No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Head Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
8 High Street,Ross-On-Wye,Herefordshire , Ross on Wye, HR9 5HL
Ideal Base for the beautiful Wye Valley, Award winning Chef, fresh fish a speciality, and excellent beers and wines in an ancient old Town Centre Coaching inn, full of character and charm, with its own secure parking we aim to offer a haven to the tourist and traveller. Forty minutes from Cheltenham, forty-five minutes from Cardiff. The hotel is a listed building with winding stairs and does not have a lift, there are no ground floor rooms. Residents wishing to dine are advised to book a table as soon as possible as our restaurant is very popular.
Picture of The Kings Head Hotel, Ross on Wye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
The star of this hotel is the staff. They are very helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. We stayed in room 17. Which was very clean although it was very hot and if we were not supplied with a fan it might have become quite uncomfortable,although I shouldn't moan about the weather. The hotel is very quaint and very old with no straight walls,floors or stairs I loved it.Ross on Wye is a very nice town with good walks along the river and there is a lot to do in the area.

Reviewed by
R Matthews

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break in Ross on Wye
My husband and myself stopped at the Kings Head Hotel for two nights with our mum and sister to visit the wye region. The hotel is 700 years old and full of character, the staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble considering they are such a young team. Both rooms were really clean and beds very comfortable with a lovely breakfast each morning, my sister is vegetarian and there was a lovely vegetarian breakfast available and all the usual juices, cereals toast, fruit etc . Would definitely have no worries about recommending this hotel to friends and family, its a little gem, we stay in hotels about twice a month so know whats good and whats not :-)

Reviewed by
Jennifer B

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

surprise few days away
Took my husband for his birthday. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Sue Bright

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy, friendly
characterful accommodation with a decent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break

Reviewed by
C Blake

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Head Ross
Love the Kings Head, stayed here a few times on business in the area
The food is outstanding, there is an excellent wine menu at reasonable prices and for those who wish to spend a little more there are choices of specialist wines. Great choice of good local
ciders and beers as well as the national brewers. Great room really comfortable and clean
good parking and great location

Reviewed by
Robert Percival

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only problem was the narrow entrance to car park
liked the hotel lots of atmosphere good food and good selection of ales

Reviewed by
Reg Goddard

From Haverfordwest, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

KINGS HEAD ROSS
We Love the Kings Head and look forward to repeat visits. We use it for Overnight stays for business at Ross Labels and we are always very satisfied

Reviewed by
Robert Percival

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Excellent refurbishment. Very high standard. Hotel is gorgeous with very helpful, polite staff. Our room (10) was beautifully decorated, good size, amazingly comfortable bed, shower was fantastic. The food here is wonderful.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and we will most definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
D Donovan

From Caerphilly, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Nice room, good quality tioletries, pleasant staff, good food. Dodgy stairs, maybe n high need to high light quaint old world building.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are really please you enjoyed your stay. The King's Head is an old grade 2 listed building with some winding stairs and is certainly not suitable for guests with disability issues. We do highlight this fact as much as we can both on Laterooms, other sites and on our own website. Having said that, the stairs are solid, steady and well maintained with ample hand rails. We also, have never had a guest in the past 8 years who couldn't manage them. Thank you again

Reviewed by
Lee S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next