No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Abingdon Road , Oxford, OX1 4PS
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel offers both the business and leisure traveller the best of both worlds. The historic heart of Oxford is less than half a mile away – a pleasant stroll along the riverside or Abingdon Road. Nestling in 20 acres of Thames-side parkland, which is adjacent to a horse sanctuary, the hotel has a truly idyllic setting. Built in Cotswold stone, the modern building blends seamlessly into its historic setting and is decorated and furnished in a classically elegant style. Whether seeking an ideal business location or the perfect breakaway, the hotel provides the highest level of comfort and service. Service is warm and friendly, with that extra attention to detail. But that’s what you would expect from a Four Pillars Hotel.

Picture of Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel and layout. Check-in time bit late. We arrived at 1.30pm (check in time 3.00). We waited in reception/lounge until 3.15. We felt more effort could have been made to accommodate us earlier or put us in a different room.....poor that we had to wait till after 3.00 when reception was aware we were waiting. Good location.....pleasant 20 minute walk into Oxford centre. Spa/gym adequate. Pool nice but no loungers around pool due to lack of space. Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment. Nice outside area for drinks/food etc. Lovely gardens and flowers...very pretty. Overall, would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
s marcroft

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for a weekend break. Hotel was all we expected it to be. Enjoyed the experience.

Reviewed by
George Stewart

From Llanfyllin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very expensive but nice room although very hot!
Found the room the same as any other room but this was supposed to be a suite but very bland!! The room was very hot as no Aircon and bath was very small. Staff and facilities though where superb.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay
Hotel was fantastically clean and is located very close to Oxford city center. Room was at a very good standard however bed could have been cleaner. There was confusion about breakfast and was sent back because if was cool.

Reviewed by
tony f

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but overpriced
Stayed in the four poster room. It was clean and had a pleasant view over surrounding fields. Location is great.
Personally I thought it was slightly overpriced, bed was not very comfortable.

Reviewed by
J Davies

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!
Room was lovely and comfortable, had own door to the outside.
I really enjoyed the pool. My husband thought the sauna was great to.
Short walk into Oxford, so great on all counts.

Reviewed by
v griffiths

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good, standard hotel
Stayed here as fancied a couple of days exploring Oxford on the return leg of our holiday in Wales. For the price and the convenience of being a matter of minutes walk from Central Oxford, it's hard to beat the Oxford Spires. The rooms are not groundbreaking but offer cleanliness, facilities that work well, including shower, iron/ironing board, flat screen tv and a safe. Pretty much all I could ask for at good value. Add to that staff who went out of their way to explain the hotel facilities and the local area and it really is good value.

Reviewed by
Darren H

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Very friendly and helpful staff. They even allowed us to leave our car in their car park after we had checked out so that we could go into Oxford (approx 20 minute walk) for lunch. The room was a good size with bath and shower and all very clean. I did make use of the swimming pool which is quite small but good enough for a bit of gentle exercise, and so lovely and warm. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Krenna Gorvin

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Massive Room and very friendly staff
We stayed for one night and were surprised at the amount of room we had for a very reasonable cost. Very clean and staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Reception gave great advice on where to go and how to get into Oxford (Thames path). Breakfast manager was just lovely - as was the breakfast. All in all and great time was had by all of us and we'll be back at the Four Pillars on our next visit. Thank you.

Reviewed by
S Goddard

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Hotel
A good quality hotel within walking distance of the city centre. Situated in very nice grounds the hotel is well run and the staff were very helpful. Although a little pricy it is comparable with oter hotels in the Oxford area.

Reviewed by
R Tasker

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next