Reviews - Great Western Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (77)

43% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Pater

  • August 2014

Re stay

The hotel was a disappointment it was very basic and needs to be totally upgraded

  • phil henstridge

  • August 2014

friendly but tired.

Rooms could do with an update, matress way beyond its best.

Service very friendly.

  • John Davis

  • August 2014

Relaxing Break

The staff are friendly and the room, whilst old fashioned, was clean and comfortable.

A very good breakfast to start the day. It is in need of some decoration but provides excellent value for money.

  • J Warford

  • August 2014

The room needed a real deep clean to get rid of the smell, probably from years of smokers - entire hotel needs a refurb.

  • Colin C

  • August 2014


Room was directly over the bar below!.

Very delapidated. Needs a refit. Disappointing breakfast. Dont pay £7.20 parking fee as free over road 6 pm to 9 am

  • S Elliott

  • August 2014


Good clean adequate accommodation for my need

  • s edwards

  • July 2014

My thoughts

I thought the hotel was lovely just thought the room was gonna be nicer for the money I had paid but everything else was perfect

  • A Blyth

  • July 2014

Definitely not Best Western

The first mistake I made was to not check properly and assumed it was a Best Western hotel.

I have used them before. This hotel is conveniently positioned, and cheap. The breakfast meal was good with a reasonable menu and the bar is fairly well stocked with good beers including a selection of local and other real ales. This is where the story changes because the premises are in a serious state of decay in terms decoration and furnishings. There is no guest lift and the staircase carpet is threadbare and probably dangerous. I was on the top floor so saw all of it. One of the urinals in the Gents toilet was leaking and had a bucket under it which "had been there for weeks"

The kitchen is apparently not open every day. In the evenings one person was having to run two bars and reception which meant service delays for the customers.

  • Rosemari A

  • July 2014


Ideal for St David's station.

Basic but clean and well priced for the location.

  • Stephen Dowdall

  • July 2014

hotel experience

To start with the attitude of the manager put us off on checking in, by reading riot act that we are responsible for any breakages.

The room was reasonably clean, but mold etc only one socket available, shouting, banging of doors until 3.30am. About 2hours sleep. Did not bother with breakfast.