Wessex Hotel

3

11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU

Price From 75.20 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (197)

65% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • PAULA B

  • October 2014

Weekend in Bournemouth

We thought that the hotel looked very appealing from the outside and there was plenty of parking space.

Inside, the hotel was in urgent need of refurbishment. Our bedroom, in particular, looked very "tired". The wallpaper and curtains looked like something from the 1960s and the bathroom, although large, looked very shabby. We were given a very warm welcome by the receptionist and restaurant staff were also friendly. The breakfast was very good, although we did not like the idea of having to get our coffee and tea from a machine. A long queue formed at the machine and we almost gave up. We much prefer having coffee and tea brought to the table freshly made. We thought that the hotel was expensive and as I had difficulties finding a hotel with a vacancy for the weekend we wanted, I wonder if the high price was due to the fact that Bournemouth was swarming with people for the Marathon and half-Marathon. It was an easy 5-10 minute walk from the hotel to Bournemouth Pier.

  • J Taylor

  • October 2014

Super hotel.

An enjoyable stay!

  • Karen N

  • October 2014

Would stay again

Character hotel.

Great deal on accommodation. Convenient for sea and buses. When radiator in my room would not work, the manager said 'sorry' and upgraded room to premier wing. I was impressed. Gym and pool small, but functional. Could do with a spin dryer for wet swimwear.

  • Richard Mitcherson

  • October 2014

Great Value for Money will return

  • N Wood

  • October 2014

One Night Only

What a Grand Hotel this would have been in its day.

Lovely spacious high ceilinged rooms were let down by 1. requiring a complete re-decoration/refurb 2. lights not working 3. double glazed windows that have gaps (not good when you are right next to a busy road and don't sleep with noise). 4. Having to move rooms at 10.45 due to someone upstairs blasting their TV out so loud that we had to complain. A wonderful breakfast in the morning made up for the negatives.

  • K Allen

  • October 2014

evening meal

Much larger than expected and very nice

  • david e

  • October 2014

over rated

would not stay there again

  • S Kent

  • September 2014

Lovely stay

Was certainly worth the money I paid

  • David H

  • September 2014

Friendly

Although this hotel is a little tired decoration wise the staff and food fully made up for this.

Great stay.

  • James Jenner

  • September 2014

A welcome break

Our two night stay at the Wessex was very enjoyable.

On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded, the room was both very comfortable and spacious. On our first night our sleep was disturbed because we were too warm in bed, due to a winter duvet and the unseasonal warmth in the weather. On enquiring at reception next morning for lighter bedding a call was made to housekeeping and all was arranged, a much better second night. We were very impressed with the hotel service, the curtisy of the staff and the general comfort of the hotel. We would most certainly re visit and would recommend The Wessex to our friends.