No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU
Ideally located 150 yards from St David’s Station and close to the city centre, makes Great Western Hotel your base for exploring historic Exeter and Devon Countryside.

The Hotel offers two traditional bars where prints and memorabilia of a bygone steam age era creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy our traditional home-made food and selection of up to 9 real ales.

We are a 2-star Hotel with all amenities which offers an ideal ‘halt’ for travellers by road or rail.

Picture of Great Western Hotel, DEVON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devon

Reviewed by
p knowles

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Very please, excellent value for money on a budget.

Reviewed by
M Lakey

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exeter hotel near St Davids
Everything was very good except the food, which was average. The location is very good for St Davidsstation but not for the city centre

Reviewed by
michael poole

From hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Tired Hotel
The rooms were in need of a redecoration and repairs where needed. The showers were average and the tv didn't work. Being opposite a main rail station from early morning there was traffic noise to contend with as well so sleeping with the window open was unavailable.
Havering to pay £8.00 for parking is also unacceptable. If this type of hotel wants guests to enjoy their stay then they should make arrangements for free parking. It's not acceptable to hide behind the excuse of the land is owned by someone else. I only stayed for one night if I had been staying for a week then it would have cost £40.00 plus to park totally unacceptable
The staff although pleasant enough were not very helpful. I can only put this down to the fact that they seemed to be Eastern European and not British
I decided to eat outside the hotel as the menu was very limited
I will avoid at all costs staying at this venue again. Recently I stayed at the Hilton in Watford the room was large and airey, the staff very helpful, everything worked and it only cost £57.00 including breakfast and ther were no parking charges to me that is an acceptable and reasonable deal

Reviewed by
Steve Arber

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall we enjoyed ourselves. The beds were relatively comfy and was great to just chill out on the bed watching a good sized tv with a decent picture. However the decor left much to be desired. The wall paper was coming away in 2 places, very badly under the window where you could see the plaster had all crumbled. The shower was awful. The side looked like it was half falling off and there was a crack in the top so you could only get a dribble of water out.
On the plus side, I got a good night's sleep and the breakfast was excellent :D
Overall we got what we paid for but the state of the room could be much improved.

Reviewed by
C Chapman

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old but adequate
An old Victorian station hotel with no lift. Good bar with real ale. Rooms and bathrooms are basic but adequate. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive to park
Breakfast was very small

Reviewed by
clive dumbleton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run down from front door to bedroom! Wall paper hanging off walls, curtains hanging off the rail! Sheets not clean, highlight of the stay was leaving before breakfast! Simply shocking!

Reviewed by
A Bone

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

na
na

Reviewed by
Robert L

From Burton on Trent, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alex Pollizzi - this hotel needs you!
I've since learned following my stay that this hotel is used by DSS so perhaps that is reflected in the standards. Trouble is, because of the hotel's location (right opposite the train station) it's always very busy, but I bet no one stays twice!
The hotel room I stayed in was a single, and be warned, in this hotel, single means a single bed. There was no hairdryer in the room and only one free socket, which was nowhere near the mirror. The wardrobe was inaccessible due to a chair being in the way, with nowhere in the room to move it to. The wardrobe had only two (very dusty) hangers in it. The bathroom was basic, with a very weak shower and dripping taps. The room was hot and stuffy but the window would only open 3 inches, and there was no air con. The bedding was mismatched and worn, and the pillows flat. The furniture was also mismatched, and covered in old stains and knocks.
At breakfast, the food wasn't great, though in the bar it was very good.
The staff are clearly all minimum wage, and weren't really interested in customer service.
It's such a shame, because with that size and position, it could be a really great hotel.

Reviewed by
Samantha Ashdown

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next