No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Woking

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Wheatsheaf Ember Inn, Chobham Road, Horsell, Woking, GU21 4AL
If you’re looking for a hotel in Woking with a great central location, this comfy 33-bedroom lodge is perfect. Just a short walk from Woking station, it’s an ideal base whether you’re sightseeing in Surrey or attending the H.G. Wells Conference and Event Centre for business.

Whatever your travel plans, it’s nice to know that there’s a cosy real-ale pub* right next door, where you can put your feet up with a pint of expertly kept cask-ale and some traditional, seasonally inspired food.

Woking is a bustling town close to Horsell, Chobham and Sheerwater. Nestled in the heart of leafy Surrey, it was a favourite country residence of the Tudors, although certainly for science-fiction fans it’s most famous for the ‘Martians invasion’ in H.G. Wells’ War of the Worlds.

Nearby you can explore two majestic 18th century mansions, Clandon Park and Hatchlands Park, inspect the vintage cars and planes at the Brooklands Museum or take the family to Chessington World of Adventure.

*Please note that only children aged 14 and over can dine in our pub, and only when accompanied by an adult.

Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Woking, Woking at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for overnight stay in the centre of Woking
This is - by far - the best value place I had stayed in this close to the centre of Woking.
Parking is free, room was clean and a decent size, food is good (pub dinner and inclusive continental breakfast), the pub on top of which the rooms are is lovely and peaceful. It is placed opposite a park and near the canal, so if you fancy a calm walk or jog - all is nearby.
Bear in mind:
- This is an old building positioned near a town centre. There will be some road noise if you have a room facing the road.
- Music from the pub isn't loud, but can be noticed until about 11, when it is switched off.
- There may be some less considerate, loud visitors who will be loud in the corridors.
All in all - I would recommend to others and would definitely come again.

Reviewed by
Shani E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As a single person I found my room entirely suitable with a comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities and a good TV. The shower room with wash basin and w.c. was spacious and very clean. The bar area did seem a little under staffed and only stocked one type of draught beer and this had run out on one particular night. The food was satisfactory although a little slow but this was not of a concern to me. The bar area did have a nice atmosphere helped by the feature coal/ log effect gas fires.

Reviewed by
Michael E

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy to use again
Just what we needed - well situated - easy to eat in the bar and good breakfast spread the following morning.

Reviewed by
Alun W

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Innkeeper's Lodge, Woking
Very pleasant and helpful staff - I was made to feel quite at home. There was a good selection of food in the evening, and a generous Continental breakfast available in the morning. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. I would be happy to stay there on a future occasion.

Reviewed by
Alyson L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly pleased, very good value
Room comfy and v clean, bar and food good and value for money. Continental breakfast suprisingly tasty with a good variety of breakfast snacks, more than adequate. Will stay again and would recommend the hotel. All staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
William G

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service and room
I can't fault my stay here. The location was very good for the town centre and easy to find. The room was clean and big enough for a single person. It had all the necessary facilities.
The guy who checked me in was very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Michelle B

From Croydon, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was ok. What more can I say.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Innkeepers Lodge
These sort of chains are generally pretty consistent in quality. Room was light and very large.
Importantly for the hottest day of the year to date it had a fan available, albeit a weak one which was small for the generous roomsize.
Breakfast was standard fare continental, although toaster wasn't working on the morning we were there.

Reviewed by
Andrew Boyt

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Rooms were small but clean. Staff Friendly and helpful. Was a warm day and the room was uncomfortably hot. We both woke at 5am due to the heat and the tiny window does little to help. If it's going to be a ho night, perhaps a ground floor room would be better.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alun Rees at Innkeeper's Lodge Woking.
Generally very comfortable although it was a sweltering night. Good bar.

Reviewed by
Alun Rees

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next