No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MacKenzies Highland Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
125 Grampian Road, , , Aviemore, PH22 1RL
Mackenzies Highland Inn offers the perfect base for your cairngorm holiday. We have 8 cosy rooms to relax in after a long day on the ski hill or conquering a munro. All our rooms are ensuite and breakfast always included. The bar will be at your becon call. Offering some of the best scottish liquid refreshment there is. Beers, cask ales, and cidre all sourced from scotland as well as a extensive selection of forign muck. We also offer fantastic homecooked food served all day with several promotional nights. We also offer an eclectic mix of live entertainment including live bands from all over scotland & aviemore's only karaoke night We offer ample parking space and aviemore's only beer gardern to enjoy the highland sunshine. Book now and come join the clan.
Picture of MacKenzies Highland Inn, Aviemore at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and comfortable .accommodation and very friendly staff. great breakfast. laterooms not so good
Booked and confirmed 2 rooms through Laterooms but when we arrived only 1 room had been booked. Very friendly staff quickly sorted this error and were able to offer us the last available room.
Comfortable and clean bedrooms. Excellent cooked to order breakfast, also cereal, juice and toast available. My husband was very impressed with the range of beers/spirits available at the bar in the evening.

Reviewed by
E GREENWOOD

From Arrochar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
Booked a double room so 2 single beds were put together..the room felt damp on the walls, the carpet was filthy. The bathromm ...well where do i begin!!! There was black mould on walls and shower area ,there was no window in there and extractor fan useless..shaving mirror all rusted , leak from the toilet ,there was a fan heater in bathroom which didnt work either..the whole building needs overhauled!! Had lunch which was
mushroom soup that you couldve ate it with a fork also had baugette that wasnt fresh..the breakfast was ment to be fresh made but was only warm and the cheapest of food..overall bits rubbish..

Reviewed by
sheena o

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great stay here. The room we stayed in could do with a bit of an update, but it was fine for our needs. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was tasty and filled us up for the day - perfect start for a day of hillwalking. For the price we paid we couldn't fault it!

Reviewed by
Lynsey M

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cold room
Lack of heating, summer bedding meant a cold night's sleep. Breakfast was bizarre. A massive bowl of apples on top of porridge, served so hot it was inedible (microwaved?) at the same time as a cooked breakfast in which the bacon tasted vaguely of fish and was very dried out. Was the choice to eat up the porridge and have a cold cooked breakfast or what? Strange experience.

Reviewed by
a hardie

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second visit to McKenzies
This is our second visit to McKenzies via Laterooms. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a great weekend.

Reviewed by
Diana B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The hotel forecourt was untidy and the reception door was locked. Note on the door asking to go through the bar to get to reception. The decor is in desperate need of updating in all of the rooms we came into contact with. The window in our room was draughty. There was thick dust on the skirtings and the shower room was in a poor state. The sealing around the shower was black. The only saving grace was the waitress at dinner and the waiter at breakfast were cheerful and helpful. The waiter between serving breakfast was also cleaning the floors in the bar area.

Reviewed by
A Clark

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Given that it was the cheapest hotel in Aviemore, great location, 24/7 access to the room, on demand breakfast menu and large portions of food leaving nobody hungry. Very happy with my stay! Ideal for saving money and for sleeping exhausted after a day of mountain climbing, no good for romantic stay, enjoying long showers, spending pleasant time in the hotel or in your room.

Reviewed by
Karina Z

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel near the centre of town
Chosen for price, but excellent value for money. Staff could not be more friendly or helpful.

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Dunoon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was spacious with plenty of storage to put your belongings however the beds were extremely uncomfortable the springs were poking through the mattresses which made it very difficult to sleep. More tlc is needed with the cleaning, there was a cracked cup and no teaspoon to stir the tea/coffee.

Reviewed by
L McConnell

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very reasonable room
Bed too soft for me

Reviewed by
Bruce w

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next