No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD , Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 163 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but needs money spent on it
Very clean, great customer service. Swimming pool and leisure area was a bit of a disappointment as it was very dated. Overall a really good stay and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a nice short break
my wife and i stayed at the wessex for 3 days , we found the staff very friendly and help full . i asked for a room with a view as it was for our anniversary , a room with a nice view wasnt available so we were given a room upgrade,, i got to say that the room was a nice big size and very clean . there is a need for redecoration but in times tlike these i can understand why its taking time as you can clearly see that they are working on the site part by part .. we would defanatly stay there agin at some point . we had breakfast but went else where for evening food .. the breakfast was very nice and in abundance , we only went else where for evening food as we were site seeing else where ... this hotel is a little gem if you dont expect grand hotel decor

Reviewed by
sean o'neill

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming.... Tired decor in rooms
Nice bar and reception area,room was fusty and needed decorating.breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
S Cartwright

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel second visit this year
We love this Hotel so much so we came back with friends for a second time this year, the staff are all friendly,rooms a bit dated but very clean and comfy pillow and beds ( only double in size) Shower gel and lotion provided,tea,coffee and biscuits in room.Great leisure fertility good size outside pool,inside pool and gym,we swam every day pool towels provided.Snooker room with just one table.lovely breakfast. Thank you for another lovely stay 10/10

Reviewed by
D Springle

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Outside pool was fab, staff very friendly and helpful, great breakfast, room was spacious and clean but needs updating and a refurb.

Reviewed by
KAREN L

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting but shabby
The standard room had a very uncomfortable bed, so did not provide a restful nights sleep, however on pointing this out to staff we were upgraded to a premier room where the bed was excellent. The decoration in both rooms left much room for improvement. The hotel needs an overhall and was not good value for the money.

Reviewed by
Neil R

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing special
On first appearance the hotel has quite a grand facade, very much in keeping with Victorian Bournemouth, so we were very optimistic that we had chosen well. The lobby/reception area is freshly decorated and spacious with a bar for socialising and plenty of comfortable seating for relaxing, the reception staff pleasant and welcoming... It ends there! Having been given our room key (Yale not card) we proceeded to the two man lift whose heavy outward opening door made manoeuvring suitcases challenging and its tiny interior made one feel akin to a sardine. To say the decor in the rest of the hotel was tired is an understatement. Our room, 343 can be described as staying at a very old relatives house: mismatched wallpaper patch repairs; a sticking plaster covering some blemish on the ceiling; curtains with no nets, but a lovely view of peeling wall paint and rubbish bins; a mattress that had clearly seen better days and lots of guests; a dimly lit bathroom (probably for the best) with a temperamental shower whose pressure was dependent upon who else on the floor was showering at the time, needless to say we were not able to shower in the morning. Food glorious food... Not! Breakfast was buffet style, catering to most nationalities, shame though that the hot items were lukewarm at best and the fresh fruit choice prunes or grapefruit. Fortunately we were only staying for one night and with the car safely parked in the hotel car park the location afforded us a very pleasant stroll along the beach where we found very decent coffee. Sorry Wessex but improvements a must!

Reviewed by
Ian

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food & Fire Alarm
The food was ok, Breakfast cold, and the alarm went off when breakfast was on and the staff were unsure what to do about it

Reviewed by
Ray Mercer

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Excellent very happy we all stayed there and will definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
Jennifer A

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family stay at the wessex
After reading reviews before booking at the wessex, I'm pleased to say that overall we had a great time at the Wessex Hotel. It's easy to see that the new management team and staff are trying very hard with the process of turning things around after there take over in April 14. The staff we met and spoke to were friendly and very helpfull, yes the Hotel needs updating decor etc, etc but our room was clean and tidy and the shower worked. Bed very comfy (can you tell me what mattress you use)
We used the gym, pools and steam room etc all great fun. Location is good 10min walk from beach, 20mins from pier. We would book at the Wessex again and given time and money this will be a great Hotel.
See you again

Reviewed by
Arthur B

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next