No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cliffden Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Dawlish Road , Teignmouth, TQ14 8TE
The Cliffden Hotel is a quality AA 3 star hotel a mere 200 yards from one of the best sandy beaches in South Devon, also known as ‘the English Riviera’.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome assistance dogs and good natured pet dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your Devon adventure with your dog*. Some rooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

The hotel has a 15 metre heated indoor swimming pool and we operate a varied timetable for public, residents and private use (please call us if you would like further details). Residents use is free of charge.

The hotel boasts a magnificent seven acres of landscaped scented gardens and has 47 spacious bedrooms, many with views of the gardens and surrounding coastline. Meals served in our Four Seasons restaurant are all freshly prepared with an emphasis on local ingredients and relaxed dining. Our bar has a wide selection of beverages including local ales and serving traditional Devon cream teas. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas.

Teignmouth, also known as the Gem of South Devon, is famous for its red sandy beach, mild climate and friendly hospitality. From the hotel you can take part in a wide range of activities and trips, whatever your age and interests. From beaches to moors, sunbathing and sandcastles to pony trekking and walking, this region of South Devon provides you with everything you could want from an English Seaside holiday.

Free summer entertainment, with the added attraction of the grand Victorian Pier, long promenade, a state-of-the-art children's play area and adventure golf course means that a day on Teignmouth beach is a real family treat. Lifeguards are at Teignmouth Town Beach from July to September.

Paignton Zoo, Dartmoor, the historic City of Exeter and the Eden Project are all within easy reach and in the summer months you can join in with the local Carnivals of Teignmouth and Dawlish.
Picture of Cliffden Hotel, Teignmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The staff , food and room was value for money

Reviewed by
Ray W

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a different hotel
This hotel is part of a small chain catering to the visually impaired but also accepting sighted people. The hotel has seven acres of garden and is in a good location close to Teignmouth. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was reasonable size; the bed (double) was small and had seen better days .However, the bathroom was a good size and the shower,over bath, powerful. we only had breakfast and this was rather average

Reviewed by
K Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place!
It was a wonderful weekend in Teignmouth, not least because the staff were very accommodating and friendly. Not only recommended for the visual impaired, but for anyone looking for a wonderful and caring hotel experience.

Reviewed by
Anke A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
Hotel was in lovely position. Staff very helpful and polite. Only downside for myself was the lack of WiFi in the actual bedrooms. It was available in public areas but would have been inconvenient for myself to conduct my business in these areas. Also mobile telephone reception was non existent in my bedroom (room 6).

Reviewed by
David Westcott

From Nr Ringmer, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Break
Cliffden is a charming hotel in an excellent location for access to Teignmouth town centre and the surrounding areas of interest. The staff work tirelessly to ensure your stay is comfortable and that your needs are catered for. The grounds are very well kept and more importantly, the residents and regular visitors are cared for with the kindest of hearts. I will certainly be staying again and recommending to friends and family! A very relaxing trip away from home, which is just what I needed!

Reviewed by
Luke P

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean and accommodating hotel

Reviewed by
I Whitear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's got charm.
I know people go on about it being a bit tired but I have to say it didn't matter as the feeling of the place is charming with good character. Staff really lovely and very real. Brilliant garden. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Glenn H

From sandford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money with friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
K Farrar

From Forest Row, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
Stayed here several times before. Looking at the damage to the area transport system. Staff very helpful at all times.

Reviewed by
Roger D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely
A warm , friendly hotel, with an added bonus of allowing four legged family members in! (as long as they are well behaved) . Beautiful grounds, and a perfect location for ease of access to town. Yes some decor is a little tired , but it was a great place to stay for our family.

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next