Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Scarborough Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 761 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
excellent value as usual , will use again .

Reviewed by
paul alderson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel Scarborough with poor service
This hotel is used mainly by coach parties and staff treat everyone as though they are either stupid or an inconvenience.
Most of the staff at this hotel can not be bothered to even be polite to hotel guests (customers).
We were given no information on arrival at the hotel and no information was available in the room regarding meal times or food available.
We asked at reception about this and we were given a photo copy of an information sheet that had clearly been copied many times and was very basic and poor quality.
Breakfast was available in two restaurant with two different times, we decided to go for the later breakfast finishing at 10 am however on arrival at breakfast the next day we were unceremoniously told we were in the wrong restaurant and told to go to the restaurant where breakfast had already finished.
Having eaten only a mouthful of poor quality and cold food we left and asked at reception why we were not allowed in the other restaurant and told very curtly "you only have an internet breakfast" on asking what this meant we were again told "you only have an internet breakfast booked" but for £7 each we could upgrade!
When we explained we only required breakfast not an evening meal we got the same blunt answer £7 to upgrade, we declined this as we had booked Bed and Breakfast and felt we should not have to pay twice so we decided not to upgrade.
When I asked in the restaurant if I could have a portion of Mushrooms I was told very bluntly "only in the upstairs restaurant" on another occasion I asked for poached egg instead of fried and I then got the answer "the chef is too busy".
This was typical of most of the staff, throughout the hotel staff were either rude or seemed to treat customers as an inconvenience.
We encountered only one friendly member of staff, who was in the basement unloading and storing food that had been delivered and he could not have been more helpful or cheerful.
We will definitely not be going back and a most disappointing stay to say the least.

Reviewed by
E Climpson

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad to see it like this
Once great hotel reduced to a 3rd rate B&B catering mainly for pensioners coach parties.

Reviewed by
Michael O

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was cold and in the cellar ..would not stay there again...
Time it was updated...

Reviewed by
peter c

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful , Victorian hotel great location & views.Had a room 2 floors below ground level like a prison
We paid £45 for a double room & breakfast, our expectations were low.
We queued for 45minutes to check in.
The receptionist gave us the wrong directions to our room.
The room was level -2 that's two levels below ground ( there is a -3) the room had no windows and was like a prison, the room was dated but tidy & the bed was clean. After approaching reception we were eventually moved. Online or at check in no mention was made that the room was below ground level, The room had a window thank goodness. We were woken at 9.15am saying check out was 10am. The reception didn't tell us the time of breakfast or check out.
The hotel is very grand from the outside with fantastic views and location. The hotel was beyond disappointing and we we will not be staying again. The room was advertised at £150 originally on laterooms.com which I find unbelieveable, I have stayed in may hotels in the past & this hotel was the worst ever, our expectations were low considering the price but the hotel was far far worse.

Reviewed by
A Baker

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grand hotel scarborough
good weekend good food good place to stay

Reviewed by
tim blount

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel

Reviewed by
K Quinn

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel
Its not bad

Reviewed by
shane hill

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shocking - no wonder there are no photos of the rooms on their website
We booked here last minute through LateRooms.com, the description said our 1 night stay would normally have been over £100, this was clearly untrue given the quality of the accommodation. We were allocated a room 3 floors below ground! The room can only be described as an en suite cupboard, there was no window in the room, the furniture looked like it had been picked up from a second hand shop, shabby but definitely not chic, there was only one bedside table and the tiny old style portable tv was mounted so high up the wall you would have needed several sessions with an osteopath if you watched it. The room and corridors also smelt of dirty standing water, thankfully we were only there one night.

Reviewed by
sharon h

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the not soo grand hotel
bed was not comfortable, it smelt of dust, the room was very small for two people, the bathroom was very cramped, there was no fresh water, and the hair dryer cable was loose, there was also dog wee up the wall and there was dog sick on the floor and also the bed sheets had holes and bite marks in, I feel that the staff could of been happier and keep their arguments aside and not in front of customer.

Reviewed by
J Blockley

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next