No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD , Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 163 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but not that good
Happy with the room once we made a fuss and got moved from the broom closet overlooking a moldy old roof. Second room was nice and inc a fridge. I would have given a rave review if they had not tried to stick me with the worst room in the place. @£109 per night it was disgusting.

Reviewed by
A Fleming

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

jodel51
While there was no problem with the accommodation or the quality of the food, I found the breakfast a different matter. The food was fine and the general experience OK I found the arrangement for the beverages, toast area in general to be too cramped. This could a have resulted in accidents with hot beverages. Also during a very busy weekend I found there were too few staff and when I was ready to eat there was a wait first for plates then for items from the hot breakfast range.

Reviewed by
J Delieu

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General Comments
Our first room was adequate, but on switching on the telly we did not receive a good reception and it kept freezing. On going to reception and asking if there was a problem we received the response of 'I don't know, you tell me' (we think it was from the manager on duty). Eventually he said he would look at it. We left it and went to eat in the restaurant. On being shown our table we went to have a glass of water and found the glass dirty and covered in red wine, We requested a orange and lemonade which arrived with black bits floating in. The service and food was good. On returning to reception we asked the outcome and were told that there was a problem with the telly in our room and the one above. We requested t be moved and were given another room which was of better quality than the original. Overall the staff were pleasant and helpful apart from the few which spoiled the stay with their attitude.

Reviewed by
S Lintott

From Midhurst, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty shabby and dated rooms

Reviewed by
Brian C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
Ian Treagus

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable stay

Reviewed by
K Brimble

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spring relaxation weekend
Staff were very helpful and efficient. Our stay was comfortable. A nice clean Hotel, plenty of free car parking spaces. It was in a location that we could leave the car in their car park once there and take leisurely stroles to the sea front, pier, gardens and Bournemouth shopping centre.

Reviewed by
Marion H

From Reigate, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Hot food didn't taste of anything

Reviewed by
C Walker

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception area very nice, hotel was clean but very tired, our room was on the top floor, no running colld water in the sink. Shower was on mixer taps, after spending a while to get the temperature right, the shower would just cut off. Didn't have enough water to clean our teeth, had to use bottled water. Breakfast was tasteless. Staff were very pleasant.

Reviewed by
D Groves

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only stayed one night.room,bathroom etc no problems and the price we paid ,couldnt expect 5 star
hotel could do with a touch of paint etc starting to look dated.we chose it for closeness to BIC and it was perfect 10min walk
would definately use it again

Reviewed by
MALCOLM G

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next