You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3

11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU

Price From 183.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (153)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Tracey Whitmore

  • July 2016

Wessex Hotel

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was very disappointing as the bed was very hard, additionally there was a generator/air conditioning unit outside of the room which kept coming on overnight. These 2 facts led to a very disturbed night's sleep. Outside of the room were old matresses and beds which did not give a good impression of the hotel, which to be honest was in need of redecorating throughout. The breakfast was reasonable but luke warm rather than hot.

  • N Fricker

  • July 2016

Wessex Hotel

Very friendly,polite and helpful staff.

Our room was very large and roomy. It had a fridge which was very useful. Towels changed everyday. Lovely hot water at all times.

  • J C

  • June 2016

In general a pleasant stay but a couple negatives for us.

Our room was a very good size with shower and bath ensuite.

The décor was a little tired but it was clean. The staff were friendly, polite, efficient and professional. Our room was, in the main, quiet being at the rear of the hotel with the exception of the seagulls which were very noisy sometimes during the early hours and our last night was disturbed until past 1.00am by a dance with a live band being held in the hotel which we could hear even with our windows closed and cotton wool in our ears.

And our main gripe was the fact that despite being advertised as 'Non Smoking throughout' we regularly had to pass by smokers on the steps up to the main entrance which was unpleasant and the smoke also drifted into the main entrance hallway and the steps were at times littered with cigarette ends. Not a good impression.

  • Malcolm Q

  • June 2016

Excellent service by Late Rooms. Still waitibg to hear from Hotel.

Genuine mistake in booking the room for the day we were booking and not for the following evening.

Couldn't cancel as it was 6.30 in the evening... no one at reservations at the hotel available.... Late Rooms tried to contact on our behalf. On the day we arrived the Manager was not available to speak with Late Rooms... the Receptionist could not help us as the Reservations team had left.... we still do not know if we have had to pay for two nights for what was a genuine mistake which we tried to correct as soon as the confirmation came through. Disappointed with the hotel.... not with Late Rooms. Staff at Hotel during our visit were very pleasant and helpful, breakfast first class.

  • Stephen J

  • June 2016

Worn around the edges

Very tired and dated.

Bathroom light had not worked for ages, better places to stay for the price. Saving grace bar staff very friendly and efficient.

  • Stephen T

  • June 2016

Excellent Value For Money

Really enjoyed our stay at the Wessex.

The hotel is a little tired and would benefit from a lick of paint but this is reflected in the price and is excellent value for money. The breakfast is great and the hotel has good facilities and parking. The location is ideal for the town and the beach. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Louis Whitfield

  • June 2016

Lovely relaxing stay

A lovely relaxing friendly hotel situated perfectly in the West Cliff area of Bournemouth, the town centre is a 15 min walk via the pleasant stroll along the cliffs.

The leisure centre has good sized indoor and outdoor pools a very pleasant stay.

  • Hayley Lovland

  • May 2016

Major refurb!!

Was an okay visit but could do with a major refurb.

Outdated furniture and the interior throughtout the hotel could do with improvement. Floorboards were creeky in the hall ways and a very strong smell of chlorine in the room. The bath was dirty and the tiles looked like it has seen better days. The outside needs to have a lick of paint which first impressions aee important. Although the reception looked very nice and staff where friendly enough.

  • judith k

  • May 2016

great, friendly hotel

  • John and Deli Denton

  • April 2016

Late rooms website caused our problem then it got worse by the hotel management

The receptionist tried to bill us more than had been agreed on booking over the phone on the 1 st April.

It became an argument and she tried to humiliate me in front of another guest until she realised the other guest had a serious complaint. All unnecessary and very childish.

Response from hotel

Dear Guests,

After posting your review we have had a serious discussion with the receptionist that was with you on that day.

Mistakes happen and unfortunately we have had a different rate on our system - and for that we would like to apologise.

When you said she tried to humiliate you in front of other guests - all we can say is that this is not based on true events as what really happened was that you tried to humiliate her in front of other guests and also have a witness who was sitting at the back area and heard everything.

The rate issue was sorted I believe to your satisfaction so don't understand why did you have to post false allegations towards our team as everyone here in Wessex is very customer focused and all other reviews that say staff is friendly and helpful only proves it.

Thank you for your time and kind regards.