Reviews - The Three Tuns - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel


54 Market Place, Thirsk, YO71LH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (111)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Young

  • October 2015


Parking was costly

  • C Tate

  • September 2015

Radiator in the bathroom was hanging off the wall. Bathrooms need modernising.

In the bathroom there was a flowery bason and the shower was very difficult to turn off.

The room was very hot too.

  • Helen B

  • September 2015

Very impressed, would stay again

Stayed for 1 night for a trip to Lightwater Valley, reception staff friendly enough, we arrived 30 minutes before check in but as our room was ready we were allowed to check in.

Room was very clean and spacious, very impressed with child's bedroom with her own TV. Bathroom was very nice with plenty towels. Our room was just over the bar area but we heard no noise from downstairs what so ever.

We ate in the pub below for tea and breakfast the next morning, both meals were good Wetherspoons food. Thanks for a pleasant stay :)

  • Gill K

  • August 2015

Booked not realising a Wetherspoons

We needed to be in Thirsk for a 60th party and this Hotel was the one with a room.

Was pleasantly surprised, think Wetherspoon Do much better than people realise. The breakfast I had - Eggs Benedict - was very nice and exceptional value and hubby happy with his traditional breakfast. Just ate breakfast there.


  • August 2015


Huge room with the comfiest bed, duvet and pillows ever!.

Thick curtains to keep out the light and the whole room was spotlessly clean. Fantastic value for money and would definitely book here again without hesitation.

  • Ian T

  • July 2015

Great Stay

Another great stay at this hotel.

We will be back.

  • Jane P

  • July 2015

Room 13

This room is very smelly.

Musty. Damp. Drains. The staff must be aware of this as must management. Until the problem is sorted it really shouldn't be used as guest accommodation.

  • K Duncan

  • June 2015

A very warm welcome

I moved from Thirsk under a year ago and I knew the hotel well.

The staff were so very accommodating as I was arriving late with a sleeping 3 yr old. They let me get him settled before checking in in full. The staff are amazingly friendly, the food was excellent as always. Nothing was too much trouble. Be warned, there was no phone to reception and no room service which was nice to force you out of a hotel room, but a bit lonely when you are on your own with a little one and you need some dinner.

  • Shaun Irving

  • June 2015

Fab Hotel

Fab hotel, with fantastic staff, especially the bar staff.

Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Chris G

  • June 2015


Its not unfair to say that generally, with Wetherspoons you get what you pay for.

However, for the product and service I received you could easily pay double the sub £50 I did. Friendly staff, comfortable room and the food is cheap, plentiful and excellent.