Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich Hotels > Wensum Valley Hotel Golf & Country Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wensum Valley Hotel Golf & Country Club

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Beech Avenue taverham, Norwich, NR8 6HP
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club is a friendly family run hotel that enjoys breathtaking scenery and tranquility and yet is within minutes of Norwich's bustling city centre. Golfing breaks for groups are a speciality.

Set in 350 acres of the beautiful Wensum Valley the two golf courses offer a variety of challenges to practiced and more casual golfers alike. This is the ideal setting to enjoy a Break in Norfolk at any time of year.

The two mile stretch of the River Wensum flows across the Norfolk Countryside and boasts a diversity of fresh water fish including barbell, chub, brown trout, dace, pike and perch. We also have well-stocked and maintained pools up to 12 feet deep and wardens who are pleased to offer advice to novices on technique and current fishing status. Even if you do not like fishing the valley offers enjoyable family walks with beautiful views and so close to the beautiful and historic Norfolk City of Norwich. Ideal for family breaks with many tourist attractions nearby.

For those wishing to have a very special weekend break to play golf, fish or just chill out this East Anglian venue is the ideal introduction to Norfolk. A few minutes from Norwich Airport the hotel is Close to the famous Norfolk Broads and ideal for tourists from the Euro zone and the Scandinavia as well as the rest of the UK.

Come and enjoy a special Norfolk Break.








Picture of Wensum Valley Hotel Golf & Country Club , Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lovely facilities, very helpful and polite staff and a lovely atmosphere.

Reviewed by
S Stoddart

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nic
Nice hotel lovely views food great clean ness of room staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
Linda W

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top class
Top class

Reviewed by
C Elsender

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel

Reviewed by
Paul R

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic venue, well used for weddings
Enjoyed the swimming, golf course and driving range. Good food for breakfast and the evening meal we enjoyed the first night. Stayed in the flat which was clean and comfortable. Only downside of our stay was the fact there were wedding parties held each night of our stay. As the flat is directly over the wedding room, it was like being in the middle of the party! Enjoyable at first, as the kids said it was like having a party. But when we were trying to sleep and the music went blaring on till 1am, and vibrating through the flat it was quite disruptive. Sadly as there was no fan or air con we had to leave all the windows open which did not help. Accomodation and facilities lovely but would have enjoyed our stay more if we could have had a good night sleep.

Reviewed by
Pam L

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Faint smell of stale cigarettes in the room. Threw the window open and that improved. We had such a lovely stay to be honest. Staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the well equipped gym. Swam in the pool and had time in The jacuzzi. We were running late so called to see if the restaurant would still have us for dinner. Yes no trouble. Food was lovely.

Reviewed by
Suzanne S

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good Norfolk base
We had a family room for almost a week. The room was huge.The first room we stayed in became very hot at night (despite having a fan on), so we moved rooms. The second room was just as large, but cooler. The hotel also provided 2 fans to help cool down.
The restaurant and cleaning staff were excellent (very friendly and polite) with the latter going the 'extra mile' to completely handle our room switch and make it a very smooth transition. The reception staff, (like the hotel in general) were functional (bordering disinterest).
We only ate there at breakfast, and the food was of a good, consistent standard (although their dishwasher was not effective as bowls/plates had dried food on them.
The sports facilities were good, and although I don't play, the golf course looked lovely.The gym was larger than I expected and well equipped. The pool (roughly 15m I'd say) was good.
As mentioned above, I felt the hotel looked 'functional' and was geared at its market (which is mainly aimed at the golfing set).
Having said that, if you are into the sports facilities, or if you are looking for a Norfolk base for the family at around the 3 star level, then the hotel represents excellent value.

Reviewed by
S Gill

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For me, the bad outweighed the good
For such a beautiful location I was underwhelmed by the quality of the room. It was really no better than a Premier Inn - basic and clean but with no feeling of quality or special touches. Tea and coffee were provided, but milk was those awful little UHT plastic things. No biscuits. No bottled water, and if you brought your own you would have to use the nasty plastic cups provided in the bathroom.
I had made the booking several weeks in advance, and having read Trip Advisor reviews, asked for a first floor room so that we wouldn't be disturbed by overhead noise. When we arrived, this request had not been carried out, and so we had to take what was left, which had a less than inspiring view over the courtyard. I had hoped for (and asked for) a view of the golf course, as this was to be my birthday celebration. Very disappointing.
The weather was stifling hot, which is not the hotel's fault, however there was no air conditioning which I gather has been complained about many times in the past. Time to get this fixed!!
We asked for a fan, but none was available until after 10pm when the Reception staff no longer required theirs and it was lent to us. Fans are extremely cheap to buy, there should be one in every room if there is no air con. This is basic stuff! In the end we had to resort to laying on the bed with wet towels over us, just to be able to be in the room. Not a pleasant experience.
Of course, being a Saturday in the summer, there was a wedding going on. And with all the windows open, the noise was loud and late.
I mentioned all these points to the receptionist on our departure, but the response I received was 'oh dear. Sorry to hear that'. It would have been nice to be offered a discount off our drinks bill or something meaningful, particularly with the inefficiency of the booking system.
The only high point was the excellent meal in the restaurant, and the friendly waiting staff in there.

Reviewed by
Sal M

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonably priced

Reviewed by
S McIntosh

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding in July and was pleasantly pleased with the hotel, the room, bar costs and food costs. The rooms were spacious and pretty clean, albeit a little 90's in décor but so what! Helpful, friendly staff who tried to accommodate any whims or wants. Excellent facilities included in the cost of accommodation including gym and pool. My only gripe is that the rooms do suffer from a lack of soundproofing (as mentioned in previous reviews) and we could hear every noise and conversation from the next room (fortunately the weren't particularly noisy). However it is a place that I would return to.

Reviewed by
Gary M

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next