Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel


St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, YO11 2ET

Price From 73.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (385)

42% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • November 2015

Eventually got a decent room

We had booked at the last minute but the first two rooms we were offered were terrible.

Eventually we got moved to a much better 'premier deluxe room' which was ok. Fantastic views from terrace, cabaret quite good but appalling meal (but very nice staff)

  • Caroline Swaffer

  • October 2015


No window or natural light

Bed extremely hard

Too hot

Very noisy plumbing

No rooms to upgrade to

  • L Smith

  • October 2015

Room was comfortable and the bath was amazing.

Decor was a bit dated but inkeeping with the feel of the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was in a superb location and close to the beach as well as pubs and restaurants.

  • C Conroy

  • October 2015


Good value for money.

  • k drayton

  • October 2015

Dissapointing room

We arrived at 15.30 and found about 40 people waiting to check in so decided to go for a walk rather than waste an hour .

Came back at 18.00 and was given our room key. I booked a luxury double room with sea view , the first thing I noticed was the small window about 5ft from floor so difficult to see the sea and room felt enclosed. Went down to reception but they had no better to offer us . so back up to the 6 th floor . On the positive side lady on reception seemed genuinely sorry . The room did have a big bathroom with massive Jacuzzi with adequate room to relax in with my partner so soon perked up !

  • J Lowther

  • October 2015

Parking was a nightmare.

Although got a ticket to park outside hotel. Couldn't use it as spaces very limited. A joke.

  • Kate W

  • September 2015

Faded glory makes for an interesting stay

The building is mostly beautiful, particularly the original features, and we had great fun exploring it.

Our room was a 'city' room, which I did know in advance meant that it had no window, and which turned out to be three floors underground. The main downsides to the room that I wasn't expecting were a strange smell in the corridors on that floor - cooking perhaps from the kitchen - and a damp stain on the ceiling in the exact shape of a giant penis. This didn't detract from the stay though, and our room was clean and comfortable with a jacuzzi bath.

On Sunday morning someone did knock on our door at 9am to try and clean the room, which was a bit annoying, but otherwise the staff were friendly and funny.

Rolled-up carpets piled up either side of the grand staircase, and a very long queue for check-in were the only other very mild negatives to a stay here. Worth the money if you're interested in the hotel itself and don't mind that it's seen better days, which we certainly didn't. Would definitely come back.

  • Alan Hudson

  • September 2015

A Grand building but not grand service

A magnificent building now cluttered with slot machines and poor service.

The rooms were good and its nice to see such a wonderful building being maintained but the service really was terrible. When we arrived they had no record of our booking and were full. Fortunately they did let us stay by giving us someone else's rooms. We had to queue for everything even going into breakfast. The wifi was so weak it was effectively unusable. The signal from surrounding hotels was stronger. The breakfast food was OK and you could have as much as you liked.

  • Louise K

  • September 2015


Had to complain about room and get it changed as damp was down wall and had foisty smell was cold and dark, carpets and walls were very dirty would stay again!

  • louise white

  • September 2015


Totally dissatisfied with the overall experience.

I will never book again. We were put in the cellar part of the hotel with no windows. The beds were single and pushed together after I complained about booking a double room not a twin. The bed was broken. The staff were not helpful at all. The room was filthy. There was dog feaces outside the room on the carpets.