Reviews - Battleborough Grange Hotel

3

BRISTOL ROAD, Brent Knoll, TA9 4HJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Philip H

  • July 2015

Good location with ample parking set back from the Motorway with lovely gardens

The Room was good with plenty of space.

There was no one on the reception on arrival and waited 15 mins before hunting around the property to find someone to check us in. A Bell on the reception desk would have helped. Breakfast was adequate but if you don't get down first then all of the 'nice pastries' have already been taken and there were not enough. No apology was offered.

  • KAY MEDDINGS

  • June 2015

Attention to detail

They have spent a lot of money , and the initial appearance of the hotel, which is on a wonderful site, is very good.

Attention to detail, though, is poor; dirty light-pulls, loo paper not put in dispenser, inadequate cleaning of shower area, light bulbs downstairs not all working,TV remote batteries were dead, and so on. As you entered the hotel a sign said " ring for attention", but though you could see where the bell had been attached to the wall, there was no bell. The picture was the same throughout.Unpainted doors,lack of attention to detail.

At breakfast ( 8.45) used tables were uncleared, there was ( just as an example) no marmalade, as it was" on order", bread was depleted by then which reduced choice, cutlery was not clean, even clean bowls had spatters of water in them, and generally it was unimpressive.

When I told the appropriate staff of the list of things that were not good, their response was hurt sulkiness, not professionalism; some of their comments were laughable ( marmalade is on order.... it will be worse tomorrow as there will only be one one... ( and of the dirty light pulls in the on suite) oh, that is housekeeping, they would not notice... In fact, they spent a lot of time telling me that i should not have said any of this to the waiter,which I had not done anyway, after he had asked me if everything was all right with the breakfast. They were just defensive, and did not deal with the issues. Whether I am a grumpy old cow is irrelevant; I was gone in two days, they still have a business to run. Without my custom. It is not expensive, but they will not get many return bookings from leisure clients, I fear.

  • R Craighead

  • May 2015

Adequate hotel

Wi-fi was poor, restaurant does not serve meals in the evening.

  • M Rogers

  • April 2015

A lovely stay

Stayed for 2 nights at the Battleborough Grange as we were attending a wedding nearby and really enjoyed our stay.

Staff were good, breakfast was great and we loved our 4 poster bed room and the local countryside. The only downside was the lack of evening meals, but the food at the nearby Fox & Goose was lovely. Will definitely return.

  • Mike M

  • March 2015

Good value for money

Great value for money - for my £50 single room price I got a king size bed.

Very pleased with my room too. Breakfast was good and included in the price. It was a very off-peak time so I must have been one of just a very small number of guests staying so staff were at a minimum but, I have to add, always very polite and attentive. One thing that I'd like to mention to the owners of the property - You have a lovely place and a lovely location but please look at the paper information signs that you have stuck up in the rooms. They make it look like a cheap B&B.

  • Sarah Oatley

  • February 2015

Excellent all round

Only stayed for one night, service was great and the room was very clean and tidy.

Would go back again soon

  • jenny burland

  • February 2015

Battleborough Grange Hotel

Brilliant value for money as on arrival I discovered that we had the four poster bed room it was excellent and a lovely large bathroom.

  • M Shaw

  • January 2015

superb

Absolutely brilliant place to stay.

very easy to find and breakfast was great. some might prefer to have the option of an evening meal within the hotel but we found it nice choosing a different place each night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Mark B

  • November 2014

Trip around Somerset

On arrival we were informed that there was no food available that night yet the website shows food daily in the braserrie Our room was adequate but we found our TV would not show any BBC channel.

We contacted the reception and was informed that the whole area was having trouble with BBC but we were shown to another room and told that it would be ok. We did not have any channel on that TV for approx 1 hour and then some of the channels came back, not BBC

In the morning we were told by a different person that the aerial was not working at the hotel and would be repaired that day.

In general the inside appearance of the hotel is ok but has need of slight repairs in the communal areas

  • D Watts

  • October 2014

Not what we expected at booking.

We were very disappointed to be told on arrival that they had finished serving meals in the evenings a month prior to our arrival.

If we wanted to eat then we could go to another establishment nearby or have sandwiches in the bar, looking at the traffic we decided the latter. Not the sort of welcome we expected.