No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cliffden Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Dawlish Road , Teignmouth, TQ14 8TE
The Cliffden Hotel is a quality AA 3 star hotel a mere 200 yards from one of the best sandy beaches in South Devon, also known as ‘the English Riviera’.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome assistance dogs and good natured pet dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your Devon adventure with your dog*. Some rooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

The hotel has a 15 metre heated indoor swimming pool and we operate a varied timetable for public, residents and private use (please call us if you would like further details). Residents use is free of charge.

The hotel boasts a magnificent seven acres of landscaped scented gardens and has 47 spacious bedrooms, many with views of the gardens and surrounding coastline. Meals served in our Four Seasons restaurant are all freshly prepared with an emphasis on local ingredients and relaxed dining. Our bar has a wide selection of beverages including local ales and serving traditional Devon cream teas. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas.

Teignmouth, also known as the Gem of South Devon, is famous for its red sandy beach, mild climate and friendly hospitality. From the hotel you can take part in a wide range of activities and trips, whatever your age and interests. From beaches to moors, sunbathing and sandcastles to pony trekking and walking, this region of South Devon provides you with everything you could want from an English Seaside holiday.

Free summer entertainment, with the added attraction of the grand Victorian Pier, long promenade, a state-of-the-art children's play area and adventure golf course means that a day on Teignmouth beach is a real family treat. Lifeguards are at Teignmouth Town Beach from July to September.

Paignton Zoo, Dartmoor, the historic City of Exeter and the Eden Project are all within easy reach and in the summer months you can join in with the local Carnivals of Teignmouth and Dawlish.
Picture of Cliffden Hotel, Teignmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sensory views
this is a pleasant hotel with lots of fantastic gardens and stimulates all the senses.

Reviewed by
Paula N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashion seaside charm.
I took my mother and two teenagers to visit friends in Teignmouth so the Clliffden was a great base nearby. A stones throw from the sea front and beautiful sea views from gardens. The hotel itself is old fashioned decor, but typical of a seaside town. The whole of Teignmouth is very quaint still and that's what is lovely about it. One of our rooms was nice and bright and airy but next to the noisy road and the other room was an attic style room with a very small shower, having said that both rooms were adequate for purpose and we would stay again, Swimming pool was lovely and very quiet although it is open to the public at certain times. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was again, adequate and normal for south Devon, tinned fruit, cereals, fry ups, eggs etc. I would recommend this hotel as a base to explore the area more and for its excellent location, albeit hilly for people less able, but my mother managed it as there are stopping points up the garden path with rails.It does have facilities for the blind so there will be guide dogs around you, we didn't have a problem with this and met some amazing people there.

Reviewed by
Pauline M

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at the cliffden hotel teignmouth
room quite noisy due to being on the main road side of the hotel,but was adequate. Had to wait a while for breakfast to arrive,I think they forgot about our order,also asked for sauce and it arrived as we finished our breakfast!! But otherwise a pleasant stay. Would advise future guests to ask for room away from main road.

Reviewed by
lisa p

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week-end break
Beautiful setting and lovely gardens to relax in. Reception staff were most helpful but the reception area always smelt of cigarette smoke. The room was very dated and the bed was too firm to be comfortable. A king sized bed would have been more suitable. The only window was on to busy road.
A mixture of tungsten and low energy bulbs protruded from the ceiling fitting giving irregular lighting.
Bath linen had to be requested.
For breakfast there was a wide choice. The full English breakfast was disappointing as many of the items had been deep fried. The brown toast was readily replaced after requesting a longer toasting. The replacement was still like dry warm bread.
With minimal improvements this could be a top class hotel. I would have been extremely disappointed if had pad the full seasonal rate.

Reviewed by
Frank M

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at hotel for 1 night, staff very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
p hogg

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place to stay
This was a nice hotel to stay in the staff were very friendly and helpful the only thing that this hotel needs is a bit of a re paint as the whole place looked a bit tired

Reviewed by
A Hodge

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with our stay
Having booked very last minute and having seen a couple of poor reviews I was a bit concerned at what we would find. However I needn't have worried, the whole stay was wonderful. Despite checking in late we got a space in the car park, we were made to feel very welcome at reception and our room was not only large, it was very clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was good and was served from 8.00 till 10.00 on a Sunday which was nice not to have rush for. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Jane O

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The staff , food and room was value for money

Reviewed by
Ray W

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a different hotel
This hotel is part of a small chain catering to the visually impaired but also accepting sighted people. The hotel has seven acres of garden and is in a good location close to Teignmouth. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was reasonable size; the bed (double) was small and had seen better days .However, the bathroom was a good size and the shower,over bath, powerful. we only had breakfast and this was rather average

Reviewed by
K Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place!
It was a wonderful weekend in Teignmouth, not least because the staff were very accommodating and friendly. Not only recommended for the visual impaired, but for anyone looking for a wonderful and caring hotel experience.

Reviewed by
Anke A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next