No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD , Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 158 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Excellent very happy we all stayed there and will definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
Jennifer A

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of TLC but good location, with a bit of investment would be one of the better hotels in Bmth
Found the hotel to be clean which is the first thing we look for, of course the hotel is dated but being old doesn't mean that it's not clean. Our room 369 was fine, nice size and the bed was as good as we'd experienced elsewhere. My only real gripe is the bar staff who in my opinion need to be a little more livelier and welcoming. The bar is big, spacious and right by the entrance, therefore I'd say a high number of residents would want to use the bar before going to bed, but I never felt that the bar staff did enough to make you want to have a drink before going to bed as the bar had no atmosphere yet it is a very big feature as you enter the hotel. I would stay there again without a doubt

Reviewed by
Michael Lynott

From Northolt, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
I enjoyed our stay very much and loved the swimming pools. The breakfast was excellent and our room was lovely (big and spacious) but the floor and bed were very squeaky! The staff were friendly and helpful but I didn't like the fact we had to wait until 2pm to get into our room.

Reviewed by
Kenneth A

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value of the Wessex
God value for money as we only booked last minute, the hotel bathroom was dated and could do with decorating - breakfast good , staff helpful.

Reviewed by
A Perrett

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of a disappointment
I purposely booked the Wessex hotel as it was a good price and I had remembered it being one of the better hotels that I stayed in as a child during out annual week in Bournemouth. However it was rather a disappointment. The hotel seems badly in need of updating and although the room appeared clean and the bed comfortable, the pillow cases smelt damp as though they hadn't dried quickly enough which wasn't very pleasant and the toilet cistern took an interminable length of time to refill so we ended up not flushing it every time. The breakfast was nothing special
and the usual lack of effort to provide anything alternative in the cooked breakfast section to cater for vegetarians. The bar did not stock a well known liqueur and the lift jolted with such force when it stopped at a floor that I neatly lost the contents of the tray that I was taking back up to my room! The staff were helpful and friendly however, but overall it fell sadly short of my expectations.

Reviewed by
C Brunt

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Nice hotel , situated well for town and beach, friendly staff. Only one thing furniture in bedroom a bit out dated but bed very comfortable and clean. Will stay again and recommend.

Reviewed by
Richard T

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor showers
Room 340 on second floor - distinct issue with water pressure
Could not run tap and flush loo at same time and very difficult to have shower

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied...
My son and I wanted a change if scene for the holidays, we had booked Go Ape at Ringwood so thought 24 hrs in a hotel would be a good idea.
The hotel was fine- clean and equipt but a little tired and dated, however the pools, gym and sauna kept us amused and the wifi was great. Overall a good stay.

Reviewed by
N Ayres

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wessex gone downhill
I have been staying at the Wessex for the past 15 years and having returned this year was surprised by how little had been done to its upkeep. The exterior is sadly in need of of paint job and the rooms need upgrading. The shower in our room was very poor however it was all very clean. The leisure area has not been modernised for years and I dont know what holds the water into the swimming pools!! The hotel states that there are no single sex parties allowed to stay but while we were there ,there were two groups of stag/hen parties. Also is the Wessex going down the coach party route which is a recipe for disaster. I realise there are new owners please cater for normal holidaymakers and you will get repeat custom. On a positive note the staff were friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
Peter Campbell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Before booking this hotel I read a lot of reviews. Yes the rooms need a little updating but you only have to look at pictures of the hotel to know this. Over all the room was lovely. The bed was really comfortable and they'd provided us with a summer duvet that wasn't too thick in the heat. Both the bedroom and bathroom were large and clean. I saw some peoples reviews mention the fact you can't open the bedroom windows. We did receive a room where the windows didn't open well but luckily we didn't need to open them because the room was large enough to not get too hot, from the outside we did notice that they're in the process of putting in double glazed windows that do open. The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful. We did not end up eating our breakfast at the hotel and I found the room to be too hot to sit and eat in and there was limited cold breakfasts available by the time we went down to eat. It would have been nice to have a wider variety of continental breakfasts other than youghurt (which there was little left of) and cereal as I'm lactose intolerant. There seemed to be a better variety of hot breakfast food but as I said the room was too hot to sit and eat these.
Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to use the other facilities such as the gym or pools. I did like knowing there were available for me to use as many of the hotels are standard bed and breakfasts. Considering this was one of the cheaper hotels I could find I was amazed for the quality for money. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

Reviewed by
amie d

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next