Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3

St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, YO11 2ET

Price From 126.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (505)

43% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David M

  • July 2015

Very dated and tired.

  • Laura S

  • July 2015

Fabulous location but that's it!

When we arrived we were given a room in the basement, no windows or phone signal.

We asked reception if we could be moved, they said yes if we upgraded for 30.00. We spoke to the manager And he said the same. We upgraded and paid the extra. We were disgusted with the 'upgrade' .. Still no phone signal & the window was in the ceiling with a blind and a pole hanging down. The bed was like lying on a plank of wood and everybody was moaning about that.

This is a great located hotel, right by town centre and beach but nothing else to shout about. 80% of travellers are 70+, the entertainment consists of granny bingo every evening and the same cabaret couple singing for an hour. Very boring. We drank in the hotel in the evening, once we got served. We were stood at the bar for 5 mins, no-one else stood at the bar, a new customer walked to the bar and the staff served him straight away. Few bar staff were ever so rude, and check ur glasses .. Ours were very grubby. There is a terrace which is fantastic for the view but literally full of seagull muck, you can tell it never gets cleaned. The parking is really bad too, it's 3.00 a day to park but good luck finding a space.

  • Jeff B

  • July 2015

room had no windows, bath was dirty had to clean before use, really noisy emptying water pumps own room and around, very narrow corridors could easily get lost, took ages to find room, other things ok but said I was vegetarian on arrival, no vegetarian option at breakfast, all eggs softly cooked etc very this is the way it is, went out and bought breakfast after viewing what was available.

  • Ryan H

  • June 2015

Possibly the worst hotel I have ever been in my life.

Rooms smell Damp and no windows. Don't stay here trust me.

  • L Cole

  • June 2015

Not so Grand (do not get what you pay for)

when we entered the hotel it was more like going to a bad Holiday Camp, reception not to good either.

We had room 3017 3 floors down, it was damp, cold no heating, stains on carpet from rad leak also stains on sheets not washed out but clean. light in bathroom did not work plus carpet and floors need good clean or changing. asked for extra pillows found one in the morning as we left, it was outside door in the corridor which smelt of damp or drain?. The one night stay was £75 but was worth only £40 or £50 at the most. On the good side and was the good shower and hot . Would not go again or recommend. I used LateRooms before will not be doing so again I think they need to look at there customers comments or try it themselves.

  • A Goring

  • June 2015

Bad room

Room was terrible and in need of upgrading in all areas.

  • W Bibby

  • June 2015

Brilliant !

We really enjoyed our 2 nights B&B at the Grand, We had a large room with sea view on floor 00, breakfast was buffet style with huge choice, all staff were polite and helpful, Hotel is looking a little tired in places but the location is fantastic, will definitely go back.

  • s wills

  • June 2015

Review

Was put in a room in the basement.

Easy enough to find, clean. Not too small that we were falling over each other either. Acceptable for the price, the room was intended for somewhere to sleep in whilst visiting and it did what it said on the tin. There were clean towels and hot water so was happy with that and comfortable bed too.

  • S Clark

  • May 2015

Worst trip of my life

Seagulls nesting outside bedroom window, kept awake from 3:30am both mornings, holiday ruined as we were to exhausted to do anything or walk anywhere during the day.

Breakfast was cold/tasteless and of very poor quality, dining room was grubby. Strange brown liquid down the wall in the corridor near room.

Silverfish in the bathroom. Purchased a takeaway as to tired to make breakfast that day and was refused entry to hotel with it even though an unlimited alcohol limit stands.

Although staff were helpful, a smile wouldn't go a miss, all look devastated to be working there. Will never return and never recommend this hotel, Infact quite the opposite.

  • Stephen Cobb

  • May 2015

Good value