Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Scarborough Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 757 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very nice 2 nights stay

Reviewed by
Jeffrey Moss

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
When we got there and checked in and paid (charged for using a debit card) we got our room keys and set off on a tour of the hotel to find the room.
When we finally found it, we opened the door and were greeted by a terrible smell of smoking, it smelled like an ashtray.
We left the room and went back to reception where we were told it was a smoking floor, we weren't even asked if we smoked!
We were then sent to a below ground floor room, 3 floors down to a funny shaped room a bit tatty round the edges, that had a hint of smoking mixed with foisty smell.
We looked round and it had loads of little flies everywhere and during the 2 day stay I got rid of 3 beetles and 3 spiders.
At least the sheets looked clean and the towels looked clean but cleanliness given low score because of the flies and the smell.
We looked for plugs to charge our phones and there were only 2 sockets in the room and one had the tv plugged in it.
Food was average, we've had better and we've had worse , part of the dining area was being decorated and the cups and cutlery had a layer dust on at breakfast.
We weren't aware of the restaurant card farce that was needed from reception, we queued for 10 minutes then at out turn we noticed the waiter collecting cards off diners we were told we needed a card but by then the queue was huge so we went to Pizza Hut and we ate our other evening meals out too.
I chose a hotel with a restaurant as the other hotels I've stayed in you just eat and pay but not this one.
Parking was a nightmare there's only street parking if you can get in at the front of the hotel area, we asked a nice, helpful traffic warden and he told us you get a scratch card from the hotel for £3, but with a blue badge it's free all day and we'll be lucky to get a space then as he said that a space became free just in front of us.
Some staff were poor with information (reception) others were ok, the barman was a laugh.

Reviewed by
jonathan s

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand !! How ironic !
Simple, don't bother !!!
I haven't reviewed the food as we daren't eat breakfast !!

Reviewed by
Nick B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very tired hotel needs a lot of work doing to it

Reviewed by
j saywell

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgraceful
Utterly disgusting. Left after a few hours. Filthy room. Awful staff. Notice in room "contract norovirus at own risk". Shocked isn't the word.

Reviewed by
Kirsty M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like staying in a bunker
Room was below ground with no window, only stayed one night and could not have stayed any longer. Breakfast was basic and cold. The whole place is very run down and shabby. I will not stay here again I have stayed at the Travelodge across the road before and will be booking it again as rooms are much big and have a window!

Reviewed by
Diane B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand delusion
Very bad experience staff very unhelpful and dismissive. Rooms appalling from furniture to covering up torn wallpaper with a touch of paint. Room full of flys and midges which my husband suffered bites all over his lips. The rooms smelt of foist and dead bodies ( which I have worked with ) how the hotel still operates is an understatement.
My husband has run hotels in the past and is a chef by trade and he would be mortified if any of his hotels had been like this.
I personally am thinking about getting in touch with environmental health to get involved it was that bad.

Reviewed by
Carol Bisby

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the grand
Room very hot

Reviewed by
John G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
excellent value as usual , will use again .

Reviewed by
paul alderson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel Scarborough with poor service
This hotel is used mainly by coach parties and staff treat everyone as though they are either stupid or an inconvenience.
Most of the staff at this hotel can not be bothered to even be polite to hotel guests (customers).
We were given no information on arrival at the hotel and no information was available in the room regarding meal times or food available.
We asked at reception about this and we were given a photo copy of an information sheet that had clearly been copied many times and was very basic and poor quality.
Breakfast was available in two restaurant with two different times, we decided to go for the later breakfast finishing at 10 am however on arrival at breakfast the next day we were unceremoniously told we were in the wrong restaurant and told to go to the restaurant where breakfast had already finished.
Having eaten only a mouthful of poor quality and cold food we left and asked at reception why we were not allowed in the other restaurant and told very curtly "you only have an internet breakfast" on asking what this meant we were again told "you only have an internet breakfast booked" but for £7 each we could upgrade!
When we explained we only required breakfast not an evening meal we got the same blunt answer £7 to upgrade, we declined this as we had booked Bed and Breakfast and felt we should not have to pay twice so we decided not to upgrade.
When I asked in the restaurant if I could have a portion of Mushrooms I was told very bluntly "only in the upstairs restaurant" on another occasion I asked for poached egg instead of fried and I then got the answer "the chef is too busy".
This was typical of most of the staff, throughout the hotel staff were either rude or seemed to treat customers as an inconvenience.
We encountered only one friendly member of staff, who was in the basement unloading and storing food that had been delivered and he could not have been more helpful or cheerful.
We will definitely not be going back and a most disappointing stay to say the least.

Reviewed by
E Climpson

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next