Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich Hotels > Wensum Valley Hotel Golf & Country Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wensum Valley Hotel Golf & Country Club

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Beech Avenue taverham, Norwich, NR8 6HP
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club is a friendly family run hotel that enjoys breathtaking scenery and tranquility and yet is within minutes of Norwich's bustling city centre. Golfing breaks for groups are a speciality.

Set in 350 acres of the beautiful Wensum Valley the two golf courses offer a variety of challenges to practiced and more casual golfers alike. This is the ideal setting to enjoy a Break in Norfolk at any time of year.

The two mile stretch of the River Wensum flows across the Norfolk Countryside and boasts a diversity of fresh water fish including barbell, chub, brown trout, dace, pike and perch. We also have well-stocked and maintained pools up to 12 feet deep and wardens who are pleased to offer advice to novices on technique and current fishing status. Even if you do not like fishing the valley offers enjoyable family walks with beautiful views and so close to the beautiful and historic Norfolk City of Norwich. Ideal for family breaks with many tourist attractions nearby.

For those wishing to have a very special weekend break to play golf, fish or just chill out this East Anglian venue is the ideal introduction to Norfolk. A few minutes from Norwich Airport the hotel is Close to the famous Norfolk Broads and ideal for tourists from the Euro zone and the Scandinavia as well as the rest of the UK.

Come and enjoy a special Norfolk Break.








Picture of Wensum Valley Hotel Golf & Country Club , Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding in July and was pleasantly pleased with the hotel, the room, bar costs and food costs. The rooms were spacious and pretty clean, albeit a little 90's in décor but so what! Helpful, friendly staff who tried to accommodate any whims or wants. Excellent facilities included in the cost of accommodation including gym and pool. My only gripe is that the rooms do suffer from a lack of soundproofing (as mentioned in previous reviews) and we could hear every noise and conversation from the next room (fortunately the weren't particularly noisy). However it is a place that I would return to.

Reviewed by
Gary M

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Going to hell in a golf cart
Room 11A was horrible.Chiller from bar outside roaring and stench from flue of kitchen. Staff jetted drains outside at 0700. Constant deliveries at this time also.Moved to room 17, Moron golfers on terrace drinking till late. Friday disco went on till 1200hrs thump thump thump! Saturday was going to be the same so left early. Walls of rooms so thin you can hear people urinating next door. Fire evacuation procedures not followed when we had an alarm at 0300hrs. I will be informing the local fire officer. Restaurants food and staff were excellent. The hotel from hell. Glad i'm home

Reviewed by
Mike Flint

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just nice, friendly hotel
Staff - really helpful
Room - spacious, clean and comfy bed.
Facilities - nice bar and nice looking pool.

Reviewed by
Simon O

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the breakfast
Nice hotel, really good evening food. The breakfast was below standard.

Reviewed by
T Thomas

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four
Very good clean relaxed atmosphere, excelent food, all round pleasent experence

Reviewed by
Victor P

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff but venue starting to look a little tired and dated internally
Hotel is very clean throughout and the staff are great - really friendly and give the appearance that it is a nice place to work.
Food was good especially the evening meal.
The decor is rather dated and 1980s - frilly patterned curtains and bedspreads, dark wood doors and furniture, brown carpets. Particularly noticeable in the 1980s bathroom which is rather basic by today's hotel standards. Location is fab, rooms are spacious and the hotel is looks to have been build within the last 50 years so could be fab if rooms were restyled as modern boutique hotel rooms.
Overall, good value for money when booked with a laterooms late deal.
July 2014.

Reviewed by
Michael D

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Typical Golf Hotel
Nice Quiet Hotel. Being a golf club hotel, you have to overlook the fact that it can be quite utilitarian in places and not plush. It serves a purpose and does it well. The room was large and clean. Staff were helpful and breakfast was ample. All in all, no complaints, especially for the money.

Reviewed by
John L

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wensum
This is my 4th stay there in past 2 years , one of my fabourite hotels, value, standards faclities all very good , just wish i had to visit Norwich more often

Reviewed by
Dean W

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wensum Valley Experience
A very happy week-end spent @ Wensum visiting friends for a christening celebration. Staff very helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed our walk across the golf course down to the River and saw a heron and lots of butterflies and pheasants.

Reviewed by
Caroline Pennington

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at Wensum Valley
This is the second time I ve stayed in the last month. Excellent value. Great room. Spacious with a lovely shower. No complaints. will book again if returning to Norwich

Reviewed by
christine richardson

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next