No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD , Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Our room was spacious nicely decorated and vey comfortable including a small table and easy chairs

Reviewed by
P Thomas

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Only
What a Grand Hotel this would have been in its day. Lovely spacious high ceilinged rooms were let down by 1. requiring a complete re-decoration/refurb 2. lights not working 3. double glazed windows that have gaps (not good when you are right next to a busy road and don't sleep with noise). 4. Having to move rooms at 10.45 due to someone upstairs blasting their TV out so loud that we had to complain. A wonderful breakfast in the morning made up for the negatives!

Reviewed by
N Wood

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Character hotel. Great deal on accommodation. Convenient for sea and buses.
When radiator in my room would not work, the manager said 'sorry' and upgraded room to premier wing. I was impressed.
Gym and pool small, but functional. Could do with a spin dryer for wet swimwear.

Reviewed by
Karen N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My opinion about stay at Wessex Hotel
As expected of a major hotel, all services an accommodation were first rate.

Reviewed by
Peter Gray

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money will return

Reviewed by
Richard Mitcherson

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Bournemouth
We thought that the hotel looked very appealing from the outside and there was plenty of parking space. Inside, the hotel was in urgent need of refurbishment. Our bedroom, in particular, looked very "tired". The wallpaper and curtains looked like something from the 1960s and the bathroom, although large, looked very shabby. We were given a very warm welcome by the receptionist and restaurant staff were also friendly. The breakfast was very good, although we did not like the idea of having to get our coffee and tea from a machine. A long queue formed at the machine and we almost gave up. We much prefer having coffee and tea brought to the table freshly made.
We thought that the hotel was expensive and as I had difficulties finding a hotel with a vacancy for the weekend we wanted, I wonder if the high price was due to the fact that Bournemouth was swarming with people for the Marathon and half-Marathon.
It was an easy 5-10 minute walk from the hotel to Bournemouth Pier.

Reviewed by
PAULA B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

evening meal
Much larger than expected and very nice

Reviewed by
K Allen

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Was certainly worth the money I paid

Reviewed by
S Kent

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Although this hotel is a little tired decoration wise the staff and food fully made up for this. Great stay.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcome break
Our two night stay at the Wessex was very enjoyable. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded, the room was both very comfortable and spacious. On our first night our sleep was disturbed because we were too warm in bed, due to a winter duvet and the unseasonal warmth in the weather. On enquiring at reception next morning for lighter bedding a call was made to housekeeping and all was arranged, a much better second night. We were very impressed with the hotel service, the curtisy of the staff and the general comfort of the hotel. We would most certainly re visit and would recommend The Wessex to our friends.

Reviewed by
James Jenner

From Peacehaven, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next