No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD, Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 192 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and dated and staff with no interest
As per the title ,old and dated and very unhelpful staff,there because they've got to be rather than enjoying the job

Reviewed by
J Brierley

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel perfect for my stay
I booked the hotel was good price I was working nights so it worked out great for me .i booked the hotel turned up and they couldnt find the booking but soon fixed it no problem and also upgraded my room for the trouble overall great time

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stay in hotels on a regular basis usually near the coast and I have to say that this is one of the easiest places to stay in terms of no hassle, very cheap, good facilities and of course location. Stayed here before and will definitely stay again.
Parking is great, no stress of having to move the car even after check out and no stress of being blocked in too.
Sauna, steam, gym and swimming all included as well as a fabulous buffet breakfast which is actually very good.
Affordable nice break in a great part of the world...

Reviewed by
Rocky P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wessex Hotel
We got this as a deal, it was very good value indeed. It is an old fashioned type hotel so the room was big, with room for double bed, table and chairs and room to move around. The bathroom was big with a large sized bath. The room had high ceilings and large bay windows.
We used the swimming pool and sauna. Both were clean. The swimming pool would be ideal for children as is not too deep and has somewhere to sit in the middle. It is round and so not great for people who want to swim lengths.
The breakfast was good quality, not congealed, plenty of choice of cereal, fruit, toast and english.
The hotle is a short walk down to the beach and then to the pier.
The only downside was that there didn't seem to be anywhere to go out unless you wanted a restaurant (which we didn't). There were a couple of restaurants in walking distance that looked good and there is an Italian attached to the hotel.
It is a bit run down in places but it is clean.
Staff were all helpful and professional.

Reviewed by
Rebecca V

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
We had a very pleasant stay which was only one night, free and flexible car parking was a bonus, allowing us to keep our car there even after we had checked out. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice and was nice, hot and fresh. Staff were nice and helpful. We had a huge room which was comfortable and clean but the downside was it was very dated, furniture was a bit shabby and the wallpaper peeling off in places. It just needs a bit of modernising but as I said, it was comfortable and clean which was the most important thing!

Reviewed by
Jane D

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant staff
Helpful staff. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Suzanne N

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My only fault that they didnt have snacks such as nuts or crisps for sale since hotel takeover in November

Reviewed by
j parry

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year Break
We stayed for 4 nights over the new year. The staff were friendly and the room and food were very good. We would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Dudley

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Hotel was very nice, staff were helpful and room was comfortable.
My only complaint would be that the swimming pool was very cold and the sauna was not working, so our spa break wasn't as good as it should have been and not as good as others I've had.

Reviewed by
Jane Jarman

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do Not Stay Here
We booked this hotel to relax in the facilities after Christmas shopping. We stayed on Tuesday 9th December, booking through Late Rooms.
On arrival we were given Room 340, furthest away on the Eastern corner of the Hotel. Once past the reception, and the restaurant, the rest of the Hotel was very, very shabby and was probably last decorated in the days of Basil Fawlty. The room itself was not too bad, Bathroom again a bit shabby, but it was very cold, heating hadn't come on and so on phoning Reception a convector heater was delivered, so good response and service by the friendly staff. I did note during the stay that every member of staff was Eastern European, not a problem in that they were very nice and efficient, but perhaps indicative of the Hotel policy in terms of employing people on the lowest rates possible.
We then went to use the pool and facilities. Changing rooms very worn out, poor condition, only 1 locker in the male changing room with a lock fitted.
Pool area was in a very poor condition. Roof tiles missing, pool tiles missing, paint peeling from walls, and the water was not warm, certainly not warm enough to relax in for long. It felt like a shabby outdoor lido which has been open to the elements (i.e. the Atlantic coast). We then went to use the Sauna, but this was out of order. The good news was that the Steam room was working. After this, we decided to shower and go back to the room - changing room showers were luke-warm. Back at the room, I had to lay a coat in front of the room door to seal the gap and stop the draft. Note, I could get my hand under the door, and this was a fire door fitted with an intumescent strip to prevent smoke. Luckily for us there was no fire,
After a night of broken sleep (flat roof, either rodents, gulls or squirrels, not sure which, but these were not quiet, not the Hotel's fault), I tried to have a shower. Very little water pressure from the shower nozzle, i.e. a dribble. It was not possible to shower properly. After drying I realised that the shower nozzle pipe was too long for the gap and was kinked.
Very fed up by this time. Complained to the duty manager, but this was a lost cause. In fact the only good thing was breakfast which was reasonable.
I have stayed in 'Russian' Hotels in Poland before with better facilities than this hotel. I would not stay at this hotel again, nor any others in the chain - be warned.
I have photos of the shower and the door, so am not making this up.
Alec

Reviewed by
a vincent

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next