Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Futurist Theatre Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 696 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Easily checked in & fast, room basic but ok for what we needed for a night, excellent views.
Breakfast good selection but only problem it was only just warm some of it. Apart from that it was a good affordable night away.

Reviewed by
helen h

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ruined my suprise night out in Scarborough!!!!!
Always wanted to stay at Grand Scarborough as such a great landmark for the town. And always wished to try.. So came up with my partner from London..
Really disappointed, booked as a surprise for my partner as from Filey (local). Booked a great local of which restaurants of which was fantastic. Night was ruined as the next surprise was a night in the Grand, filthy damp rooms of which I had to explore 5 rooms till satisfied. Terrible would never recommend. Ruined my night of surprise with my partner.
Such a shame as sure this was a premiere hotel in the past. Was asked for payment up front, not surprised as would never of paid on check out.. would like my money back for whole night out!!

Reviewed by
Matthew Cummings

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely disgusting - can't believe they're getting away with this!
We booked pretty last minute, double room, b&b for £45 and had never stayed at The Grand before. Our room was an internal room, 2 floors under the hotel - internal means there's no window (which we knew when we booked). The young man on reception was disinterested verging on rude, when he checked us in. As we approached our room, which was down in the lift then through a series of corridors, doors, steps up AND down (and very poorly signposted), the smell of damp got stronger and stronger. On the Fire Exit door beside our room was a poorly made sign apologising for inconvenience (no explanation?!). Our actual room was about 6'4" x 8'6" although not rectangular as one wall slopes off - this means that the three quarter bed actually almost touches the wall at one bottom corner making it nigh on impossible to walk around the bed. This tiny closet of a room has a three quarter bed, dressing table and chair with huge table lamp, double wardrobe and a TV unit and TV - you literally can't move and it stinks of damp.
Everything, bedding, towels - even your own clothes after a night in there, feels cold and damp. The carpet needs a good Hoover (under the bed is disgusting), though I can understand how difficult getting a vacuum around this room would be. The sky light is absolutely filthy and someone has actually drawn patterns in the thick dust. The bathroom was dirty in places and the plug for the bath didn't fit the hole!
When I spoke to reception, I said the room number and the young woman on reception looked me straight in the eye and said "yeah? What about it?". She did then ask me if I wanted to see the Duty Manager - but I declined. I'll vote with my feet, thanks. Britannia Hotels won't be getting any more of my money.
I should say though, that breakfast was good - even though the Maître D' was stroppy, short tempered and rude. The windows in the breakfast room were so dirty, that the beautiful view was hard to see.
Such a shame that a once Grand hotel has been turned into something so decrepit and uncared for!

Reviewed by
Michelle O

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
big hotel, cheap and cheerful, nice views from dining room, food ok breakfast plentiful. no frills.

Reviewed by
Frank W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty room, food not good. Lot of people with vomiting bug.

Reviewed by
j bradbrook

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Stopped here on New Years eve very busy but still good customer service. Lovely food and room.

Reviewed by
Eric H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great.....as usual
The Grand did not let us down at all. We always enjoy our stay here. We don't (and can't) expect the world's greatest hotel when we haven't paid for that. Just a reasonable stay and level of service which is exactly what we got. Yes, the room on the 5th floor was suffering from slight draught due to not being double glazed, but, would you want to see plastic windows and doors on this wonderful building?. After all, with the curtains closed you didn't really notice. This year we have to give a very special mention to DUNCAN MILLS, an absolute gem, an asset to the hotel and a great ambassador. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him even when under great pressure due to staff shortages. On the whole we found the staff were very good as usual. Great entertainment, good food and we will have no hesitation stopping here when booking next time.

Reviewed by
V KITSON

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Had a good visit entertainment good food could be a bit better but you get what you pay for

Reviewed by
roy greatorex

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we booked a de-lux room but they just said we have a sea view

Reviewed by
C pritchard

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of Room
Having stayed at the Grand,we expected a lot more room than we got. We paid the highest tariff for a double room and also phoned twice prior to going, to check everything was fine with the booking. We were given a very small room, with the smallest of shower cubicles and no bath, which was our main request.
We enjoy staying at this hotel and will be booking again, but on this occasion the standard of the room let the hotel down.

Reviewed by
D Tighe

From Rochdale, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next