Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn


Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (88)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Taylor

  • July 2014

Hotel was friendly clean and all the staff were happy to help at all times

  • Keith Gibson

  • July 2014


We stayed in the Royal Oak for three nights.

It was very good, especially with being a pub, as non residential people would often come in, very hospitable and friendly. The staff were always on hand to attend to your needs. Prime location near all of the resteraunts, bars, buses, harbour. One small hiccup was the room/ensuite. Very small, especially the ensuite.

  • John W

  • July 2014

We would definitely stop at the Royal Oak again

The Royal Oak had everything we needed for a short stay in Bowness, welcoming , ideally situated to enjoy all Bowness had to offer a nd a good base for exploring the southern lakes.


  • June 2014

Short Stay

Just round the corner from front and getting on boat.

Very friendly no problems car park a bit tight

and bathroom a bit small. Bed comfortable nice TV on the wall. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • S Conway

  • June 2014


Emma and the staff at the inn were very friendly and welcoming.

We stayed in the double en-suite. Room was clean but didn't have a dressing table. Bed was very comfortable. Full English Breakfast was included. Good value as there is also on-site parking which was free.

  • M Owens

  • June 2014

Lovely B&B in great Location

Great bed and breakfast, location brilliant near all the shop caf├ęs bars and restaurants and a 3 minute walk to the lake, staff very friendly and breakfasts where lovely lady that served us was lovely, would stay here again.

  • stephen parker

  • June 2014

red hot

had a great stay room very nice had supper in pub and it was spot on good sleep and a great breaky

  • Simon R

  • June 2014

not bad for the price , however

Good central location, carparking not good when the hotels full.

Not good mixing contractors with tourists (they got up at 5.00 which woke us) Room was so, so ensuite was a very tight fit and the shelf above the sink not a good idea.I would suggest the owner spend the night to realise the need to upgrade certain things. Enough of the downers, on the upside breakfast was very good, again a bit of a tight squeeze and the staff very helpful. We stayed for dinner(with the discount)and it was very good. Overall not a bad little hotel, just a little tired.

  • K Greig

  • June 2014

Perfect little inn in the Lakes

The location of the Royal Oak Inn is a lovely short stroll from the shores of beautiful Lake Windermere and the perfect setting for the perfect short break.

The staff were very friendly and most helpful and yet not imposing, they were there if you needed them. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious with enough choice to set you up for a day's sighteseeing. We didn't have dinner but probably will the next time. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, a lovely experience.

  • Andrew G

  • May 2014

Small room, otherwise fine.

I stayed here 3 nights, was given the tiny room 6.

Not en-suite but I was advised of this at booking. Somehow a double bed was squeezed in, I only hope a couple using this room are deeply in love. Certainly the smallest room I have stayed in. was spotless and the bed was comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was more than satisfactory and the bar meals were very enjoyable. So I would stay here again (in a different room!) and even recommend on the understanding you ensure you get an en-suite room and assuming they are bigger. Oh and the location is great for the lake.