Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Futurist Theatre Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 732 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smell of food
On arriving the young boy took a while to serve us wich I thoughtbwas ignorant, we paid £35 for a basement room wich inwouldntboaybanynmore for, the room was clean to a standard, but the smell,of food cooking in the kitchens was a put off and the corridors had food spillage in it, the bed was not a double bed more like a three quarter bed and having an husband who is very tall was a challenge, the bar in reception wasn't opened , the breakfast was very poor , the tea was flat cold having water flasks needs an upgrade, all I can say is I will not be going back ,

Reviewed by
M Robinson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never book in to the cheapest always upgrade otherwise u stay in the basement with the workers
We decided to not upgrade and we were put a level below reception it was terrible walking to the rooms was not nice it was dirty and halls full of linin and food. Found our room and it smelt stale due to the carpet out side the room being dirty and wet.
We went back to reception and paid for upgrade and then had a very nice clean and bright room food was nice there to I would possibly stay again but never at the cheapest room rate

Reviewed by
Jill P

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Thought the whole experience was excellent and what a building!!

Reviewed by
Alan L

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was cold in room no remote for tv and very tiny not very good at all that was Friday and sat we moved to another room because of booked different times and on sat there was no remote for tv and bed wasn't very comfortable at all with a zip down middle of bed

Reviewed by
D Beckett

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First room was in bowels of hotel, no window. Broken lift. Had to pay supplement to be moved.Awful
We booked online with yourselves. The first room was below ground, no window, close to heating system for entire hotel. The only lift to that floor was broken. Reception staff very unhelpful, and would only move us to another room on payment of a supplement. They said because we had booked online, there was nothing they could do to transfer our room free of charge. We were not given a card key, asked if we had been before, not given any info about meal times, entertainment etc. The 2 receptionists working on Sun/Mon, were unapproachable, surly, and miserable. We were not the only guests complaining about rooms, or lack of verbal information. We had limited funds due to having to pay the supplement, which left us unable to celebrate my birthday as we had arranged. We didn't even unpack, that is how unwelcome we felt. We will not be returning to that hotel, and there is certainly nothing GRAND about it. Our holiday was a nightmare.

Reviewed by
Dorothy Hartley

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room size
I felt the room was too small with no or little ventilation and it felt very clostrophobic
The hotel in itself seemed to be run very efficiently but if i stayed again it would not be in an internal room .

Reviewed by
susan m

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Excellent stay

Reviewed by
Sarah Kilvington

From Withernsea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
W Bannister

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Huge Victorian hotel. Paid budget price out of season. Got a seaview room without paying extra. Free entertainment every night. We would go again.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got what we paid for
Arrived at 6pm to a nice clean room with Jacuzzi bath and decent shower. Unfortunately on returning after going out for a couple of hours a dog was yapping constantly in the room next to ours. Complained and was re-roomed, unfortunately room was not cleaned. Complained again and sent to a nice clean room, though no Jacuzzi bath and only one speed shower.

Reviewed by
Martin G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next