4NU

Price From 107.28 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (48)

42% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Michael C

  • September 2014

OK for the price but...

Slept remarkably well - that was a plus at this conveniently situated hotel (right next to the station), but faded and jaded decor especially public areas and stairs, and minimal staff around before 10am.

Young man on breakfast duty ("I'm not supposed to be on") forgot to turn on hot water for tea; and burnt toast. But would still stay agin if price is right, as convenient - and I slept well.

  • Chrissy K

  • September 2014

Don't stay in this dump

The shower cubicle ceiling was covered in mould the Lino was ripped.

Wall paper grubby and bubbling from wall. Something bit me and I itched all over. Bathroom so small ithe sink was in the bedroom. It was like a room from the 1960's - no parking

I will never stay there again. Didn't attempt breakfast!

  • Keith B

  • September 2014

US style customer service in the UK

I have never had a better customer service experience in the UK, than the service I received at the Great Western Hotel, Exeter St.

David's. The staff engaged me in conversation, helped me get a meal, because I arrived after the kitchen closed, drew me a map to get to my meeting for the next morning. These actions said to me, 'not only do we care about your experience in our hotel, we care about your experience in Exeter'. The building is old, not good if you want shiny new fittings, but it was very clean, which is all I need.

  • Marie-Lise S

  • September 2014

Only if you must

I chose the hotel by the location and cost but would only recommend staying there if you must.

The building is very old and it has an unclean feeling although the room WAS clean. There is a pub associated to the hotel so I was afraid of pub noise but luckily I got a room furthest away from the pub. The carpets are see through they are so old, my bed felt like a hammock as it was depressed in the middle, it felt like sleeping in a bucket. Luckily, there were 2 beds in the room and the other one was not too bad.

  • S King

  • September 2014

Room

The shower was broken from my previous stay and still not fixed ,I did ask but the wrong room was repaired so still not good use in an emergency only

  • James R

  • September 2014

Old and dirty

The only good thing about my room was that the light was so dim it was a little harder to see the dirt and decayed decor.

  • muriel l

  • September 2014

bed and breakfast in hotel

Enjoyed stay in friendly hotel.

Room clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast. Situated near rail station and bus stop

Easy to catch airport bus to Exeter airport. Have stayed twice and will stay again.

  • Michael P

  • September 2014

Very Poor

The hotel is in state of much needed refurbishment, it was clean but the decor was a throw back to the 1960's, Walls were anaglypter paper painted over time and again, lights were bare bulbs, one of which did not work, paint peeling off the ceiling, tiles missing off the bath sides, torn flooring, plastic cups by the wash basin which was in the bedroom, not the bathroom.

The full english breakfast was good but the two other options left a lot to be desired, the haddock was dry, the toast for the salmon was dry. then on the last morning the one chef they had was not there due to a family emergency so no breakfasts were available. Would not stay here again!