Reviews - Braeval Hotel


Crescent Road, Nairn, IV12 4NB

Price From 170.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Jenkins

  • August 2015

Braeval Hotel

Very friendly, helpful staff.

Fine selection of good ales in the bar, magnificent views over the Moray Firth from the restaurant.

  • Geoff F

  • June 2015

Very poor

Firstly I think calling the 'Braeval' a hotel is very misleading.

It's not much more than a back street pub that does accommodation. On our arrival, there was no parking, and the nearest car park was 10 minutes walk away. We were lucky and found a space on the street, thankfully. We asked about food, but the restaurant was fully booked, never had that before, where a hotel guest can't get food at the hotel where they're staying. And then we were informed that as it was a Saturday, there would be live music later. Unfortunately, my expectations of live music in a hotel was different to reality. A 5 piece rock band playing until 12.45, was what followed. Reception wouldn't answer, so we couldn't even complain. Finally by 2am all the noise stopped. The room was poor, smelt very smoky, soft bed, poor shower room, and generally tired. Breakfast wasn't much better, as we went down stairs, we were greeted by all the mess from the previous night, and quality of breakfast was poor. When we complained about the noise, we had no apology, just a 'it was a busy night and it was a rock band'!. Overall experience. terrible.

  • Alexander Brian Thomson-Bialy

  • April 2015

Welcome to Scotland

As a hotel it was faultless.

Staff were welcoming, food was excellent. Frankly it was a well-rounded family run establishment. Car parking was the only negative experience, with narrow streets.

  • Rory C

  • November 2014

Nairn Links

Friendly family run hotel.

Room clean and comfortable. Food excellent

  • Robert J

  • June 2014

A little Gem

Only stayed for the one night but was so impressed by the friendliness of everyone, the rooms were perfectly adequate and had a great view over Nairn beach.

The food was excellent- being vegetarian we were well catered for and thought the Braeval and its owners and staff were just great.

  • Thomas Niven

  • May 2014

Would use again with no hesitation.

Needed one nights accommodation in Nairn.

Checking Laterooms the Braeval appeared to fit the bill. It most certainly did - exactly what it said" on the tin". I have no hesitation recommending this hotel. Find out for yourself - but book well in advance - I would expect it to be busy.

  • Allan B

  • May 2014

Great wee hotel

I stay in a lot of hotels and the Braeval is a wee cracker.

Comfortable, clean rooms....great food and a fantastic selection of beers. Great value for money. Would recommend to anyone.

  • D McLean

  • April 2014

Great place

Very friendly staff , good food and a great choice beer.

What more could you want.

  • R MARY

  • March 2014

Nice, but room very noisy

Pros :

- Good breakfast

- Free Wifi

Cons :

- Very noisy (my room was juste above the main entrance - slamming door - and there's a bar on the ground floor)

- The light in the bathroom didn't work

- Far from Inverness

  • jim mcguill

  • February 2014

Not a bad place to stay

Staff were friendly and really nice, shower let the room down but over all a big room and comfy bed, main meal was very good as was the breakfast , good quality food, found a few not so clean bowls at breakfast.