Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Scarborough Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 778 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We have stayed at the Grand several times. This time we were disappointed. The first room we were allocated was in the converted part of the building. This section used to be the Café Bar. The sea view from the window was at ground level overlooked by the car park and pedestrians passing by on their way to the beach. The net curtains would have had to remain closed permanently to maintain privacy, so we arranged a room change. Receptionist was very helpful and moved our room.
The second room had great views onto the beach, the bay and harbour. Unfortunately the room had not been cleaned properly. We complained again at reception expecting that the room would be cleaned promptly but this did not happen.
We have made complaint to the hotel and the matter has been resolved. We hope that this was just an oversight as we do plan to go again.

Reviewed by
david w

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First room in basement no windows upgraded to a second room both rooms breakfast terrible

Reviewed by
S L

From , England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the not so grand in the police cell or the cellar
£45 for the night. First thing I see when i arrive is a big sign saying £25 p/night.
My single room was as small as you could possibly image. No headboard or footboard on the bed as it was tight fitting to the wall. I couldn't lie flat out on my back. Just enough room to open the door. To best describe it do a google image search for a police station holding cell. A small strip of a window about 12 foot up along one wall.
My partner's twin room was in the basement, floor '-2'. You could tell you were underground as it was stifling hot and humid in the corridors. You couldn't open the window in the room but it was unclear what was on the other side of the window, possibly a brick wall? Very dim lighting in the room which added to the sense of being underground. The only sockets were in one corner of the room furthest away from the head end of the beds. The most unique thing about the room was the 'emergency lighting' (as described by the staff) that you couldn't turn off. A green light that lit the room up to a level that you could probably read a book, was on all night. I'm sure no staff have ever actually been in the room at night with the main light off to actually appreciate how ridiculously bright it is. The only good thing was the jacuzzi bath and the most powerful shower I have ever experienced..... great but not the best when you feel like you're in an unventilated cellar. Plus if you neighbour is an early riser it sounds like they're running a motor in your bedroom when they are showering. We had phoned in advance requesting space for a cot and the first room they gave us was a single/double twin with no space for a cot so they don't seem to pay much attention to any special requests.

Reviewed by
David A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice relaxing break
my partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the grand in scar bough it was very good value for money ,very clean and we would stay here again
The only down fall for the hotel was parking spaces for the hotel

Reviewed by
Victoria C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sore disappointment
Poor service with evidence of cost-cutting at every level. Good food poorly cooked. Too few dining room staff with officious maitre d'. Entertainment staff good and working their socks off but just too few of them. Staff generally seemed to think that customers were a nuisance.

Reviewed by
Doreen J

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sadly........
the room was advertised as 145 but laterooms could do it for 45 as an offer. It was not worth 45. It was small. It was cramped. There were insufficient towels. It was the cellar/below ground. no windows no natural light. the light bulb in the bathroom didn't work. the water was so very chlorinated we couldnt make a cup of tea or coffee. the tv didn't work.......that was essential for the world cup and part of the reason for travel. we had no mobile signal being underground I suppose. there was no phone in the room to ring reception. we could hear other occupants clearly in other rooms. It was dismal.I would not stay again even for free in a basement shoebox with scant facilities.

Reviewed by
tasha twomlow

From pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little bit tiered
Stsircase is beautiful my room was a budget last minute stay. Room windows did not open so room was stuffy and a bit smelly .
breakfast was ok but some vood undercooked ans some cremated.
tinned fruit passably and natural yogurt.
staff in dining room need sometimes to think before they offer their opinion made me a little uncomfortable very hot in lower dining room but I tbink they are in the middle of decorating

Reviewed by
Elizabeth t

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would recommend for a cheap night
Although this hotel has a rich history it now cater for the budget end of the scale and that is exactly what you will get.

Reviewed by
L walker

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room offered was below ground,terrible smells,no window.should have been a storage room.

Reviewed by
J Bryan Oakes

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really clean hotel very friendly service

Reviewed by
kerry atkins

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next