No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cliffden Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Dawlish Road , Teignmouth, TQ14 8TE
The Cliffden Hotel is a quality AA 3 star hotel a mere 200 yards from one of the best sandy beaches in South Devon, also known as ‘the English Riviera’.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome assistance dogs and good natured pet dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your Devon adventure with your dog*. Some rooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

The hotel has a 15 metre heated indoor swimming pool and we operate a varied timetable for public, residents and private use (please call us if you would like further details). Residents use is free of charge.

The hotel boasts a magnificent seven acres of landscaped scented gardens and has 47 spacious bedrooms, many with views of the gardens and surrounding coastline. Meals served in our Four Seasons restaurant are all freshly prepared with an emphasis on local ingredients and relaxed dining. Our bar has a wide selection of beverages including local ales and serving traditional Devon cream teas. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas.

Teignmouth, also known as the Gem of South Devon, is famous for its red sandy beach, mild climate and friendly hospitality. From the hotel you can take part in a wide range of activities and trips, whatever your age and interests. From beaches to moors, sunbathing and sandcastles to pony trekking and walking, this region of South Devon provides you with everything you could want from an English Seaside holiday.

Free summer entertainment, with the added attraction of the grand Victorian Pier, long promenade, a state-of-the-art children's play area and adventure golf course means that a day on Teignmouth beach is a real family treat. Lifeguards are at Teignmouth Town Beach from July to September.

Paignton Zoo, Dartmoor, the historic City of Exeter and the Eden Project are all within easy reach and in the summer months you can join in with the local Carnivals of Teignmouth and Dawlish.
Picture of Cliffden Hotel, Teignmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel in lovely grounds and easy reach of the beach. bit disappointed with the room.
bit disappointed with the room as when booking it said 'sea view'. the room was ok, bathroom was a bit tired. shower VERY difficult to control. hotel equipped for the blind people that stay there. no problem with that, but we didn't want to be sitting next to a huge hairy dog in the dining room for breakfast. think they should seat folks with dogs together. also they should mention there may be quite a lot of dogs instead of saying dogs welcome.

Reviewed by
christine e

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel above Teignmouth
warm welcome, room was lovely and decorated superbly , but being part of the roof was very hot and every room on the roof area had all their windows open. Gardens and feel of the place were very good and made to feel very welcome. The breakfast unfortunately was only average which was a shame as service was atttentive and informative

Reviewed by
peter h

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Forgotten gem!
We booked this fairly last minute. Whilst we enjoyed our stay I feel it only fair to share a few observations. If you're on the first or second floors and choose to take the lift be prepared for how small it is, the corridors were also somewhat narrow and played tricks on my eyes! The room was a little small but it was nice to have a double bed although the plastic undersheet was a bit annoying. I felt that a few small changes to the room could improve our first impressions. Namely to replace the tatty towels and put the tesco value tissues into a different container. More positive comments are that the food was good and reasonably priced if you eat there in the evening. The grounds were a treat and I imagine earlier in the year would be full of colour. The swimming pool, whilst not having a very resident friendly timetable was a decent size, manned by a lifeguard and good for less confident swimmers. Overall would go again.

Reviewed by
N Richards

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best of accommodation
We booked a family room for ourselves and two grandchildren for two nights, the room wasn't ready at the book in time and we told to wait in the bar and we would be called when it was ready, after an hours wait I went to the reception and asked if the room was ready. The receptionist wasn't sure but checked and said it was, handing me the key.
We found a vacuum cleaner still in the room, the bathroom was dusty , one door was missing from the wardrobe and chipped paint on the doors.
As a family room it had a double bed single bed and a put you up not what we were expecting!
The breakfast was as good as any three star hotel..
On reflection the hotel is a fine listed building with exceptional gardens and ample parking but the decor is dated and could do with some tlc..
Would we stay here again? To be honest I don't think so!

Reviewed by
G Cutting

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, hotel location very nice but has squicky floors and shower was in a tight place overall its not bad and defiantly value for money

Reviewed by
h m

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sensory views
this is a pleasant hotel with lots of fantastic gardens and stimulates all the senses.

Reviewed by
Paula N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashion seaside charm.
I took my mother and two teenagers to visit friends in Teignmouth so the Clliffden was a great base nearby. A stones throw from the sea front and beautiful sea views from gardens. The hotel itself is old fashioned decor, but typical of a seaside town. The whole of Teignmouth is very quaint still and that's what is lovely about it. One of our rooms was nice and bright and airy but next to the noisy road and the other room was an attic style room with a very small shower, having said that both rooms were adequate for purpose and we would stay again, Swimming pool was lovely and very quiet although it is open to the public at certain times. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was again, adequate and normal for south Devon, tinned fruit, cereals, fry ups, eggs etc. I would recommend this hotel as a base to explore the area more and for its excellent location, albeit hilly for people less able, but my mother managed it as there are stopping points up the garden path with rails.It does have facilities for the blind so there will be guide dogs around you, we didn't have a problem with this and met some amazing people there.

Reviewed by
Pauline M

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at the cliffden hotel teignmouth
room quite noisy due to being on the main road side of the hotel,but was adequate. Had to wait a while for breakfast to arrive,I think they forgot about our order,also asked for sauce and it arrived as we finished our breakfast!! But otherwise a pleasant stay. Would advise future guests to ask for room away from main road.

Reviewed by
lisa p

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place to stay
This was a nice hotel to stay in the staff were very friendly and helpful the only thing that this hotel needs is a bit of a re paint as the whole place looked a bit tired

Reviewed by
A Hodge

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at hotel for 1 night, staff very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
p hogg

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next