No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD , Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 183 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most enjoyable stay
A well situated hotel just across the road and along a short path to the East a Cliff. A short walk to the town centre and ready available buses to all the local areas.
We were given a large front room with bay window with table and chairs.the weather was very good so we spent most of the day by the pools (outdoor and indoor) there is also a steam room and sauna. Food can also be ordered here,so we had a real chill out time which was just what was needed.breakfast was included, and we decided to stay in the hotel for our evening meal to avoid searching around nearby restaurants. We visit Bournemouth regularly as family live here and we will certainly try to book this hotel for future visits.

Reviewed by
Lorna H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend break
Staff polite, helpful and friendly, especially Stephanie! Very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
mohsen tahermoosavi

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing breakfast
Breakfast disappointingly ordinary - self service buffet which included either rubber fried eggs or inedible scrambled egg & the worst sausages I've had the displeasure to eat. My reason for my disappointment was because we had eaten in the same restaurant in the evening when the food was then excellent.

Reviewed by
Chris Bollen

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Rooms at Wessex Hotel
Very good accommodation. Excellent facilities.

Reviewed by
B POWELL

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and 5 minutes walk into Bournemouth and across from the beach paths. Also the right side of town to explore Purbeck and Jurassic coast. Whilst the property is looking dated we still found it to be comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and polite and the breakfast was good plus also the bar meals. We booked a very late deal and therefore it was inexpensive and a good value for money. We didnt experience the leisure centre but it looked inviting.

Reviewed by
J Monk

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Clean but tired - bed ok but strangely higher at the foot end than the head. Shower ran cold when switched from the mixer tap to the shower head.
Free parking and wifi available.

Reviewed by
Lesley D

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was lovely and big!
However, we paid £80 for a double room on an offer. Normally a lot more

Reviewed by
Gemma W

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary break
We were greeted with an upgrade, the reception area is very welcoming, do not be put off by the faded exterior. The staff are very willing and made our stay very pleasant. Dining was very good as was breakfast, we would gladly stay here again, thank you for a lovely break.

Reviewed by
S Flack

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very pleasant stay and would use the hotel again in the future

Reviewed by
Glynis Allison

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Helpful and Nice Surprise!
We have visited this hotel many times and staff were great as usual. On arrival I had a problem with our room ,due to lack of a view ( Rear Room) I asked the receptionist kindly if we could have a room with a slightly better view then a plastic white roof ! We were given another room without any major hassle which in turn made our two day trip into a very enjoyable experience indeed. What ever you do don't miss the breakfast which if of the highest standard. We will be visiting again soon in the summer.

Reviewed by
p sutton

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next