Reviews - Cliffden Hotel


Dawlish Road, Teignmouth, TQ14 8TE

Price From 104.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kathleen V

  • August 2015

Paid extra for sea view overlooked car park and sea in the far distance

It was for blind impaired and our friend was kept awake all the night with dog walkers.

Her room was disgusting; blood on duvet. We had blood on sheet. Windows had to be unjammed. Ran out of toilet roll.

The hotel generally wants redecoring. There was dead bugs in dining room. Hotel needs decorating badly.

  • M Al-Hasan

  • August 2015

Not good at all for vacation


We ware planning to visit Cornwall and looking for a nice resort to sleep / swim / breakfast and relax while not out for sightseeing. Because of late planning we didn't find any such resort in Cornwall. So we looked into nearby area and choose this hotel, as we don't mind little long driving for sightseeing. But this hotel was the worst part of our holiday. Staying in cheap B&B would have been same or even better. Firstly, the bed and bedding was not good enough. We could fill the spring in mattress. Pillows we're so thin and light. Those was way below the average standard. Same to bathroom and other furniture of the room. The swimming pool opening time is not suitable for guests in vacation. This closes so early and there are few restrictions during the day because of schaduled sessions. Car parking facility is terribly designed.

In restaurant, breakfast service is too slow. Not organised. But food was good. This hotel is located in prime location. Stunning views. Specious garden. But all those strength could be utilised well, rather than only for advertising.

This hotel is owned by a charity. It seems other stakeholders ware looked after well than customers. This is the only sympathy I have for them.

  • C Golborne

  • July 2015

Brief stop with dogs

Best dog friendly hotel we have ever been to.

Great grounds to walk them in.

  • Chris G

  • June 2015

A hotel for the partially sighted

Staff brilliant hotel geared for partially sighted people really hotel dated dogs pooing outside our hotel door shower mat disgusting gardens great

  • sarah p

  • May 2015

wonderful hotel with large rooms and high ceilings.

What i call a proper hotel with original feature

  • I Spong

  • April 2015

Return to see dear friends

When you arrive the staff cannot do enough asking all the right questions , giving good knowledge of hotel amenities, and the surrounding area , we had two dogs with us and they offered good advice and even a dog parlor on site to groom them after beach walks.All the staff were friendly and attentive even and welcoming , excellent grounds for all ages close to beach and town , have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years but I must say one of the best .Room lovely en suite to die for made the trip worth while.Dogs are welcome so a nice mixture of family, couples and friends , every thing was so layed back and we will be using hotel a fair bit in future.10 out 10 in my book.Swimming pool on site a nice touch.

  • Jeffrey P

  • March 2015

Wonderful veiw

Friendly greeting on arrival, staff very helpful.

Lovely large room with a balcony and a lovely veiw over the garden and the sea. Very convenient for the beach, a short walk from the hotel through the secret door. We only had breakfasts and there was a good choice and good service. The dinner menu had a good variety and prices were reasonable. Clean and tidy, refreshments in room on a daily basis. Could do with a bit of TLC but was in keeping with the character of the hotel.

  • Louise S

  • February 2015

Dog friendly.

We were visiting friends and needed a dog friendly hotel.

This one is very pet friendly and close to town. It suited us perfectly.

  • Catherine B

  • February 2015

Charming and friendly old fashioned hotel

Lovely staff and great location.

The hotel is in a bit of a time-warp decor and dinner menu-wise, but the breakfasts were wonderful.

  • Helen B

  • January 2015

Excellent Value for Money

Our third stay here.

Great view from room 210. Hotel very quiet at this time of year. Perfect location for exploring Teignmouth and the wider area. We like the ability to park car easily. We love meeting the guide dogs who stay with their owners. Staff all friendly and polite.