Reviews - Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel


Abingdon Road, Oxford, OX1 4PS

Price From 332.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Vanessa M

  • November 2015

Lovely hotel but very noisy

The hotel was in a great location with lovely walk along river to the town centre.

The staff were all very polite and helpful and the food in the bar/breakfast was good. The swimming pool, whilst small was perfectly adequate, although the changing rooms were freezing and appeared to have no heating. However, my major gripe was the terrible noise at night. There had been a wedding in the hotel and the guests were incredibly noisy after midnight, running up and down corridors, shouting and screaming. The noise continued to well after 3am, and I left totally exhausted having had no sleep. Such a shame as it was a lovely hotel and everything else was great. I would stay there again, but would try and ensure no big functions going on at the time.

  • Ken L

  • October 2015

An enjoyable stay in a convenient location, only 10 mins walk along the Thames to reach the centre of Oxford.

  • Matt G

  • October 2015

All good, no concerns, would stay again

  • Stephen Davidson

  • October 2015

Room and food

Having paid for a superior room I thought it was a bit over priced but the room was clean, plenty of hot water and spacious.

Breakfast was self service plenty of choice and hot. Had 2 meals in the bar and limited choice but the meals were fine and the service was good. Only a 10 minute walk along the river and you are in the city. Plenty of parking which was a plus from my point of view.

  • Mike D

  • October 2015

Enjoyed it more than expected

overnight stay booked at the last minute - spent more than we really meant to but that's what happens if you leave things late.

They were fine about us leaving the car there even when we were checked out so if you factor in the parking fees saved it wasn't so bad. Handy for town, pleasant walk in along the river. Eva on reception was very good.

  • Anna W

  • August 2015

Quite nice but room was nothing special

Nice enough hotel, good leisure facilities.

The room just wasn't really worth the price they want, pretty basic but ok. No fridge in the room but there was an ironing board and a better hairdryer than some hotels provide. Breakfast was nice. Drinks at the bar were overpriced so we didn't buy any.

  • david p

  • August 2015

very very disappointing.

The hotel room was nothing like the pictures on your site or there website much poorer in appearance more like a seaside b and b, there was a field with horses 3 metres from the window with a stagnant pool of water which they returned to regularly making noises and defocating making the room smell.

At the bar I requested a large glass of wine and asked what cider do you sell and was abruptly told 125ml or 250ml, puzzled I asked what cider to you sell he told with attitude I already told you 125ml or 250ml at which point a colleague told the rude barman he is asking for cider to which he looked at me shrugged his shoulders saying I can't understand you as if it was my fault he didn't have a basic grasp of English. We sat down and looked at menus to eat a bar menu and a restaurant menu, the bar menu was uninspiring the restaurant was a little better even though it had spelling mistakes on it, my partner had a Greek salad and a bread selection and a Greek salad which was average and the bread for some reason toasted quite dark, I ordered a burger one off the restaurant menu as it sounded much nicer with onion rings chilli relish and brioche bun and cheese and gherkins, on arrival my burger was the 10.95 one off the bar menu not the 15.95 one off the restaurant menu, we waited a long time for the too I a rated eating as I was hungry my partner complained to the same rude barman and was told the missing ingredients would follow which they did once I finished and were promptly given to the wrong table, at this point annoyed I returned to the bar to complain it took 25 minutes to get through to them that they'd given me the wrong burger and charged me the wrong price eventually after being told by the rude barman Id got what Id ordered the same more helpful member of staff that rescued him the first time and told him to go to the kitchen whie he removed it from my bill the was busy with a noisy wedding party so we returned to our room annoyed. Our room was so hot we found it neccessary to open all the Windows and blinds only to find there was a security light which illuminated our room and didn't go off, the smell of horses was ever present to we tried to relax but fires doors banging until 2.30 am made this difficult once the banging subsided the horses returned and neighed keeping us up eventually we slept around 4.30 am after a little sleep we were unbelievabley woken at 8.45 by maid letting herself into our room so we went to bed annoyed and woke the same way after the hassle and rudeness at dinner. we gave breakfast a wide birth and decided to check out. I've worked in hospitality for 30 Years and don't like to complain but felt it neccessary in this case the girl at reception was pleasant enough if rushed of her feet, if your not a horse lover you won't want room 45 regardless off the dated decor, as a chef I can tell you the food is grossly overpriced for what was at best average I could of eaten in a good restaurant at those prices in was more motorway services than haute cuisine. For what this cost me there is much better available in Oxford where the staff are courteous and not rude I feel the room pics on the site are misleading and I for one won't return here and it will make me suspicious of pictures of other hotels pics of rooms from now on.

  • Andrew S

  • August 2015

Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Lovely stay.

  • mark p

  • July 2015

Overall dull

good parking, 15 minutes walk to city centre, 5 minutes to riverside path

pleasant staff

leisure facilities were good

dull room - no AC, no fridge, very soft mattress, very clean

breakfast - standard english, poor quality

overall poor value for a stated 4*

  • Paul O

  • April 2015

nice staff and perfect location.

Really enjoyed our stay but the hotel could benefit from being updated. Our room was pretty old fashioned leaving the bathroom looking a bit dated and grubby. Apart from that everything else was positive. Would stay here again