Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > East Riding of Yorkshire > Futurist Theatre Hotels > The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. Nicholas Cliff , Scarborough, YO11 2ET
This Seaside landmark was built in 1863 and still stands proud overlooking the picturesque South bay and Harbour. The beautifully designed hotel is rumoured to have a theme of time within the design of this stately building. It has 4 Towers, 12 Floors, 52 chimneys and 411 rooms. The hotels boasts two Restaurants, The Harbour Lights, the main restaurant with stunning views of the Harbour and the Premier restaurant for those wanting a more intimate atmosphere with Carvery and a wide selection of dishes and a coffee shop serving snacks and beverages. There are also three bars in the hotel, the Cocktail Bar and the Cabaret bar offer a relaxed chilled atmosphere. The Cabaret Ballroom is home to our LIVE Entertainment, with shows that will keep you entertained for the evening. Conference rooms are also available for any occasion for up to 200 people catering for all your needs. This is the perfect seaside hotel with the views, good food and great entertainment! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of The Grand Hotel Scarborough  – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 651 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

terrible hotel wouldnd stay there ever again wouldnt reccomend it either
Dirty hotel very overpriced not good value for money at all
The spa bath was broken and wasn't repaired
The windows were filthy and the room was like a prison cell

Reviewed by
R Wall

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very tired hotel
our room was lower floor room 3008. as you got out the lift the smell of damp hit you strait away ,carpets were well worn ,on entering our room it was quite small with a very large bed and very old fashioned furniture, the carpet was full of stains and thread bare ,there was a broken light left on the bath edge which had been there for quite some time, with an empty hole in the ceiling which it came from,the room looked like it never had a good dusting in ages ,we wont be going back to this hotel

Reviewed by
elsa hails

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I always wanted to stay in the Grand Hotel Scarborough but was disappointed.
First of all we were charged 50p to pay for the accommodation by Debit Card! Not much but still! The single room I was allocated was terrible. I know single rooms aren't big but this room was a cupboard. It hadn't been decorated for some time and the bed clothes looked dirty. Nowhere to hang your clothes but a few hangers on a coat rail. I paid £10 for an upgrade to a much better room. Meals had poor selection and quality and if you didn't get there early had little chance of sitting together. Was nice looking at the old pictures of the Grand Hotel and Scarborough around the building which was impressive.

Reviewed by
Tony G

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not so grand
Had a sea-view room. Great view but that's about it. Breakfast was terrible - had to search around for cutlery from other tables, appalling food - for example, breakfast area contains chips and hard bacon but no eggs. Had to go into town to eat rather than at the hotel. Reception ok but other staff were unfriendly. Dirty looking carpets throughout hotel.
I see this hotel has been receiving very bad reviews for many years but nothing has been done to improve it. Not sure how it manages to retain a 2 star rating.

Reviewed by
Alan P

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife occurred concussion and a night in A+E with a CT scan
The room was so small and so dark it would be no good for people with claustrophobia. It was two floors down from ground. My wife during the night rolled over and banged her temple on the glass dressing table which was over hanging the bed (due to room size). we didn't get breakfast as she needed medical help and ended up having to have an overnight stay in the local infirmary due to the sickness and a ct scan. So we didn't get our trip away we ended up nursing the wife for over a week with concussion. Oh and lastly we contacted late rooms once and the hotel twice with no reply or anything. Totally disgraceful

Reviewed by
shaun c

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was dubious when booking this hotel as the reviews were not good, but we had an excellent room and everywhere was clean. Enjoyed the stay

Reviewed by
Carolyn D

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont stay at The Grand
Totally rubbish from start to finish. room had a problem with the plumbing that didnt get sorted. plumber came 3 times & didnt sort anything. very disappointing, the sheets on the bed & the quilt cover had to be changed due to bad stains. stains on the walls paint peeling off, there is nothing grand about this hotel. plus big queues for everything from the start. check in was a joke, dining room queues also a joke, then the bar was just a nightmare. i cant think of one positive about our stay, needless to say we will never go back.

Reviewed by
R Temporal

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grand hotel, i dont think so.
booked a premier sea view room but was put in the tower, the only sea view was through the bathroom window, the room was very dirty, not been hoovered and dead insects all over the floor, we demanded another room but was told there was no more sea view rooms left, and was then told we was only booked for a standard double, the room they gave us was just as dirty, ninety five pounds for this? would not have paid thirty, dont know if this is the fault of the booking agent or the hotel but i have never been so disappointed in all my life, the weekend was completely ruined, never again.

Reviewed by
andrew h

From Belper, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

deluxe room
Paid extra for a deluxe room and found it below standard

Reviewed by
linda Ritchie

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want luxury you have to pay for it. I would say The Grand is value for money.
Parking is a problem if you want to be near to the Hotel. It is possible if you bide your time and only cost £3 for a permit which is renewable each day at Hotel reception. Best chance is in the morning. Do not stay in the loading bays. The traffic wardens are there 11.00 pm and 8.30 am dishing out £60 fines. The Grand is a very elegant Hotel. The staff, food and services I found to be spot on. It is a very old Hotel and this shows has you ascend to the higher floors. If you want luxury you have to pay for it. My room was suitable and clean. Someone had left the shower curtain outside the tray so the carpet was soaked in the bedroom. I still have no complaints though.

Reviewed by
M King

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next