No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
ST. DAVIDS STATION APPROACH EXETER, DEVON, EX4 4NU
Ideally located 150 yards from St David’s Station and close to the city centre, makes Great Western Hotel your base for exploring historic Exeter and Devon Countryside.

The Hotel offers two traditional bars where prints and memorabilia of a bygone steam age era creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy our traditional home-made food and selection of up to 9 real ales.

We are a 2-star Hotel with all amenities which offers an ideal ‘halt’ for travellers by road or rail.

Picture of Great Western Hotel, DEVON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run down from front door to bedroom! Wall paper hanging off walls, curtains hanging off the rail! Sheets not clean, highlight of the stay was leaving before breakfast! Simply shocking!

Reviewed by
A Bone

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

na
na

Reviewed by
Robert L

From Burton on Trent, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alex Pollizzi - this hotel needs you!
I've since learned following my stay that this hotel is used by DSS so perhaps that is reflected in the standards. Trouble is, because of the hotel's location (right opposite the train station) it's always very busy, but I bet no one stays twice!
The hotel room I stayed in was a single, and be warned, in this hotel, single means a single bed. There was no hairdryer in the room and only one free socket, which was nowhere near the mirror. The wardrobe was inaccessible due to a chair being in the way, with nowhere in the room to move it to. The wardrobe had only two (very dusty) hangers in it. The bathroom was basic, with a very weak shower and dripping taps. The room was hot and stuffy but the window would only open 3 inches, and there was no air con. The bedding was mismatched and worn, and the pillows flat. The furniture was also mismatched, and covered in old stains and knocks.
At breakfast, the food wasn't great, though in the bar it was very good.
The staff are clearly all minimum wage, and weren't really interested in customer service.
It's such a shame, because with that size and position, it could be a really great hotel.

Reviewed by
Samantha Ashdown

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
a warm welcome, but the hotel looking very tired and in need of a major over haul. Our room had light bulb missing, there was a hole the size of a fist in one wall. The bathroom was only lit by the shaving light over the sink , and the extractor not working. The radiator under the window was loose with one bracket sticking out of the wall. also a hole in the floor by the doorway. The food was well cooked and tasty.

Reviewed by
Roger H

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel

Reviewed by
g cunningham

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs maintenance
Hotel looked rundown to be honest, and for the money I paid, it wasn't good. One of the taps in the sink didn't work, while the other one was broken and was a struggle to turn off the water when turned on. Bathroom door was hanging off, cracks everywhere. On a positive note, the room and linen was clean.

Reviewed by
S Spencer

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fair to good
carpet in room rather worn but room very clean I only had toast for breakfast on one day as I went out before the time for breakfast

Reviewed by
Maggie Cowndley

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for business travellers, affordable accommodation
Located across the road from Exeter St David's station, the Great Western is situated perfectly for business travellers and commuters. The customer service is brusque but efficient, the rooms are out of the 1970s but they're clean and functional, and the accommodation is affordable - therefore the aesthetic complaint isn't really relevant or fair!

Reviewed by
A Irwin

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for!
Very friendly staff,good food but not as good as the Premier Inn on one of the other sides of the square opposite Exeter St.Davids station.However half the price of the Premier Inn so better value for money.

Reviewed by
jim w

From glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
Sorry - Nothing great here. Needs some TLC to return to its former glory. Suggest a name change insert the word Not - either before or after...

Reviewed by
Ray C

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next