Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Scarborough Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 772 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

h

Reviewed by
Chris Rissetto

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exelent stay

Reviewed by
m lance

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and pleasant
Stopped for 2 nights. Changed our room to a sea view free of charge which was nice. Hotel staff were pleasant. food wasn't brilliant but was edible. But enjoyed the stay for the price.

Reviewed by
V Baines

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Victorian hotel
It is a Victorian hotel and so is old but the hotel is good value and worth a stay as long as you
Are not expecting 5 star the feTures inside are worth a stay just to have. Look we were worried about
Some of the other reviews but took a chance we did stay in a seaview room so maybe that made
The difference it could do with some upkeep but then it would not be so good value

Reviewed by
Angela R

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value
the Grand hotel is very nice place to stay very good value & great breakfast

Reviewed by
susan b

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

garret room
Tiny attic room with sloping ceiling (which I hit my head off a couple of times) squeaky bed with a rock hard matress been better off staying at local ymca never again basic breakfast nothing to shout about

Reviewed by
michael hayes

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Good cheap value for money hotel

Reviewed by
J Hubble

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for the money
When we arrived at the hotel we decided to upgrade to a standard room which turned out to be a mistake as it wasn't up to much at all. The bathroom smelt of sewage, the heating didn't work and neither did the TV. We went to reception and spoke to a lovely woman and the duty manager who were able to move us to another room. The second room was definitely warmer and had a lovely jacuzzi bath. It was a smaller room but this didn't really matter for the night. Both of the rooms were very clean. We went down for breakfast the next morning but we were very disappointed with the quality of the food. The only decent edible thing was the cereal. The bacon tasted of freezer burn and the sausage leaked water. I really wouldn't recommend wasting your time with the breakfast. Car parking was also an issue as there is very limited space around the hotel, we managed to get there early so we could park fairly close. The hotel is also in a very good location, close to the beach, bars and shops. All in all despite the problems we would stay there again but we won't have breakfast.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth P

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay - embrace it and have fun
We really enjoyed our stay.
For our first night we had a tiny room in the loft where we found the signs to 'Please Mind Your Head' 5 seconds after we had head butted the sloping ceiling. We did this 4 times before it sank in that walking in the room with a stoop was probably a good idea. This was then reinforced when we met some of the other guests in the beautiful and very impressive lobby - they were all walking with stoops! Some of them had obviously been staying in a similar room to ours for some time as there were an awful lot of walking frames as well! (Its no surprise we thought - if you get used to stooping as soon as you wake, then your back does seize up a bit).
After a really good breakfast - and any breakfast which I dont have to cook or wash up after is excellent in my books and please dont get confused by the other guests staring vacantly at the sausages, we found that staring vacantly at things was probably some sort of game, although it was hard to discover what the prize was - Any way after breakfast we went exploring the coast for the day and loved every minute. On our return I found somewhere to park outside the hotel and stood behind some vacant starers for a while waiting to get a parking ticket from reception. I was just getting the point of the staring competition when I discovered that this wasn't in fact a queue, oh deep joy, I wasn't going to be queuing until our departure. The incredibly helpful girl in reception issued us with the parking ticket and when I asked if there would be any chance of a room change so that I could retain a few brain cells she looked at our room number and immediately issued us with another key (small supplement as we would now have a sea view). She did ask if we wanted to see the room but Netty and I thought that unless the ceiling actually swung down and brained us as we opened the door it would have to be an improvement. And what an improvement! beautiful sea views, a really large room and more seagulls than you could throw a stick at - I know because by the end of the stay I did try and find a really big stick!
In the late afternoon we decided to give ourselves hyperthermia and walked down the steps to the beach - its a lot of steps it has to be said, but then again I am a little on the round side and I wasnt planning a small evening meal so the exercise would do more than just make me feel like I was having a coronary. After a bracing swim in the sea we walked back to our lovely room where we could have slept for ever. In the morning we were woken by the seagulls at about 4.30 and my word can they shout! It was at this point I tried looking for a big stick, but reminded myself that going for seaside break and then complaining about seagulls was probably pushing it a bit! Another great breakfast - I even started a bit of bacon staring myself and soon had quite a few followers. we then had time for another freeze in the sea before checking out.
On the pavement outside there were the coaches going back to much more boring places and the staring competition had reached its peak. I was intrigued so I had a quick peak at the object of the stare - It was a big stick - the best prize of all in Scarborough, no where were those seagulls!

Reviewed by
Richard Povey

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not that grand
The hotel looks impressive, but as with all hotels of this age it is in need of a lot of TLC. The breakfasts were good, though, and it's in a good location for the shops, beach (if you don't mind all the hills and steps) and the trains and buses.

Reviewed by
V Fawcett

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next