You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn


Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (70)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Jones

  • March 2015

I have re booked

I loved my stay here

The location was perfect

The staff were all really friendly and helpful ( thank you Emma and Sarah especially ) and breakfast was fantastic

Compliments to the chef

I enjoyed it so

That I have rebooked to bring my husband next week for 2 nights 😊

  • Ryan P

  • March 2015

Nice hotel

Staff really nice, we were given a free upgrade on arrival.

Room was excellent with the option of having breakfast delivered to room (if in room 10), the only negative was a dirty cup covered in lipstick at breakfast, however overall a very good hotel. We would definitely stay again.

  • Karen A

  • March 2015

Nice long weekend

Brilliant location right in the centre of town.

We stayed in room 3 which was a very small double.

Bed was ok,room was clean however no dressing table and the mirror was too high to sit down and do your hair - ok if it's short but not when its long (sorry but trivial for some important for me). The girl who served breakfast was a star.

  • angela w

  • March 2015

Friendly Homely Hotel

Recieved a very warm welcome.

Parking available. Room clean, warm, and comfortable. Service and food 100%. Really enjoyed staying here. Will definately return. Friendliness second to none great experience.

  • Jason bell

  • March 2015

Great place nice and friendly nice pub and food...already booked up again

  • W Cooper

  • February 2015

Room 3

Small but comfortable room, nice outlook, small view of lake.

  • S wild

  • February 2015

Great place to stay .staff friendly and helpful.

received a free room upgrade on arrival. food and beer very good cant fault The Royal Oak Inn.

  • A Miller

  • February 2015

Valentines break

Me and my girlfriend had a loverly stay here.

The staff were all very nice and helpful. We ate in the bar a couple of times and i have to say the food was loverly and reasonably priced. The whole place had a warm welcoming feel and would definatly recommend to friends and family.

  • Jim S

  • January 2015

Winter weekend

Probably great for the rest of the year but overwhelming impression on a col January night is of cold draughts in both public areas and bedroom

Response from hotel

Dear Mr Shapton,

Many thank for your comments. We have located the window concerned and re-newed the draft sealant.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,


  • David tudor

  • January 2015

The Royal Oak Inn

Our room was very clean but very drafty the old sash windows are original I think but really do with secondary glazing .

All the staff were brilliant and helpful , the breakfasts were spot we also ate of the bar menu the food was lovely .