Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Scarborough Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 771 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a hotel for children
Rooms are not clean ,don't look at the beds or pillows or u won't sleep
Have a games room for children 2 things to do that's it and costs money
Entertainment not for kids
Hotels needs a refurb as soon as possible or knocking down
Good point food good

Reviewed by
Charlotte H

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgrace the only thing missing was Basil
Arrived 4th August. Got checked in to a room with no window, no air conditioning and the corridors had a terrible smell. Informed the front desk. 17:00 asked front desk for a towel as there was only one in the room. 17:30 again asked for towels and I was told "I was dealing with a bus party I will deal with your request". 18:00 again they were still dealing with my request. 18:30 I informed the front desk not to bother as I had shared a towel with my partner. I was informed "we are just going to your room now" 5th August left the hotel did not go for breakfast due to the smell in the corridors did not feel like eating in the hotel. Arrived back later that afternoon, no maid had been in bed not made, buckets not emptied towels where we had left them. Spoke to front desk and was told " your room is down for being cleaned by the night staff who are due in at 20:30" Went out for the evening returned still no maid had been in. There was also a pile of dirty towels lying in the corridor which had been there all day. 6th August checked out did not chance having breakfast. Still no maid and the pile of dirty towels were still lying in the corridor from the day before. Informed the front desk again and let them know I was not happy with my stay

Reviewed by
Des J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money could have upgraded but for one night it was adequate

Reviewed by
Sandra Bulman

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Might have been great, once upon a time...
When we first arrived to check in we were told there was no booking made, there was, they just failed to input the necessary data that had been sent via laterooms, taking us over half an hour to get it all sorted and several phone calls to laterooms/trainline thrown into the mix.
Once we found our room there were signs of mold and damp left not dealt with in the bathroom and stains on the floor, with the floor creaking wherever you might find yourself walking (not just our room unfortunately but worst off, the room above us, to which made relaxing/sleep difficult).
Once past these "in-house" issues you are left unfortunately with the age old issues of seagulls and being near a beach. With little to no anti gull spikes or wiring they are free to nest on the tops of the windowsill and adjacent columns and balconies in packs of hundreds leading to a chorus of gulls day and night.
I could keep going but I really cannot be bothered to waste another moment on this terrible hotel. Whilst it might have been a "Grand Hotel" back during the Victorian period it has not aged well. Its management and owners have clearly done little to modernize it and keep it to the standards that people have come to expect in a hotel today.
This hotel being a 2 Star at best and one I would strongly suggest to people to look elsewhere.

Reviewed by
M George

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

horrible
The room was awful it had no window , a three quarter bed no air con and was stinking of damp . we asked for a change in rooms as it wasnt suitable and that i wanted the room which i paid for to be told that there wasnt one till the next day . of which was unexceptable as i paid for a room with a window and a kingsize bed . i spoke to the manager of whom was very rude and unhelpful aswel as being creative with his words not in a nice way . he said that if you use a cheap website then you get cheap . i told him that we wanted a refund of which we had half and left this damp fusty smelling building . this ruined what should have been a nice wedding anniversary present for us and am utterly disquisted with this hotel and its staff

Reviewed by
Keith Eccleston

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food great room not so good
We had a room under the hotel with no window right next to the kitchen door....horrible smell in our corridor. The room was ok but very chlaustrophobic. We were upgraded to a seaview room (for a cost) and this was much better. The breakfast was fabulous lots of choice very hot and fresh cant fault it.

Reviewed by
m shaw

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bad experience at Grand Hotel Scarbrough 2/8/14
Booked in to hotel and given the key for a room in the lower floor area of the hotel with no windows or veneration (room was very warm and humid), could be described as a prison cell without a window. Went back to reception and asked if we could change rooms. We were told no other rooms available and a refund was not possible, only option was to upgrade, Due to our initial experience we asked if we could view the room before making a decision, this wish was granted and we were given the key. for the extra £10.00 this room was satisfactory and was our only option at the time.
I returned to to pay the extra tariff leaving my wife in the room . As I reached the desk to inform the receptionist of our decision the room was being booked out to another guest who had just complained about her room . I was then told that I could no longer have the room just viewed and the only room available now was the room vacated by the other customer, Again I asked if I could have a refund but was told that this was not possible . It was only when I informed them that my wife was still in the room that they agreed to refund me.

Reviewed by
andrew Stevenson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic Hotel but be careful about rooms you book
We were in room -3022 - beware these lower numbered rooms are internal rooms with no windows. The room itself was a good size and comfortable with dark wood furniture in keeping with the era of the hotel. However, if you are in the slightest bit claustrophobic do not book one of these rooms and, if you do, take an alarm clock because, with no natural light you cannot judge what time of day or night it is. The room was very quiet but could do with perhaps a few pictures on the walls to give a feeling of the outdoors. Beware also there was no air conditioning. The bathroom was a good size and everything worked efficiently with lovely hot water for the shower/bath. Doors were a little stiff and the bathroom one was difficult to shut. The outer door needs a handle on the inside - you only have the Yale to open a really heavy door which I found difficult.
Breakfast was in the lovely Terrace room with magnificent views which was wonderful after the bedroom! The food was not bad although the bacon was tough as old boots and looked like it had been cooked in a vat of oil. The rest was fine although it would have been nice to have the opportunity of fried eggs rather than just scrambled but I understand they are catering for the masses.
Another comment about the lower floor bedrooms is that trying to find you way through the maze of corridors to find stairs was quite daunting. The lift was quite small and at changeover time very busy.
Parking was a nightmare and, having got our permit, because there was no map on it, we had no idea where any of the allocated roads were. We ended up getting a parking ticket despite having the permit in the window.
I would stay there again however as it is quite an historic building, however I would insist on having a room with a window - I'm not sure I could have coped with more than 2 nights in a room without a window or air conditioning.
I would recommend the hotel but with reservations and strong suggestion that the room chosen had a window.

Reviewed by
Dawn P

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Grand Day Out
It's an enormous hotel, so must cost a fortune to look after. We stayed for the sea view & that really is the very best thing about it. And the only thing that would (and will) take me back. This place must have been amazing in it's hey day & is worth staying to get a feel for that & enjoy the view of the bay. Breakfast is very efficient - the sausage is surprisingly delicious given it's appearance, but I suspect the scrambled egg of being powdered rather than fresh. I normally like boutique hotels, and this is definitely not that, but if you can over look the parts that have not yet been prettified (and the dreadful colour choices in the bedroom I was in - why bright pale blue would go with coffee & cream is beyond me) and instead enjoy the view, spacious rooms and powerful shower then it really is a place you should stay.

Reviewed by
Clare L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comments on grand hotel
the hotel was quite nice but the staff were awful. My husband & i could not leave our table together to get the buffet breakfast otherwise all the table was cleared & your cups & saucers gone. As was anything not nailed down. I found meal times most stressful. There was no personal service.

Reviewed by
S COPLEY

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next