No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - the waterfront

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
5 kings staith , york, y019sn
The Waterfront is a Historic Grade II listed building over 400 years old with exceptional views over the river. An award winning Steak and Seafood Restaurant with en suite rooms ideally situated above. The location is ideal for the centre of York and all its Touristic attractions.

There really is no need to spend money on taxi's here!

Being in the heart of the city, noise is to be expected from the night goers in the streets below. The rooms are best suited for those young at heart, not the place for a quiet weekend away
Picture of the waterfront, york at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
My boyfriend and I stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night. The room was ideal for what we needed: somewhere to keep our stuff while we explored and somewhere to change for our nights out. The location is ideal, everywhere was well within walking distance. The owner was very welcoming and once he'd shown us to our room, he left us to get on with our visit, which suited us just fine! The room itself was very clean, had its own bathroom, TV and plenty of storage space. Having read previous reviews, we were prepared for the noise that comes with choosing a riverside view. The beer gardens below were very noisy but as we ourselves were out until the early hours on the Saturday night, it wasn't an issue for us. It was actually enteraining listening to the banter below while we got ready. The only downside for us was that the pub next door get their beer delivery at 7am on a Monday morning which is EXTREMELY NOISY (metal kegs rolling over cobbles in an alleyway) and went on for around 35 minutes. All in all, though, a lovely little hotel which I will definitely stay in on my next visit to York. Maybe just not overnight on a Sunday next time!

Reviewed by
P Southern

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for the centre, was difficult to check in as owner keeps very strange hours and after check in was never seen again. not a place if you wanted an early night but if you are going to be the last one out then great

Reviewed by
alan w

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service/Accommodation
What I saw of the guy he seemed pleasent enough not that I saw him after first full day.On first arrival there was no milk in the room and there was what looked like a blood stain all over one of the towels. Asked for milk the next day which I got. following day I left the service sign on the door and it wasnt done. so following day I left towels outside the room with the sign also on the door. That seemed to let them know I wanted the room serviced. I got the drinks items and towels.but again the towels were heavily stained.
As for the room it had cobwebs behind the beds and rubbish underneath. One of the items I wasnt impressed with was a condom packet. One of the blinds was broken and when I mentioned it to the guy he laughed and said it has come off with
his wife. Due to this we couldnt use that blind which wasnt good. To make it worse it was 3-4 inches to short on one side so
let first light in every morning. . needless to say I was awake very early every morning due to this. Its a shame if it wasnt for these I would have enjoyed my stay more. Definately wasny worth the money at all

Reviewed by
sarah j

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York Experience.
Although the owner of the hotel was helpful at the beginning of our stay by lending us an umbrella, as it looked like rain and taking our bags to our room as we were too early. When we asked if breakfast was included in the price, we were informed that he was far too busy to make breakfast. However the room and bedding was clean and the bed very comfortable.

Reviewed by
penelope ivall garrud

From 55047 Querceta (LU), Italy
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
Great location, within walkin distance of everything we wanted to see and do. It was lovely having our own door so we could come and go as we pleased. We had a brilliant time.

Reviewed by
Sarah D

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly & reasonably clean but very basic. Curtains missing & hair dryer extremely dangerous

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, clean rooms, but small details hold back the strengths
1. Good, clean spacious room
2. Free digital tv
3. Coffee and tea in ample quantities...but no kettle, what was the point!
4. No iron/ironing board
5. Toilets very clean
6. Little customer service as you pick up your keys from the restaurant area and the rooms are apartment like behind and above it.
7. There is a pub next door and despite it being not too loud, there is inevitable noise if you are trying to get an early night
8. Excellent location with numerous reataurants and attractions within walking distance
9. Price is for room only NOT breakfast, you cannot even pay extra for that
10. I would stay here again if the kettle can be sorted out and some improvements to the availability of the landlord and price to reflect the fact that there is no breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mike W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely place to stay.
Great room, with fabulous views across the river. Lovely to have own private entrance for coming & going , it was like having your own private pad in York on the river. Very, very close for getting to all the main sites in the city, a 2 minute walk away, no need for a car all weekend.
Ate in the restaurant both nights, and both nights it was amazing, the garlic mushroom starter was gorgeous, steak delicious and the salmon equally fabulous. Richard was a great host. Overall a very enjoyable break.

Reviewed by
P Finch

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great little hotel
a great little hotel, right in the heart of York, owner,was very nice upon arrival, and left us alone to get on with our weekend, I would recommend this lovly historic waterside getaway

Reviewed by
s howell

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the waterfront
Lovely hotel, clean and nicely decorated to compliment the building with grate views. near all pubs and close to the shops brill visit

Reviewed by
Alicia marriott

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next