Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Futurist Theatre Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 732 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great architecture lacking only TLC.
Sea view room but windows don't open?! Chair that is essentially a booby- trap. TV that only receives BBC channels. A magnificent architectural gem in a superb location; but, desperately in need of extensive restoration to recapture it's former glory.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

these rooms were below ground with no windows and no adequate escape in case of fire

Reviewed by
m atkinson

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay ive ever had
I stayed on saturday night in room 2033 when checking in i got to the front of the queue then the lady behind the counter just got up and left for about 5 minutes so checking in took about 20 minutes. then we went to room 2033 walked in it was like a prison cell the smallest room ive ever been in not a window in site. I thought i would be able to manage in the little room therefore didnt complain. we went out for the day came back in got ready and went back out came back in the room was boiling hot, no window to let in fresh air couldnt get to sleep to get to the other side of the bed you had to jujmp over the bed there was no room at the bottom of the bed to walk round. anyway as it turned out we couldnt get to sleep got up and checked out about 4:30am no one at the reception to check out with and give my complaints to. But i left a note with my key on the desk. literally the worst stay ive ever had! I wont be rushing back although scarborough was great!

Reviewed by
Marco O

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room small but clean, good location

Reviewed by
Tony Y

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The 'not so' Grand Hotel.
Do not stay here !!
This hotel is by far the worst that we have ever stayed at in the uk, it is only matched by a hotel we stayed at in India, it is dated, disgustingly dirty, the rooms are tiny and beds are like concrete, if you moved the squeak was unbelievable. The dining room downstairs is so dirty, I was hesitant to sit on the chairs as they looked awful. The food is as bad, the board outside says a big buffet dinner for £10.95, if I was a passing customer and had paid for dinner I would be straight back to the manager for a full refund,
We had to change rooms as our first had mould all down one wall and should only be used as a single as it was tiny.
The checkout time is supposed to be 10.00 am but by 9.30 am the maid had knocked twice to see if we were leaving!!!!

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

corriders smelt like a pet shop due to dogs being allowed. food was just acceptable good job it had 3 courses so had a bit at each course. room bit plain. not homely.

Reviewed by
d rhodes

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole good but needs attention to small detail

Reviewed by
L Mcleod

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again.
our room was based on the 3rd floor down when we got to our room and walked in it smelt fusty and mouldy there was repairs been done not 5 feet away from our room the ceiling was been repaired and the walls were black from damp. cleanliness wise there was dust on top of the mirror dust on top of the picture thick dust on top of wardrobe an ear plug under the bed in the bathroom a screwed up piece of paper on the floor, the regulator on the hot water was not working on our 2nd night stay .

Reviewed by
Debra Nichols

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
The Grand Hotel is a great place to stay if you want a central location near to all the amenities. The building is full of history and character but is not 5 Star more budget than quality. My room was in the basement level minus 2 which was a shock. There was no window and the room and surrounding corridor was very warm although you do have a fan in your room its use is limited to circulating warm air and its difficult to sleep with it on at night. The room and en suite bathroom were clean and tidy and clean towels were provided each day and room serviced. I would stay again only in rooms ground floor and up and would avoid the basement rooms as they are claustrophobic and too warm.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp room, no window
Despite the price we'd paid, we were put into a basement room with no window. It was damp, our clothes stank after the one night. We asked to be moved but were told it was full and all they could offer was a £10 discount. Would avoid like the plague.

Reviewed by
Michaela A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next