No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Inn

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Westbury, , , Sherborne, DT9 3EH
The Britannia Inn Hotel is an 18th century building that was originally a school house for girls which opened in 1743 and was funded by the then Lord Digby. A character structure, this is located all but a stones throw from Sherborne Abbey and only a five minute walk from the train station. There are other local attractions found in this historic town such as Sherborne House, the home of Lord Digby, Sherborne Castle, former home of Sir Walter Raleigh as well as many which are within an hours journey such as Shaftesbury, the Cerne Abbas Giant, Dorchester and Shepton Mallet. Wincanton Racecourse is just half an hour away and we can arrange transport for you should you wish to make a day of it and spend your winnings on a celebratory drink or two! We offer a choice of rooms, double, family, twin and single and provide an extensive breakfast menu to set you up for the day ahead. After your day you can relax with a drink from our choice of award winning real ales, fine wines and soft drinks and enjoy some excellent Thai food in our very popular restaurant which is served seven days a week. We are able to provide off road parking, free wireless internet access and all rooms have freeview TV's plus tea and coffee making facilities
Picture of Britannia Inn, Sherborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, Friendly,Clean
Really friendly landlord. Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
john k

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Landlord very friendly and welcoming. Accomodation needs refurbishment. Very old and tired. No evening meal availability when after a long journey you don't want to go and look for somewhere to eat in a place you have never been before. Landlord did advise of places to eat. For the price I think it should include breakfast not having to pay extra!

Reviewed by
C Hunter

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel
.

Reviewed by
D Stokes

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated and comfortable pub bed and breakfast
Ideally situated less than 5 mins walk to centre of Sherbourne shops and restaurants and the beautiful abbey. Large comfortable room with en suite and huge TV. Excellent tea/ coffee making facilities. Breakfast was perfect- good selection and the cooked full English was excellent. Our host was friendly and informative. Really good value for money. Only one negative was the car parking- a nightmare!!

Reviewed by
Claire C

From Ashtead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A traditional inn with comfortable rooms in the heart of Sherborne
My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in order to attend the Behind The Castle folk festival. The Britannia Inn is very convenient for Sherborne and the surrounding Dorset countryside. The landlord James gave us a warm welcome and attentive service throughout.
The inn currently (June 2014) lacks evening meals but there are plans for a Nepalese restaurant. Judging by the excellent breakfast we had we would expect the restaurant to offer high quality and good value.
The room we had felt that it could benefit from a little TLC but it was generally clean and comfortable. The chimes from the abbey are audible but we found them soothing. All in all it was a quaint and quintessentially Dorset experience. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Nigel A

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Inn Sherborne
I stayed for 2 nights and loved it. The Inn was very old and quaint so a real Somerset experience. The room as was the whole place was spotless and the bed very comfortable. I shared a bathroom which was ok because it was clean and this was reflected in the very reasonable price.
As a lone female I felt very happy to sit in the bar of an evening because the locals were very welcoming and friendly. The landlord also as well as being a true gent, whether it was carrying my case, making me a veggie breakfast when I had booked room only, welcoming me in the bar and introducing me to the locals. He couldn't have done more to make my stay so thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. Thanks James.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quaint country pub
A quaint country pub where you can easily get to know the regulars. Ideal location for all the attractions of Sherborne.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

britania inn
We enjoyed our stay and the locals made us very welcome enjoyed the bar and the room was very clean and comfotable.

Reviewed by
r conlon

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good old fashioned hospitality
Very obliging staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. I was made to feel part of the family and enjoyed the Real Ales as much as the wonderful breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian Thomas

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Enjoyed our stay. Very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
l williams

From Henfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next