No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Greystones

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Acres Road Ardbroilach Road, Kingussie, PH21 1LA
Set in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, with the Cairngorm and Monadhliath mountains on its doorstep, you can't help but enjoy the home comforts of Greystones.

You will have a peaceful night in your single, double or twin room, followed by days spent at your own pace. Have a delicious meal in one of the local restaurants and later relax by the open fire in the guest’s private sitting room. Breakfast choice available when booking.
Picture of Greystones, Kingussie at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
A warm friendly welcome after a long drive. An interesting old house with lots to see.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a beautiful and lovely place to stay!
when my wife and I first arrived at Greystones we were greeted and welcomed very warmly to the hotel; we were shown all of the rooms and services that could be provided plus all the activities that we could take part in during our stay and we felt really welcomed and comfortable here.Anne and Mark are both lovely hosts and very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Martin hazle

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and homely
Great stay with lovely hospitality.

Reviewed by
Jennifer V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm friendly welcome, an old house but a very high standard of comfort and cleanliness. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
James M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Monarch of the glen
A real gem. Great welcome, made to feel you were staying at someone's home. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Stuart Knight

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kingussie b&b
A friendly greeting on arrival, the room was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. My only concerns are the separate shared bathrooms, whilst again clean and tidy, was a drawback for me personally. The breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
S Sinclair

From Kirkwall, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Highland B&B
I stayed for 5 nights on a fishing and walking break and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Greystones is a beautiful old house in a peaceful area of Kingussie. Anne and Mark provide what old fashioned highland hospitality should be - comfortable and relaxing surroundings, a great choice of breakfast foods and plenty of useful advice.
My single bed provided for a very sound nights sleep and the guest lounge is full of useful reading material for the visitor to the area.
I would highly recommend Greystones if you are looking for accomodation in the area.

Reviewed by
Malcolm S

From Gullane, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 2013
My wife and I stayed here for 1 night as the third night of a 15 night tour of Scotland.
Comments for customers:-
The hotel is about 5 to 10 minute walk from the centre of Kingussie, hich is a small town on the road to Aviemore in the Cairn Gorm mountain range.
The house Greystones is set in its own grounds, so there is ample parking available.
The owner/staff were very nice and friendly and happy to talk about the wildlife etc. in and around he surrounding area.
We hadn’t realised until we got there that Greystones had been used as a filing location for the TV series Monarch of the Glen.
The guest lounge and indeed the rest of the property has a real homely feel to it and the personal artefacts which adorn the property add to that feeling.
The lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge and TV all for the exclusive use by the guests.
We had the four poster bedroom which was next to both bathrooms.
Don’t let the lack of en suite put you off staying here.

There is a Bar/Restaurant next to the railway station that Anne & Mark recommended to us called the Silverfjord where we had an excellent meal.

Breakfast - Full English/Scottish was very good, fresh eggs from their own hens, watching the red squirrel running around the trees in the garden.
Comment for the owner : -
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; you may want to consider having tea making facilities in the rooms as well as a TV. Other than that, just keep doing what you are doing.
Summary: -
This place is ideal for both stop overs or longer. Situated in the National Park, this could be used as a base for exploring the surrounding area as well as a romantic getaway.

Reviewed by
John R

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very pleasant overnight stay at the greystones, warm and welcoming we will pay the greystones a vist the next time we are in the area

Reviewed by
Crawford Paterson

From Bothwell, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a country stay
Overnighted here on a trip through the highlands, couldn't ask for more and I much prefer places like this to modern hotels or hostels at comparable prices!

Reviewed by
Andrew N

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next