Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel


St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, YO11 2ET

Price From 74.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (430)

44% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • helen evans

  • February 2015


We went here for our 20th wedding anniversary and to be honest it was one disaster after another, starting with them giving me the wrong room to then having to go to another hotel and then going back here to find that we had been given single beds, so many problems but in fairness the staff did their best to sort things out for us.

  • A Mohamed

  • February 2015

Always love The Grand Scarborough

Myself and my wife always stay at the grand when we have time without the kiddies (rare).

The room we had didn't have a window so a bit stuffy during the night, but the room was newly decorated and comfartable and clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • stephen rosamond

  • February 2015

Grand hotel scar

Had a wonderful time but plenty of room for improvements as regards to the rooms within the hotel.

  • helen h

  • January 2015

One night stay

Easily checked in & fast, room basic but ok for what we needed for a night, excellent views.

Breakfast good selection but only problem it was only just warm some of it. Apart from that it was a good affordable night away.

  • Paul O

  • January 2015

  • Matthew Cummings

  • January 2015

Ruined my suprise night out in Scarborough!!!!!

Always wanted to stay at Grand Scarborough as such a great landmark for the town.

And always wished to try.. So came up with my partner from London.. Really disappointed, booked as a surprise for my partner as from Filey (local). Booked a great local of which restaurants of which was fantastic. Night was ruined as the next surprise was a night in the Grand, filthy damp rooms of which I had to explore 5 rooms till satisfied. Terrible would never recommend. Ruined my night of surprise with my partner. Such a shame as sure this was a premiere hotel in the past. Was asked for payment up front, not surprised as would never of paid on check out.. would like my money back for whole night out!!

  • D Tighe

  • January 2015

Quality of Room

Having stayed at the Grand,we expected a lot more room than we got.

We paid the highest tariff for a double room and also phoned twice prior to going, to check everything was fine with the booking. We were given a very small room, with the smallest of shower cubicles and no bath, which was our main request. We enjoy staying at this hotel and will be booking again, but on this occasion the standard of the room let the hotel down.

  • Michelle O

  • January 2015

Absolutely disgusting - can't believe they're getting away with this!

We booked pretty last minute, double room, b&b for £45 and had never stayed at The Grand before.

Our room was an internal room, 2 floors under the hotel - internal means there's no window (which we knew when we booked). The young man on reception was disinterested verging on rude, when he checked us in. As we approached our room, which was down in the lift then through a series of corridors, doors, steps up AND down (and very poorly signposted), the smell of damp got stronger and stronger. On the Fire Exit door beside our room was a poorly made sign apologising for inconvenience (no explanation?!). Our actual room was about 6'4" x 8'6" although not rectangular as one wall slopes off - this means that the three quarter bed actually almost touches the wall at one bottom corner making it nigh on impossible to walk around the bed. This tiny closet of a room has a three quarter bed, dressing table and chair with huge table lamp, double wardrobe and a TV unit and TV - you literally can't move and it stinks of damp. Everything, bedding, towels - even your own clothes after a night in there, feels cold and damp. The carpet needs a good Hoover (under the bed is disgusting), though I can understand how difficult getting a vacuum around this room would be. The sky light is absolutely filthy and someone has actually drawn patterns in the thick dust. The bathroom was dirty in places and the plug for the bath didn't fit the hole. When I spoke to reception, I said the room number and the young woman on reception looked me straight in the eye and said "yeah. What about it?". She did then ask me if I wanted to see the Duty Manager - but I declined. I'll vote with my feet, thanks. Britannia Hotels won't be getting any more of my money. I should say though, that breakfast was good - even though the Maître D' was stroppy, short tempered and rude. The windows in the breakfast room were so dirty, that the beautiful view was hard to see. Such a shame that a once Grand hotel has been turned into something so decrepit and uncared for!

  • j bradbrook

  • January 2015

Dirty room, food not good.

Lot of people with vomiting bug.

  • Eric H

  • January 2015

Lovely hotel

Stopped here on New Years eve very busy but still good customer service.

Lovely food and room.