No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel Cardiff

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
88 St Mary Street , Cardiff, CF10 1DW
The Royal Hotel Cardiff boasts one of the best city centre locations within Wales' Capital. It is a Grade II Listed Victorian building in Italianate Style built in 1866 and is Cardiff's oldest hotel. The 60 bedrooms in this urban retreat are of a contemporary style with the latest technology which includes Air Conditioning, 37-42 inch HD TV's, in room safe and free Wi-Fi which is available throughout the Hotel. Relax and unwind in Fitz's bar with our great selection of light meals, snacks and sample our made to order cocktails.

Located on the second floor above the hustle and bustle of the vibrant capital city, The hotel is situated at the junction of St Mary Street, Wood Street and Westgate Street, with entrances on both St Mary Street and Westgate Street. The closest Hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates, many of our rooms overlook the iconic building, home to major international sporting events and concerts.

Breakfast is served most mornings in the famous Oak Panelled Scott Room which can seat up to 130 guests and is an ideal wedding and function venue. It was in this room that Captain Robert Falcon Scott held his farewell dinner prior to his fateful expedition to the Antarctic in 1910.

All credit cards are subject to a £2.00 administration fee. This does not apply to Debit cards.
Picture of The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 188 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing Room
The reception area and hallways of the hotel were well decorated giving good expectations for the room which were definitely not met. The room was squashed, dark and dull, the walls were all slanted in at the top giving a very enclosed claustrophobic feeling. The floor was dark cold and unwelcoming and the walls a dull brown shade (no feature wall or wallpaper). There was no hint of the tasteful decoration that's displayed in the photos on their website - very misleading and disappointing!!! In addition when we enquired about upgrading we were told the other rooms weren't much better. The room would only be suitable for people not fussed about the quality of the room and are just wanting somewhere to crash after a night out.

Reviewed by
Rosie R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Great hotel in the centre of Cardiff. Lovely room great bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
S Clark

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Birthday Treat
Stayed here for my birthday weekend in the superior double room. The room was absolutely lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful. No complaints

Reviewed by
K Barnett

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service, poor location!
Fantastic service, and receive a complimentary upgrade. Slightly poor on getting to the hotel as it was very hard to locate. But once found it was surperb and the staff where brilliant.
Telephone them to say that we were lost and they were superb in providing directions and assistance to the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Barton

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short trip
Only a one night stay for which the room was perfect. The only fault was not being able to find a shaver plug in the bathroom, which was otherwise lovely. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was perfectly adequate. We had a self inflicted problem with the safe that was resolved immediately. We also managed to leave an item behind which, once we notified the Royal, was received by us in the post the next day!

Reviewed by
Steve P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Central Hotel
Good central location right next to main bus / coach and rail stations. Good size rooms.

Reviewed by
D Hall

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast was expensive and not great quality

Reviewed by
g jones

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When things go wrong...you find out what a hotel is really like
Lift wasn't working......tricky when you're on the 7th floor, but the staff were willing to carry bags/cases etc, and there was a £10 voucher to use in the bar that evening. Bed was very comfortable, en suite fine, and, for such a central location, the sound proofing was great.

Reviewed by
david wills

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
It was nice! And well situated.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay, friendly welcoming staff, we'll definaetly stay again!

Reviewed by
Fiona G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next