No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel Cardiff

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
88 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DW
The Royal Hotel Cardiff boasts one of the best city centre locations within Wales' Capital. It is a Grade II Listed Victorian building in Italianate Style built in 1866 and is Cardiff's oldest hotel. The 60 bedrooms in this urban retreat are of a contemporary style with the latest technology which includes Air Conditioning, 37-42 inch HD TV's, in room safe and free Wi-Fi which is available throughout the Hotel. Relax and unwind in Fitz's bar with our great selection of light meals, snacks and sample our made to order cocktails.

Located on the second floor above the hustle and bustle of the vibrant capital city, The hotel is situated at the junction of St Mary Street, Wood Street and Westgate Street, with entrances on both St Mary Street and Westgate Street. The closest Hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates, many of our rooms overlook the iconic building, home to major international sporting events and concerts.

Breakfast is served most mornings in the famous Oak Panelled Scott Room which can seat up to 130 guests and is an ideal wedding and function venue. It was in this room that Captain Robert Falcon Scott held his farewell dinner prior to his fateful expedition to the Antarctic in 1910.

All credit cards are subject to a £2.00 administration fee. This does not apply to Debit cards.
Picture of The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 162 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab location, small size rooms, could have been cleaner

Reviewed by
Jennifer Adams

From England
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big Clean and Central
Stayed for one night on business,
Room was very big with a 42 inch TV and good size bathroom as well.
Very central but not noisy due to double glazed windows.
Breakfast was ok and reasonably priced if you prebook the night before (£9 for full English + continental as well)
Parking is discounted to £12 in the nearby NCP
All in all a great place to stay if you want to be central and near the stadium.

Reviewed by
J Mutimear

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Great location, quiet even though a shopping street. Missed having no carpet on the floor though. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Swords K

From Doha, Qatar
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming staff
Fantastic members of staff who were amazing and incredibly easy to get along with. Very friendly approach and eager to make it a nice stay. Thanks guys you were awesome.

Reviewed by
Andy R

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Only have good things to say about this hotel. Came here with my girlfriend for a long weekend away to celebrate my birthday and we didn't want to leave! The location of the hotel is perfect for doing things around Cardiff. The rooms are luxurious and clean, with the beds being comfy. You feel you are safe and the atmosphere is quiet regardless of the busy streets nearby. Staff were lovely and friendly.

Reviewed by
M Evans

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Hotel Cardiff
The hotel was very good & great value for money.

Reviewed by
L morgan

From Narberth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price but room not clean enough
We stayed one night as a couple. Evening receptionist wasn't particularly friendly or welcoming. We were put in a triple room (two single beds pulled together for a double bed) which we didn't mind. For the price we paid, the room was adequate but not very clean. There was dust everywhere, stains on the towels, a few stray hairs in the bath/toilet and mold growing on the bottom of the potpourri vase. I may be convinced to try another room, in the hope that this occasion was a one-off - but that would depend on the price. Best part of the stay was the morning receptionist who checked us out - very polite and made up for the lack of service we received the day before.

Reviewed by
Gregg M

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect place to stay
the room was spotless, the bathroom was lovely and clean and had a large bath with over bath shower which worked beautifully.

Reviewed by
c thomas

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel I have ever stayed at!
I live in the South Wales valley not far from Cardiff. A half hour drive (25 miles). Two years ago I took my girlfriend for our one year anniversary to Cardiff in which I wanted to surprise her by staying in a fancy hotel. At the time, I broke the deluxe room which I believe was around £50. We got to Cardiff and we shopped because, obviously Cardiff is a beautiful city and has a very quirky character and the hotel is situated on what is called "main street". So after a day out we shopped and I surprised her with the hotel etc etc We got in the room and the quality of everything that you touch and look at is 10/10. Absolutely beautifully decorated and styled. Great customer service! Anyway, that room was so impressive that on the 30th December 2014, I wanted to surprise her with the same hotel for the 3 year anniversary! It payed off big time for me as you can imagine, but the hotel itself has this really deep welsh heritage. It's a glamorous hotel for any budget. I payed £44 for what is essentially a £1000 room! It's insane! LateRooms really does a bargain here! But overall, It's perfect for a relaxing break in a city or to take a loved one to a relaxed surprise break as I did and it's down the road for me! I would recombined this hotel to anyone!

Reviewed by
Adam Ovens

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Lovely rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
F Harris

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next