No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Three Tuns - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
54 Market Place , Thirsk, YO71LH
A Wetherspoon pub and Lodge situated in the market square in the historic town of Thirsk. Ideally place between the North Yorkshire Moors and the Yorkshire Dales in the heart of 'herriot country'. Attractions include Thirsk Races and the Herriot Museum and many other historical landmarks.

The Three Tuns was originally an old coaching Inn and was newly refurbished in November 2008.

"The weekly markets are held on a Monday and Saturday on the Market Square in front of the Three Tuns and begin setting up their stalls very early in the morning. Please also note the bar is open until 1 am on a Friday and Saturday night and so we recommend requesting a room at the back of the hotel if you feel your sleep may be disrupted.
The Three Tuns is a grade II listed building and, due to the preservation of internal features, we only have a lift to the first floor. Room 7 is fully accessible by this lift and includes a wet room shower. All other rooms can only be accessed by navigating multiple stair-cases."
Picture of The Three Tuns - a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay!
Great stay at the Three Tuns Hotel. Receptionist couldn't of been more helpful and staff in general were very plesent. Food as to be expected from a Weatherspoons Pub/Hotel is cheap and cheerful. Good breakfast however, sausages are not nice. Other than that slight winge, we had an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Adrian S

From Jarrow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Right in the town square with car parking for guest. Staff.food.ales accomodation.excellent. Stayed here before. Will be back again. Speaks for itself.

Reviewed by
alan r

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
Excellent position, value for money and the staff are excellent would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
A Pearman

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nobody on reception when we arrived. When after 3 or 4 minutes somebody came she was cold, disinterested and made little effort at a positive greeting. We were 10 minutes early for check in but was surprised that the room was not ready by 1.50 pm. Told we would have to wait but not invited through to the bar or given anywhere to wait so went back out to the car.
Very little hotel parking space at the back and surprised that they do not have any arrangement with the local council to allow free parking at the front.

Reviewed by
A Armstrong

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great room.great beer. great food

Reviewed by
andrew s

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I must admit I was surprised how easy it was to book every one I spoke to were all very helpful I woul defiantly recommend people friends to book with late rooms.

Reviewed by
Colin Clarke

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisy
twin room adapted for disabled needs. Supposedly quiet - at rear of hotel. However next to room containing boiler which fired up noisily throughout the night. Corridor floorboards very creaky hence anyone walking past was unbelievably noisy! Whatever time of night/early morning.However, beds were extremely comfortable.

Reviewed by
Ann Holliday

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three tuns hotel reviews
I can't express enough the value for money and the outstanding service we were given , the staff are really nice and friendly. I would/will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
darren Sellers

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night out in Thirsk
A historic old inn int the corner of Thirsk market place. Plenty of space in the bar for a meeting of old friends. Plenty of other watering holes, and restaurants round and about. It was very busy, but there was still plenty of space and time to relax and the standard of service was spot on as we become accustomed to from Weatherspoons.
Only problem I found was the internet wasn't working when I arrived, but there was plenty of alternatives in the square. It was working in the morning when I left.

Reviewed by
Henry T

From Lairg, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive one night stay in Thirsk
Duty manager was excellent, welcoming and helpful without being intrusive.
Rooms clean and well decorated.
Food not included in price of room but still good value.
Ate evening meal and breakfast in the pub, excellent value and quality.
Stayed on a Weds night, pub is open quite late but no noise heard from either of the rooms we had booked.

Reviewed by
janis handscombe

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next