No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU
Ideally located 150 yards from St David’s Station and close to the city centre, makes Great Western Hotel your base for exploring historic Exeter and Devon Countryside.

The Hotel offers two traditional bars where prints and memorabilia of a bygone steam age era creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy our traditional home-made food and selection of up to 9 real ales.

We are a 2-star Hotel with all amenities which offers an ideal ‘halt’ for travellers by road or rail.

Picture of Great Western Hotel, DEVON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place to stay
I stayed for just one night on business. Excellent value, great breakfast. Raj was very helpful for things to do and where to park. The room was very dated, however very clean, and functional. For the price I paid, it was very good value for money. I would stay again. It has an excellent bar and everyone is very friendly.

Reviewed by
Joseph B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Experience of the hotel
I booked this as a last minute trip with a friend for a shopping trip in Exeter. It is close to the train station which is ideal for getting into the city centre. The hotel is very run down and in need of refurbishment. The room needed a good sorting out with holes in the ceiling and it was dull and in inviting. The bathroom was clean though. After signing a form to say no smoking in the room, we found when we opened the window that there were cigarette stubs there and burn marks in the net curtain! Obviously someone was smoking in the room and it also smelt like it. I spoke to the dity manager at the time as I didn't want to be accused of it but he didn't seem bothered and didn't even take our room number. The hotel is dull and uninviting and a disappointment. Breakfast was ok.

Reviewed by
J Pennington

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was on the 3rd floor even though I told them I was disabled. There was no lift and no one offered to help with bags so I really struggled.
The room was extremely dated with wall paper coming off the walls.
Th beds did not look as though they had been changed from the last people as the white quilt covers were dirty and creased and were extremely lumpy and uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
SUE P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very dissapointing stay
The hotel was mouldy and in need of a complete refurbishment. The Beds were sunken and out of shape. The Hotel manager was not very helpful when we complained, However his receptionist was a little star. We did not get a suitable alternative option so we cancelled our second night and asked for a refund. This Hotel was definitely not value for money and the food was poor quality too.

Reviewed by
A Benson

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby and over priced
The great western is a pub with rooms as an after thought. Badly maintained and not very clean you feel as if they just don't care.

Reviewed by
chris s

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Westerm-Poor Hotel
The single room ( No 30),was unkempt the furniture had the veneer edging missing and the shower control fell off in my hand. When making the booking I asked for a quiet room away from traffic noise and was allocated a room overlooking the railway station on the main road with traffic movement virtually all night. The hotel is in need of urgent redecoration and the carpets were dirty.

Reviewed by
William Tucker

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two days in Exeter
The hotel was very convenient both for the station I was using and the University I was attending. It provided what I wanted, a friendly place to stay. The room was comfortable, the breakfast adequate, the atmosphere was friendly, the hotel staff made it a personal experience which was much appreciated.

Reviewed by
E de Boisgelin

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff were friendly ,room was clean,small breakfast, close to train station ideal hotel if arriving by train

Reviewed by
p evans

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor stay

Reviewed by
David A

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay - March 2014
Hotel is very basic and shows signs of age. That said, it has great character of a bygone era, the service was excellent and the accommodation was very clean.

Reviewed by
Jackie H

From Bagshot, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next