Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn


Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG

Price From 107.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Wilson

  • March 2014

Relaxing break

A friendly inn clean rooms and good breakfast.

Ideally located in the bay of Winderemere. Value for money.

  • j mcclelland

  • March 2014

Rooms a little on the small side,and had to share the bathroom with another room,luckily the other people were friends of ours.

  • John M

  • March 2014

John Sunderland

Second time we have stayed there and thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay.

Proper old English pub good food and drink and lovely room

  • R Longstaff

  • March 2014

Lovely friendly place ??

Great place friendly staff .

Comfortable room would definitely recommend a stay here to any 1 . Thanks for making our stay in the lakes very welcoming .😄😄😄😄

  • Pauline C

  • February 2014

great location, friendly staff, hearty breakfast, small room, clean towels, uncomfortable bed

There are so many things to like about this hotel from the great location, friendly staff, big hearty breakfasts, fluffy clean white towels and welcoming pub.

There was a good selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room and toiletries and a hair dryer were supplied. However, the room we booked was small with the large double bed wedged in. I had to climb over my husband to get in and out of bed. The bed also seemed to be propped up in the middle and I kept rolling towards the edge. There were a couple of steps down into the room that could be tricky after a drink or two of real ale. I can't complain about the price and the ladies serving breakfast deserve special mention; they were very friendly and efficient, providing hearty personalised breakfasts to every guest. Overall I enjoyed my stay but the bed in room 6 needs sorting.

  • Anna Bullock

  • January 2014

Winter Weekend Break

No nonsense value for money weekend break, adequate accommodation, excellent food and service.

  • y morris

  • January 2014

ideally locted

Booked the Royal Oak for the convenience of the location and we were not disappointed.

The welcome we got was good and all the staff were friendly. The bar was warm and welcoming after a long day walking in the rain, it was just what we needed. The bedroom was a little on the small side but had all the facilities. Our breakfast was fantastic and we would stay there again.

  • dave c

  • January 2014

good all round could do with a lick of paint in places

  • Tina B

  • January 2014

night on the tiles

Nice place to stay, staff very helpful, carpark can be a challenge when full, would stay again when in the lakes.

  • k cook

  • January 2014

Always happy to stay here.

Has been redecorated. Very quite and all staff very helpful.