You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel


St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, YO11 2ET

Price From 72.32 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (158)

48% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Richardson

  • April 2015

1 night stay

Been going to Scarborough for 35 years but never stayed at the grand so thought I'd give it a too .

entrance is OK but once you start to walk around the place you can see it needs a lot of money spending on it

Its a long time since it was the grand hotel would have liked to habe seen it 100 years ago as it would have been the grand hotel shame as could be a great hotel but I think the current owners are milking it dry and letting the place run down

The room when we arrived had empty pop bottles in it from the last guest so had not been cleaned well .

  • R Hume

  • April 2015

Grand Hotel Scarborough

The room had no window, felt like a dungeon.

We were able to upgrade to another room for an extra £5 pp per night which was fair. The breakfast to be quite honest was at best poor, I would recommend going to the local Wetherspoons where you can get a far superior breakfast for £3.50.

  • david mcneely

  • April 2015

Our stay at the Grand

The Grand is a lovely hotel but needs updating but for the money paid we thought it was excellent value.

  • P Webster

  • April 2015

Not to standard

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel before a few years ago and the room was a lot better.

This time the room felt dirty and towels were stiff like cardboard. The bathroom had cheap and nasty toilet paper and a broken light fitting where razor plugs in. In need of refurbishment before i would return

  • Joanne R

  • April 2015

Initial room absolutely disgraceful, upgraded room ok

The first supposed double room was more like a cupboard and didn't even have a ceiling light.

After speaking with receptionist she was very helpful and we upgraded to an executive suite for a little extra money. This room was large with fabulous view however it is still in need of an overhaul. The bathroom had cobwebs across the lights. The lounge for breakfast dining was pretty scruffy, not what I expected considering the cost of the stay.

  • Anne H

  • April 2015

Not so Grand

This is the third time I have stayed In the Grand and this was by far the most disappointing and the most expensive, and I presume it was because we went through late as there is certainly a vast degree in standard of room.

I would not expect to pay £120/night for the room we received, the bed had to be changed as it was not fit to sleep in and the room was just unkempt, curtains off hooks, peeling paint in bathroom, bathroom cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired on the plus side lots of hot water, breakfast adequate, staff friendly ( the ones that spoke English ) would stay again but would want to choose room or have a vast discount for the poorer quality rooms.

  • Lindsey T

  • April 2015

horrendous stay!!!!!!

This hotel bares no resemblance to the images displayed.

The hotel is really dilapidated and in need of general repair to windows, doors and furniture. The rooms where filthy and smelt. The breakfast room consisted of ripped interior and mucky plates, cutlery and tables. We took one look at the food and decided to got elsewhere. Someone of the staff where helpful but the majority where rude and unhelpful. On the Saturday night the noise was horrendous from the hours of 11pm to about 5am resulting in no sleep. I have never stayed in a hotel that gives you leaflets on how to prevent the spread of germs and has acholgel situated on every floor. This was the worst experience I have ever had when staying anywhere and would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

  • Yvonne B

  • April 2015

Easter weekend

Stayed here for the Easter weekend,there was a 30+ minute wait in a queue to check in,we did not realise it but we had been given a 'City room',which was in the basement with no window or any air con,so it was a bit stuffy,the heating was set to come on at weird times never when you actually wanted it,the breakfast buffet was very limited on choice and quality and on the first morning we had to wait for more items to be brought out as it had run out.

  • Karen L

  • April 2015

The Grand Hotel Scarborough – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Rooms could have been cleaner ie paintwork for splashes etc but otherwise a comfortable stay. 😀

  • Heather M

  • April 2015

Very basic