No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Lodge

2Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
4 Church Hill Belbroughton, Bromsgrove, DY9 0DT
Dating from the late 16th Century the Queens Lodge is situated in Belbroughton, which is a picturesque, traditional English village.

The building has been sympathetically upgraded to provide modern facilities without compromising the charm of the listed buildings or their setting.

They are conveniently situation within walking distance of excellent country pubs and restaurants, renowned for their cuisine and capturing the essential atmosphere of English village life.

Our small boutique accommodation in Belbroughton has five en-suite bedrooms, and have been recently refurbished and tastefully decorated. All the bedrooms apart from being en-suite have modern drapes, flat screen TVs and complementary tea and coffee. Some of are suites can be used to accommodate children upon request.

Car parking is available on Churchill Road.

Picture of Queens Lodge, Bromsgrove at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location close to Belbroughton church and village hall
We found the Queens Lodge very handy when we came to Belbroughton for a wedding and stayed overnight. The accommodation was comfortable and well equipped. One tiny fault was poor lighting in the kitchen - bulbs need replacing especially over the cooker.

Reviewed by
TERRY Q

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Lovely location, pleasant accommodation. We arrived late as booked last minute and were upgraded as the owner wasn't expecting us and had let the other room. Only slight drawback was that the kitchen area hadn't been cleaned as there were used items left out, but this was possibly due to our unexpected arrival. Bedroom was clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Jane P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy
Second time we have stopped, would definitely recommend :)

Reviewed by
Emma D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
Hi room was lovely couple of things let it down rubbish bins hadn't been emptied and all you could smell was cannabis

Reviewed by
L Dufty

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a 'Formula 1' with old beams
Yes this is a lovely old building with exposed beams, but there are many reasons why this place falls short of satisfaction:
- There are no staff here; just a number to call for someone to talk you through the door code, and safety deposit box code for getting the key to your room.
- At £50 for the smallest room (Talbot), it is extraordinary that there is no breakfast.
- They claim that £50 is good value because of the lack of telly and small size of the room.
- Even with the free upgrade to a £65 room (Chequers) because of a misunderstanding of some sort, the lack of breakfast is still very poor value!
- The proprietor assured me there is a lovely café/bakery in the village, but I went there, and it doesn't open till 9am. This is no substitute for a B&B service.
- There is no wifi, and that is pretty poor in this day and age.
- The shower head in Chequers kept falling off, and would not sit upright.
- The tea and coffee selection was pretty mediocre (no speciality teas), and there were no biscuits. For the price bracket, this is a bad show.
- Given that I was the only guest in a place with 5 or 6 rooms, there's something wrong with the way this place is run. The total lack of staffing is disappointing, and the lack of breakfast means there's no way this place can claim to be good value. I have no option but to score it badly, and hopefully draw the owner's attention!

Reviewed by
chris g

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms by remote control!!!
We arrived late on a Friday evening I had been texted the codes for the front door and key safe, but as it turned out the code for key safe was incorrect, so after a phone call to the number on the text I was given the correct number (which is not in a secure place!). The room was quite small but fairly we'll appointed. The tea/coffee tray a disappointment, un sealed tea bags, very unhygienic, and poor quality coffee sachets, No Biscuits! Good nights sleep as bed comfy, but felt the lack of directions to anywhere to get breakfast lets it down. We went off for the day and when we came back we were surprised when the room had not been touched. Also no supplies of tea or coffee, so when we got up to leave on the Sunday we could not even have a hot drink! Thus is so bad! This could so easily be a lovely place to stay, but at £65 per night VASTLY overpriced, and if we has ever seen anyone (we did not, as I said it seems to be run by remote control) we would have told them. Having run hot keys myself I can say this is an easy fix, if the owners are prepared to do this!

Reviewed by
Debbie R

From Westow, York, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Lovely accommodation, well kept and private - would definitely recommend The Queens Lodge to anyone!
The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and the local area is beautiful, plenty of friendly pubs to go to.
I will most definitely be visiting again!!

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked last minute due to unavailability in Birmingham & what an unexpected treasure this was. Well worth an extra 5 minute drive. I will definitely be staying again. Lovely accomodation, clean, spacious & fantastic pub accross the road. what's not to love. Will definitely be booking in again - Much better than the usual standard business hotel box.......

Reviewed by
Sarah Dolden

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
I stayed in the "Talbot" which had a tiny bedroom but a large bathroom upstairs. The bedroom was big enough for one,but would be a crush for two people. It had a double bed but there wouldn't be much space in the room for 2 people. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable.
The front door is opened by a keypad which is difficult to see in the dark. The front door needs a light over it..

Reviewed by
LINDA S

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in September 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.