No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG
The Royal Oak is a small, busy, family run Inn with a warm welcoming atmosphere for the walker, tourist and business visitor alike. Our traditional Inn is non-smoking throughout, and with no late residents bar last orders are at 11pm weekdays and 12pm weekends. We are long standing member of CAMRA with a minimum of five real ales at any one time.

Situated in the very heart of Bowness on Windermere, The Royal Oak is literally a stone's throw from the Bowness Bay piers, where you can take in the stunning views across Lake Windermere and perhaps board a steamship cruise. We are only a few minutes' walk from the many traditional craft and gift shops and only five minutes from The World of Beatrix Potter. Our Inn is proud to say it is the official finishing point of Alistair Wallace's 'The Dalesway Walk' and the starting point of his guide 'The Lake to Lake Walk'.

The Royal Oak has a variety of double rooms most en-suite with the exception of two which share a bathroom and for which bathrobes are provided. Each room has tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock, TV and a hair dryer. Free Wi-Fi connection is available. Whilst our rooms vary in size, they are, without exception, extremely comfortable and are traditionally styled with a homely feel. We are widely renowned for our kind hearted hospitality and, of course, for 'The Royal Oak Full English' breakfast! Evening meals are offered and car parking is available. All our meals are prepared from the fresh, locally sourced, ingredients. Please ring in advance with any specific dietary requirements (015394 43970).

Picture of The Royal Oak Inn, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first time on windemere
We found this hotel to be very good in all aspects, my only concern was that after breakfast there was no relaxing area to read the papers, that the hotel supplied apart from our room, if i was to stay there again then i hope they would take onboard and open a section of the bar area with a couple of easy chairs too relax in apart from that we had a fantastic area and hotel

Reviewed by
ERNEST TINDALL

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean friendly and central to everything in Windermere. Nice food. Can't really ask for much more can you? Well worth what I paid

Reviewed by
A Davies

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of character
I don't have any problems with the Royal Oak other than my old car would not back into a very steep parking space. Also you don't have full independence on leaving for the day out as you could be blocked in. It was a price I paid for a great location , great value , Lovely people who work and run the place , and great value. So you would have to decide if parking could be an issue for you. In the end it was not. But it did make me decide not to get up early to photo a sunrise, because I did not want to upset anyone. I would go back though.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking Break
Very good.

Reviewed by
Mike Brockhurst

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed at the Royal Oak before, it is a really friendly place. Room good - Food & Beer good!!!!
Top place. Bowness on Windermere has everything very close to the Hotel.

Reviewed by
J Helsby

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean and tidy, space was minimal and the bathroom is not for the larger person.
clean good location, space is minimal in the room, food was good and staff friendly

Reviewed by
G Petrie

From Southport, England
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very enjoyable stay, the staff were excellent as was the food and accommodation.

Reviewed by
b gill

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Great location. Walking distance to the lake and shops. Plenty of pubs & restaurants close by for eating out.
Although our room was small it had everything that you needed.

Reviewed by
Cara W

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
Room very small but very clean will come back on another occasion but would request a bigger room. Staff very friendly and food first class.

Reviewed by
R Simpson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
Good hotel for walkers and good selection of beers. We stayed in room 2, you could see the lake from our window. Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
j ashton

From St Helens, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next