No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - LIVERMEAD HOUSE HOTEL

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
SEA FRONT , Torquay, TQ2 6QJ
Livermead House and the heart of the English Riviera in Devon. This AA & Visit Britain 3 star Award Winning hotel is fortunate to have such a wonderful seafront location, with manicured garden terraces and comfortable bedrooms, many with stunning views of Torbay. From the spacious comforts of our lounges there is a timeless elegance and calm which is so rare to find. With onsite Free parking and within level walking distance of the town this Seaside Hotel is one you can't afford to miss. Leisure facilities include an Outdoor Swimming Pool(Summer months only), Squash Court, Keep Fit Gym, Solarium & Snooker Table.
Picture of LIVERMEAD HOUSE HOTEL, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were extremely helpfull and nothing was to much trouble for them.The decor in the bedroom was a little dated but very clean.The food was excellent and the service for breakfast was exeptional.

Reviewed by
Debra Gill

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel - pity about the bedding.
Food - excellent. . Hotel - very good, Staff - professional and friendly, Room - sea facing and good decor and clean.
If there had been duvets instead of heavy counterpanes and blankets, all would have been quite perfect.
We had to remove the counterpanes as they were so heavy and had three blankets on which were also heavy and we were still quite chilly. We did have two big windows and with the high ceilings appreciate that the older radiators have difficulty in doing a good job. Beds also creaky and uncomfortable.
A real pity because this hotel has so much going for it - including lovely views .

Reviewed by
C Wing

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced, no air conditioning, tiny dated unclean room, poor food. Nice pool and garden area.
Faulty towers! Enough said.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
P Morris

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stuck in the 1970's but a lovely hotel
This is a very old school British hotel, the staff are lovely and polite and always happy to help, there is a "bell boy" and a concierge which prompted my fiancé to comment on how posh the hotel was. But the hotel is very dated, it is a classic little old ladies coach holiday hotel which doesn't mean its not good - it is quiet and the beds are comfy (though a little on the hard side). The price is what I would expect to pay for this style of hotel but I probably wouldn't want to stay here for longer than a couple of nights - we felt very young! I've not stayed in Torbay since I was very young and I imagine this hotel was identical then, 25 years ago. Breakfast was nice, hot and there was a good selection, not exactly hearty (1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage, few mushrooms, half a tomato, fried bread and an egg) but enough to see you through to lunch (just). I would recommend this hotel for a quiet couple of nights in a beautiful part of the UK but if you like your hotel with a bit more life then I'd suggest somewhere else.

Reviewed by
Emma W

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was very small and extremely hot, we asked to be moved and the second room was much better, we were told the first room was over the kitchens.
The business dinner we attended was very good,the meal was well presented & served.
The hotel has a good location but is a little "tired" need a face lift.

Reviewed by
Jack H

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and helpful. They reopened the bar specially for us when we returned late in the evening. Brakfast was good, but there was a long queue for the buffet when a large group arrived at once: fortunately I arrive just in time, but my friend's wait was rather too long.
My single room was unusual, with a large flight of stairs immediately on entering, and the bathroom was on a separate level.
Television reception was poor, and this was not addressed despite being reported on the first morning.

Reviewed by
Dan R

From Epsom, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Weekend Break - Two Tired Pensioners.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Livermead Hotel. Food excellent, room brilliant and we loved it. We would come again. It was just what we needed. We did a lot of walking so looked forward to the meals which were very tasty and well prepared. Lovely views etc. and a thoroughly nice place to stay. We certainly had the best break and recharged our batteries for going home to decorating the house.

Reviewed by
Marilyn Mackenzie

From Weymouth, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This Hotel is badly in need of an uplift - it is drab and dated.
The rooms are dark and dreary. The TV is a museum piece - my laptop has a bigger screen!

Reviewed by
Mark K

From Stalybridge, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.