No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Head Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
8 High Street,Ross-On-Wye,Herefordshire , Ross on Wye, HR9 5HL
Ideal Base for the beautiful Wye Valley, Award winning Chef, fresh fish a speciality, and excellent beers and wines in an ancient old Town Centre Coaching inn, full of character and charm, with its own secure parking we aim to offer a haven to the tourist and traveller. Forty minutes from Cheltenham, forty-five minutes from Cardiff. The hotel is a listed building with winding stairs and does not have a lift, there are no ground floor rooms. Residents wishing to dine are advised to book a table as soon as possible as our restaurant is very popular.
Picture of The Kings Head Hotel, Ross on Wye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kings Head Hotel
Small hotel with around 20 rooms, and the varying levels, winding staircase and creaky floors typical of old buildings. The frontage is right on the narrow High Street and therefore front-facing rooms get street lighting and traffic noise, which may be off-putting to some; if you want quiet and dark, ask for a back room. Parking space is adequate through a narrow entrance directly off the High Street. Beer and wine selection is good, wifi works well. Breakfast spread typical of this size establishment, help-yourself cereal and bakery plus cooked service on request, Classic FM in the background.
My room was a good size, with a big king-size bed but a rather cramped en-suite shower and toilet. The en-suite was beautifully finished in travertine marble, but the effect was rather spoilt by an uncomfortably high washbasin - pretty much unusable by short people - and a disconcerting pump which activated loudly whenever you flushed waste water. Filtered tap water was provided free, but with a polite warning that "The bottle can be purchased for £5 from reception" - it was a solid, branded glass bottle, which perhaps some guests would want as a souvenir. Similarly a bottle of red wine and two glasses were left in the room - with a price label of £15.50. And the handwash in the bathroom was available too, at £7.50 per bottle. Not-so-subtle marketing or just a hint to light-fingered guests?
Ross is well served by Indian and Chinese takeaways but rather poorly for anything else, so I ate in the hotel. The restaurant is popular and the food is good quality; if anything the chef tries almost too hard, with heavy emphasis on local produce and a clear intention for the menu to be "a bit different", but without being expensive. The evening staff seemed to be somewhat hard-pressed, with just two girls dealing with the restaurant, the bar and the reception desk. This led to somewhat slower than expected service on occasion, though not unacceptably so, and the girls were invariably cheerful.
Overall, it's difficult not to like this hotel, which has plenty of character and decent accommodation; if it has a tendency to seem somewhat precious, this is really a minor quibble and easily forgiven.

Reviewed by
Tim Williams

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, nicely furnished, helpful staff (we had a dog too) and generally a good place in which to break a journey on a wet winter's day. Had a relaxed feel, liked the book shelves and restrained post Christmas decor!

Reviewed by
Gillian Darley

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Christmas at the King's Head
The only small problem was that the stairs to our 2nd floor room were rather steep & windy, but what do you expect in such an historic old inn ? However in figure we would try to obtain a room on a lower floor. We did enjoy our stay very much.

Reviewed by
R William

From Derby, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ken's comments
Lovely room. The food in the hotel was very good. Ideal location for the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean with access to the Breacon area. Choice of other pubs etc with food within walking distance for variety.

Reviewed by
K Gray

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
The star of this hotel is the staff. They are very helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. We stayed in room 17. Which was very clean although it was very hot and if we were not supplied with a fan it might have become quite uncomfortable,although I shouldn't moan about the weather. The hotel is very quaint and very old with no straight walls,floors or stairs I loved it.Ross on Wye is a very nice town with good walks along the river and there is a lot to do in the area.

Reviewed by
R Matthews

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break in Ross on Wye
My husband and myself stopped at the Kings Head Hotel for two nights with our mum and sister to visit the wye region. The hotel is 700 years old and full of character, the staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble considering they are such a young team. Both rooms were really clean and beds very comfortable with a lovely breakfast each morning, my sister is vegetarian and there was a lovely vegetarian breakfast available and all the usual juices, cereals toast, fruit etc . Would definitely have no worries about recommending this hotel to friends and family, its a little gem, we stay in hotels about twice a month so know whats good and whats not :-)

Reviewed by
Jennifer B

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

surprise few days away
Took my husband for his birthday. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Sue Bright

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy, friendly
characterful accommodation with a decent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break

Reviewed by
C Blake

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Head Ross
Love the Kings Head, stayed here a few times on business in the area
The food is outstanding, there is an excellent wine menu at reasonable prices and for those who wish to spend a little more there are choices of specialist wines. Great choice of good local
ciders and beers as well as the national brewers. Great room really comfortable and clean
good parking and great location

Reviewed by
Robert Percival

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next