You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3

St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, YO11 2ET

Price From 84.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (199)

43% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Steve G

  • August 2016

Never again

Quite possibly the worst place I've ever stayed, apart from the lady on reception who was very good the hotel was dirty and run down

  • E Davies

  • July 2016

Dirty, tatty and overpriced

This hotel is anything but "grand" it took 20 minutes to check in.

Had ordered a twin room but was given a double. The lift smelled of rotting vegetables and there was litter strewn across the floor. The whole hotel is in need of gutting and renovating. The walls and carpets are dirty. The carpets are patched with offcuts, The bathroom had silverfish in it and the woodwork was rotting. The room was cramped and there was no bath in the en suite. I payed £119 for one night's stay and was extremely disappointed - it was overpriced. Would have much preferred to have been in the hotel opposite - it would have been basic but clean!

  • S Frost

  • July 2016

Do not stay here

Very over priced we played for the deluxe room that means you get a sea view.

you could not sit fully on the toilet as the sink is in the way so if you want to use the sink the toilet is in front of it. The rooms are the most basic I would not even give one star rating. The lift were out of order on Saturday, all going upper floors on Sunday. We paid for breakfast the coffee was instant and so weak it only just tasted of coffee. to say we paid over £125 for this I was expecting soom luxury stay. If I had paid £20 for this stay than I would have got what I paid for!!. Do not stay here. This hotel should be took off this site.

  • M Dobson

  • July 2016

The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

Very good, clean hotel.

  • mark varley

  • June 2016

The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

Good service pleasant & helpful staff, the room was ok , we were on the third floor the room was clean, just needed a lick of paint to smarten up , the bed was very firm & comfortable, the bathroom was ok with sink shower and toilet, ample hot water only downside was pipe rumbled to fill toilet or when using shower but not at night so no problems sleeping , overall a very enjoyable stay, someone once said before that the hotel looked tired which is a fair comment but it is still a nice place to stay.

we didn't eat in the hotel so ignore our score above , we were told the food was good though hence a 4.

  • Tam Mckee

  • June 2016

The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

Excellent service, friendly staff, clean functional room.

Enjoyed the experience.

  • Will T

  • June 2016

Love a bit of Faded Glory

The Grand must have been an epic experience back in the day, when travel was a luxury and Scarborough wasn't a total hole.

The staff were lovely but clientele let them down somewhat. Security did their job and chased out a drunken yob who may or may not have been staying there. If you have a burning desire to stay here, I'd pay a bit more money for your room. I thought £50 would at least get me a window, no chance. I was in the basement bowels of the hotel with no phone signal and no WiFi. I got to see the scally chase experience sitting in the lobby on my phone. So if you're on a budget there is a chain hotel over the road.

  • n Khan

  • June 2016

Grand Hotel Scarborough

I booked a weekend away to Scarborough but the hotel experience ruined my stay.

The room was too small and barely any room to walk around in. The pillows were dirty and had food stuck on them. The pipe in the bathroom assuming from the toilet above was leaking and there was feaces smeared on the bathroom walls. The 2 nights i stayed no one came to clean the room. They did however come in to stock up the tea n coffee, which i was extremely grateful for, washed the cups but left me with dirty saucers and teapot. It was suppose to be a sea view room the only view i had were of the two pigeons nesting outside my window!.

  • Valerie B

  • May 2016

The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

My original room was down in the basement, spotlessly clean etc.

But with the window too high to see out of I felt chlostrophobic. I went to reception and explained my predicament and was immediately given an alternative on the forth floor which had a sea view. It was so much better.

  • S Barrell

  • May 2016

The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

Had a fantastic time at the grand, lovely friendly staff and very clean room.

Will be booking again very soon.