No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU
Ideally located 150 yards from St David’s Station and close to the city centre, makes Great Western Hotel your base for exploring historic Exeter and Devon Countryside.

The Hotel offers two traditional bars where prints and memorabilia of a bygone steam age era creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy our traditional home-made food and selection of up to 9 real ales.

We are a 2-star Hotel with all amenities which offers an ideal ‘halt’ for travellers by road or rail.

Picture of Great Western Hotel, DEVON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting, don't go

Reviewed by
F Meurgey

From Brussels, Belgium
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is what it is, an old hotel/pub. Ideal for what I was looking for a place to lay my head overnight

Reviewed by
T Wilkins

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why would you stay here
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in the room was dirty the paint was peeling of the ceiling the bathroom door had more holes in it than Oscar pistorius's the Lino was peeling and tiles were laying on the bathroom floor the rest of the hotel had an odour of stale beer and the full English breakfast consisted of an egg cooked in stale oil a dry half tomato 3 soggy mushrooms and a sad looking sausage Baugh a hash brown on the side truly disappointing and not to be recommended

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Wisbech, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in need of TLC
Very tired hotel, in need of TLC. Room was clean, but some plaster missing, no towel rail in bathroom. Staff were helpful enough. I wasn't impressed with the breakfast - I asked for scrambled eggs on toast, the toast had been burnt and then scraped.
Only okay for the price. I've stayed in better for the same price.

Reviewed by
Denise P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay in this dump
The shower cubicle ceiling was covered in mould the Lino was ripped. Wall paper grubby and bubbling from wall. Something bit me and I itched all over. Bathroom so small ithe sink was in the bedroom. It was like a room from the 1960's - no parking
I will never stay there again. Didn't attempt breakfast!

Reviewed by
Chrissy K

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the price but...
Slept remarkably well - that was a plus at this conveniently situated hotel (right next to the station), but faded and jaded decor especially public areas and stairs, and minimal staff around before 10am. Young man on breakfast duty ("I'm not supposed to be on") forgot to turn on hot water for tea; and burnt toast. But would still stay agin if price is right, as convenient - and I slept well.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

US style customer service in the UK
I have never had a better customer service experience in the UK, than the service I received at the Great Western Hotel, Exeter St. David's. The staff engaged me in conversation, helped me get a meal, because I arrived after the kitchen closed, drew me a map to get to my meeting for the next morning. These actions said to me, 'not only do we care about your experience in our hotel, we care about your experience in Exeter'. The building is old, not good if you want shiny new fittings, but it was very clean, which is all I need.

Reviewed by
Keith B

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only if you must
I chose the hotel by the location and cost but would only recommend staying there if you must. The building is very old and it has an unclean feeling although the room WAS clean. There is a pub associated to the hotel so I was afraid of pub noise but luckily I got a room furthest away from the pub. The carpets are see through they are so old, my bed felt like a hammock as it was depressed in the middle, it felt like sleeping in a bucket. Luckily, there were 2 beds in the room and the other one was not too bad.

Reviewed by
Marie-Lise S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and dirty
The only good thing about my room was that the light was so dim it was a little harder to see the dirt and decayed decor.

Reviewed by
James R

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
The shower was broken from my previous stay and still not fixed ,I did ask but the wrong room was repaired so still not good use in an emergency only

Reviewed by
S King

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next