Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn

3

Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • stephen parker

  • June 2014

red hot

had a great stay room very nice had supper in pub and it was spot on good sleep and a great breaky

  • Simon R

  • June 2014

not bad for the price , however

Good central location, carparking not good when the hotels full.

Not good mixing contractors with tourists (they got up at 5.00 which woke us) Room was so, so ensuite was a very tight fit and the shelf above the sink not a good idea.I would suggest the owner spend the night to realise the need to upgrade certain things. Enough of the downers, on the upside breakfast was very good, again a bit of a tight squeeze and the staff very helpful. We stayed for dinner(with the discount)and it was very good. Overall not a bad little hotel, just a little tired.

  • K Greig

  • June 2014

Perfect little inn in the Lakes

The location of the Royal Oak Inn is a lovely short stroll from the shores of beautiful Lake Windermere and the perfect setting for the perfect short break.

The staff were very friendly and most helpful and yet not imposing, they were there if you needed them. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious with enough choice to set you up for a day's sighteseeing. We didn't have dinner but probably will the next time. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, a lovely experience.

  • Andrew G

  • May 2014

Small room, otherwise fine.

I stayed here 3 nights, was given the tiny room 6.

Not en-suite but I was advised of this at booking. Somehow a double bed was squeezed in, I only hope a couple using this room are deeply in love. Certainly the smallest room I have stayed in. However.....it was spotless and the bed was comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was more than satisfactory and the bar meals were very enjoyable. So I would stay here again (in a different room!) and even recommend on the understanding you ensure you get an en-suite room and assuming they are bigger. Oh and the location is great for the lake.

  • Helen L

  • May 2014

Great, Friendly Hotel

Would definitely come again.

Only thing that's a nuisance is the parking always having to get someone to move as car park is so small.

  • Rob M

  • May 2014

Nice hotel & pub! Would definately recommend!

Nice rooms.

Good pub (With football on)

Very good English breakfast!

  • s tootill

  • May 2014

We would be happy to go back to the Royal Oak

Just had a wonderful bank holiday weekend at the Royal Oak and would be more than happy to go back there in the future.

The staff were all pleasant and helpful, but didn't pester you unnecessarily. The room was clean and the bed excellent quality. The room was small and basic (not en-suite) but we knew that when we booked, and feel that the price we paid fairly reflected this. We definitely got value for money. The bathroom was very near the room and we didn't have any problem with privacy or cleanliness etc. Breakfast was excellent. The only negative point I could raise would be that people should be aware that the Royal Oak is in the liveliest part of Bowness and a light sleeper, or someone looking for tranquility, may not be entirely happy at night, or when the beer delivery comes very early in the morning. We were happy with our experience there but were aware that it may be noisy when we booked, and feel that the lower prices they charged made it excellent value for money. Will definitely be going back!

  • sharon M

  • April 2014

What a lovely little quaint place so in keepin with the area...

We loved it and a top pint if guiness thank you for looking after us

  • j evans

  • April 2014

Excellent find!

Never stayed before but will definitely stay again.

A real find - excellent location, room, food, etc really good hotel. Very quiet and staff very welcoming. Many thanks to everyone at the Royal Oak.

  • Emma G

  • April 2014

Fantastic location, great service and a great place to stay

The hotel could not be in a more central location for Bowness.

The staff are really friendly and helpful and the accommodation and food are great.