You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn


Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG

Price From 112.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (71)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • October 2016

Great pub with modern rooms in a Victorian property

The car park out front can be tricky to park on the slope when there are customers out at the tables in the beer garden also at the front.

Otherwise perfection.

  • A Smith

  • September 2016

The Royal Oak Inn

Very pleased with the hotel.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. I was worried it would be noisy at night as our window was just above the outside drinking area of the hotel but not at all. Parking is a little tight for space but otherwise a great place to come back and visit again.

  • Sarah Bishop

  • September 2016

The Royal Oak Inn

The Royal Oak, is a lovely place too stay, the location is ideal, and the staff and food was lovely.

  • T Sharp

  • September 2016

The Royal Oak Inn

Lovely place to stay: nice room, clean and tidy, excellent staff and great atmosphere.

Car park is rather tight though.

  • Adrian Jones

  • September 2016

The stay very nice and staff very pleasant

Car park a bit tight

  • Roy S

  • September 2016

Great location, helpful staff

The location of the Royal Oak is really good just off the main street and two minutes to the waterfront.

Plenty of different eating establishments nearby for eating out if desired. Staff were always helpful with any enquiry. Would certainly stay again due to its' position in Bowness.

  • P Thomson

  • September 2016

The Royal Oak Inn

Amazing stay.

Staff were super friendly (especially Harry and James) and Breakfast was the best we have ever had in Bowness.

  • D Barry

  • September 2016

long weekend

We chose to stay here based upon location and our great memories dining/drinking here during our 2015 trip to the lakes.

Well, location is excellent being central to Bowness and the rooms were clean and the bed comfortable enough for a double. Customer service was great and we were made to feel welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. The included breakfast was better than average. And now for the not so good: 2 out of 3 nights we chose to eat at the oak based on past experiences and were left dissapointed. Have you changed chefs since 2015 or was he/she just having an "off" weekend as the food was bland and tasteless and as for the vegetable pie, a bowl of vegetables in a soup like sauce with a piece of puff pastry floating in the centre just doesn't cut it. Maybe that dishaster was a one off but the chilli burger was also worlds away from what we were served the previous year with this years effort being a plain burger with a chilli sauce on the side. Anyway on a more positive note the espresso coffee was excellent. So, in summary, nice friendly staff, great location, Ok accommodation. but sorry guys apart from breakfast your food was a bit of a disaster for us. We would stay again but probably not for multiple nights. Almost forgot, parking can be a bit of a challenge and may test some people parking abilities but can be an excellent bit of entertainment for the patrons looking on with drink in hand watching the parking show.

  • John Vince

  • August 2016

Royal Oak Bank Holiday wow !

Just spent thee days at the Royal Oak.

The staff couldn't do enough for us, couldn't fault the food or the drink and got 10% off the meals, can't go wrong. The room was very spacious with very comfortable King Size Bed and a really nice shower and to top it all we had breakfast in our room at a time that was convenient to us, up to 10.00am, very close to the shops and the water front, just a few minuets walk no need for the car. The only down side was the car park, although every one fitted on it was a little awkward getting off but hey ho other than that, thank you to everyone at the Royal Oak for a fantastic weekend.

  • Susan G

  • August 2016

Very enjoyable stay

Would highly recommend, situated in the heart of Bowness within easy reach of all amenities.

Very welcoming and food very good