No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wessex Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11-13 WEST CLIFF ROAD , Bournemouth, BH2 5EU
The Wessex Hotel is situated in its own grounds on the prestigious West Cliff of Bournemouth and is only five minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre and the award-winning blue flag beaches.

The modern spacious lounge, bar and reception areas provide the ideal place to relax and unwind, complemented by the Lulworth Restaurant offering an appetizing dinner menu and extensive wine list. The hotel has 109 en-suite bedrooms including standard and premier rooms. The Wessex is a great choice for families with family bedrooms along with twenty four premier rooms that accommodate up to two adults and two children. Free Wifi available.

The leisure club boasts both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room and a fully equipped gymnasium. Additional facilities include a full sized snooker table and a large free car park for up to 160 cars.

The attractive seaside town of Bournemouth has so much to offer - golden sandy beaches, great shopping and a wide range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The beautiful New Forest and spectacular Jurassic Coast both make for great days out with plenty to see and do for all ages! Please be advised that the hotel does not accept single sex parties.
Picture of Wessex Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 156 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Before booking this hotel I read a lot of reviews. Yes the rooms need a little updating but you only have to look at pictures of the hotel to know this. Over all the room was lovely. The bed was really comfortable and they'd provided us with a summer duvet that wasn't too thick in the heat. Both the bedroom and bathroom were large and clean. I saw some peoples reviews mention the fact you can't open the bedroom windows. We did receive a room where the windows didn't open well but luckily we didn't need to open them because the room was large enough to not get too hot, from the outside we did notice that they're in the process of putting in double glazed windows that do open. The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful. We did not end up eating our breakfast at the hotel and I found the room to be too hot to sit and eat in and there was limited cold breakfasts available by the time we went down to eat. It would have been nice to have a wider variety of continental breakfasts other than youghurt (which there was little left of) and cereal as I'm lactose intolerant. There seemed to be a better variety of hot breakfast food but as I said the room was too hot to sit and eat these.
Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to use the other facilities such as the gym or pools. I did like knowing there were available for me to use as many of the hotels are standard bed and breakfasts. Considering this was one of the cheaper hotels I could find I was amazed for the quality for money. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

Reviewed by
amie d

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money in good location
For the money we paid (£71.50 double room with breakfast) it was a great stay to suit our budget. It is a shame that the hotel is being left to decay in parts (the corridor leading to the leisure suite being the worst) but the things that mattered were fine. The swimming pools were not spa standard but nice to have; the location is really good - two minutes to the cliff top above the beach; there was no noise from other guests despite the large number of language students milling about. We stayed mid-week so I'm not sure what it is like at the weekend. There was plenty of breakfast.
The hotel could be glorious if the management invested in improving the facade and decor.

Reviewed by
Maria R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Reception - tired dated rooms
Reception staff was friendly and efficient entrance to hotel and parking good. Room was really poor, bedding cover was thread bare - carpets the same.Toiletries in bathroom half used all very univiting wall aper was marked with dirt and socket on wall was damaged- shame as the rooms and communial corridors let down the entrance and good job the staff tried to do.

Reviewed by
L Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant & Comfortable
Good Bournemouth hotel close to the town and seafront

Reviewed by
David S

From Markfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of some TLC
This hotel definitely has seen better days,the room was ok :But very dated in need of a revamp !

Reviewed by
Tony R

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully Proportioned and Decorated Room - One issue which was kindly sorted by the manager.
Lovely character building with delightful rooms. Generally extremely helpful and polite staff who chilled the Champagne I had brought with me, we're helpful and cheerful.
However - There was no hot water at going out time Thursday evening and a staff member sent on a wild goose chase to the leisure facility shower which also had no water, the girl was extremely rude and shrugged when I commented that it was like camping, traipsing around with clothes, towels, toiletries and now late! Staff should have informed guests of the water issues that affected a few rooms and checked before redirecting visitors, basic and simple - rudeness is never an option! However a chat with the manager had me moved to another good sized room in my absence with hot water for an important morning. Other than that a lovely stay - hope the plumbing is sorted and the girl retrained.

Reviewed by
Lydia W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Change Hotels
Room was shabby and tired and smelt, found Hotel along the road and stayed there.

Reviewed by
Tim Cooke

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable 3 nights at the Wessex hotel . Some parts of the hotel are in need of some refurbishment especially the leisure club area , but we still enjoyed the facilities every day. The outdoor pool area is an excellent sun bathing area, but getting a drink to enjoy by the pool is a bit of a mission . The breakfast buffet was good with a good variety of full English as well as fruit, cereal, toast or ham and cheese or porridge on request, and the dinner we had there was excellent.

Reviewed by
elaine e

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most enjoyable stay
A well situated hotel just across the road and along a short path to the East a Cliff. A short walk to the town centre and ready available buses to all the local areas.
We were given a large front room with bay window with table and chairs.the weather was very good so we spent most of the day by the pools (outdoor and indoor) there is also a steam room and sauna. Food can also be ordered here,so we had a real chill out time which was just what was needed.breakfast was included, and we decided to stay in the hotel for our evening meal to avoid searching around nearby restaurants. We visit Bournemouth regularly as family live here and we will certainly try to book this hotel for future visits.

Reviewed by
Lorna H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend break
Staff polite, helpful and friendly, especially Stephanie! Very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
mohsen tahermoosavi

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next