No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bignell Park Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
. , Bicester, OX26 1UE
Construction of Bignell Park Hotel, in Chesterton near Bicester, started in the mid 18th Century and was originally part of Bignell Park Manor House as the Estate Mews. By the 19th Century Bignell Park was converted into a private residency but with its beautiful Cotswold charm and two and a half acres of land it was transformed into a country house hotel with a Restaurant.
The hotel has since undergone many upgrades and extensions to allow us to cater for most accommodation requirements from conferences and weddings to romantic weekend breaks.
All the rooms in our hotel are individually designed and seek to maintain the original charm of this wonderful property, whilst providing all the modern amenities desired by the most discerning clientele.
Each of our hotel rooms is decorated and furnished to an exceptionally high standard; all take advantage of the beautiful surroundings and views. There are a variety of rooms to suit any occasion and accommodation requirements from a romantic 4 Poster to a family room or spacious double superiors for a lengthy stay to a twin bedded room with disabled access.
Bignell Park Hotel is just a minute or two from the entrance to Bicester Village Retail Mall, and just a few minutes from Bicester. Despite this, the hotel is hidden away in amongst the trees and greenery of the Cotswold countryside.
So whether you join us for business or pleasure Bignell Park Hotel is the popular choice for a hotel in the Bicester area, where nothing is overlooked but the countryside.
Picture of Bignell Park Hotel, Bicester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and overrated
We paid £22 for the thinnest, worst, ribeye steak we had ever eaten. It weighed 8oz and was so thin you could almost see through it! The starters and breakfast were also overpriced and not the best quality we have ever eaten. Neither of us would go back, though the grounds were lovely.

Reviewed by
C Moore

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel we have used in years, staff so helpful and friendly.
Lovely setting for a hotel.

Reviewed by
E Flynn

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for a nights stay
My husband and I attended a wedding at another hotel so we didn't really spend much time at the Bignell park, but from what I could see it was in a nice setting, quiet location and some nice gardens. The room had everything you needed, comfy bed, free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities and a clean bathroom, though as previous reviews state I think the room could have benefitted from a lick of paint and new carpets. I made the mistake of thinking our room included breakfast so when my husband and I had a pot of tea and a bacon sandwich each we were astonished to find that this cost us £15 each! Total rip off. All in all this was fine for a nights stay but I think the price was a little too much for what you get.

Reviewed by
K Morley

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
Beautiful hotel set in the countryside.

Reviewed by
roger w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice small country style hotel
Efficient and pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
derek l

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One nightingale Bignall Park
Room a little tired, but very quiet.

Reviewed by
J Walker

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold and hungry
The hotel was clean ,the room was good until I woke up early morning and the room was a fridge.
The bed only had a thin quilt so I was freezing.
I went for breakfast.I ordered "Full Breakfast".this arrived and was a joke,one egg one 2"sausage
a 2"piece of bacon,1/2 a tomato and half a small piece of black pudding and 2 slices of toast
This was £10 disgusting

Reviewed by
Keith S

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late arrival
Arrived late and swift check in, ordered a bite to eat at bar and this was fine and served quickly, room was all OK and clean & tidy, shower lacked any sort of flow in morning and breakfast not booked at time of arriving was priced at £14.50,! Only wanted tea & toast but still wanted £14.50 so I declined the offer ! Overall a good stay but pricey for a late booking at £80 with no breakfast and most rooms empty and only 5 cars on the car park.

Reviewed by
Paul E

From Fareham , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
A very nice stay. I got to hotel late and staff very accomadating in making sure I had all I need. Highly recomend good price great service and room

Reviewed by
G Wood

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bignell park Hotel
Hotel very comfortable and pleasant location but we felt hotel could have been more accommodating about breakfast times particularly as we were having a break(7-9am is too early).
Dinner menu was limited as they had the same menu each night we were there.
Hotel looked tired and would benefit from more proactive and innovative management.
Hotel is probably geared more to conferences and weddings,which is a pity as it is a nice quiet location accessible to a lot of places

Reviewed by
Christopher Clayton

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next