No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG
The Royal Oak is a small, busy, family run Inn with a warm welcoming atmosphere for the walker, tourist and business visitor alike. Our traditional Inn is non-smoking throughout, and with no late residents bar last orders are at 11pm weekdays and 12pm weekends. We are long standing member of CAMRA with a minimum of five real ales at any one time.

Situated in the very heart of Bowness on Windermere, The Royal Oak is literally a stone's throw from the Bowness Bay piers, where you can take in the stunning views across Lake Windermere and perhaps board a steamship cruise. We are only a few minutes' walk from the many traditional craft and gift shops and only five minutes from The World of Beatrix Potter. Our Inn is proud to say it is the official finishing point of Alistair Wallace's 'The Dalesway Walk' and the starting point of his guide 'The Lake to Lake Walk'.

The Royal Oak has a variety of double rooms most en-suite with the exception of two which share a bathroom and for which bathrobes are provided. Each room has tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock, TV and a hair dryer. Free Wi-Fi connection is available. Whilst our rooms vary in size, they are, without exception, extremely comfortable and are traditionally styled with a homely feel. We are widely renowned for our kind hearted hospitality and, of course, for 'The Royal Oak Full English' breakfast! Evening meals are offered and car parking is available. All our meals are prepared from the fresh, locally sourced, ingredients. Please ring in advance with any specific dietary requirements (015394 43970).

Picture of The Royal Oak Inn, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Break
very good B&B, the room's very clean, a little small but very comfortable, breakfast was very good quality, staff was nice and friendly, will recommend it to every friend

Reviewed by
F Walpole

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice stay

Reviewed by
robert h

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money, great location.
What a little gem of a place. Great location, great staff, excellent breakfast, and all for 40 quid a night. Not much room for parking but if you leave your keys with the staff they move your car should it be required. Room 6 was small but very clean and comfy. The bed was better than mine at home and I slept like a log. I would recommend the royal oak to everyone and I will definitely be staying there again.

Reviewed by
andrew griffiths

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place to stay after a walk
The Royal Oak was the perfect place to stay after a walk in the Lake District. Ideal location, just down a quiet street but a couple of minutes walk to restaurants, shops and the Lake Windermere. Staff were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was excellent, and the room clean and nicely decorated.

Reviewed by
Robert P

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
Royale oak in a perfect position to explore windermere staff friendly and helpful breakfast excellent and meal in evening good

Reviewed by
ROY W

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Pub
Stayed here as it's the official end point of The Dales Way & I was running it in reverse with a friend. It's a great little pub, just off the main street, so nice & quiet. We got a friendly welcome & I was pleasantly surprised at how nice my room was, if a little small. They had some quality real ales on, which of course I sampled. But unfortunately we ate elsewhere so I can't comment on the food. After coming back from our dinner we spent a great couple of hours playing pool, drinking beer & putting songs on the juke box. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Jez Hellewell

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
The room was very small but clean, tidy and well-equipped with towels etc. Bathroom was very clean and, again, well-equipped.

Reviewed by
Peter Ward

From London, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a single room which was very small ok for one night only, but the hotel was very good .

Reviewed by
peter booth

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single night stay.
Just what I required for one night stay. Food good and good price will stay there again. In Windermerem once a month until October.

Reviewed by
Tony J

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Royal Oak
Emma greeted us on arrival & was very helpful
There didn't seem to be any offers of carrying our cases upstairs.
We had a good parking space & the Royal Oak is right in the heart of Bowness & very near the Lake where there was a nice walk.
The room was clean & comfortable & TV had all the channels you could wish for.
The staff were friendly & helpful.
Just what we were after fro our one night in the Lakes

Reviewed by
Terry Pemberton-Pigott

From OXFORD, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next