Reviews - The Lamb Inn


High Street, Hindon, SP3 6DP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Fred S

  • August 2015

Excellent room, shame about the restaurant service

Room was great.

Food was good. Service was somewhat haphazard. All the staff seemed to be young and inexperienced and there seemed a lack of direction. No-one seemed to be in control with the result that each individual seemed to be working in isolation. Would definitely stay again.

  • M Whelan

  • August 2014


Great Stay.

A very friendly. Accommodation was good.

  • David O

  • August 2014

The Lamb

Been here on our motorcycling trips for the last 17 years, and the Lamb has retained the same welcoming ambience throughout.

Despite several changes of ownership, the staff have remained friendly, and the warm local feel has remained.

  • Sandra L

  • July 2014


A very comfortable stay with pleasant bar staff.

Pity we had to wait so long for our evening meal but we understood there was just one chef for the busy evening. Bit of a gloomy place; could do with a makeover. Bit of an overstodgy menu for such a hot night. Goodness knows what will be on the menu next time we go now that Youngs have taken over the pub - pies I expect.

  • M Lapworth

  • July 2014

Reasonable accommodation in a lovely village.

The accommodation was reasonable and the staff weere friendly.

There were only two negative points. One was that several of the light bulbs in our room had failed and two lights didn't work. The other was that the food at both dinner and breakfast was not very well prepared . There is currently a change of owner taking place and maybe this was the reason.

  • David Summers

  • July 2014

Not what we expected

The menu was disappointing and did not reflect the brochure or website.

It was a basic lunchtime pub menu and did not have any of the quality restaurant dishes we were expecting. The pub management changed whilst we were there and the new team was not interested in ensuring that we were happy during our stay. Breakfast took 35 minutes to arrive one day and we did not get what we had ordered on another. It is a delightful location and lovely atmospheric pub. I hope that it will soon live up to its advertised AA 4 Star grading.

  • Brett R

  • June 2014

A Little gem in Dorset

I have stayed here on a few occasions now, the atmosphere in the pub is friendly and relaxed whilst serving a good standard of food in the restaurant.

The decor of the hotel is very tartan but the standard of the rooms are good. Beds very comfortable. There can be some noise from the road and the floors are a bit creaky but it all adds to the character.

  • Elizabeth Shaw

  • May 2014

The Lamb is a very good place to stay-, a lovely hotel in a good location for A303.

The staff were particularly pleasant and helpful.

The bar was a relaxing place to be, before we enjoyed a well prepared and enjoyable meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was good too. We have stayed here before several times, either on the way back from Devon or during Wincanton Races and will do so again. We had travelled from Henley on Thames to Newton Abbot, to the races, and then to Hindon, around 260miles in one day - rather a long round trip - so we appreciated being in such pleasant surroundings, a haven really. Even the dog (a big old Irish Water spaniel) was delighted to visit again.

  • Chris K

  • February 2014

Nice weekend away

The staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant.

The food was good, the evening meal was excellent but my breakfast was not quite as good (the eggs were over-cooked). The restaurant is part of the bar, so it gets very noisy when the pub is in full flow, but this didn't bother us. The room was nicely furnished with a small but good en-suite.

  • Artemis Cropper

  • November 2013

A lovely place to stay but shame about the wake up call

My husband and I stayed here while attending a friends wedding down the road.

Our room was really lovely and the presence of my favourite Neals Yard toiletries in the bathroom really was the icing on the cake!!. Downstairs a roaring fire was very welcoming and the bar area looked lovely though we were at a wedding elsewhere so didn't go in. Breakfast was good though tea/coffee was served from an urn and the tea tasted like coffee. I would definitely ask for a fresh cup next time. The only downside was that for some reason we (and friends staying in other rooms) got a wake up call at 7am even though we definitely hadn't booked one. One set of friends had stayed the Friday night as well and had 2 wake up calls in a row, despite mentioning it to staff at reception after the first night - what a shame as we had come away without our young children for the first time, so really did deserve a lie in. As long as they could fix this, I would definitely recommend this wonderful hotel.