Reviews - The Kings Head Hotel


8 High Street,Ross-On-Wye,Herefordshire, Ross on Wye, HR9 5HL

Price From 135.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • K Herbert

  • August 2015

The Kings Head Hotel

The accommodation was clean and in normal weather conditions adequate.

However the weekend we were there it was very hot our room was in the loft space of the building with little air movement. There was a fan which we left on all night and we left the window open but sleeping was extremely difficult. The entrance to the car park was very narrow and made worse by scaffolding and decorative council metal columns which intruded into the gap at the top. Our car is a wide SUV and on the second night we scraped it badly. My fault entirely but what was annoying was that several employees told us afterwards that safer approach was to take a left turn opposite, turn round and approach at a easier angle. Pity this advice wasn't offered at reception on arrival. On the Sunday morning the weather changed to torrential rain and we decided to cut our stay short by a night. We were refused a rebate for our third night because we were told that doesn't allow it. I phoned your consumer relations people on our return to be told that what we were told was not necessarily the case. First time we have used . Probably the last. The only saving grace is that the hotel restaurant was excellent and well worth a visit.

  • Tim K

  • July 2015

The Kings Head Hotel

Very good .

  • R Percival

  • July 2015

Kings Head

We've stayed here several times usually for the convenience of the location and our work.

We have dined here only a couple of times and on both occasions service has been very slow although the food was good. Bar service was always very good although this seems to have become less so since that last visit. Breakfast was dissapointing this time, Scrambled eggs on rock hard toast and tasted unpleasant . Had to be refused in the end. we were always reasonably satisfied but we'll seek an alternative in the future unless its impractical to do so

  • Peter J

  • May 2015

We enjoyed the character of the hotel and room wood beams and uneven floors and the excellent food.

  • Phillip Johnson

  • March 2015

Nice hotel, excellent service, good value for money

Stayed for one night on a short walking trip around Symonds Yat.

Very warm welcome and friendly service throughout from owner and staff. Room very clean. quiet and nicely decorated. Food very good. The hotel is located in an old building and has spiral staircases which some people with mobility problems may find a bit difficult to manage. We had no problems at all however. The hotel is centrally located in Ross on Wye with its own secure parking. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Tim Williams

  • January 2015

The Kings Head Hotel

Small hotel with around 20 rooms, and the varying levels, winding staircase and creaky floors typical of old buildings.

The frontage is right on the narrow High Street and therefore front-facing rooms get street lighting and traffic noise, which may be off-putting to some; if you want quiet and dark, ask for a back room. Parking space is adequate through a narrow entrance directly off the High Street. Beer and wine selection is good, wifi works well. Breakfast spread typical of this size establishment, help-yourself cereal and bakery plus cooked service on request, Classic FM in the background. My room was a good size, with a big king-size bed but a rather cramped en-suite shower and toilet. The en-suite was beautifully finished in travertine marble, but the effect was rather spoilt by an uncomfortably high washbasin - pretty much unusable by short people - and a disconcerting pump which activated loudly whenever you flushed waste water. Filtered tap water was provided free, but with a polite warning that "The bottle can be purchased for £5 from reception" - it was a solid, branded glass bottle, which perhaps some guests would want as a souvenir. Similarly a bottle of red wine and two glasses were left in the room - with a price label of £15.50. And the handwash in the bathroom was available too, at £7.50 per bottle. Not-so-subtle marketing or just a hint to light-fingered guests.

Ross is well served by Indian and Chinese takeaways but rather poorly for anything else, so I ate in the hotel. The restaurant is popular and the food is good quality; if anything the chef tries almost too hard, with heavy emphasis on local produce and a clear intention for the menu to be "a bit different", but without being expensive. The evening staff seemed to be somewhat hard-pressed, with just two girls dealing with the restaurant, the bar and the reception desk. This led to somewhat slower than expected service on occasion, though not unacceptably so, and the girls were invariably cheerful. Overall, it's difficult not to like this hotel, which has plenty of character and decent accommodation; if it has a tendency to seem somewhat precious, this is really a minor quibble and easily forgiven.

  • Gillian Darley

  • January 2015

Comfortable, nicely furnished, helpful staff (we had a dog too) and generally a good place in which to break a journey on a wet winter's day.

Had a relaxed feel, liked the book shelves and restrained post Christmas decor.

  • R William

  • December 2014

Happy Christmas at the King's Head

The only small problem was that the stairs to our 2nd floor room were rather steep & windy, but what do you expect in such an historic old inn .

However in figure we would try to obtain a room on a lower floor. We did enjoy our stay very much.

  • K Gray

  • September 2014

Ken's comments

Lovely room.

The food in the hotel was very good. Ideal location for the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean with access to the Breacon area. Choice of other pubs etc with food within walking distance for variety.

  • R Matthews

  • July 2014

A little gem

The star of this hotel is the staff.

They are very helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. We stayed in room 17. Which was very clean although it was very hot and if we were not supplied with a fan it might have become quite uncomfortable,although I shouldn't moan about the weather. The hotel is very quaint and very old with no straight walls,floors or stairs I loved it.Ross on Wye is a very nice town with good walks along the river and there is a lot to do in the area.