No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Spean Bridge Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Main Road , Spean Bridge, PH34 4ES
Well situated in the beautiful Scottish West Highlands, the Hotel offers the ideal location for those who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern day life or have a base for one of the many activites in the area. Close to the Anoach Mor cable car, a good base for those walking the Grey Corries and many more outdoor pursuits. Upon arrival, all of the staff will greet you with a heart felt, warm welcome, and also willl be happy to provide you with information on the hotel itself and the surrounding area.

The Spean Bridge Hotel was originally a coaching inn with the main building much and the accommodation now includes an annex and family serviced chalets. Today, it is indeed a place of character and comfort. It has single, double, and family bedrooms or chalets - the family rooms range from 1-3 children, and all rooms have a bath or a shower, some both. We are not modern but full of character.

The commando exhibition is unique in commemorating the wartime Commandos - Army, Royal Marine, Allied and their post-war successors.

The hotel has the Commando Bar where bar meals are available, an al fresco chip shop all year, a seasonal a la carte restaurant and a function room all serving a wide range of food, from snacks, to a more substantial hearty meal, for an intimate meal, or a group booking. This is a place where you will enjoy good food and fine wines. Two tv lounge areas where families can relax or those that want a quiet drink away from the bar area.

Drying room available. Dog friendly in certain rooms only so please let us know on booking and we will get back to you if there is a problem.
Picture of Spean Bridge Hotel, Spean Bridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it and would have liked to stay a little longer.
Our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable, the staff were most helpful and the food was quite good. We will come back, many thanks

Reviewed by
G Cooke

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cabins
Typical wee Scottish Hotel. We stayed in the lodges. Good food, clean accommodation. Could do with a bit of an upgrade in the hotel.

Reviewed by
David M

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rip off
Tiles falling off bath panel Disgustingly dirty carpet in bathroom. Breakfast a rip off. Very basic for the price and extra for every add on. Way overpriced for a 2 star hotel and surprised that it managed to achieve 2 stars. Don't stay here unless you have no choice. We stay away every week and this is the worst value ever.

Reviewed by
Anne B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay
We were guests at a wedding in Caol community Centre and didn't arrive at the hotel till 1.30 AM. We tried to phone the hotel several times on both numbers but got answering machines. That got us worried. When we did arrive we pressed the door bell several times but got no answer. I started knocking windows. We were stuck outside for about 40 mins. A man eventually was walking past and asked us if we were trying to get in. He told us to go to the public bar down the side of the hotel. Where a guy was behind the bar, and 4 girls were sitting at the bar. He was very pleasant and apologized and took us to our room. Breakfast was great served by a really lovely lady who talked away to us. Could have been a better experience.

Reviewed by
STEVEN WALKER

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this hotel is a dump

Reviewed by
n rodgers

From Campbeltown, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stop in Speanbridge Hotel [chalet]
We had previously stayed in this hotel two years ago, in one of the main hotel rooms. On that occasion we had no complaints, enjoying our experience.
Although we had booked a double room, we were offered a chalet as it was more suited to our needs- we had our dog with us [we had advised of this when booking but apparently this information was not passed on to the hotel]
The chalet stay turned out to be fine. Clean, comfortable and spacious - actually a chalet for 2 adults and 2 children. Only criticism - the main room heater was on a timer which required resetting every 2 hours, although there was also a smaller backup heater.
As before we found the staff friendly and helpful - Shona [apologies for spelling!] on reception and Calum in the bar, where we enjoyed good quality pub grub - good winter food!

Reviewed by
Richard J

From Portree, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, clean well appointed room, good reasonably priced food and friendly helpful staff.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate all feed back and your comments will get passed to the staff Kind regards

Reviewed by
bruce f

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Going Commando!
My wife and I stayed in the Spean Bridge Hotel for one night as I had been working in the village and we decided to have a night away as a wee treat. We really enjoyed our stay, the staff were really helpful and friendly, the barman even let my wife watch strictly come dancing in the Commando bar! Our room was quite basic, but it was clean, warm and our bed was very comfortable. We had an en-suite bathroom and lots of steaming hot water, so a hot bath was enjoyed before bed! The food was excellent, we had an evening meal and breakfast before we checked out. We had a look into the Commando museum, which is interesting and touching too. I'm looking forward to staying there again, hopefully for a little longer next time!

Reviewed by
Gavin Irons

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Staff were friendly and helpful receptionist was particularly helpful as was Robert the waiter. The hotel was let down by the quality of the food. We had only one cooked breakfast which was self service, the eggs were cold as they were left out the entire period of the service.
The room was comfortable but it was let down by small things like there was no towel rail in the bathroom or a hook to hang up dressing gowns.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will pass on your kind remarks to the staff in question. I will also look into your suggestions for the room The breakfast situation should not have happened, and this will be looked into. Kind regards SBH-logo

Reviewed by
R Knox

From Kirkliston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The (annexe) room was of a decent size, comfortably furnished, with a comfortable bed and a big enough and long enough duvet. That said, it was cold and the instructions for the heaters were missing. The en suite was very cold and the wash-basin exceptionally small. Breakfast was extra, from a menu starting with "half litre jug of orange juice £2". Or £3.50 for cereal, toast, and tea or coffee. Or £6.50 to include the self service cooked breakfast from the hot table. The toast WAS freshly made. Watery coffee arrived in a cafetiere with no coffee grounds in the bottom. The restaurant menu boasted fresh fish and chips and included gammon and egg, steak and kidney pie and similar - at motorway not transport cafe prices. The veg lasagne was hot and a good sized portion. I had made two separate but consecutive bookings; On arrival I checked whether they could be merged but it was not possible due to different room types. In the absence of better suggestions, I duly checked out and removed all my luggage the morning after my first night, and checked back in and lugged all my luggage back in the following evening. Location is idyllic, beds and bedding are comfortable, just don't go there for the food.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next