Great Western Hotel

2

ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU

Price From 128.83 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (91)

47% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Warford

  • August 2014

The room needed a real deep clean to get rid of the smell, probably from years of smokers - entire hotel needs a refurb.

  • Colin C

  • August 2014

Disappointing

Room was directly over the bar below!.

Very delapidated. Needs a refit. Disappointing breakfast. Dont pay £7.20 parking fee as free over road 6 pm to 9 am

  • S Elliott

  • August 2014

response

Good clean adequate accommodation for my need

  • s edwards

  • July 2014

My thoughts

I thought the hotel was lovely just thought the room was gonna be nicer for the money I had paid but everything else was perfect

  • A Blyth

  • July 2014

Definitely not Best Western

The first mistake I made was to not check properly and assumed it was a Best Western hotel.

I have used them before. This hotel is conveniently positioned, and cheap. The breakfast meal was good with a reasonable menu and the bar is fairly well stocked with good beers including a selection of local and other real ales. This is where the story changes because the premises are in a serious state of decay in terms decoration and furnishings. There is no guest lift and the staircase carpet is threadbare and probably dangerous. I was on the top floor so saw all of it. One of the urinals in the Gents toilet was leaking and had a bucket under it which "had been there for weeks"

The kitchen is apparently not open every day. In the evenings one person was having to run two bars and reception which meant service delays for the customers.

  • Rosemari A

  • July 2014

Convenient

Ideal for St David's station.

Basic but clean and well priced for the location.

  • Stephen Dowdall

  • July 2014

hotel experience

To start with the attitude of the manager put us off on checking in, by reading riot act that we are responsible for any breakages.

The room was reasonably clean, but mold etc only one socket available, shouting, banging of doors until 3.30am. About 2hours sleep. Did not bother with breakfast.

  • Keith L

  • June 2014

Needs some TLC

Externally in need of a repaint.

Internally in need of major refurbishment, clear signs of damp ingress, chipped woodwork, dowdy colour scheme. Staff polite and rooms clean considering the general run down appearence. Good range of real ales in bar but easily beaten by a certain other well known pub chain a few minutes walk away. Served it's purpose in providing a comfortable nights sleep and breakfast at a rock bottom price. Would use again.

  • D Grimwood

  • June 2014

Although the hotel is in need of refurbishment, it provided everything I needed including real ales with my supper.

A very convenient location.

  • Steven M

  • June 2014

No sleep till Sunday

I booked this hotel out of convenience as I was visiting my Son nearby.

The first thing I noticed was that the few car park spaces by the hotel were a higher price than the main station car park literally a few yards away. Whether this is down to the hotel or not though, I don't know.

The whole place is in need of refurbishment and looks quite run down but my room was clean, although tatty. The bar downstairs is not the most friendly or cosy but OK as a general pub.

The trouble for me was getting to sleep, which was the main thing I needed from the place. The bed was decidedly odd and seemed to be split into two half mattresses - it was like laying on a slope. It was very warm - as it often is in Exeter - which doesn't help, but what kept me up most of the night was the continual noise of a generator or other machinery outside. The odd train was bliss by comparison. I fell asleep at some point in the early hours out of total exhaustion and awoke absolutely shattered. The one plus point was the breakfast, which I wouldn't have opted for but it was included with the booking. A very nice meal indeed although the waitress looked so unhappy to be there I felt like hugging her. I'm not sure I could stand another stay with so little sleep so I won't be returning.