No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Abingdon Road , Oxford, OX1 4PS
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel offers both the business and leisure traveller the best of both worlds. The historic heart of Oxford is less than half a mile away – a pleasant stroll along the riverside or Abingdon Road. Nestling in 20 acres of Thames-side parkland, which is adjacent to a horse sanctuary, the hotel has a truly idyllic setting. Built in Cotswold stone, the modern building blends seamlessly into its historic setting and is decorated and furnished in a classically elegant style. Whether seeking an ideal business location or the perfect breakaway, the hotel provides the highest level of comfort and service. Service is warm and friendly, with that extra attention to detail. But that’s what you would expect from a Four Pillars Hotel.

Picture of Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, comfortable room but bland corporate style
Location good for central Oxford and importantly free parking. The staff were helpful and met our request for a light and quiet room.The room was comfortable and clean with a pleasant view over the fields at the back of the hotel. Perfectly suited our need for a one night stay at a discounted rate. Would I pay the full rate - probably not as I would look for more individual style rather than corporate bland but would recommend it there were an offer.

Reviewed by
Julie S

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Hotel, Accommodation and Location only spoiled by poor customer service on one occassion
As I said - the whole experience was excellent except !!!
We asked for a bucket of ice at reception. The female receptionist said we would get it at the bar - good and acceptable answer. The male receptionist over ruled that and said no - we will deliver it to your room. Even better except we are still waiting.
Pity because everything else was as good as it could be.

Reviewed by
Mike Twist

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive
The hotel is clean and functional and the staff are friendly and accommodating. The overall feel of the hotel was that it was a conference and function establishment, and I would consider booking for that.
We found the dinner menu uninspiring and expensive, and the lounge menu also expensive.
Well located, a short pleaseant riverside walk from Oxford centre.
Plenty of ducks geese and horses nearby for kids.

Reviewed by
L Tunnacliffe

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs a re-vamp, but food is great
every meal we had (including room service) was excellent.
our room was looking a bit shabby, especially for the price
must be due an overhaul - then it would be OK

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a little dated now
We stayed in a four poster bedroom on the ground floor. It was a double bed with four posts only and rim round the top. No air conditioning and the room not that big really. Breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy stay
lovely hotel, quiet room, easy and scenic walk along river to Oxford centre.

Reviewed by
k pellegrino

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel and layout. Check-in time bit late. We arrived at 1.30pm (check in time 3.00). We waited in reception/lounge until 3.15. We felt more effort could have been made to accommodate us earlier or put us in a different room.....poor that we had to wait till after 3.00 when reception was aware we were waiting. Good location.....pleasant 20 minute walk into Oxford centre. Spa/gym adequate. Pool nice but no loungers around pool due to lack of space. Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment. Nice outside area for drinks/food etc. Lovely gardens and flowers...very pretty. Overall, would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
s marcroft

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for a weekend break. Hotel was all we expected it to be. Enjoyed the experience.

Reviewed by
George Stewart

From Llanfyllin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay
Hotel was fantastically clean and is located very close to Oxford city center. Room was at a very good standard however bed could have been cleaner. There was confusion about breakfast and was sent back because if was cool.

Reviewed by
tony f

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very expensive but nice room although very hot!
Found the room the same as any other room but this was supposed to be a suite but very bland!! The room was very hot as no Aircon and bath was very small. Staff and facilities though where superb.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next