No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel Cardiff

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
88 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DW
The Royal Hotel Cardiff boasts one of the best city centre locations within Wales' Capital. It is a Grade II Listed Victorian building in Italianate Style built in 1866 and is Cardiff's oldest hotel. The 60 bedrooms in this urban retreat are of a contemporary style with the latest technology which includes Air Conditioning, 37-42 inch HD TV's, in room safe and free Wi-Fi which is available throughout the Hotel. Relax and unwind in Fitz's bar with our great selection of light meals, snacks and sample our made to order cocktails.

Located on the second floor above the hustle and bustle of the vibrant capital city, The hotel is situated at the junction of St Mary Street, Wood Street and Westgate Street, with entrances on both St Mary Street and Westgate Street. The closest Hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates, many of our rooms overlook the iconic building, home to major international sporting events and concerts.

Breakfast is served most mornings in the famous Oak Panelled Scott Room which can seat up to 130 guests and is an ideal wedding and function venue. It was in this room that Captain Robert Falcon Scott held his farewell dinner prior to his fateful expedition to the Antarctic in 1910.

All credit cards are subject to a £2.00 administration fee. This does not apply to Debit cards.
Picture of The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 200 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast was expensive and not great quality

Reviewed by
g jones

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When things go wrong...you find out what a hotel is really like
Lift wasn't working......tricky when you're on the 7th floor, but the staff were willing to carry bags/cases etc, and there was a £10 voucher to use in the bar that evening. Bed was very comfortable, en suite fine, and, for such a central location, the sound proofing was great.

Reviewed by
david wills

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
It was nice! And well situated.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay, friendly welcoming staff, we'll definaetly stay again!

Reviewed by
Fiona G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, Friendly Hotel
Greeted with a warm welcome, checked in quickly and given directions to get to our room. Our room was spacious, better than we expected and very clean. It was also very quiet and the air conditioning had been put on already due the hot weather which was very welcome. It was a short walk from the train station which was helpful as my mother can't walk far. The next morning check out was again quick and we were also allowed to leave our bag in their secure room whilst we went off shopping for the day. The Reception staff were friendly and very helpful, we would definately stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Crystal Davis

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic boutique hotel!
Loved the room...we went for the upgraded one which was really lovely if it very hot!! Dry impressive service on reception, and they smiled....a novelty!! We would stay again!! Bathroom was gorgeous and lovely toiletries. Just be aware it is in the city centre which is fabulous but it can be noisy into the early hours. But I slept straight through! Super comfy beds.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Unusual as the reception is on the 2nd floor and the lift was not always very quick.
Room was clean and the bed excellent.
All staff we met were pleasant and extremely helpful.
The room cost was high because it was British Speedway weekend, but the food and drinks were very reasonable

Reviewed by
Roger P

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feather pillows
A little over priced however perfect location to access the city centre. Biggest problem we encountered were the duvet and pillows were feathers, which is lovely but not if your partner is allergic. The hotel did not supply anything else.
The discounted car park was impossible to get to as the roads which allow access were closed so ended up paying a lot more in the city centre.
The staff were lovely.

Reviewed by
R G

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An overnight stay in early July
Staff very friendly and helpful. Musak in bar / reception un-necessary and intrusive at times. Evening meal took over 50 minutes to arrive but was tasty and well presented when it did. Room was attractive and modern in style, although refreshment tray was awkward to use and hidden in a cupboard. Windows could not be opened.

Reviewed by
C James

From Baldock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Hotel is ideally situated for all the amenities Cardiff has to offer. Reception staff were very welcoming and our room was clean and very comfortable - a very pleasant stay and we hope to return.

Reviewed by
C Bright

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next