Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel


St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, YO11 2ET

Price From 67.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (426)

44% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Lowther

  • October 2015

Parking was a nightmare.

Although got a ticket to park outside hotel. Couldn't use it as spaces very limited. A joke.

  • Kate W

  • September 2015

Faded glory makes for an interesting stay

The building is mostly beautiful, particularly the original features, and we had great fun exploring it.

Our room was a 'city' room, which I did know in advance meant that it had no window, and which turned out to be three floors underground. The main downsides to the room that I wasn't expecting were a strange smell in the corridors on that floor - cooking perhaps from the kitchen - and a damp stain on the ceiling in the exact shape of a giant penis. This didn't detract from the stay though, and our room was clean and comfortable with a jacuzzi bath.

On Sunday morning someone did knock on our door at 9am to try and clean the room, which was a bit annoying, but otherwise the staff were friendly and funny.

Rolled-up carpets piled up either side of the grand staircase, and a very long queue for check-in were the only other very mild negatives to a stay here. Worth the money if you're interested in the hotel itself and don't mind that it's seen better days, which we certainly didn't. Would definitely come back.

  • Alan Hudson

  • September 2015

A Grand building but not grand service

A magnificent building now cluttered with slot machines and poor service.

The rooms were good and its nice to see such a wonderful building being maintained but the service really was terrible. When we arrived they had no record of our booking and were full. Fortunately they did let us stay by giving us someone else's rooms. We had to queue for everything even going into breakfast. The wifi was so weak it was effectively unusable. The signal from surrounding hotels was stronger. The breakfast food was OK and you could have as much as you liked.

  • Louise K

  • September 2015


Had to complain about room and get it changed as damp was down wall and had foisty smell was cold and dark, carpets and walls were very dirty would stay again!

  • louise white

  • September 2015


Totally dissatisfied with the overall experience.

I will never book again. We were put in the cellar part of the hotel with no windows. The beds were single and pushed together after I complained about booking a double room not a twin. The bed was broken. The staff were not helpful at all. The room was filthy. There was dog feaces outside the room on the carpets.

  • Colin A

  • September 2015

Worst Hotel in Scarborough!

Requested a ground floor room by Laterooms, given a -1 room, told it had a window, it did, about 2 foot square, up in the gods, could not open it, pokey room, very hot, small double bed, 2 nights very bad sleep.

Wifi useless, none in room or sun terrace. Food basic, but not up to standard. Would not stop here again. Up and down staircases to get to room. Hotel Hell!

  • Michael Cox

  • September 2015

The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

Cheap and cheerful, great base, decent breakfast.

Evening meals didn't look great, but we found 2 good local restaurants.

  • S Powell

  • September 2015

best contact hotel, offer bookings here are basement rooms. Well located and popular.

Recently redecorated and looking fresh, however when booking through I asked for a high floor room, on arrival we were put in a cramped basement room down a rabbit warren of passage wats ( past the toilets!) with no windows or ventilation, awful.

Staff were unhelpful on complaint, pretty much 'tough, were full'. Suggest making contact direct with hotel asking them to confirm room not in the basement. Nice views from the breakfast terrace but get there early to avoid queue and wait times. A popular and busy hotel in August and great location above the prom.

  • r boland

  • September 2015

nothing grand here

  • E Jones

  • August 2015


After looking forward for weeks to my stay in the Grand I actually cried with disappointment ,The sea view room was tiny and stuffy could not reach the small top window to open it.

View was spoiled by dirty window. Could not believe they let people into breakfast still in pajamas, found this disgusting so left without any breakfast.No complaints about staff they were very nice but I realise now the hotel is all about profit, customers are low priority, I know profit is important but at what cost. Iwould never stay there again or recommend it to anyone. These may be petty complaints to you but when you have saved and looked forward to what was to be a special treat to stay in THE GRAND. I just cant explain the disappointment I felt. Bet you're sorry you asked me now. But thank you for the opportunity to do so.