Wessex Hotel

3

11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (192)

66% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kelly T

  • May 2015

Great value for money

We stayed here on the 5th may 2015 for 2 nights, myself, my husband and my 2 year old daughter The hotel was good value for money, and convenient to sea front and the pier.

Breakfast was included and had a good variety. Staff all friendly In there. Hotel does seem popular with the older people. Which was fine, my daughter was like a little celebrity.

Didn't use the swimming pool so can't comment on that. Was good that parking was free and wi fi

  • Graham R

  • April 2015

Bournemouth Break

Good Value for money

  • K Conroy

  • April 2015

Disappointing

The lift didn't work, on several occasions.

The furnishing in the room was old and tattered. The window didn't open properly. Generally I was disappointed by the quality of this hotel.

  • J Brar

  • April 2015

Easter break

Hotel in need of updating but clean.

room was very good for the price.

  • J Brar

  • April 2015

Birthday treat

Stayed here a number of times - just chose the wrong weekend.

Receptionist was in a bad mood on arrival and not helpful then tried to charge us for someone elses room service at end of stay!. Didnt apologise for the mistake. Other receptionist ( a young chap) was lovely and helpfull.... what we have come to expect from The Wessex

  • C Wilson

  • April 2015

Will Be Back

We have stayed here a few times and always with no problems.

We tend to eat out so only have breakfast which has a good variety.The indoor pool tends to be on the cold side but is still nice and very clean the steam room is good not used the gym . Floorboards do creak in the hallways which is what you could expect from an old building . We will definately be returning .

  • A kirk

  • March 2015

Wessex Hotel

A bit dated but a great stay customer service was great.

  • Kevin L

  • March 2015

Excellent Hotel

We have been visiting this hotel for 9 years, yes it may need a bit of TLC however it has a quirky appeal with its many corridors and Victorian architecture, staff are always friendly and helpful, one of the best breakfasts you will find in Bournemouth, large Victorian rooms with high ceilings and large windows and just across the road from the beach!

  • Susan Bucknall

  • March 2015

Pleasant stay

Very happy with hotel & staff.

there was just a couple of comments we would like to bring to your attention. There was no plug by the kettle, so you had to carry kettle to dressing table for plug, which we thought was quite dangerous, having to carry it back with boiling water to where the other condiments were. We would also of liked a bit more milk on the tray, as there was only enough for 1 drink. But as i said we enjoyed staying at your Hotel & would use again.

  • Nigel R

  • March 2015

Short break In Bournemouth

Excellent value for money.

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Wessex. The room was dated and the shower wasn't great. However the bed was very comfy, the rooms was clean and the food at the hotel was very good. I also found the bar prices very reasonable. Given the very cheap deal on laterooms this was excellent value for money. if I had paid full price I would have expected a little more from the room, such as a bigger television and a decent power shower.