Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn


Brantfell Road Bowness on Windermere, Windermere, LA23 3EG

Price From 104.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Michael C

  • September 2014

2 Night Break

Nice and handy to get around town.

Parking can be a bit if a problem though. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfasts were excellent. Room 3 has a view over the rooftops to the lake. The shelf over the basin caused a few problems as it was difficult to bend down but other than that, the room was clean and was fine for what we wanted.

  • e hall

  • August 2014

pleasant stay

stayed here for 2 nights very friendly helpful staff.The rooms and dining areas and bathrooms were kept spotlessly clean I would definatly stay again top marks to the staff

  • Steve H

  • August 2014


All staff were friendly and helpful.

The food was good. The room itself is very pleasant and the bed comfortable. Only problem was shelf over sink made it tricky to wash face. Location of royal oak is very good. Easy to find and close to shops and lake.

  • craig clayton

  • August 2014

Best breakfast I've ever had in a b+b .

Right in the middle for everything

  • Maggie N

  • August 2014

Everything perfect.

Lovely, friendly hotel, immaculately clean room and ensuite.

Good quality, comfortable bed, perfectly made every day. Excellent meals and very friendly and accommodating staff. Nothing too much trouble. Will definitely return and will recommend to all.

  • David S

  • August 2014

Two nights in the Lakes

Found the Royal Oak a pleasant place to stay.

Friendly and attentive staff. The car park was very tight but the situation on the Inn it couldn't be anything else. The bed in our room was a bit hard for our liking but we slept alright. Only had breakfast in house which was good and pleasantly served. Location was great, within a few minutes walk of the lakeside activities

  • L Sugden

  • July 2014


My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary.

We noticed the cleanliness the moment we walked through the door. It was immaculate. The staff were friendly and couldn't be anymore helpful, nothing was a problem and you were attended to immediately. Although the room was small, it didn't bother us, again it was immaculate and there was ample tea, coffee, chocolates and biscuits. My husband called before our stay to see what they could offer for our anniversary and arranged for us to have a champagne breakfast in our room. We discovered I was pregnant before our stay so my husband rearranged this to flowers. The staff were very helpful with all if this. The breakfast was delicious, I was very impressed with the choice of cereal, fruit and yoghurt. To say the hotel was a smaller one, the standard of service we received for breakfast was outstanding. We were served immediately and our food was served the minute we were ready after our cereal. Altogether, we had a lovely stay at the royal oak and would definitely recommended it.

  • Lynn W

  • July 2014

Lovely stay at the Royal. Oak.

Booked for one night to break the journey on the way to Scotland.

Very friendly welcome by Sarah, who informed us that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which was a lovely surprise. The room was very comfortable, massive super king bed, and large bathroom. The room was at the front overlooking the street and car park and I was a little concerned about the noise, but I needn't have worried. It was very quiet considering the location. Excellent full English breakfast was very welcome the following morning before our departure. Would definatley visit again if in the area.

  • D Taylor

  • July 2014

Hotel was friendly clean and all the staff were happy to help at all times

  • Keith Gibson

  • July 2014


We stayed in the Royal Oak for three nights.

It was very good, especially with being a pub, as non residential people would often come in, very hospitable and friendly. The staff were always on hand to attend to your needs. Prime location near all of the resteraunts, bars, buses, harbour. One small hiccup was the room/ensuite. Very small, especially the ensuite.