No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 186 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Reception - tired dated rooms
Reception staff was friendly and efficient entrance to hotel and parking good. Room was really poor, bedding cover was thread bare - carpets the same.Toiletries in bathroom half used all very univiting wall aper was marked with dirt and socket on wall was damaged- shame as the rooms and communial corridors let down the entrance and good job the staff tried to do.

Reviewed by
L Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant & Comfortable
Good Bournemouth hotel close to the town and seafront

Reviewed by
David S

From Markfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of some TLC
This hotel definitely has seen better days,the room was ok :But very dated in need of a revamp !

Reviewed by
Tony R

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully Proportioned and Decorated Room - One issue which was kindly sorted by the manager.
Lovely character building with delightful rooms. Generally extremely helpful and polite staff who chilled the Champagne I had brought with me, we're helpful and cheerful.
However - There was no hot water at going out time Thursday evening and a staff member sent on a wild goose chase to the leisure facility shower which also had no water, the girl was extremely rude and shrugged when I commented that it was like camping, traipsing around with clothes, towels, toiletries and now late! Staff should have informed guests of the water issues that affected a few rooms and checked before redirecting visitors, basic and simple - rudeness is never an option! However a chat with the manager had me moved to another good sized room in my absence with hot water for an important morning. Other than that a lovely stay - hope the plumbing is sorted and the girl retrained.

Reviewed by
Lydia W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Change Hotels
Room was shabby and tired and smelt, found Hotel along the road and stayed there.

Reviewed by
Tim Cooke

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable 3 nights at the Wessex hotel . Some parts of the hotel are in need of some refurbishment especially the leisure club area , but we still enjoyed the facilities every day. The outdoor pool area is an excellent sun bathing area, but getting a drink to enjoy by the pool is a bit of a mission . The breakfast buffet was good with a good variety of full English as well as fruit, cereal, toast or ham and cheese or porridge on request, and the dinner we had there was excellent.

Reviewed by
elaine e

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most enjoyable stay
A well situated hotel just across the road and along a short path to the East a Cliff. A short walk to the town centre and ready available buses to all the local areas.
We were given a large front room with bay window with table and chairs.the weather was very good so we spent most of the day by the pools (outdoor and indoor) there is also a steam room and sauna. Food can also be ordered here,so we had a real chill out time which was just what was needed.breakfast was included, and we decided to stay in the hotel for our evening meal to avoid searching around nearby restaurants. We visit Bournemouth regularly as family live here and we will certainly try to book this hotel for future visits.

Reviewed by
Lorna H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend break
Staff polite, helpful and friendly, especially Stephanie! Very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
mohsen tahermoosavi

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing breakfast
Breakfast disappointingly ordinary - self service buffet which included either rubber fried eggs or inedible scrambled egg & the worst sausages I've had the displeasure to eat. My reason for my disappointment was because we had eaten in the same restaurant in the evening when the food was then excellent.

Reviewed by
Chris Bollen

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and 5 minutes walk into Bournemouth and across from the beach paths. Also the right side of town to explore Purbeck and Jurassic coast. Whilst the property is looking dated we still found it to be comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and polite and the breakfast was good plus also the bar meals. We booked a very late deal and therefore it was inexpensive and a good value for money. We didnt experience the leisure centre but it looked inviting.

Reviewed by
J Monk

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next