Wessex Hotel

3

11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (193)

66% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Simon W

  • June 2015

Dreadful Hotel

This hotel is the worst hotel I have stayed in for some time.

The room was clean, that is the only good point. The hotel looks as if it has not been decorated since about 1970, the carpets in the hall ways are so worn there are big holes everywhere. The hotel advertises free wifi, the wifi is only 100KB/sec at best which means it is totally useless for any form of work. The breakfast was normal for hotels like this; pre cooked food kept vaguely warm.

  • A Smeetoon

  • June 2015

The Wessex

Our stay at the Wessex was most enjoyable , the Hotel has an excellent location , the staff were friendly and helpful , we only ate breakfast at the hotel which was good, however on our last morning my husband discovered quite a large 1.5 inch rusty nail in his muesli which he fortunately spotted before he put it into his mouth, we called over the waiter who was mortified and took off with the offending nail somewhere , he shortly returned and was most apologetic but that was it , we affably accepted his apology but have thought since that really it was a bit more serious than that !!.

Otherwise we have no complaints about the hotel and would certainly return.

  • C Clarke

  • June 2015

Needs up dating , bathrooms

  • A Lewis

  • June 2015

Reasonable hotel &!stay

Upon arrival there was no record of our booking via Laterooms .

Despite showing the booking details on my phone it took half an hour to confirm a room . Perhaps not hotel fault but half an hour of not knowing of there was a room or not . No lift to the first floor and with luggage this is not ideal . Room was ok and breakfast fine . Free parking - bonus in this area . Overall a most reasonable hotel and stay .

  • Nick M

  • June 2015

Two day break

Our room was large and clean .

All necessary facilities were present and working . The breakfast was good and plentiful. Parking was easy and free. Altogether a fuss free and comfortable stay.

  • Rob Livings

  • June 2015

Nice Place To Stay

Stayed here a few times now, great staff and rooms.

Location is spot on and surrounded by nice places to eat. Breakfast is always nice with loads on offer. Only moan is the restaurant can be a little warm at times, however the staff do open the doors to get cool air moving around. Would recommend this place to all. Good job Wessex Hotel.

  • Matthew L

  • June 2015

Hmmm

Not really impressed, whole place needs better maintenance all round.

The details stack up.

  • R Livings

  • June 2015

Nice Place

Stayed here on business for one night.

Great location and some nice places to eat. Would stay here again. Room was clean and had a nice feel about it. Breakfast was good only grumble was the room was to hot, open up the doors and let in some fresh air.

  • bridget omalley

  • May 2015

Excellent

All staff first class.

Really warmed to this hotel because of the staff.

  • Kelly T

  • May 2015

Great value for money

We stayed here on the 5th may 2015 for 2 nights, myself, my husband and my 2 year old daughter The hotel was good value for money, and convenient to sea front and the pier.

Breakfast was included and had a good variety. Staff all friendly In there. Hotel does seem popular with the older people. Which was fine, my daughter was like a little celebrity.

Didn't use the swimming pool so can't comment on that. Was good that parking was free and wi fi