No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG
The Royal Oak is a small, busy, family run Inn with a warm welcoming atmosphere for the walker, tourist and business visitor alike. Our traditional Inn is non-smoking throughout, and with no late residents bar last orders are at 11pm weekdays and 12pm weekends. We are long standing member of CAMRA with a minimum of five real ales at any one time.

Situated in the very heart of Bowness on Windermere, The Royal Oak is literally a stone's throw from the Bowness Bay piers, where you can take in the stunning views across Lake Windermere and perhaps board a steamship cruise. We are only a few minutes' walk from the many traditional craft and gift shops and only five minutes from The World of Beatrix Potter. Our Inn is proud to say it is the official finishing point of Alistair Wallace's 'The Dalesway Walk' and the starting point of his guide 'The Lake to Lake Walk'.

The Royal Oak has a variety of double rooms most en-suite with the exception of two which share a bathroom and for which bathrobes are provided. Each room has tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock, TV and a hair dryer. Free Wi-Fi connection is available. Whilst our rooms vary in size, they are, without exception, extremely comfortable and are traditionally styled with a homely feel. We are widely renowned for our kind hearted hospitality and, of course, for 'The Royal Oak Full English' breakfast! Evening meals are offered and car parking is available. All our meals are prepared from the fresh, locally sourced, ingredients. Please ring in advance with any specific dietary requirements (015394 43970).

Picture of The Royal Oak Inn, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing
All staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. The room itself is very pleasant and the bed comfortable. Only problem was shelf over sink made it tricky to wash face.
Location of royal oak is very good. Easy to find and close to shops and lake.

Reviewed by
Steve H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best breakfast I've ever had in a b+b . Right in the middle for everything

Reviewed by
craig clayton

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights in the Lakes
Found the Royal Oak a pleasant place to stay. Friendly and attentive staff. The car park was very tight but the situation on the Inn it couldn't be anything else. The bed in our room was a bit hard for our liking but we slept alright. Only had breakfast in house which was good and pleasantly served.
Location was great, within a few minutes walk of the lakeside activities

Reviewed by
David S

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything perfect.
Lovely, friendly hotel, immaculately clean room and ensuite. Good quality, comfortable bed, perfectly made every day. Excellent meals and very friendly and accommodating staff. Nothing too much trouble. Will definitely return and will recommend to all.

Reviewed by
Maggie N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary. We noticed the cleanliness the moment we walked through the door. It was immaculate. The staff were friendly and couldn't be anymore helpful, nothing was a problem and you were attended to immediately. Although the room was small, it didn't bother us, again it was immaculate and there was ample tea, coffee, chocolates and biscuits. My husband called before our stay to see what they could offer for our anniversary and arranged for us to have a champagne breakfast in our room. We discovered I was pregnant before our stay so my husband rearranged this to flowers. The staff were very helpful with all if this. The breakfast was delicious, I was very impressed with the choice of cereal, fruit and yoghurt. To say the hotel was a smaller one, the standard of service we received for breakfast was outstanding. We were served immediately and our food was served the minute we were ready after our cereal. Altogether, we had a lovely stay at the royal oak and would definitely recommended it.

Reviewed by
L Sugden

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at the Royal. Oak.
Booked for one night to break the journey on the way to Scotland. Very friendly welcome by Sarah, who informed us that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which was a lovely surprise. The room was very comfortable, massive super king bed, and large bathroom. The room was at the front overlooking the street and car park and I was a little concerned about the noise, but I needn't have worried. It was very quiet considering the location. Excellent full English breakfast was very welcome the following morning before our departure. Would definatley visit again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Lynn W

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was friendly clean and all the staff were happy to help at all times

Reviewed by
D Taylor

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel/Pub
We stayed in the Royal Oak for three nights. It was very good, especially with being a pub, as non residential people would often come in, very hospitable and friendly. The staff were always on hand to attend to your needs. Prime location near all of the resteraunts, bars, buses, harbour. One small hiccup was the room/ensuite. Very small, especially the ensuite.

Reviewed by
Keith Gibson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would definitely stop at the Royal Oak again
The Royal Oak had everything we needed for a short stay in Bowness, welcoming , ideally situated to enjoy all Bowness had to offer a nd a good base for exploring the southern lakes.

Reviewed by
John W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Just round the corner from front and getting on boat. Very friendly no problems car park a bit tight
and bathroom a bit small. Bed comfortable nice TV on the wall. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
S WOODS

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next