No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG
The Royal Oak is a small, busy, family run Inn with a warm welcoming atmosphere for the walker, tourist and business visitor alike. Our traditional Inn is non-smoking throughout, and with no late residents bar last orders are at 11pm weekdays and 12pm weekends. We are long standing member of CAMRA with a minimum of five real ales at any one time.

Situated in the very heart of Bowness on Windermere, The Royal Oak is literally a stone's throw from the Bowness Bay piers, where you can take in the stunning views across Lake Windermere and perhaps board a steamship cruise. We are only a few minutes' walk from the many traditional craft and gift shops and only five minutes from The World of Beatrix Potter. Our Inn is proud to say it is the official finishing point of Alistair Wallace's 'The Dalesway Walk' and the starting point of his guide 'The Lake to Lake Walk'.

The Royal Oak has a variety of double rooms most en-suite with the exception of two which share a bathroom and for which bathrobes are provided. Each room has tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock, TV and a hair dryer. Free Wi-Fi connection is available. Whilst our rooms vary in size, they are, without exception, extremely comfortable and are traditionally styled with a homely feel. We are widely renowned for our kind hearted hospitality and, of course, for 'The Royal Oak Full English' breakfast! Evening meals are offered and car parking is available. All our meals are prepared from the fresh, locally sourced, ingredients. Please ring in advance with any specific dietary requirements (015394 43970).

Picture of The Royal Oak Inn, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at the Royal. Oak.
Booked for one night to break the journey on the way to Scotland. Very friendly welcome by Sarah, who informed us that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which was a lovely surprise. The room was very comfortable, massive super king bed, and large bathroom. The room was at the front overlooking the street and car park and I was a little concerned about the noise, but I needn't have worried. It was very quiet considering the location. Excellent full English breakfast was very welcome the following morning before our departure. Would definatley visit again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Lynn W

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was friendly clean and all the staff were happy to help at all times

Reviewed by
D Taylor

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel/Pub
We stayed in the Royal Oak for three nights. It was very good, especially with being a pub, as non residential people would often come in, very hospitable and friendly. The staff were always on hand to attend to your needs. Prime location near all of the resteraunts, bars, buses, harbour. One small hiccup was the room/ensuite. Very small, especially the ensuite.

Reviewed by
Keith Gibson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would definitely stop at the Royal Oak again
The Royal Oak had everything we needed for a short stay in Bowness, welcoming , ideally situated to enjoy all Bowness had to offer a nd a good base for exploring the southern lakes.

Reviewed by
John W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Just round the corner from front and getting on boat. Very friendly no problems car park a bit tight
and bathroom a bit small. Bed comfortable nice TV on the wall. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
S WOODS

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
Emma and the staff at the inn were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the double en-suite. Room was clean but didn't have a dressing table. Bed was very comfortable. Full English Breakfast was included. Good value as there is also on-site parking which was free.

Reviewed by
S Conway

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B in great Location
Great bed and breakfast, location brilliant near all the shop cafés bars and restaurants and a 3 minute walk to the lake, staff very friendly and breakfasts where lovely lady that served us was lovely, would stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Owens

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

red hot
had a great stay room very nice had supper in pub and it was spot on good sleep and a great breaky

Reviewed by
stephen parker

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not bad for the price , however
Good central location, carparking not good when the hotels full. Not good mixing contractors with tourists (they got up at 5.00 which woke us) Room was so, so ensuite was a very tight fit and the shelf above the sink not a good idea.I would suggest the owner spend the night to realise the need to upgrade certain things. Enough of the downers, on the upside breakfast was very good, again a bit of a tight squeeze and the staff very helpful. We stayed for dinner(with the discount)and it was very good. Overall not a bad little hotel, just a little tired.

Reviewed by
Simon R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect little inn in the Lakes
The location of the Royal Oak Inn is a lovely short stroll from the shores of beautiful Lake Windermere and the perfect setting for the perfect short break. The staff were very friendly and most helpful and yet not imposing, they were there if you needed them. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious with enough choice to set you up for a day's sighteseeing. We didn't have dinner but probably will the next time. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, a lovely experience.

Reviewed by
K Greig

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next