No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 185 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
It was a very pleasing experience all aspects were excellent and we had no reason for a complaint what so ever and will be recommending to all our friends

Reviewed by
David Perry

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nia visit
Enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone good value for money

Reviewed by
D Williams

From Ebbw Vale, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay
We stayed 5 nights and had a large double room which was clean and comfortable. I also used the leisure facility. It is within walking distance of the main centre.
We would stay again and recommend the Wessex Hotel.

Reviewed by
K Lewis

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good stay at the Wessex, it was what I expected for the money and good food.
The room was large a clean, very comfortable with everything that you would need for a short stay. The staff were all very helpful. Not the most modern hotel but it seemed well looked after and had some character. I would stay again. No complaints at all.

Reviewed by
Oliver J

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half Term treat at the Wessex
A short break at the Wessex was a a lovely tonic. The room was large enough for one person and the bathroom was enormous. The wifi worked well and I was particularly impressed by the politeness of the staff. The hotel does have a slightly old fashioned feel but it is well situated for the centre of Bournemouth. The pool was lovely to swim in.
A most enjoyable place to stay!

Reviewed by
gary i

From sidcup, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Few days away without the kids
A very good offer through LateRooms.com made this a tremendous value for money break.
The hotel is long established and although some may say its decoration is a bit dated, we felt that it was still on the whole well decorated with large spacious and airy public rooms. easy to enjoy a coffee or bar meal there.
Breakfast has a good choice although some parts of the restaurant were a little too warm.
Will certainly visit again especially if there is such a good deal being offered.

Reviewed by
DAVID W

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room looked tired in decoration and was quite small for a double room it was tight to move around one side of bed

Reviewed by
G ALLISON

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
We enjoyed are stay very much.The staff were accommodating and pleasant.The room was a little tired but clean.We felt we had value for money.

Reviewed by
ann harrison

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three night late booking
Only standard room available as hotel was full. Very ordinary room at back and top of hotel but warm and adequate with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. Good towels. One very 'stroppy could not be really bothered' receptionist when asked about dining arrangements but second one friendly with a smile receptionist who was perfectly accommodating. Excellent Italian restaurant on lower ground floor which made up for basic bedroom accommodation. Breakfast adequate for three star hotel but: mixed fresh fruit salad quantity insufficient for number of guests and bowl continually empty. No boiled eggs/porridge available and limited cereals. Hotel badly in need of refurbishment and redecoration in corridors, stairs and lifts.

Reviewed by
John Shinton

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service very friendly staff and very helpful at all times. Rooms was good though I do feel the hotel needs refurbishing but this would not deter me from staying there again. Excellent position in Bournemouth. Swimming pool, gym and spa very good. Ample parking at all times which is an added bonus in Bournemouth. Food is very good no complaints at all. Will definitely go there again.

Reviewed by
J Law

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next