No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU
Ideally located 150 yards from St David’s Station and close to the city centre, makes Great Western Hotel your base for exploring historic Exeter and Devon Countryside.

The Hotel offers two traditional bars where prints and memorabilia of a bygone steam age era creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy our traditional home-made food and selection of up to 9 real ales.

We are a 2-star Hotel with all amenities which offers an ideal ‘halt’ for travellers by road or rail.

Picture of Great Western Hotel, DEVON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so great Great Western
Grubby place which smelled of stale beer on arrival, tiny bathroom, rubbish shower, hardly any power sockets in room, which felt tatty and down at heal. Handy for St David's station, this was sole reason for booking. Breakfast not bad. Staff exposed to have clearly not had any training in customer service whatsoever.

Reviewed by
I HORNER

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Re stay
The hotel was a disappointment it was very basic and needs to be totally upgraded

Reviewed by
L Pater

From Edgware, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly but tired.
Rooms could do with an update, matress way beyond its best. Service very friendly.

Reviewed by
phil henstridge

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break
The staff are friendly and the room, whilst old fashioned, was clean and comfortable. A very good breakfast to start the day. It is in need of some decoration but provides excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
John Davis

From Mitcham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room needed a real deep clean to get rid of the smell, probably from years of smokers - entire hotel needs a refurb.

Reviewed by
J Warford

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Room was directly over the bar below!. Very delapidated. Needs a refit. Disappointing breakfast. Dont pay £7.20 parking fee as free over road 6 pm to 9 am

Reviewed by
Colin C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

response
Good clean adequate accommodation for my need

Reviewed by
S Elliott

From Terenure, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My thoughts
I thought the hotel was lovely just thought the room was gonna be nicer for the money I had paid but everything else was perfect

Reviewed by
s edwards

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely not Best Western
The first mistake I made was to not check properly and assumed it was a Best Western hotel. I have used them before.
This hotel is conveniently positioned, and cheap. The breakfast meal was good with a reasonable menu and the bar is fairly well stocked with good beers including a selection of local and other real ales.
This is where the story changes because the premises are in a serious state of decay in terms decoration and furnishings. There is no guest lift and the staircase carpet is threadbare and probably dangerous. I was on the top floor so saw all of it. One of the urinals in the Gents toilet was leaking and had a bucket under it which "had been there for weeks"
The kitchen is apparently not open every day. In the evenings one person was having to run two bars and reception which meant service delays for the customers.

Reviewed by
A Blyth

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient
Ideal for St David's station. Basic but clean and well priced for the location.

Reviewed by
Rosemari A

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next