Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Scarborough Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 786 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disater
We arrived and having requested a twin bed double they booked a couble bed. this was changed. when we arrived in the room we found it had no windows?! We weren't informed of this at booking or when we checked in. We rejected the rooom and were told there were no other rooms with windows. Only ones left were the roooms in the basement which all had no windows!!
Booked another hotel nearby and were told this was a common occurrence and the Grand was their best customer.

Reviewed by
Colin Stewart

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty smelly room
Booked an internal room - mouldy walls and very smelly, discreet plug in air freshener hidden behind the TV along with 3 months worth of dust and muck! Complained and was told I got what I booked (an internal room) I pointed out I didn't book a smelly internal room though. Given another room (after being told hotel was full) complete opposite of what id left - newly decorated, clean and not smelly. Strange how there were questionnaires in this room unlike the smelly one. Im still wondering who got that smelly room!!

Reviewed by
L HUGHES

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will never return
We were placed in a room in the basement it was hot with no ventilation & you couldn't open a window as they were filthy . The corridor was filthy and it felt like the service area of hotel. The Lino near the lift was ripped and caked with dirt in the corridor. The room was reasonably clean but mould around bath . You couldn't see out of the windows as they were so dirty. I have never stayed in a hotel previously without a telephone to contact reception. No warm friendliness from any of the staff except the doorman on Saturday evening who was friendly & helpful. The restaurant looked ready for a refurb with tatty chairs and rusty lamps over the hot counters. The table was partially rubbed with crumbs from other guests .

Reviewed by
marie f

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

How Grand is the Grand?
The first room offered was a twin as requested, but it vibrated with the Air Conditioning, so we asked for a move, the only room available was a "Premier" room costing an additional £20, so we paid up. Our twin beds were now fixed to make a 6 ft bed, but unfortunately the duvet barely covered the surface of the bed. Had there have been a telephone in the room, I would have phoned reception to ask for either a larger one, or an additional one, but was too tired to go back to reception. We settled for an early night, were just dozing off when the fire alarm went off. I grabbed a fleece jacket, shoes and my handbag and up we trudged up the 4 flights of stairs. There was no clock in the room so wasn't sure quite when the alarm went off, think it was about 11.45pm, we shivered outside for around 1/2 hour before being told to go to The Royal Hotel. There were 4 fire engines and 2 ambulances in attendance. We were back in our room at 00.38 am, couldn't sleep in case alarm went off again. Had a shower - that was good, plenty of hot water. Breakfast, also was good

Reviewed by
G Puckrin

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

changed rooms 4 times, first room was a single room , scruffy, dirty, ordered double, second room
changed rooms 4 times, first room was a single room , scruffy, dirty, ordered double, second room already occupied, third room, 2 single beds overlooking the car park, scruffy, we took the forth room 2 hours after we checked in, 80% of the people who were queuing at the reception were complaining.

Reviewed by
D Connolly

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very poor experiance indeed
The staff were rude.the food was yuk .the first two rooms were very poor but after complaining a lot we were finally given a decent room.I would not stay again

Reviewed by
robert mclean

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Been to this hotel five times always enjoyed it shame about the fire alarms
Enjoyed it but for the smoke or fire alarm going off when we were in bed thought it was ours only so it was very stressful 3 fire engines ambulances taking people to hospital ect everybody outside in the cold so I am not happy it went off early the following night also but only for a few seconds but still most people run from the concert room.

Reviewed by
Ivan Rolfe

From salford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bad breakfast
This is my second time staying at the grand hotel and it is a beautiful hotel the rooms are quite big and have a lovely view if you are lucky enough to get a seaview room. The hotel serves a buffet breakfast included in the price of the room, if this hadnt been included in the price I wouldnt have eaten there. The eggs were obviously powdered or something like that, toast was soggy I would say the only nice thing was the sausages and they had a bad effect on your stomach a couple of hours later as I spoke to a few other people staying and they said the same thing. So for me the only bad comment I have is about the food and the tv in our room only had about 5 channels which u couldnt work out which was which but overall its a good hotel to stay in if you are just wanting to stay a couple of nights

Reviewed by
A Allan

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great architecture lacking only TLC.
Sea view room but windows don't open?! Chair that is essentially a booby- trap. TV that only receives BBC channels. A magnificent architectural gem in a superb location; but, desperately in need of extensive restoration to recapture it's former glory.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay ive ever had
I stayed on saturday night in room 2033 when checking in i got to the front of the queue then the lady behind the counter just got up and left for about 5 minutes so checking in took about 20 minutes. then we went to room 2033 walked in it was like a prison cell the smallest room ive ever been in not a window in site. I thought i would be able to manage in the little room therefore didnt complain. we went out for the day came back in got ready and went back out came back in the room was boiling hot, no window to let in fresh air couldnt get to sleep to get to the other side of the bed you had to jujmp over the bed there was no room at the bottom of the bed to walk round. anyway as it turned out we couldnt get to sleep got up and checked out about 4:30am no one at the reception to check out with and give my complaints to. But i left a note with my key on the desk. literally the worst stay ive ever had! I wont be rushing back although scarborough was great!

Reviewed by
Marco O

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next