No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel Cardiff

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
88 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DW
The Royal Hotel Cardiff boasts one of the best city centre locations within Wales' Capital. It is a Grade II Listed Victorian building in Italianate Style built in 1866 and is Cardiff's oldest hotel. The 60 bedrooms in this urban retreat are of a contemporary style with the latest technology which includes Air Conditioning, 37-42 inch HD TV's, in room safe and free Wi-Fi which is available throughout the Hotel. Relax and unwind in Fitz's bar with our great selection of light meals, snacks and sample our made to order cocktails.

Located on the second floor above the hustle and bustle of the vibrant capital city, The hotel is situated at the junction of St Mary Street, Wood Street and Westgate Street, with entrances on both St Mary Street and Westgate Street. The closest Hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates, many of our rooms overlook the iconic building, home to major international sporting events and concerts.

Breakfast is served most mornings in the famous Oak Panelled Scott Room which can seat up to 130 guests and is an ideal wedding and function venue. It was in this room that Captain Robert Falcon Scott held his farewell dinner prior to his fateful expedition to the Antarctic in 1910.

All credit cards are subject to a £2.00 administration fee. This does not apply to Debit cards.
Picture of The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 181 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Hotel Cardiff
The reception staff were very professional, but not very welcoming. On leaving the only question the receptionist asked was did we have any parking to pay for. She did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay or whether we were happy with the room.

Reviewed by
T Greenfield

From WOTTON-UNDER-EDGE, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Lovely room for the price. Only issue being was that when we arrived the room was freezing and all we had as heating was an oil filled radiator which hadn't been turned on!

Reviewed by
L Brass

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who would stay in Cardiff

Reviewed by
Patricia Murphy

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room
Lovely hotel but room was really small. But the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Great location, within walking distance of everything in the centre on cardiff. Would stay there again if price was right.

Reviewed by
Claire V

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. City centre. Friendly helpful staff. Clean rooms. A little noisy
We had a lovely room.... Petals were scattered on our bed & a card left for our anniversary... Very thoughtful.

Reviewed by
G Elvins

From Port talbot , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single room
Surprised to find that as a single traveller this four star hotel actually gave me a room with a single bed. Usually I accept a single person supplement. Worse still, the bed was in the middle of the room and not situated against a wall. I haven't slept in a single bed for decades and as it was in the middle of the room I felt uncomfortable as I was worried about turning over in the night and falling out. At least the bathroom was a good size but the shower temperature was difficult to control. Nice decor

Reviewed by
J Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suprised by star rating
Hotel reception is up stairs from a busy city centre street and is noisy and not welcoming - espcially at night when I arrived. you need to go up stairs even to access lift - so would not be accessible for some - but this is not clearly stated on the hotel info.
There was no room service on Sunday night other than cold sandwiches on a sunday.
Wifi signal so poor could not use in room. I asked for help to sort this out and was not ever really resolved - though staff did try.
TV reception intermittent for many mainstream channels (i.e. including BBC1 & 2)
Room exceptionally hot at night and could not open window as this was sealed - probably to keep out late night noise from the street (which it did not totally succeed in doing).
Overall would not stay again and am suprised by star rating.

Reviewed by
S Rogers

From Hebden Bridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good location in city cemtre. All the staff were courteous and helpful. would stay here again

Reviewed by
C Pudduck

From SWANSEA, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing Room
The reception area and hallways of the hotel were well decorated giving good expectations for the room which were definitely not met. The room was squashed, dark and dull, the walls were all slanted in at the top giving a very enclosed claustrophobic feeling. The floor was dark cold and unwelcoming and the walls a dull brown shade (no feature wall or wallpaper). There was no hint of the tasteful decoration that's displayed in the photos on their website - very misleading and disappointing!!! In addition when we enquired about upgrading we were told the other rooms weren't much better. The room would only be suitable for people not fussed about the quality of the room and are just wanting somewhere to crash after a night out.

Reviewed by
Rosie R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Great hotel in the centre of Cardiff. Lovely room great bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
S Clark

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next