No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cotswolds88 Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
KEMPS LANE STROUD, Cheltenham, GL66YB
Cotswolds88hotel is an intimate lifestyle boutique hotel set in the hauntingly beautiful village of Painswick. Here, the modern and vintage merge; the historic exterior and funky interior breathe new life into the foundations of this stunning country retreat. The hotel’s ethos is based on the latest lounge trend in which luxury and chill out blend together. Please note our restaurant is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

Picture of Cotswolds88 Hotel, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent quirky hotel
We stayed one night whilst walking the Cotswold Way. This is great hotel with a unique, quirky decor. The staff were great and we very much enjoyed staying here. We liked the stone fireplaces, the strange ornaments (such as a pile of books made of stone), fantasic mirrors and the (imitation) leopard skin tables in the dining room. However, all this is looking rather tired now and the owners need to put in place a progarmme of renewal of, for example, the carpets.
There was some confusion over the type of breakfast we could expect as the receptionist said on our arrival that the breakfast was continental, but in fact it turned out to be a full cooked breakfast, all included in the lateroom price. There was no marmalade available which was disappointing.
Our room was in the roof space of the attached newer building (1972). It was a very strange shape but had lots of space, and an excellent bathroom with a super shower.
Our lateroom price (£75) was very good value for the standard room, but I noticed that the prices for superior rooms were considerably more expensive.
They allowed us to park in their car park during the day while we were walking at no charge and were very happy to arrange a taxi for us.
I throughly recommend this hotel if you can get it at a good price.

Reviewed by
G Firman

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
The view of the apartment was incredible, the breakfast was very good, the bedroom was beautiful (a mix of modern and antique) and the employers were very solicitous.

Reviewed by
M WILSHER

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only guests there... for good reason?
The location is perfect and the views are stunning. The hotel and rooms are very stylised (stylish?). My husband and I both slept terribly. The breakfast was most disappointing. We waited at an abandoned counter for 10 minutes before being served instant coffee from a teapot and a VERY limited 'continental' breakfast. This was especially disappointing after reading the breakfast menu in the room which boasted French toast and eggs Benedict.

Reviewed by
Jocelyn D

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, amazing surroundings will definaley be coming back

Reviewed by
C favell

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel
We stayed hear to celebrate a wedding anniversary, and were not disappointed

Reviewed by
G Harrop

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location,relaxing superb hotel,staff very friendly & nothing is too much trouble.I would definitely stay their again.

Reviewed by
Jane Grant

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional
Having booked the hotel for a leisurely break away which coincided with a business trip I was more than happy and extremely impressed with all factors. The level of service from checking in to checking out, the cleanliness and the undeniable talents of the chefs in the restaurants. Our evening meal was spectacular as was breakfast. From a business woman who strives for excellence in the customer service aspect of my own team, The team at Cotswolds 88 did a phenomenal job. Well done :)

Reviewed by
christine wright

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, Hotel is lovely, rooms are spacey and bright, The staff are very helpful and tentative to your needs.

Reviewed by
M Phipps

From Market harborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
We recently spent a relaxing break at the Cotswolds 88 Hotel and found the service faultless and the decor stylish. The hotel is well situated in the tiny peaceful village of Painswick. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel both of which were excellent, however I would suggest playing music in the restuarant as the atmosphere at both dinner and breakfast was slightly library-esque! Also for the price of the room it was disappointing to not have a bath provided in our room.

Reviewed by
R Gladman

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Painless in Painswick
Cotswold88 is great boutique hotel. Staff are fantastic, obviously well trained and genuinely keen to deliver a great experience. Very comfortable and upmarket without the pretentiousness. A class act..

Reviewed by
Peter S

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.